FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 2 is indefinite because the monomer species of 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-propanesulfonic acid is excluded by independent claim 1 limitation of: “wherein polymerization is carried out in the absence of acrylamide”. It goes without saying that 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-propanesulfonic acid is an acrylamide.
Likewise, dependent claim 7 is indefinite because the cross linking species of methylene bis-acrylamide is excluded by independent claim 1 limitation of: “wherein polymerization is carried out in the absence of acrylamide”. It goes without saying that is methylene bis-acrylamide is an acrylamide.
Dependent claim 7 is further indefinite because it is directly dependent on claim 6 which has been canceled.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claim 2 is not further limiting of independent claim 1 when the monomer species of 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-propanesulfonic acid is selected because it is excluded by independent claim 1 limitation of: “wherein polymerization is carried out in the absence of acrylamide”.
Likewise, dependent claim 7 is not further limiting of independent claim 1 when the cross linker species of methylene bis-acrylamide is selected because it is excluded by independent claim 1 limitation of: “wherein polymerization is carried out in the absence of acrylamide”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savich U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2007/0163173 A1.
Savich discloses a superabsorbent copolymer for root dip applications. Savich’s method for preparing a superabsorbent polymer product for agricultural applications, comprises: graft polymerizing using at least one monomer (e.g. acrylic acid, acrylamide etc.) onto a polysaccharide (e.g. starch) in the presence of at least one initiator (e.g. ammonium persulfate, L-ascorbic acid etc.) to form a polysaccharide graft copolymer; adding a cross-linking agent (e.g. methylene bis-acrylamide) to form a cross-linked polysaccharide graft copolymer; adjusting a pH (e.g. using potassium hydroxide) of the cross-linked polysaccharide graft copolymer to within a pH range of about 6.0 and about 8.0; and isolating the superabsorbent polymer product through drying or extruding the cross-linked polysaccharide graft copolymer, see abstract, paragraphs [0009]-[0015], [0022]-[0023]. Please note that Savich’s Examples 1-2 and claim 19, directly teach the use of a starch-g-poly (2-propenamide-co-2-propenoic acid), which reads directly on applicant’s graft copolymer species of dependent claim 12, and its production process would easily fall within the molar ratio range of applicant’s dependent claim 8.
Savich has been described above and differs from applicant’s claimed invention in that there is not a direct teaching (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where the catalytic system employes an ascorbic acid polymerization initiator in combination with an ammonium persulfate polymerization initiator, as set forth in applicant’s independent claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Savich’s disclosure of paragraph [0013], wherein it is directly disclosed that L-ascorbic acid is an effective polymerization initiator for the invention, and which can optionally be used in combination with other types of polymerization initiator (e.g. ammonium persulfate), as strong motivate to actually employ a mixture of L-ascorbic acid and ammonium persulfate in the graft polymerizing method. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to use two or more materials in combination for the same purpose they are individually known to be useful without a showing of unexpected and superior results.
Furthermore, please note that Savich’s disclosed method for preparing a superabsorbent polymer has no specific disclosure to where the graft polymerization method requires any heating step, as such there is no expectation that any heating step was used. Also note that in paragraph [0027] of applicant’s specification, applicant defines “room temperature” as from 15oC - 45oC, but said temperature my vary by + 5oC to -5oC. In any case, it is well within the skill of the ordinary artisan in the art to determine what temperature would be most ideal to run the graft polymerization reaction at, given the specifics of the reaction mixture component themselves, the desired speed for the reaction, and the desired input energy cost.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2013/0303714 A1 in view of Savich U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2007/0163173 A1.
Chambers discloses biodegradable graft copolymers derived from a carbohydrate and at least one alpha, beta.-unsaturated carboxylic acid derivative having superabsorbent properties are disclosed in addition to the substantially adiabatic polymerization process by which the graft copolymers are made. The methods disclosed can be carried out in a variety of currently available continuous commercial reactors. Polymerizations carried out with starch have surprisingly produced substantially quantitative yields of graft copolymer free of residual monomer produced as a moist copolymer. Product work-up typically involves an optional neutralization and drying, see abstract.
