DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025, page 10, line 18, to page 12, line 5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the circuit board should not be “exposed to the exterior of the space” (page 11, 2d para)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant seems to be implying that, as their disclosed circuit board is shown to be completely bound on three sides by the base and respective ring walls, such that the ring portion walls extend below the bottom of the circuit board, so should the claims be interpreted, but these relationships are not claimed. Claim language such as this, more specifically defining the vertical/axial relationship between the walls and the accommodating space, would overcome the rejection of record.
Applicant argues that Lee and Hollenbeck do not disclose the feature “the second accommodation space is located between the outer ring portion and the inner ring portion for receiving the circuit board”. However, the space in Lee is “located between” the ring portions as broadly claimed, i.e. at least radially, or as viewed from above and below. The depicted space in the annotated Figures herein, copied from the previous Office Action, is radially entirely between the innermost portion of the inner ring (either bend portion 241 or merely the entire cylindrical portion, exclusive of the screw bosses) and the outer ring. Even to the extent that the depicted space is contiguous with the wall 24, as depicted adjacent the screw hole boss in Fig. 3, it is still “located between” that wall and the outer ring, as broadly claimed, and the circuit board is completely received within the depicted space, as claimed.
Applicant argues that “The right side of the first circuit board 3 of Lee extends beyond the fourth wall of Lee 24, asserted to be the inner ring portion of the presently claimed invention by the Office Action, as shown in the red arrow of Fig. 4 of Lee” (page 11, 2d para). Firstly, the Office Action refers to the inner ring portion as “(24, generally)” and the inner ring is treated as including not only wall 24 but second inner ring wall/bend portion 241 and bottom wall/airtight gasket 26, both of which are completely radially interior of the depicted space. This relationship establishes the desired effect of waterproofing the space in which the circuit board is kept (see para [0037]), i.e. the circuit board of Lee is accommodated in a space that is necessarily ‘located between’ the gaskets 26 and 25, which are parts of the ring portions as broadly claimed. Secondly, to the extent that this argument may be referring to the vertical/axial portion of the circuit board of Lee that extends below the bottom of the wall 24, this vertical/axial relationship is not claimed, as discussed above, and further there is at least some partial overlap to support the interpretation of “located between” as broadly claimed. Thirdly, to the extent that this argument may be referring to the horizontal portion of the circuit board of Lee that extends to the right of the wall 24, as seen in Fig. 4, this appears to be the circumferential surface of the central hole; the figure does not appear to show any radial overlap (see annotated Fig. 4 below). (While Fig. 3 of Lee appears to show some interference between the wall and the circuit board, this appears impossible and is unexplained by the description and unresolved by the other figures. However, even if the circuit board does somehow interfere with the wall 24, the claimed accommodation space can be contiguous with the wall 24, as discussed above.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150340923) in view of Hollenbeck (US 6232687).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 below) a motor assembly (paragraph [0024]), comprising:
a frame (depicted in Fig. 5) comprising a casing (depicted in Fig. 6) and a fixing portion (11), wherein the casing comprises a bottom portion (1), the fixing portion (11) is disposed on the bottom portion (1) (See paragraph [0026]);
a rotor (5) comprising a hub (51), a first hollow portion (interior of hub 51), wherein the hub (51) comprises a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, the first hollow portion is concavely formed from the bottom surface of the hub (51) toward the top surface (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a winding component (4) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first hollow portion of the rotor (5) (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a circuit board (3)(paragraph [0024]); and
a protection component (2) disposed between the winding component (4) and the bottom portion (1) of the casing (See Fig. 2) and comprising an inner ring portion (24, generally), an outer ring portion (22, generally) and a base (horizontal portion; See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below; See also Fig. 5), wherein the inner ring portion (24) comprises a second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a first concave (See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below), the second hollow portion is disposed in a center of the inner ring portion, the fixing portion (11) is penetrated through the second hollow portion and in the first hollow portion, the first concave is concavely formed on one side of the inner ring portion facing the hub (51), the outer ring portion comprises a second concave (see annotated fig. 3 below), the second concave (see annotated fig. 3 below) is concavely formed on one side of the outer ring portion back to the hub (51) (See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, below), the base (see annotated fig. 3 below) is connected with the inner ring portion and the outer ring portion, and the base is located between the circuit board (3) and the hub (51), the second end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first concave, and the bottom portion (1) of the casing toward the hub (51) is at least partially received within the second concave (See Fig. 3,5, and 6, paragraph [0035]; at least the first wall (13) of the bottom portion (1) is received within the second concave),
wherein the base comprises a second accommodation space disposed on a lower surface thereof, and the circuit board is completely received within the second accommodation space (see annotated Fig. 3, below), the second accommodation space is located between the outer ring portion (22, generally) and the inner ring portion (24, generally) for receiving the circuit board. (See annotated Fig. 3, below; See also paragraph [0037]).
