DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025, page 10, line 18, to page 12, line 5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lee and Hollenbeck do not disclose the feature “the circuit board is completely received within the second accommodation space”. Applicant specifically argues that “the first circuit 3 of Lee is only partially disposed in the space similar to the second accommodation space asserted by the Office.” However, the definition of ‘completely received within’ is insufficiently established to distinguish from the structure disclosed by Lee. As with the instant application, the underside of the circuit board of Lee is not covered by the base. (see Fig. 5 and 7 of the instant application and Fig. 3 and 4 of Lee). However, the claimed second accommodation space is a three-dimensional volume defined by its upper, inner, and outer bounds, i.e. “on the lower surface [of the base]” and “between the outer ring portion and the inner ring portion.” The lower bound of the second accommodation space remains undefined by the claims and is reasonably interpreted as extending at least down to the plane containing the bottom edge of the wall 23 in Lee. This three-dimensional space would completely receive the circuit board 3 of Lee (see annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150340923) in view of Hollenbeck (US 6232687).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 below) a motor assembly (paragraph [0024]), comprising:
a frame (depicted in Fig. 5) comprising a casing (depicted in Fig. 6) and a fixing portion (11), wherein the casing comprises a bottom portion (1), the fixing portion (11) is disposed on the bottom portion (1) (See paragraph [0026]);
a rotor (5) comprising a hub (51), a first hollow portion (interior of hub 51), wherein the hub (51) comprises a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, the first hollow portion is concavely formed from the bottom surface of the hub (51) toward the top surface (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a winding component (4) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first hollow portion of the rotor (5) (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a circuit board (3)(paragraph [0024]); and
a protection component (2) disposed between the winding component (4) and the bottom portion (1) of the casing (See Fig. 2) and comprising an inner ring portion (24, generally), an outer ring portion (22, generally) and a base (horizontal portion; See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below; See also Fig. 5), wherein the inner ring portion (24) comprises a second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a first concave (See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below), the second hollow portion is disposed in a center of the inner ring portion, the fixing portion (11) is penetrated through the second hollow portion and in the first hollow portion, the first concave is concavely formed on one side of the inner ring portion facing the hub (51), the outer ring portion comprises a second concave (see annotated fig. 3 below), the second concave (see annotated fig. 3 below) is concavely formed on one side of the outer ring portion back to the hub (51) (See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below), the base (see annotated fig. 3 below) is connected with the inner ring portion and the outer ring portion, and the base is located between the circuit board (3) and the hub (51), the second end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first concave, and the bottom portion (1) of the casing toward the hub (51) is at least partially received within the second concave (See Fig. 3,5, and 6, paragraph [0035]; at least the first wall (13) of the bottom portion (1) is received within the second concave),
wherein the base comprises a second accommodation space disposed on a lower surface thereof, and the circuit board is completely received within the second accommodation space (see annotated Fig. 3, below).
However, Lee does not specifically disclose a plurality of blades disposed around the hub. Lee does disclose a fan mounted to the hub (See paragraph [0024]).
Hollenbeck teaches a similarly-arranged motor with a rotor hub 28 having fan blades 30 “formed integrally therewith and projecting radially from the hub. The hub 28 and fan blades 30 are formed as one piece of a polymeric material”. (See Col. 4, lines 21-24 and Fig. 3 of Hollenbeck)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed fan of Lee in the form of a plurality of blades disposed around a hub as in Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve cooling efficiency and, as Hollenbeck teaches, in order to ensure that the blades are held securely on the hub (See Col. 8, lines 34-36).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1.
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) the inner ring portion (24, generally) comprises a first inner ring wall (24), a second inner ring wall (241) and an inner ring bottom wall (26), wherein the first inner ring wall (24) is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first inner ring wall (24) is protruded from an upper surface of the base, the second end of the first inner ring wall (24) is protruded from a lower surface of the base, and the first inner ring wall (24) is disposed between the second inner ring wall (241) and the base, wherein the second inner ring wall (241) comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, wherein the inner ring bottom wall (26) is connected between the second end of the first inner ring wall (24) and the second end of the second inner ring wall (241), wherein the first concave is collaboratively defined by the first inner ring wall (24), the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26)(See Fig. 3, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 2, and further wherein
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) a first length of the second inner ring wall (241) is less than a second length of the first inner ring wall (24), and a first distance formed between the first (upper) end of the first inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) is greater than a second distance formed between the first end of the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) (the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) are in contact, i.e. the second distance=0 See annotated Fig. 3 below, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1, and further wherein
Lee discloses the winding component (4) comprises a plurality of winding layers and a stator, the plurality of winding layers are disposed on the stator (See paragraph [0005]) , the stator comprises a first holder, a second holder and a core, the first holder and the second holder are disposed in two opposite sides of the stator, and the first holder is [closer] to the top surface of the hub (51) than the second holder. ((see annotated fig. 2, below))
Regarding Claim 10, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the device of claim 1,
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) the base (see annotated fig. 3 below) comprises a first accommodation space (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed on an upper surface thereof, wherein the first accommodation space and the second accommodation space are located between the outer ring portion (22, generally) and the inner ring portion (24, generally), respectively, and a second holder is partially received within the first accommodation space. (See annotated Fig. 3, below; See also paragraph [0037])
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1, and further wherein the motor assembly comprises
Lee discloses a plurality of pins (43), the base comprises a plurality of first pin holes (291), the circuit board (3) comprises a plurality of second pin holes (unlabeled; See Fig. 3), the plurality of second pin holes are spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first pin holes (291), and each one of the plurality of pins (43) is penetrated through corresponding one of the plurality of second pin holes and corresponding one of the plurality of first pin holes (291)(See Fig. 3, paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1.
