DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges that the amended claim set corrects the issues noted by the previous office action of (10 – 29 – 2025). All of the previous double patent rejection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (12 – 11 – 2025) have been fully considered
Applicant argues…
Nakano describes a plurality of temperature sensors 22 is provided at the roll 2, and not the cooling rolls 51, 52, and 53. Therefore, the temperature sensor 22 would not be able to measure a difference between the temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion at the cooling rolls 51, 52, and 53, much less send a feedback control on a cooling device based on such difference.
Ikeda does not teach the newly amended features
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As noted in applicant’s argument Nakano describes a plurality of temperature sensors 22 is provided at the roll 2. With Nakano adding that ([0012]) that heating the first roll 2 such that a temperature of an outer peripheral surface of the first roll 2 is higher, by a predetermined temperature or more, than the temperature of the foil after the cooling. ([0077]) teaches that the temperature sensors 22 can be a thermistor, for example, and outputs a signal that varies depending on a temperature of the outer peripheral surface of the roll. The temperature sensor 22 may directly measure a surface temperature of the roll or may measure a temperature of a given spot, such as a temperature of a rotating shaft of the roll, so that the surface temperature of the roll can be estimated from a result of the measurement. ([0102]) adding that a controller that controls the chiller 6 and a controller that controls the heater 21 are not limited to being provided integrally and may be provided separately. As illustrated in (Fig. 8), the temperature sensor 22 is found to be adjacent to the heater 21. As such, the temperature sensor 22 is found to provide for measure a difference between the temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion at the first roll 2 and send a feedback control on a cooling device based on such difference. Additionally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s same arguments and remarks, see (Pg. 7), filed on (12 – 11 – 2025), with respect to the amended feature(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takenori Ikeda (US 20170155125 A1) in view of view of Nakano et al. (US 20180006292 A1) and in further view of Hisashi et al. (JP 5119228 B2).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 & 3 – 6 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Currently, claim 1 reads “…temperature sensors that detect a temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion…” it should read “….a plurality of temperature sensors that detect a temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion…” for the purposes of claim consistency. Namely, the first time an object (noun) of a limitation is being introduced it requires an indefinite article (e.g., "a" or "an") to signal that it is new to the claim and not yet a specific, defined element. Applicant is reminded that the plurality of temperature sensors should also be reflected in the instances thereafter.
Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Currently newly amended claim 1 recites, a processor configured to perform feedback control…However, applicant specification only has disclosure for a The controller 200 performs feedback control on the temperature adjusting unit. As such, the introduction of a “processor” is understood to be new matter. Noting, that in general a controller determines purpose/means (the 'why' and/or 'how') while a processor follows instructions (the ‘what’). Highlighting, due to applicant associating the matter “processor” with the functional language of the previously disclosed controller. For the purposes of examination, it will be understood that the new matter of the “processor” will be the previously disclosed controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 & 3 – 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by over Takenori Ikeda (US 20170155125 A1, hereinafter Ikeda) in view of view of Nakano et al. (US 20180006292 A1, hereinafter Nakano) and in further view of Hisashi et al. (JP 5119228 B2, hereinafter Hisashi)Regarding claim 1,
An electrode manufacturing apparatus comprising:
a pair of rolls that sandwich an electrode and
rotate in opposite directions; and
a cooling device configured to reduce a temperature difference between a central portion and an end portion in an axial direction, of at least one roll of the pair of rolls,
temperature sensors that detect a temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion and
a processor configured to perform feedback control on the cooling device, based on a difference between the temperature of the central portion and the temperature of the end portion detected by the temperature sensors,
wherein the electrode has a substrate and
an electrode layer formed on a surface of the substrate,
wherein the pair of rolls have a shaping roll configured to form an uneven shape on a surface of the electrode layer, and
an opposed roll that is opposed to the shaping roll such that the electrode is sandwiched between the shaping roll and the opposed roll, and
wherein the shaping roll has protrusion molds extending straight in a longitudinal direction of the shaping roll and spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shaping roll.
Ikeda teaches the following:
([0010]) teaches that an electrode material is pressed between the first roll and the second roll at a position facing each other to form an active material layer. As shown in (Fig. 2) the first roll is spaced apart from the second to roll allowing for the electrode material to form an active layer. Adding, further illustrated in (Fig. 2) is that the first and second rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions. ([0010]) teaches that the active material layer on the second roll is pressed in the thickness direction together with the current collecting foil at the opposing position between the second roll and the third roll, and is thereby transferred onto the current collector foil. As shown in (Fig. 2) the second roll is spaced apart from the third to roll allowing for the electrode material to be pressed in the thickness direction. Adding, further illustrated in (Fig. 2) is that the second and third rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions.
