DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 05/16/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search or examination burden if the restriction was not required. This is not found persuasive because as stated in the restriction requirement filed 03/25/2025, the inventions as claimed have a materially different design. Invention II recites a multilayered structure including specific structural limitations for exterior, interior, and internal walls, differing from invention I. The related inventions are distinct if the inventions can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect, see MPEP 806.05(j). Additionally, the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classifications. Invention I is classified in H01M 10/6556, while invention II is classified in H01M 50/231 due to the multilayered structural limitations. Separate classification of the claimed inventions can establish a serious search burden. See MPEP 808.02.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by March (US 20170125863 A1).
Regarding claim 1, March discloses a traction battery pack (paragraph 0039), comprising: an enclosure assembly including an enclosure tray (paragraphs 0014, 0046, figure 2, enclosure 65); and a cell-to-pack battery system housed within the enclosure assembly and including a cell matrix (paragraphs 0042-0047, figure 2, battery array 60), wherein a floor of the enclosure tray includes a first chamber that provides an internal cooling circuit for thermally managing the cell matrix (paragraphs 0047, 0049, figures 2 and 4-5, heat exchanger plate 62 acts as a base of the enclosure, cooling circuit 70) and a second chamber that provides an air gap for insulating the cell matrix from an exterior environment (paragraphs 0055-0056, figure 5, air gap 82).
Regarding claim 2, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the cell matrix includes a plurality of battery cells arranged to interface with an interior facing floor surface of an interior wall of the floor (paragraph 0054, figures 2 and 5, battery cells 56 interface with interior wall 84 via exterior surface 88).
Regarding claim 3, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the floor is connected to a plurality of side walls of the enclosure tray (paragraphs 0046-0047, walls 67).
Regarding claim 5, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the internal cooling circuit extends between an interior wall and an internal wall of the floor (paragraph 0054, figure 5, cooling circuit 70 between internal wall 90 and interior wall 84).
Regarding claim 6, March discloses the limitations of claim 5. March further discloses that the internal cooling circuit includes a plurality of fluid channels that are at least partially separated from one another by a plurality of walls (paragraph 0052, figures 4-5, walls 74, separate fluid channels 72).
Regarding claim 7, March discloses the limitations of claim 6. March further discloses that the internal cooling circuit establishes a serpentine passage inside the first chamber (paragraphs 0052-0053, figure 4, serpentine passage 75).
Regarding claim 8, March discloses the limitations of claim 8. March further discloses that the first chamber is closer to the cell matrix than the second chamber (paragraph 0054, figure 5, exterior surface 88 of interior wall 84 interfaces with battery cells 56).
Regarding claim 9, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the second chamber extends between an internal wall and an exterior wall of the floor (paragraph 0055, figure 5, air gap 82 disposed between internal wall 90 and exterior wall 86).
Regarding claim 10, March discloses the limitations of claim 9. March further discloses that the internal wall establishes a floor of the internal cooling circuit (paragraph 0054, figure 5, internal wall 90).
Regarding claim 11, March discloses the limitations of claim 9. March further discloses that the exterior wall includes an exterior surface that is exposed to the exterior environment (paragraph 0054, figure 5, exterior surface 64 of exterior wall 86 is exposed to exterior environment 66).
Regarding claim 12, March discloses the limitations of claim 9. March further discloses at least one standoff extending between the internal wall and the exterior wall of the floor (paragraph 0057, figure 5, standoffs 92 between exterior wall 86 and internal wall 90).
Regarding claim 13, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the air gap includes a static pocket of air inside the second chamber (paragraphs 0055-0056, figure 5, air gap 82).
Regarding claim 15, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March further discloses that the floor includes an interior wall that faces toward an interior area of the enclosure assembly (paragraph 0054, figure 5, exterior surface 88 of interior wall 84 interfaces with battery cells 56), an exterior wall that faces toward the exterior environment (exterior surface 64 of exterior wall 86 is exposed to exterior environment 66), and an internal wall enclosed inside of the floor at a location between the interior wall and the exterior wall (internal wall 90).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over March (US 20170125863 A1) in view of Hirsch et al. (US 20120107635 A1).
Regarding claim 14, March discloses the limitations of claim 1. March is silent regarding that the air gap includes a vacuum pocket inside the second chamber that is completely devoid of air.
Hirsch discloses a device for controlling the temperature of an energy store such as a rechargeable battery (Hirsch paragraph 0015-0016). Hirsch further discloses that the device may be a cooling plate or a part of the housing and may have a multilayer design comprising a fluid channel and an insulating unit (Hirsch paragraphs 0015-0016). The reference teaches that the insulating portion can be a hollow chamber which is evacuated to provide vacuum insulation (Hirsch paragraphs 0018, 0025). Hirsch further teaches that the vacuum insulation can minimize loss of heating or cooling and extend the life of the battery (Hirsch paragraphs 0011-0013). Hirsch and March are analogous because they both disclose thermal management devices for batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air gap disclosed by March to be a vacuum pocket as disclosed by Hirsch. Doing so would minimize loss of heating or cooling and extend the life of the battery.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over March (US 20170125863 A1) in view of Miler et al. (US 20230291027 A1).
Regarding claim 4, March discloses the limitations of claim 3. March is silent regarding that the plurality of side walls are arranged to provide a cell-compressing opening for compressing the cell matrix.
Miler discloses a housing for a battery pack which includes structural members that serve functions including thermal management and compression (Miler paragraph 0020). Miler further discloses that the housing includes end plates and side beams configures to apply a lateral force against the battery cells and compress them (Miler paragraphs 0024-0025, 0033, figures 1a-1b, endplates 104 and 106, side beams 110 ad 112, equivalent to side walls). The reference teaches that the compression may reduce swelling of the battery cells during performance, which may improve performance and lifetime of the battery cells (Miler paragraph 0033). Miler and March are analogous because the both disclose battery packs with housing structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack disclosed by March to include the cell compressing opening disclosed by Miler. Doing so would reduce swelling of the battery cells during performance, which may improve performance and lifetime of the battery cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200398652 A1 discloses a vehicle battery tray with an integrated cooling system comprising cooling channels and air gaps separated by material within the floor of the tray.
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727