Lee teaches the motor assembly comprises a plurality of connection wires (not shown; See paragraph [0046]).
However, Lee does not disclose the protection component comprises a wire casing disposed on the outer ring portion for receiving the plurality of connection wires.
Hollenbeck teaches a protection component (54) comprises a wire casing (78) disposed on the outer ring portion (See Fig. 14) for receiving the plurality of connection wires.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of connection wires of Lee with the wire casing disposed on the outer ring portion for receiving the plurality of connection wires similar to Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to protect the connection wires and circuit boards from damage or disconnection due to environmental factors such as extreme temperature, as taught by Hollenbeck. (See Col. 6, lines 1-22)
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 above) a motor assembly (paragraph [0024]), comprising:
a frame (depicted in Fig. 5) comprising a casing (depicted in Fig. 6) and a fixing portion (11), wherein the casing comprises a bottom portion (1), the fixing portion (11) is disposed on the bottom portion (1)(See paragraph [0026]);
a rotor (5) comprising a hub (51), a first hollow portion (interior of hub 51), wherein the hub (51) comprises a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, the first hollow portion is concavely formed from the bottom surface of the hub (51) toward the top surface, (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a winding component (4) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first hollow portion of the rotor (5) (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a circuit board (3); and
a protection component (2) disposed between the winding component (4) and the bottom portion (1) of the casing (See Fig. 2) and comprising an inner ring portion (24, generally), an outer ring portion (22, generally) and a base (horizontal portion; See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, above), wherein the inner ring portion (24) comprises a second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 above) and a first concave (see annotated fig. 3 above), the second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 above) is disposed in a center of the inner ring portion (24), the fixing portion (11) is penetrated through the second hollow portion and in the first hollow portion, the first concave is concavely formed on one side of the inner ring portion facing the hub (51), the base is connected with the inner ring portion and the outer ring portion, and the base is located between the circuit board (3) and the hub (51), and the second end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first concave, wherein the base comprises an accommodation space disposed on a lower surface thereof, and the circuit board is completely received within the accommodation space (see annotated Fig. 3, below).
However, Lee fails to specifically disclose a plurality of blades disposed around the hub. Lee does disclose a fan mounted to the hub (See paragraph [0024]).
Hollenbeck teaches a similarly-arranged motor with a rotor hub 28 having fan blades 30 “formed integrally therewith and projecting radially from the hub. The hub 28 and fan blades 30 are formed as one piece of a polymeric material”. (See Col. 4, lines 21-24 and Fig. 3 of Hollenbeck)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed fan of Lee in the form of blades disposed around a hub as in Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve cooling efficiency and, as Hollenbeck teaches, in order to ensure that the blades are held securely on the hub (See Col. 8, lines 34-36).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 13, and further wherein
Lee discloses the inner ring portion comprises a first inner ring wall (29), a second inner ring wall (24) and an inner ring bottom wall, wherein the first inner ring wall (29) is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first inner ring wall (29) and an upper surface of the base are coplanar with each other, the second end of the first inner ring wall (29) is protruded from a lower surface of the base, and the first inner ring wall (29) is disposed between the second inner ring wall (24) and the base, wherein the second inner ring wall (24) comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, and the inner ring bottom wall is connected between the second end of the first inner ring wall (29) and the second end of the second inner ring wall (24), wherein the first concave is collaboratively defined by the first inner ring wall (29), the second inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall (See annotated Fig. 3, below).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 14.
Lee discloses However, Lee does not specifically disclose a first length of the second inner ring wall (24) is greater than a second length of the first inner ring wall (29) or a first distance formed between the first end of the first inner ring wall (29) and the inner ring bottom wall is less than a second distance formed between the first end of the second inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall. The second inner ring wall in Fig. 3 of Lee appears to be longer than the first inner ring wall.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed second inner ring wall of Lee longer than the first inner ring wall in accordance with the drawings of Lee, as a longer second inner ring wall would provide a larger space for connections within the first concave and a truncated first inner ring wall would allow space on the underside of the inner ring bottom wall for the adhesive retaining space 291.
Regarding Claim 16, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 13, and further wherein
Lee discloses the accommodation space is disposed between the outer ring portion and the inner ring portion for receiving the circuit board (3) (See Fig. 31).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hollenbeck as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yin (US 20150180290).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 6.