Highlighting, illustrated in (Fig. 2) is that the first and second rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions. Additionally, the second and third rolls are configured to rotate in an opposite directions.
([0052]) teaches a series of circulation units of the present embodiment that adjusts the temperature of a fluid circulated through flow path rolls, as the temperature of the rolls is outputted by the temperature sensors. As illustrated in (Fig. 2), it is understood that full length of the rolls are in contact with the flow path rolls. Accordingly, while there is no perceived discrepancies regarding the placement of a cooling device of the temperature adjusting unit utilized to cool the end portion of the rolls. The case law for rearrangement of parts and/or change of size may be recited. Where it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400 or Where the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, see In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
([0051]) teaches a series of temperature sensors found on the outer circumferential surface of the rolls and are capable of detecting and outputting the temperature of the rolls.
& g.) ([0057]) teaches that the active material layer 131 formed at the first facing position A is then conveyed through the rotation of the second roll 20 to reach the second facing position B, as shown in (Fig. 2). As shown in (Fig. 2), the current collecting foil 110 is conveyed to pass through the second facing position B. Hence, the active material layer 131 having reached the second facing position B through the rotation of the second roll 20 passes together with the current collecting foil 110 through the gap GB at the second facing position B. At the time of passing through the gap GB, the current collecting foil 110 and the active material layer 131 are pressed together in their thickness directions by the second roll 20 and the third roll 30.
As illustrated in (Fig. 2), the second roll is opposed to the third roll such that the electrode is sandwiched between the second and third roll. Such that at the time of passing through the gap between the two rolls, such that the current collecting foil 110 and the active material layer 131 are pressed together in their thickness directions by the second roll 20 and the third roll 30.
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda is silent on a controller / processor configured to perform feedback control on the temperature adjusting unit. In analogous art as applied above, Nakano suggests details regarding a controller configured to perform feedback control on the temperature adjusting unit, and in this regard, Nakano teaches the following:
([0077]) teaches that the temperature sensors 22 can be a thermistor, for example, and outputs a signal that varies depending on a temperature of the outer peripheral surface of the roll. The temperature sensor 22 may directly measure a surface temperature of the roll or may measure a temperature of a given spot, such as a temperature of a rotating shaft of the roll, so that the surface temperature of the roll can be estimated from a result of the measurement. Further, a single temperature sensor 22 may be provided, or a plurality of temperature sensors 22 may be provided. ([0102]) teaches that a controller that controls the chiller 6 and a controller that controls the heater 21 are not limited to being provided integrally and may be provided separately. Accordingly, while there is no perceived discrepancies regarding the placement of temperature sensors utilized for detect temperatures of the central portion and the end portion of the rolls. The case law for rearrangement of parts may be recited.
([0051]) teaches that the electrode plate manufacturing apparatus 1 of the present embodiment includes a first temperature sensor 45, a second temperature sensor 55, and a third temperature sensor 65. ([0052]) teaches that the circulating unit 43, 53, 63 of the present embodiment decreases the temperature of the fluid 80 to be circulated in the roll 40, 50, 60 to be lower as a temperature of the roll 10, 20, 30 output by the first temperature sensor 45, 55, 66 becomes higher.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda. By modifying temperature sensors to include placement at various points include the central portion and the end portion of the roller, as taught by Nakano. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement of a plurality of temperature sensors and their placement at various points include the central portion and the end portion of the rollers provides for estimating and controlling the surface temperature of the roll, ([0077)).
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda as modified by Nakano is silent on utilizing a shaping roll configured to form an uneven shape on a surface of the thermoplastic resin layer and details regarding the shaping roll having protrusion molds extending straight in a longitudinal direction of the shaping roll. In analogous art for an apparatus for producing a resin sheet the apparatus comprise a series of rollers used to impart a shape and control the temperature of the thermoplastic resin sheet, (Abstract), Hisashi suggests details regarding utilizing a shaping roll configured to form an uneven shape on a surface of the thermoplastic resin layer and details regarding the shaping roll having protrusion molds extending straight in a longitudinal direction of the shaping roll, and in this regard, Hisashi teaches the following:
& i.) ([0029]) teaches that thermoplastic resin sheet 3 is supplied between a temperature control roll 4 and a pressure bonding roll 5. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the electrode is sandwiched between the shaping roll and the opposed roll. ([0034]) teaches that an endless metal strip 4c is formed on the outer peripheral surface of the low relative permeability layer 4b. ([0035]) teaches that a plurality of projections 4d arranged regularly along the circumferential direction to form([0035]) teaches as shown in (Fig. 1B), temperature control roll 4 has an outer peripheral surface of the endless metal band 4c that is provided with projections and recesses in the circumferential direction, that is, a plurality of projections 4d are regularly arranged. The above-mentioned irregularities correspond to an inverted shape of the irregularities formed on one side of the final thermoplastic resin sheet. As illustrated in (Figs. 1B – 1C & 3), the temperature control roll 4, acts as a shaping roll provided with protrusion molds extending straight in a longitudinal direction of the shaping roll and spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the shaping roll providing for forming an uneven shape on a surface of the electrode layer, with the uneven shape best seen in (Fig. 1C).
