DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Issues raised by the Applicant:
“Amended claim 1 is nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng at least because the cited references, individually or in combination, do not describe or suggest all the limitations of the claim, as amended. Chacon does not describe or suggest all the features of the a) unitary metal enclosure component specified by amended claim 1. For example, Chacon does not describe that its casing 10 is a unitary metal enclosure component. Chacon also does not describe that its casing 10 defines an upper surface of a unitary metal enclosure component that defines "a first portion surrounding the display" and "a second portion extending at an angle with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining a camera opening." Instead, Chacon describes "a first flat surface 11 of the second casing 10" and integration of the main display screen 34 and a camera 43 into this first flat surface 11 (See, Chacon, [0022], note that Chacon mislabels the first flat surface 11 as 12 in FIG. 1).
b) In addition, cited FIGs. 1 and 2 of Chacon do not show that Chacon's slot 30 is defined by a side surface of the unitary metal housing component that extends from the upper surface of the unitary metal housing component to the back surface of the housing. Instead, FIG. 2 of Chacon appears to show that the adjustable portion 3 of Chacon's band 1 is visible at the underside of the casing 10 (See, FIG. 2 as annotated below). FIG. 2 of Chacon therefore suggests that its casing 10 defines an opening for the adjustable portion 3 that extends into the back surface of the casing 10, which is incompatible with the claim 1 limitation of "a first side surface extending from the upper surface to a back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot extending across a width of the first side surface." Therefore, at least the cited portions of Chacon do not describe or suggest all the limitations of claim 1, as amended.
c) Choi also does not describe all the limitations of claim 1, as amended. For example, at least the cited portions of Choi do not describe or suggest the unitary metal enclosure component specified by amended claim 1, including the limitation that the unitary metal enclosure component defines "a first side surface extending from the upper surface to a back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot extending across a width of the first side surface" as discussed below with respect to Choi's FIGs. 3, 5, 7B, and 11, reproduced below for reference. FIGs. 3 and 5 of Choi show that the Choi's body 101 comprises two portions, a portion 101A (labelled in FIG. 3) that defines a front surface of the body 101 and a portion 101B (labelled in FIG. 5) that defines a back surface of the body 101. Therefore, Choi's body 101 is not a unitary metal enclosure component. Furthermore neither Choi's body 101 nor Choi's body portion 101A defines "a first side surface extending from the upper surface to a back surface of the housing." As a specific example, none of Choi's FIGs. 5, 7B, and 11 show that the upper side 1 80A of Choi's body 101 extends to a back surface of Choi's body 101. Therefore, the cited portions of Choi does not describe all the limitations of claim 1, as amended. The combination of Choi with Chacon also fails to describe all the limitations of claim 1, as amended.
upper surface defining: "a first portion surrounding the display," "a second portion extending at an angle with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining a camera opening," and "a first side surface extending from the upper surface to a back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot." Therefore, Zheng fails to describe all the limitations of amended claim 1. The combination of Zheng with Choi and Chacon fails to describe all the limitations of claim 1, as amended.
In view of all the foregoing, amended claim 1 is nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng. Dependent claims 2-4 and 6-8 are nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng for at least the same reasons as amended claim 1. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-8 is therefore requested.
d) Amended claim 9 is also nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng at least because the cited references, individually or in combination, do not describe or suggest all the limitations of the claim, as amended. For example, Chacon does not describe a unitary metal enclosure component defining "an upper surface, a first portion of the upper surface defining an opening to the internal cavity and surrounding the touch sensitive display and a second portion of the upper surface positioned at an angle with respect to the upper surface and defining a camera opening," and "a side surface extending from the second portion of the upper surface to a rear surface of the housing and defining a channel configured to retain an end portion of a band" for at least similar reasons as previously described with respect to amended claim 1. Chacon also does not describe that the unitary metal enclosure component defines "a camera cavity positioned inward from the camera opening and above at least a portion of the channel," with a camera positioned inside this cavity. The cited portions of Choi and Zheng do not cure the deficiencies of Chacon for at least similar reasons as previously described with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 9 is nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng. Dependent claims 11 through 12 are nonobvious over Chacon, Choi, and Zheng for at least the same reasons as amended claim 9. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 9 and 11-12 is therefore requested.