Lee further teaches the first holder comprises a first holder hollow portion (41), a plurality of first holder holes (See Fig. 11, at the ends of spaced compartments 42) and a first holder main body (flat portion), the first holder hollow portion (42) is disposed in a center of the first holder and runs through the first holder main body, the first holder hollow portion (42) is spatially corresponding in position to the fixing portion (11), the plurality of first holder holes are disposed around the first holder hollow portion (42) and run through the first holder main body
However, Lee does not teach a plurality of first holder walls, wherein the plurality of first holder walls are extended from the first holder main body toward the second holder and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first holder holes, and each one of the plurality of first holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes.
Yin teaches a stator with a first holder (13) and a second holder (12) wherein the first holder (13) comprises a first holder hollow portion (132), a plurality of first holder holes (See annotated Fig. 5, below), a plurality of first holder walls (See annotated Fig. 5, below) and a first holder main body (disc portion), and the first holder hollow portion (132) is disposed in a center of the first holder (13) and runs through the first holder main body, wherein the first holder hollow portion (132) is spatially corresponding in position to a fixing portion (22), the plurality of first holder holes are disposed around the first holder hollow portion (132) and run through the first holder main body, the plurality of first holder walls are extended from the first holder main body toward the second holder (12) and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first holder holes, and each one of the plurality of first holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes.
[Yin Fig. 5]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed first and second holders of Lee with the structural holder walls, wherein the plurality of holder walls are extended from the holder main body toward the other holder and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of holder holes, and each one of the plurality of holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of holder holes as in Yin.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to clamp and position the stator core for a preferable performance in positioning of the core, as taught by Yin (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee in view of Hollenbeck and further in view of Yin teaches the motor assembly according to claim 7.
Yin teaches a first holder (13) and a second holder (12) (See Fig. 5) the second holder (12) comprises a second holder hollow portion (122), a plurality of second holder holes (similar construction to first holder), a plurality of second holder walls (similar construction to first holder) and a second holder main body (similar construction to first holder), the second holder hollow portion (122) is disposed in a center of the second holder (12) and runs through the second holder main body, wherein the second holder hollow portion (122) is spatially corresponding in position to a fixing portion (22), the plurality of second holder holes are disposed around the second holder hollow portion (122) and run through the second holder main body, the plurality of second holder walls are extended from the second holder main body toward the first holder (13) and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of second holder holes, and each one of the plurality of second holder walls is disposed around the corresponding one of the plurality of second holder holes. (See annotated Fig. 5, above.)
Regarding Claim 9, Lee in view of Hollenbeck and further in view of Yin teaches the device of claim 8.
Yin teaches the core (11) is disposed between the first holder (13) and the second holder (12), the core (11) comprises a core hollow portion (111) and a plurality of core penetrating holes (See Fig. 5), and the core hollow portion (111) is disposed in a center of the core (11) and runs through the core (11), wherein the core hollow portion (111) is spatially corresponding in position to the fixing portion (22),
the plurality of core penetrating holes, the plurality of first holder walls and the plurality of second holder walls are spatially corresponding in position to each other (See Fig. 5), and each one of the plurality of first holder walls and corresponding one of the plurality of second holder walls are received by corresponding one of the plurality of core penetrating holes, wherein the plurality of winding layers (912), the plurality of first holder holes and the plurality of second holder holes are spatially corresponding in position to each other (See Fig. 4), and each one of the plurality of winding layers (912) is penetrated through the corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes and the corresponding one of the plurality of second holder holes and disposed in the corresponding one of the plurality of core penetrating holes (See Fig. 4), wherein the fixing portion (22), the second holder hollow portion (122), the core hollow portion (111) and the first holder hollow portion (132) are spatially corresponding in position to each other, and the fixing portion (22) is penetrated through the second holder hollow portion(122), the core hollow portion (111) and the first holder hollow portion (132).(See paragraph [0028], Fig. 4 and 5)
[Yin Fig. 4]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach, either alone or in combination, a motor assembly according to claim 1, wherein
an outer ring portion comprises a first outer ring wall, a second outer ring wall and an outer ring bottom wall, wherein the first outer ring wall is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first outer ring wall is protruded from a lower surface of the base, the second end of the first outer ring wall is protruded from an upper surface of the base (the second end of the first outer ring wall (23) of Lee does not protrude from an upper surface of the base(See Fig. 3), and the first outer ring wall is disposed between the second outer ring wall and the base, wherein the second outer ring wall comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, and the outer ring bottom wall is connected between the second end of the first outer ring wall and the second end of the second outer ring wall, wherein the second concave is collaboratively defined by the first outer ring wall, the second outer ring wall and the outer ring bottom wall.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 5 depends from objected-to claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20120313469-A1 Liu discloses an accommodation space which completely encases a circuit board; US-20210296977-A1 SCHMEZER discloses an accommodation space filled with resin which completely encases a circuit board.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834