([0029]) teaches that thermoplastic resin sheet 3 is supplied between a temperature control roll 4 and a pressure bonding roll 5. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the electrode is sandwiched between the shaping roll and the opposed roll. ([0035]) teaches as shown in (Fig. 1B), temperature control roll 4 has an outer peripheral surface of the endless metal band 4c that is provided with projections and recesses in the circumferential direction, that is, a plurality of projections 4d are regularly arranged. The above-mentioned irregularities correspond to an inverted shape of the irregularities formed on one side of the final thermoplastic resin sheet. Highlighting, that the plurality of projections are understood to transverse the entire width and length of endless metal band 4c found on the temperature control roll 4. Accordingly, if the width and length of endless metal band 4c is not found to traverse the entirety of the temperature control roll 4. The case law for the change of size may be recited. Where, the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), MPEP 2144.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing electrodes that utilizes rollers and a paste, as taught by Ikeda as modified by Nakano. By further modifying the opposing roller to be a shaping roller that comprise grooves and recesses, as taught by Nakano. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a shaping roller that comprise grooves and recesses as it provides for processing the surface to give it an uneven texture, ([0036]).
Regarding claim 3 – 4 as applied to claim 1 & 3 respectively,
Wherein the shaping roll is configured to form recesses in a form of grooves extending in a width direction of the electrode, in the surface of the electrode layer.
Wherein the shaping roll is configured to form the recesses extending over an entire length of the electrode layer in the width direction
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda as modified by Nakano is silent on the shaping roll is configured to form recesses in a form of grooves in the surface of the electrode layer extending in a width direction of the electrode. In analogous art as applied above, Hisashi suggests details regarding utilizing a shaping roll configured to recesses in a form of grooves extending in a width direction of the electrode, and in this regard, Hisashi teaches the following:
& 4a.) ([0035]) teaches as shown in (Fig. 1B), temperature control roll 4 has an outer peripheral surface of the endless metal band 4c that is provided with projections and recesses in the circumferential direction, that is, a plurality of projections 4d are regularly arranged. The above-mentioned irregularities correspond to an inverted shape of the irregularities formed on one side of the final thermoplastic resin sheet. Highlighting, that the plurality of projections are understood to transverse the entire width and length of endless metal band 4c found on the temperature control roll 4. Accordingly, if the width and length of endless metal band 4c is not found to traverse the entirety of the temperature control roll 4. The case law for the change of size may be recited. Where, the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), MPEP 2144.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the pair of rolls have a shaping roll having one or more protrusion molds on an outer surface, at positions corresponding to positions at which recesses are to be formed in a surface of an electrode layer of the electrode, and an opposed roll that is opposed to the shaping roll such that the electrode is sandwiched between the shaping roll and the opposed roll.
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda as modified by Nakano is silent on a shaping roll having one or more protrusion molds on an outer surface, at positions corresponding to positions at which recesses are to be formed in a surface of an electrode layer of the electrode. In analogous art as applied above, Hisashi suggests details regarding utilizing a shaping roll having one or more protrusion molds on an outer surface, at positions corresponding to positions at which recesses are to be formed in a surface of an electrode layer of the electrode, and in this regard, Hisashi teaches the following:
& b.) ([0029]) teaches that thermoplastic resin sheet 3 is supplied between a temperature control roll 4 and a pressure bonding roll 5. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the electrode is sandwiched between the shaping roll and the opposed roll.([0035]) teaches as shown in (Fig. 1B), temperature control roll 4 has an outer peripheral surface of the endless metal band 4c that is provided with projections and recesses in the circumferential direction, that is, a plurality of projections 4d are regularly arranged. The above-mentioned irregularities correspond to an inverted shape of the irregularities formed on one side of the final thermoplastic resin sheet. Highlighting, that the plurality of projections are understood to transverse the entire width and length of endless metal band 4c found on the temperature control roll 4. Accordingly, if the width and length of endless metal band 4c is not found to traverse the entirety of the temperature control roll 4. The case law for the change of size may be recited. Where, the mere scaling up or down of a prior art process capable of being scaled up or down would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled, In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976), MPEP 2144.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim ,
Wherein the cooling device is configured to adjust a temperature of the opposed roll.