However, Lee does not specifically disclose a plurality of blades disposed around the hub. Lee does disclose a fan mounted to the hub (See paragraph [0024]).
Hollenbeck teaches a similarly-arranged motor with a rotor hub 28 having fan blades 30 “formed integrally therewith and projecting radially from the hub. The hub 28 and fan blades 30 are formed as one piece of a polymeric material”. (See Col. 4, lines 21-24 and Fig. 3 of Hollenbeck)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed fan of Lee in the form of a plurality of blades disposed around a hub as in Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve cooling efficiency and, as Hollenbeck teaches, in order to ensure that the blades are held securely on the hub (See Col. 8, lines 34-36).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1.
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) the inner ring portion (24, generally) comprises a first inner ring wall (24), a second inner ring wall (241) and an inner ring bottom wall (26), wherein the first inner ring wall (24) is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first inner ring wall (24) is protruded from an upper surface of the base, the second end of the first inner ring wall (24) is protruded from a lower surface of the base, and the first inner ring wall (24) is disposed between the second inner ring wall (241) and the base, wherein the second inner ring wall (241) comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, wherein the inner ring bottom wall (26) is connected between the second end of the first inner ring wall (24) and the second end of the second inner ring wall (241), wherein the first concave is collaboratively defined by the first inner ring wall (24), the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26)(See Fig. 3, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 2, and further wherein
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) a first length of the second inner ring wall (241) is less than a second length of the first inner ring wall (24), and a first distance formed between the first (upper) end of the first inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) is greater than a second distance formed between the first end of the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) (the second inner ring wall (241) and the inner ring bottom wall (26) are in contact, i.e. the second distance=0 See annotated Fig. 3 below, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1, and further wherein
Lee discloses the winding component (4) comprises a plurality of winding layers and a stator, the plurality of winding layers are disposed on the stator (See paragraph [0005]) , the stator comprises a first holder, a second holder and a core, the first holder and the second holder are disposed in two opposite sides of the stator, and the first holder is [closer] to the top surface of the hub (51) than the second holder. ((see annotated fig. 2, below))
Regarding Claim 10, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the device of claim 1,
Lee further teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 above) the base (see annotated fig. 3 below) comprises a first accommodation space (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed on an upper surface thereof, wherein the first accommodation space is located between the outer ring portion (22, generally) and the inner ring portion (24, generally) and a second holder is partially received within the first accommodation space. (See annotated Fig. 3, below; See also paragraph [0037])
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1, and further wherein the motor assembly comprises
Lee discloses a plurality of pins (43), the base comprises a plurality of first pin holes (291), the circuit board (3) comprises a plurality of second pin holes (unlabeled; See Fig. 3), the plurality of second pin holes are spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first pin holes (291), and each one of the plurality of pins (43) is penetrated through corresponding one of the plurality of second pin holes and corresponding one of the plurality of first pin holes (291)(See Fig. 3, paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 1.
Lee teaches the motor assembly comprises a plurality of connection wires (not shown; See paragraph [0046]).
However, Lee does not disclose the protection component comprises a wire casing disposed on the outer ring portion for receiving the plurality of connection wires.