The Office action rejected claims 15 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Chacon in view of Zheng. Amended claim 15 is nonobvious over Chacon and Zheng at least because the cited references, individually or in combination, do not describe or suggest all the limitations of the claim, as amended. For example, Chacon does not describe a unitary metal enclosure component defining "an upper surface defining a first portion surrounding the
display, and a second portion extending at an angle with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining an opening to a camera cavity" and "a first side surface extending from the second portion of the upper surface to the back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot extending across a width of the first side surface and configured to secure a removeable band to the housing, a least a portion of the camera cavity positioned between the second portion of the upper surface and the first side surface" for at least similar reasons as previously described with respect to amended claim 1. The cited portions of Zheng do not cure the deficiencies of Chacon for at least similar reasons as previously described with respect to amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 15 is nonobvious over Chacon and Zheng. Dependent claim 18 is nonobvious over Chacon and Zheng for at least the same reasons as amended claim 15. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 15 and 18 is therefore requested.
The Examiner rejected claims 17, 19, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Chacon in view of Zheng, and further in view of Choi. For at least the following reasons, the Assignee respectfully traverses these rejections.
Claims 17, 19, and 20 depend from and incorporate all the limitations of amended claim 15, which is submitted to be in condition for allowance. The cited portions of Choi do not cure the deficiencies of Chacon and Zhen for at least similar reasons as previously discussed with respect to amended claim 1. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 17, 19, and 20 is therefore requested.
The Examiner’s position:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
a) Regarding’s Applicant’s argument “Chacon does not describe that its casing 10 is a unitary metal enclosure component. Chacon also does not describe that its casing 10 defines an upper surface of a unitary metal enclosure component that defines "a first portion surrounding the display" and "a second portion extending at an angle with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining a camera opening." Instead, Chacon describes "a first flat surface 11 of the second casing 10" and integration of the main display screen 34 and a camera 43 into this first flat surface 11 (See, Chacon, [0022], note that Chacon mislabels the first flat surface 11 as 12 in FIG. 1).”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. From figures 1-2 and column 6, lines 1-30 of Chacon, it appears the second flat surface 12 is as shown below. Even though, figures 1-2 do not show reference numeral 11.
However, the Examiner interprets the upper surface defining a first portion surrounding the display and a second portion extending at angle with respect to the first portion (as claimed), as shown below:
Chacon does teach a unitary enclosure (10) and the teaching of Choi et al. was applied to address the “metal” limitation. See below rejection of claim 1
b) The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. Column 3 lines 13-14 of Chacon clearly states “The first slot 30 laterally traverses into the second casing 10.
Chacon also teaches “a first side surface extending from the upper surface to a back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot extending across a width of the first side surface." as shown in above figure 1. See below rejection of claim 1.
c) The Applicant’s arguments in this section are similar as the above (a) and (b). See above responses.
d) The Applicant’s arguments in this section are similar as the above (a) and (b). See above responses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chacon Jr. U.S. Patent 11,096,528 (hereinafter D1) in view of Choi et al. U.S. Patent 9,442,525 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Zheng U.S. Patent 12,143,706 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a wearable electronic device comprising:
a display (34; figure 1);
a housing (10; figure 1) at least partially enclosing (see figure 1) the display and comprising an unitary enclosure component (enclosure formed by 10; figure 1), the enclosure component defining:
an upper surface (12; figure 1) defining a first portion (see above annotated figure 1) surrounding the display, and a second portion (see above annotated figure 1) extending at an angle (see figure 1) with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining a camera opening (see figure 1 and column 5, lines 31-43; the space accommodates camera 43);
a first side surface (see above annotated figure 1) extending from the upper surface to the back surface of the housing and defining a first band slot (30; figure 1) extending across a width (see figure 1) of the first side surface, the first band slot positioned below (see figure 1) the camera opening and configured to receive a first portion (upper left portion of 1) of a band (1; figure 1);
a second side surface (see above annotated figure 1) extending from the upper surface to the back surface of the housing, separated (see figure 10 from the first side surface by the display, and defining a second band slot (31; figure 2) configured to receive a second portion (upper right portion of 1; figure 1) of the band; and
a digital camera assembly (43; figure 1) positioned inward (see figure 1) of the camera opening and over at least a portion of
However, D1 does not specifically teach that said enclosure component is made of metal.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising an enclosure component made of metal (see column 10, lines 54-57).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of D1 with a metal enclosure component, as suggested by D2, to enhance sturdiness of the enclosure.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a transparent cover positioned over the display and defining a front surface of the electronic device.