Ikeda teaches the following:
([0052]) teaches that each of the first, second and third roller 10, 20, 30 have a respective corresponding flow passage roll 40, 50, 60¸ that is in contact with the surface of each respective first, second and third roller 10, 20, 30. With the flow passage rolls 40, 50, 60 comprising a circulating unit 43, 53, 63 used to circulate fluid through the respective flow passage rolls 40, 50, 60 to control the temperature of the fluid circulated in the flow passage rolls 40, 50, 60 as a means for adjust and maintaining a temperature of the opposed first, second and third roller 10, 20, 30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niskanen et al. (US 5244448 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the invention concerns a method and apparatus for regulating the temperature of an adjustable-crown roll. The roll mantle (12) arranged to revolve on the stationary axle (11) of the roll (10) is loaded by passing a pressure medium into a pressure chamber (15) or series of chambers formed between the axle (11) and the mantle (12) so as to correct the deflection of the roll mantle (12). The roll (10) is additionally heated/cooled by passing heating/cooling fluid into the roll (10).
Fredrickson et al. (US 3451331 A) - teaches in the (Abstract) a supercalender apparatus with alternating hard and soft rolls in a stack wherein the hard rolls are preferably of a thin-walled construction and at least one and up to three may be heated, the latter by independently controlled means to different temperatures and the soft rolls comprise the conventional cotton-filled type or may be fabricated from a synthetic material.
Marganski et al. (US 2890026 A) - teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to baffles for rolls of calenders or like machines, and more particularly to a baffle employed in a roll, the temperature of which is controlled by the introduction of a heating or cooling fluid.
Georg Kugler (US 6227545 B1) - teaches in the (Abstract) a cylinder that includes at least one stationary portion and at least one rotatable portion and a support and a method for sealing the same.
Pekka Koivukunnas (US 6158501 A) - teaches in the (Abstract) A thermally insulated thermo-roll including a shaft supported by bearings with at least one longitudinal shaft channel defined in the shaft for passing a heating medium. A flange with radial bores is connected to the shaft and a shell, with at least one longitudinal shell channel for passing the heating medium, is connected to the flange such that the flange is interposed between the shaft and the shell.
Fernley Banbury (US 1651502 A) - teaches in the (Abstract) that this invention relates to improvement in heat exchange rolls, that is, rolls used, for instance, in rubber-mixing and rubber-calendering rolls. It is desirable that these rolls should be cool and with various attempts have been made to cool them by jets of water, but as the walls of the roll are thick, the water is not effective in reducing the temperature at the surface of the rolls. The object of this invention is to form one or more series 30 of channels within the shell of the roll and, consequently, nearer to the surface thereof.
Ohlson et al. (US 2677899 A) - teaches in the (Abstract) The present invention relates to steam rolls of the type used in paper mills, food processing plants, industrial chemical and manufacturing plants, and the jacketed driers of the kind which are improved by the present inventors to be distinguished from heavy cast rolls in which the entire interiors. of the cylindrical drums are filled, with steam, since jacketed driers conventionally have their interiors open to the atmosphere and comprise a pair of concentric, steel cylinders, providing a closed space.
Willer et al. (WO 2010133383 A1) - teaches in the (Abstract) that the invention relates to a roller or cylinder (1) that can be exposed to a heat transfer medium, in particular a steam heated roller having a hollow roller or cylinder body (2) having centrally disposed bearing journals (5.1, 5.2) at the ends thereof for rotatably supporting in a frame (4) and means (M2) for removing condensate from the interior (6) enclosed by the hollow roller or cylinder body (2), comprising a siphon (9) formed from a mouthpiece (10) and a riser pipe (11).
Valmet et al. (AT 297 U1) - teaches in the (Abstract) that the present invention relates to a thermal insulation arrangement according to the preamble of claim 1 for the thermal insulation of a shaft bearing for a thermo-roll against heat conduction, the device being mountable at the bearing point of a thermo-roll shaft and being able to be implemented by an appropriate thermal insulation element.
Yoshimi et al. (JP 2021159814 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A wet powder coating device 10 includes: a first roll 12, a second roll 14, a third roll 16 and a fourth roll 18, rotating in an opposite direction to each other; and a molded body supply device 32 for supplying a primary molded body 30 comprising wet powder into a gap G1 between the first roll and the second roll.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743