Hollenbeck teaches a protection component (54) comprises a wire casing (78) disposed on the outer ring portion (See Fig. 14) for receiving the plurality of connection wires.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the plurality of connection wires of Lee with the wire casing disposed on the outer ring portion for receiving the plurality of connection wires similar to Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to protect the connection wires and circuit boards from damage or disconnection due to environmental factors such as extreme temperature, as taught by Hollenbeck. (See Col. 6, lines 1-22)
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 above) a motor assembly (paragraph [0024]), comprising:
a frame (depicted in Fig. 5) comprising a casing (depicted in Fig. 6) and a fixing portion (11), wherein the casing comprises a bottom portion (1), the fixing portion (11) is disposed on the bottom portion (1)(See paragraph [0026]);
a rotor (5) comprising a hub (51), a first hollow portion (interior of hub 51), wherein the hub (51) comprises a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, the first hollow portion is concavely formed from the bottom surface of the hub (51) toward the top surface, (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a winding component (4) comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first hollow portion of the rotor (5) (See Fig. 2, paragraph [0048]);
a circuit board (3); and
a protection component (2) disposed between the winding component (4) and the bottom portion (1) of the casing (See Fig. 2) and comprising an inner ring portion (24, generally), an outer ring portion (22, generally) and a base (horizontal portion; See annotated Fig. 3 and 4, above), wherein the inner ring portion (24) comprises a second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 above) and a first concave (see annotated fig. 3 above), the second hollow portion (see annotated fig. 3 above) is disposed in a center of the inner ring portion (24), the fixing portion (11) is penetrated through the second hollow portion and in the first hollow portion, the first concave is concavely formed on one side of the inner ring portion facing the hub (51), the base is connected with the inner ring portion and the outer ring portion, and the base is located between the circuit board (3) and the hub (51), and the second end of the winding component (4) is disposed in the first concave, wherein the base comprises an accommodation space disposed on a lower surface thereof, and the circuit board is completely received within the accommodation space (see annotated Fig. 3, below), the accommodation space is disposed between the outer ring portion and the inner ring portion for receiving the circuit board (3) (See Fig. 31).
However, Lee fails to specifically disclose a plurality of blades disposed around the hub. Lee does disclose a fan mounted to the hub (See paragraph [0024]).
Hollenbeck teaches a similarly-arranged motor with a rotor hub 28 having fan blades 30 “formed integrally therewith and projecting radially from the hub. The hub 28 and fan blades 30 are formed as one piece of a polymeric material”. (See Col. 4, lines 21-24 and Fig. 3 of Hollenbeck)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed fan of Lee in the form of blades disposed around a hub as in Hollenbeck.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve cooling efficiency and, as Hollenbeck teaches, in order to ensure that the blades are held securely on the hub (See Col. 8, lines 34-36).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 13, and further wherein
Lee discloses the inner ring portion comprises a first inner ring wall (29), a second inner ring wall (24) and an inner ring bottom wall, wherein the first inner ring wall (29) is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first inner ring wall (29) and an upper surface of the base are coplanar with each other, the second end of the first inner ring wall (29) is protruded from a lower surface of the base, and the first inner ring wall (29) is disposed between the second inner ring wall (24) and the base, wherein the second inner ring wall (24) comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, and the inner ring bottom wall is connected between the second end of the first inner ring wall (29) and the second end of the second inner ring wall (24), wherein the first concave is collaboratively defined by the first inner ring wall (29), the second inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall (See annotated Fig. 3, below).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 14.
Lee discloses However, Lee does not specifically disclose a first length of the second inner ring wall (24) is greater than a second length of the first inner ring wall (29) or a first distance formed between the first end of the first inner ring wall (29) and the inner ring bottom wall is less than a second distance formed between the first end of the second inner ring wall (24) and the inner ring bottom wall. The second inner ring wall in Fig. 3 of Lee appears to be longer than the first inner ring wall.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed second inner ring wall of Lee longer than the first inner ring wall in accordance with the drawings of Lee, as a longer second inner ring wall would provide a larger space for connections within the first concave and a truncated first inner ring wall would allow space on the underside of the inner ring bottom wall for the adhesive retaining space 291.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hollenbeck as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yin (US 20150180290).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee in view of Hollenbeck teaches the motor assembly according to claim 6.
Lee further teaches the first holder comprises a first holder hollow portion (41), a plurality of first holder holes (See Fig. 11, at the ends of spaced compartments 42) and a first holder main body (flat portion), the first holder hollow portion (42) is disposed in a center of the first holder and runs through the first holder main body, the first holder hollow portion (42) is spatially corresponding in position to the fixing portion (11), the plurality of first holder holes are disposed around the first holder hollow portion (42) and run through the first holder main body
However, Lee does not teach a plurality of first holder walls, wherein the plurality of first holder walls are extended from the first holder main body toward the second holder and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first holder holes, and each one of the plurality of first holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes.