D3, teaches a similar electronic device, which further comprises a transparent cover (5071; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32) supported by an upper surface of the housing and positioned over a display (5061; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32), the transparent cover defining a substantial entirety of a front surface of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1 with a transparent cover supported by the upper surface of the housing and positioned over the display, the transparent cover defining a substantial entirety of a front surface of the electronic device, as suggested by D3, to protect the display panel as well as to provide a touch input surface for said device.
Regarding claim 2, D1/D2/D3 teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
the digital camera assembly (43; figure 1 of D1) is positioned within a camera cavity (see figure 1; the space accommodates camera 43) defined by the housing and positioned above (see above figure 1) at least a portion of the first side surface;
the metal enclosure component further defines an internal cavity (space inside 10; figure 1 of D1) and a passage (implicitly taught in figure 5 of D1) extending between (see figure 5 of D1) the internal cavity and the camera cavity;
the display (34; figure 1 of D1) is positioned at least partially within the internal cavity (see figure 1 and figure 5 of D1); and the wearable electronic device further comprises:
a circuit assembly (shown in figure 5 of D1) positioned within the internal cavity and operably coupled to the display.
a circuit (see below annotated figure 5 of D1) passing through the passage and operably coupling the digital camera assembly to the circuit assembly.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach that said circuit is flexible.
D2, further suggest a flexible circuit (see below annotated figure 7B of D2) operably coupling a digital camera assembly (291; figure 5) to a circuit assembly (implicitly taught in figure 7B of D2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a flexible circuit passing through the passage of the device of D1/D2/D3, as suggested by D2, and operably coupling the digital camera assembly to the circuit assembly, to optimize component arrangement inside said enclosure.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the passage is configured to receive the digital camera assembly (see figure 5 of D2 and the explanation in the above rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach the digital camera assembly has a width that is greater than a diameter of the camera opening.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the digital camera assembly has a width that is greater than a diameter of the camera opening, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the size of said width and diameter of the digital camera assembly of D1/D2/D3, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, to optimize space inside the enclosure of said wearable electronic device. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955..
Regarding claim 6, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the digital camera assembly (43; figure 1 of D1) is positioned within a camera cavity (see figure 1; the space accommodates camera 43) defined by the metal enclosure component; the first band slot is defined by an upper wall (see above annotated figure 1 of D1) and a lower wall (see below annotated figure 2 of D1) of the metal enclosure component; and
the first portion (upper left portion of 1; figure 1) of the band is positioned external (see figure 1) to the upper wall and the lower wall.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach the digital camera assembly is configured to capture images at a resolution between 0.9 megapixels and 3 megapixels, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust/configure such parameters, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, to achieve desired image resolution.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
the housing defines a rear opening (see figure 2 of D1; the space covered by rear cover 12); and
the wearable electronic device further comprises:
a rear cover (12; figure 2 of D1) positioned over the rear opening; and
a sensor array (biometric sensor 38; figure 2 of D1; see column 6, lines 9-30 of D1) positioned within the rear opening.
