DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20130115607 A - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim". Kim et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely current collector modification.
In regard to Claim 1, Kim et al. discloses battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a first current collector and a first active material, and a negative electrode comprising a second current collector (Kim, [3]) wherein a first vent channel is formed on a first planar surface of the second current collector which has the advantage of improving the contact area to an active material layer (Kim, Abstract).
Although Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the grooves extending to the periphery of the current collector, the figures of Kim show a repeating symmetrical pattern (Kim, Figures 1 and 3) and considering the purpose of the grooves is to improve the contact area of the active material and a well known problem in the application of active material layers to current collectors is the adhesion of the active material to the current collector and especially to the edge regions it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the current collector grooves of Kim in the repeating symmetrical pattern shown and extend the grooves to the periphery of the current collector as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of improving the contact area of the active material layer, especially at the edge regions and as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisan and as doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to Claim 2, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to prevent air from being trapped between the second current collector and the second active material (Kim, [18]).
In regard to Claim 3, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the negative electrode comprises lithium (Kim, [26]).
In regard to Claim 4, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to facilitate adhesion between the second current collector and the negative electrode by providing improved contact area (Kim, Abstract).
In regard to Claim 5, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the second current collector has the first planar surface and a second opposing planar surface opposite the first planar surface, and further including a second vent channel disposed on the second opposing planar surface (Kim, [12]).
In regard to Claim 6, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 5. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel on the first planar surface and the second vent channel on the second opposing planar surface intersect at one or more points (Kim, Figures 1 and 3).
In regard to Claim 7, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 5. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel on the first planar surface and the second vent channel on the second opposing planar surface do not intersect (Kim, Figure 3A).
In regard to Claim 9, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel has a depth that is predetermined and variable based on design incentives (Kim, [12]), which would reasonably include a depth that is about half a thickness of the second current collector as the depth of the groove is a result effective variable to be optimized by the skilled artisan.
In regard to Claim 10, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel comprises a channel pattern that is variable in shape and design (Kim, Claim 2, [12, 15-16]) which may reasonably include a plurality of channels that connect at a central location on the first planar surface as the design pattern of the grooves is a result effective variable to be optimized by the skilled artisan.
In regard to Claims 21-22, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel extends across the first planar surface of the second current collector (Kim, [15], Figures 1 and 3). Further, Kim et al. discloses wherein the first vent channel comprises a channel pattern that is variable in shape and design (Kim, Claim 2, [12, 15-16]) which may reasonably include wherein the first vent channel extends across only a portion of the first planar surface of the second current collector as the design pattern of the grooves is a result effective variable to be optimized by the skilled artisan.
Claim 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20130115607 A - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim". Kim et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely current collector modification.
In regard to Claim 11, Kim et al. discloses a battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a first current collector a negative electrode comprising a second current collector comprising a first planar surface a second opposing planar surface a first vent channel pattern disposed on the first planar surface of the second current collector; and a second vent channel pattern disposed on the second opposing planar surface of the second current collector, the first vent channel pattern being different than the second vent channel pattern, wherein the second vent channel pattern includes a vent channel extending along the second opposing planar surface to a periphery of the second opposing planar surface (Kim, Abstract, [3, 12, 16]).
In regard to Claim 12, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 11. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to prevent air from being trapped between the second current collector and the second active material (Kim, [18]).
In regard to Claim 13, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 11. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the negative electrode comprises lithium (Kim, [26]).
In regard to Claim 14, Kim et al. discloses the battery of claim 1. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to facilitate adhesion between the second current collector and the negative electrode by providing improved contact area (Kim, Abstract).
Claim 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20130115607 A - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim". Kim et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely current collector modification.
Kim et al. discloses a method, comprising providing a current collector having a first planar surface and a second opposing planar surface, depositing a mask on a portion of the first planar surface; and etching an unmasked region of the first planar surface to create at least one vent channel Kim, [20-23]).
Although Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the grooves extending to the periphery of the current collector, the figures of Kim show a repeating symmetrical pattern (Kim, Figures 1 and 3) and considering the purpose of the grooves is to improve the contact area of the active material and a well-known problem in the application of active material layers to current collectors is the adhesion of the active material to the current collector and especially to the edge regions it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the current collector grooves of Kim in the repeating symmetrical pattern shown and extend the grooves to the periphery of the current collector as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of improving the contact area of the active material layer, especially at the edge regions and as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisan and as doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to Claim 16, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kim et al. also discloses depositing the mask on portion of the first planar surface and on a portion of the second opposing planar surface (Kim, [20-23], Figure 2).
In regard to Claim 17, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to prevent air from being trapped between the second current collector and the second active material (Kim, [18]).
In regard to Claim 18, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel is configured to facilitate adhesion between the second current collector and the negative electrode by providing improved contact area (Kim, Abstract).
In regard to Claim 20, Kim et al. discloses the method of claim 15. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first vent channel has a depth that is predetermined and variable based on design incentives (Kim, [12]), which would reasonably include a depth that is about half a thickness of the second current collector as the depth of the groove is a result effective variable to be optimized by the skilled artisan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of claims 1 or 11 or for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument of claims 1 or 11.
In regard to applicants’ arguments with respect to claim 15, Kim et al. no longer combines with a secondary reference and although Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the grooves extending to the periphery of the current collector, the figures of Kim show a repeating symmetrical pattern (Kim, Figures 1 and 3) and considering the purpose of the grooves is to improve the contact area of the active material and a well-known problem in the application of active material layers to current collectors is the adhesion of the active material to the current collector and especially to the edge regions it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the current collector grooves of Kim in the repeating symmetrical pattern shown and extend the grooves to the periphery of the current collector as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of improving the contact area of the active material layer, especially at the edge regions and as doing so would be obvious to try for the skilled artisan and as doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725