Yin teaches a stator with a first holder (13) and a second holder (12) wherein the first holder (13) comprises a first holder hollow portion (132), a plurality of first holder holes (See annotated Fig. 5, below), a plurality of first holder walls (See annotated Fig. 5, below) and a first holder main body (disc portion), and the first holder hollow portion (132) is disposed in a center of the first holder (13) and runs through the first holder main body, wherein the first holder hollow portion (132) is spatially corresponding in position to a fixing portion (22), the plurality of first holder holes are disposed around the first holder hollow portion (132) and run through the first holder main body, the plurality of first holder walls are extended from the first holder main body toward the second holder (12) and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of first holder holes, and each one of the plurality of first holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes.
[Yin Fig. 5]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the disclosed first and second holders of Lee with the structural holder walls, wherein the plurality of holder walls are extended from the holder main body toward the other holder and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of holder holes, and each one of the plurality of holder walls is disposed around corresponding one of the plurality of holder holes as in Yin.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to clamp and position the stator core for a preferable performance in positioning of the core, as taught by Yin (See paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee in view of Hollenbeck and further in view of Yin teaches the motor assembly according to claim 7.
Yin teaches a first holder (13) and a second holder (12) (See Fig. 5) the second holder (12) comprises a second holder hollow portion (122), a plurality of second holder holes (similar construction to first holder), a plurality of second holder walls (similar construction to first holder) and a second holder main body (similar construction to first holder), the second holder hollow portion (122) is disposed in a center of the second holder (12) and runs through the second holder main body, wherein the second holder hollow portion (122) is spatially corresponding in position to a fixing portion (22), the plurality of second holder holes are disposed around the second holder hollow portion (122) and run through the second holder main body, the plurality of second holder walls are extended from the second holder main body toward the first holder (13) and spatially corresponding in position to the plurality of second holder holes, and each one of the plurality of second holder walls is disposed around the corresponding one of the plurality of second holder holes. (See annotated Fig. 5, above.)
Regarding Claim 9, Lee in view of Hollenbeck and further in view of Yin teaches the device of claim 8.
Yin teaches the core (11) is disposed between the first holder (13) and the second holder (12), the core (11) comprises a core hollow portion (111) and a plurality of core penetrating holes (See Fig. 5), and the core hollow portion (111) is disposed in a center of the core (11) and runs through the core (11), wherein the core hollow portion (111) is spatially corresponding in position to the fixing portion (22),
the plurality of core penetrating holes, the plurality of first holder walls and the plurality of second holder walls are spatially corresponding in position to each other (See Fig. 5), and each one of the plurality of first holder walls and corresponding one of the plurality of second holder walls are received by corresponding one of the plurality of core penetrating holes, wherein the plurality of winding layers (912), the plurality of first holder holes and the plurality of second holder holes are spatially corresponding in position to each other (See Fig. 4), and each one of the plurality of winding layers (912) is penetrated through the corresponding one of the plurality of first holder holes and the corresponding one of the plurality of second holder holes and disposed in the corresponding one of the plurality of core penetrating holes (See Fig. 4), wherein the fixing portion (22), the second holder hollow portion (122), the core hollow portion (111) and the first holder hollow portion (132) are spatially corresponding in position to each other, and the fixing portion (22) is penetrated through the second holder hollow portion(122), the core hollow portion (111) and the first holder hollow portion (132).(See paragraph [0028], Fig. 4 and 5)
[Yin Fig. 4]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach, either alone or in combination, a motor assembly according to claim 1, wherein
an outer ring portion comprises a first outer ring wall, a second outer ring wall and an outer ring bottom wall, wherein the first outer ring wall is connected with the base and comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the first outer ring wall is protruded from a lower surface of the base, the second end of the first outer ring wall is protruded from an upper surface of the base (the second end of the first outer ring wall (23) of Lee does not protrude from an upper surface of the base(See Fig. 3), and the first outer ring wall is disposed between the second outer ring wall and the base, wherein the second outer ring wall comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, and the outer ring bottom wall is connected between the second end of the first outer ring wall and the second end of the second outer ring wall, wherein the second concave is collaboratively defined by the first outer ring wall, the second outer ring wall and the outer ring bottom wall.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 5 depends from objected-to claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6987336-B2 Streng discloses an outer rotor fan motor with a circuit board accommodating space; US-9676408-B2 Tominaga discloses a motor with a circuit board accommodating space bound on three sides by a base and inner and outer rings; DE-202011002408-U1 BEST discloses an outer rotor fan motor with a circuit board accommodating space.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834