Applicant’s attention is drawn to the graft polymerization method as set forth in Chambers’ examples, such as Examples 3-5, 7-8 and 26. All said examples disclose a graft polymerization of a mixtures that comprises in part: water, starch (carbohydrate), acrylic acid (primary monomer), acrylamide (secondary monomer), glycidyl methacrylate (cross-linker), ammonium persulfate (catalyst/initiator). Said graft polymerization reactions are followed by neutralizing the produced superabsorbent copolymers with potassium hydroxide.
Please note that the listed concentration amounts for the starch and the acrylic acid monomer, result in molar ratios that fall well within Applicant’s claim molar ratio range of dependent claim 8.
Please note that Chambers’ graft polymerization reaction temperature of Example 26 was from about 68oF to about 86oF, which falls well within applicant’s “room temperature” of independent claim 1. Also note that in paragraph [0027] of applicant’s specification, applicant defines “room temperature” as from 15oC - 45oC, but said temperature my vary by + 5oC to -5oC.
Chambers differs from applicant’s claimed invention in the following ways: 1) there is not a direct disclosure to where the catalytic system employes an ascorbic acid polymerization initiator in combination with an ammonium persulfate polymerization initiator, as set forth in applicant’s independent claim 1, and 2) there is not a direct teaching (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where the polymerization in step a) is carried out in the absence of an acrylamide monomer, as set forth in applicant’s independent claim 1.
The secondary reference to Savich has been described above.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Savich’s disclosure of paragraph [0013], wherein it is directly disclosed that L-ascorbic acid is an effective polymerization initiator for the invention, and which can optionally be used in combination with other types of polymerization initiator (e.g. ammonium persulfate), as strong motivate to actually employ a mixture of L-ascorbic acid and ammonium persulfate in the identical graft polymerizing method used by Chambers. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to use two or more materials in combination for the same purpose they are individually known to be useful without a showing of unexpected and superior results.
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Chambers’ disclosure of paragraph [0037], wherein it is disclosed that the graft polymerization method can be conducted where only one type of monomer is used (acrylic acid is specifically illustrated as the one monomer), as strong motivation to only employ one monomer species (e.g. acrylic acid) in the graft polymerizing method with the carbohydrate (e.g. starch) component. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely follow the disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-4 and optionally over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,958,925. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other when the Patented method comprises a crosslinking agent (see claims 3-4), and when the redox catalyst system comprises a combination of ammonium persulfate and L-ascorbic acid (see independent claim 1 of the Patent). Applicant’s dependent claim 12 is obvious in light of the Patent’s dependent claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/26 with the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive to put the application in condition for allowance for the reasons set forth above. Additional examiner comments are set forth next.
The previously applied prior-art reference to Doane et al. has been dropped only because Doane et al. neither teaches nor suggests applicant’s independent claim 1 process limitation of: “wherein the process is carried out at room temperature,”.
Contrary to Applicant’s traversal arguments, both applied prior-art references to Savich U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2007/0163173 A and Chambers U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2013/0303714 A1, disclose graft polymerizing using at least one monomer (e.g. acrylic acid, acrylamide etc.) onto a polysaccharide (e.g. starch) in the presence of at least one initiator to form a polysaccharide graft copolymer. Savich directly discloses ammonium persulfate, L-ascorbic acid etc. as polymerization initiators to form a polysaccharide graft copolymer. Both Savich and Chambers disclose adding a cross-linking agent (e.g. methylene bis-acrylamide) to form a cross-linked polysaccharide graft copolymer. Neither, Savich nor Chambers requires that an acrylamide monomer be used. The use of acrylamide as a monomer/comonomer is only an optional embodiment, see paragraphs [0021]-[0022] of Savich and paragraphs [0037] and [0053] of Chambers.
Furthermore, as stated above, Savich’s paragraph [0013] directly discloses that L-ascorbic acid is an effective polymerization initiator for the invention, which can optionally be used in combination with other types of polymerization initiator (e.g. ammonium persulfate). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have strong motivate to actually employ a mixture of L-ascorbic acid and ammonium persulfate in the graft polymerizing method. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to use two or more materials in combination for the same purpose they are individually known to be useful without a showing of unexpected and superior results.
Finally, the ODP rejection remains for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764