Regarding claim 9, D1 teaches an electronic watch comprising:
a (“touch sensitive”, not taught) display (34; figure 1);
a housing (10; figure 1) comprising a unitary (“metal”, not taught) enclosure component defining:
an internal cavity (space inside 10);
an upper surface (upper surface of 10; figure 1), a first portion (see above annotated figure 1) of the upper surface defining an opening (see above annotated figure 1) to the internal cavity and surrounding the display and a second portion (see above annotated figure 1) of the upper surface positioned at an angle (see figure 10 with respect to the upper surface and defining a camera opening (top portion of camera 43; figure 1);
a side surface (see above annotated figure 1) extending from the second portion of the upper surface to a rear surface of the housing and defining a channel (see column 3, lines 18-21; “slot 30”) configured to retain an end portion (see figure 1) of a band (1; figure 1);
a camera cavity (see figure 1; internal space that accommodates the body portion of camera 43) positioned inward from the camera opening and above (see figure 1) at least a portion of the channel;
a battery (40; figure 5) positioned within the internal cavity;
a circuit assembly (shown in figure 5 of D1) positioned within (see figure 1 and figure 5) the internal cavity and operably coupled (see figure 5) to the battery (“and the haptic device”, not taught); and
a camera (43; figure 1) positioned within the camera cavity, oriented at the angle (see figure 1) defined by (see figure 1) the second portion of the upper surface and operably coupled (see figure 5) to the circuit assembly by a (flexible, not taught) circuit.
However, D1 does not specifically teach said display is touch sensitive.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electronic watch (see figure 3), comprising a touch sensitive display (see column 4, lines 39-54).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic watch of D1, with a touch sensitive display, as suggested by D2, for user’s input through said touch sensitive display.
However, D1 does not specifically teach said enclosure component is made of metal.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising an enclosure component made of metal (see column 10, lines 54-57).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of D1 with a metal enclosure component, as suggested by D2, to enhance sturdiness of the enclosure.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a haptic device positioned within the internal cavity and configured to produce a haptic output along the external surface of the housing;
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electronic device, which suggests a haptic device (see column 8, lines 61-65; “convert an electrical signal to a mechanical vibration” = haptic device) positioned within an internal cavity (see figure 9E) of said device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1 with a haptic device positioned within the internal cavity of D1, as suggested by D2, such that the circuit assembly would be operably coupled to the haptic device and configured to produce a haptic output along the external surface of the housing to provide users with touch sensations such as vibration or force feedback.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a transparent cover positioned over the display, the transparent cover defining a front surface of the electronic device.
D3, teaches a similar electronic device, which further comprises a transparent cover (5071; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32) supported by an upper surface of the housing and positioned over a display (5061; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32), the transparent cover defining a front surface of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1 with a transparent cover positioned over the display, the transparent cover defining a front surface of the electronic device, as suggested by D3, to protect the display panel as well as to provide a touch input surface for said device.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic watch of claim 9, wherein:
the housing defines a passage (see above annotated figure 5 of D1) extending between the camera cavity and the internal cavity; the flexible circuit extends through (see above annotated figure 5 of D1) the passage; and the passage is configured to receive (see above annotated figure 5 of D1) the camera.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of D1/D2/D3 would result in the electronic watch of claim 9, wherein:
the camera (43; figure 1 of D1) is positioned between (see above annotated figure 1 of D1) the side surface and a portion (the portion to the right of camera 43) of the internal cavity containing the battery and the haptic device.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chacon Jr. U.S. Patent 11,096,528 (hereinafter D1) in view of Choi et al. U.S. Patent 9,442,525 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Zheng U.S. Patent 12,143,706 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Mantrawadi et al. U.S. Pub. 2020/0289001 (hereinafter D4).
Regarding claim 21, as mentioned above D1/D2/D3 teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the housing further comprises an at least partially transparent rear cover coupled to the metal enclosure component and defining a rear surface of the electronic device.
D4, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a similar structure, which suggests a housing comprising a rear window aperture (402; figures 5-6) for exposing a sensor (see par[0063]) defining a rear surface of said housing for exposing a sensor or making a sensor visible (see par[0063]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the housing of D1/D2/D3 such that it would further comprise an at least partially transparent rear cover coupled to the metal enclosure component and defining a rear surface of the electronic device, as suggested by D4, for exposing a sensor, if desired.
10. Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chacon Jr. U.S. Patent 11,096,528 (hereinafter D1) in view of Zheng U.S. Patent 12,143,706 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 15, D1 teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display (34; figure 1);
a housing (10; figure 1) at least partially surrounding (see figure 1) the display, defining a back surface, and comprising a unitary metal enclosure component defining:
an upper surface (12; figure 1) defining a first portion (see above annotated figure 1) surrounding the display, and a second portion (see above annotated figure 1) extending at an angle (shown in figure 1) with respect to the first portion, the second portion of the upper surface defining an opening (the top opening surface accommodate camera top portion of 43; figure 1) to a camera cavity (the space accommodates the entire camera 43; figure 1);
a first side surface (see above annotated figure 1) extending from the second portion of the upper surface of the housing and defining a first band slot (30; figure 1) extending across a width (see figure 1) of the first side surface and configured to secure a removeable band (1; figure 1) to the housing, at least a portion of the camera cavity positioned between the second portion of the upper surface and the first side surface; and
a second side surface (see above annotated figure 1) defining a second band slot (31; figure 2) configured to secure the removeable band to the housing; and a camera (43; figure 1) positioned within the camera cavity and configured to receive an optical input (implicitly taught; cameras are designed to receive and capture light from the external environment through a lens, which is interpreted as “optical input”) through the opening.
However, D1 does not specifically teach a transparent cover and positioned over the display, the transparent cover defining a front surface of the electronic device.
D3, teaches a similar electronic device, which further comprises a transparent cover (5071; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32) supported by an upper surface of the housing and positioned over a display (5061; see figure 21; column 17, lines 20-32), the transparent cover defining a substantial entirety of a front surface of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1 with a transparent cover supported by the upper surface of the housing and positioned over the display, the transparent cover defining a substantial entirety of a front surface of the electronic device, as suggested by D3, to protect the display panel as well as to provide a touch input surface for said device.
Regarding claim 18, D1/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the camera cavity is positioned over a surface (top surface of band 1; figure 1 of D1 shows camera (43) cavity locates above band 1 when the band is secured to the housing) of the removable band when the removable band is secured to the housing.
11. Claims 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chacon Jr. U.S. Patent 11,096,528 (hereinafter D1) in view of Zheng U.S. Patent 12,143,706 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of Choi et al. U.S. Patent 9,442,525 (hereinafter D2)
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above, D1/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 15.
However, D1/D3 does not specifically teach wherein: the metal enclosure component is formed from a metal material.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a wearable electronic device, comprising an enclosure component made of metal (see column 10, lines 54-57).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of D1/D3 with a metal enclosure component, as suggested by D2, to enhance sturdiness of the enclosure.
Note: the claimed limitation “the camera cavity is machined into the metal material.” is a process and, therefore, it is not given patentable weight.
The claimed phrase “the camera cavity is machined into the metal material” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is, that the camera cavity is made by machining the metal material. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
Thus, even though D1/D2 is silent as to the process the camera cavity is machined into the metal material, it appears that the product in D1/D2 would be the same or similar as that claimed.
See MPEP 2113[R-1])
Regarding claim 19, D1/D3 teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein: the housing further defines an internal cavity (space inside 10; figure 1 of D1) and a passage (implicitly taught in figure 5 of D1) that extends (see figure 5 of D1) between the internal cavity and the camera cavity; the electronic device comprises a circuit assembly (shown in figure 5 of D1) positioned within the internal cavity; and the electronic device comprises a circuit (see above annotated figure 1) that extends through the passage and operably couples the camera to the circuit assembly.
However, D1/D3 does not specifically teach that said circuit is flexible.
D2, further suggest a flexible circuit (see below annotated figure 7B of D2) operably coupling a digital camera assembly (291; figure 5) to a circuit assembly (implicitly taught in figure 7B of D2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a flexible circuit passing through the passage of the device of D1/D3, as suggested by D2, and operably coupling the digital camera assembly to the circuit assembly, to optimize component arrangement inside said enclosure.
Regarding claim 20, D1/D3/D2 teaches the electronic device of claim 19, wherein: the electronic device further comprises a battery (40; figure 5 and column 5, lines 58-60 of D1) positioned within the internal cavity.
However, D1/D3/D2 does not specifically teach a haptic device positioned within the internal cavity.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an electronic device, which suggests a haptic device (see column 8, lines 61-65; “convert an electrical signal to a mechanical vibration” = haptic device) positioned within an internal cavity (see figure 9E) of said device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the electronic device of D1/D3/D2 with a haptic device positioned within the internal cavity, as suggested by D2, to provide users with touch sensations such as vibration or force feedback.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841