DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed 1/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 3, 6, and 9-10 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 11-12 are pending in the application. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ikegawa (JP2006117731A, please refer to the attached machine translation for the below cited sections). Ikegawa discloses a liquid crystalline polyester resin composition; a molded article formed therefrom, such as in the form of an insulating substrate or molded sheet or film as in the working examples; and a molded circuit board made by forming a metal layer, particularly a copper layer as in the working examples, on a surface of the insulating substrate formed from the liquid crystalline polyester resin composition (Paragraphs 0001, 0087-0088, 0091-0094, 0096, and Examples); wherein the resin composition and molded article are excellent in mechanical and thermal properties, including impact strength and solder heat resistance, and also have excellent adhesion when forming a metal layer, particularly a copper layer, on the surface (as in instant claim 12; Entire document, particularly as noted above and Paragraph 0014). Ikegawa discloses that the liquid crystalline polyester resin composition comprises a liquid crystalline polyester (LCP) matrix (reading upon the claimed “matrix material comprises a liquid crystal polyester”) and inorganic filler particles (reading upon the claimed “plurality of particles… wherein the plurality of particles comprises a plurality of inorganic particles”) uniformly dispersed in the LCP matrix, wherein the surface of the inorganic filler particles is coated with an epoxy-group containing ethylene copolymer that has excellent elastomer-like energy absorption performance, improving adhesion at the interface between the inorganic filler and the LCP matrix and improving the energy absorption capacity at this interface (reading upon the claimed “region A at a part between the matrix material and the plurality of particles, and the region comprises a compound having a storage elastic modulus and a loss elastic modulus…and the compound comprises polyolefin-based pressure sensitive adhesive…wherein the region A is provided as a layer on each of the inorganic particles”), while also greatly improving the impact strength and heat resistance of the molded article (Paragraphs 0014-0016, 0036 and 0067-0068). Ikegawa discloses that the inorganic filler allows for the reinforcement of the molded article and can be used in various forms such as fibrous, needle-shaped, plate-shaped, powder-shaped, or spherical (Paragraph 0067), with examples of fibrous inorganic fillers including glass fibers, examples of needle-shaped fillers including those as recited in Paragraph 0071, and examples of plate-shaped fillers including talc and mica (Paragraph 0075), with working examples specifically utilizing milled glass fibers, EFH-7501 manufactured by Central Glass Co., Ltd, i.e., E-glass fibers that inherently have a much higher elastic modulus than the LCP as the matrix material as in instant claim 1 and more particularly as in instant claim 5 (Examples). Ikegawa discloses that the epoxy group-containing ethylene copolymer that is well coated on the surface of the inorganic filler and that has excellent elastomer-like energy absorption properties is a copolymer having ethylene units and unsaturated carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units and/or unsaturated glycidyl ether units in its molecule, preferably in a content of 50 to 98% by mass, more preferably 80 to 95% by mass of ethylene units, and 2 to 50% by mass, more preferably 5 to 25% by mass, of the unsaturated carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units and/or unsaturated glycidyl ether units in its molecule; and may further include an ethylene-based unsaturated ester in addition to the ethylene and unsaturated carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units and/or unsaturated glycidyl ether units as described in Paragraphs 0062-0065 (Paragraphs 0016-0017, 0026, 0058-0059, and 0062-0065), with working examples utilizing specific “BondFirst®” epoxy group-containing copolymers manufactured by Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. (i.e., BONDFAST® in Japan and select markets, and globally available as IGETABOND™ from Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd.), including BF-E with 12% by mass glycidyl methacrylate (GMA) units, BF-2C with 6% by mass GMA units, BF-7M with 6% by mass GMA units and 30% by mass methyl methacrylate units, and BF-2B with 12% by mass GMA units and 5% by mass vinyl acetate units (Examples, Paragraph 0102; see also the attached IGETABOND™ Technical Data Sheet); and given that the adhesive ethylene copolymers disclosed by Ikegawa, particularly as utilized in the working examples, having excellent elastomer-like energy absorption properties, read upon the claimed “compound comprises polyolefin-based pressure sensitive adhesive” and would exhibit a loss tangent of 0.1 or greater at 25°C when measured by some arbitrary method at some arbitrary frequency (as evidenced by CN106957624A, machine translation also attached, Examples; and Lee, Effects of Poly(ethylene-co-glycidyl methacrylate) on the Microstructure, Thermal, Rheological, and Mechanical Properties of Thermotropic Liquid Crystalline Polyester Blends, Entire document, particularly Section 3. Results and Discussion, which also utilizes IGETABOND™ BF-2C as evidenced by Section 2.1 and the attached IGETABOND™ Technical Data Sheet), the Examiner takes the position that Ikegawa discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to anticipate instant claims 1, 5 and 12.
With respect to instant claim 2, the Examiner takes the position that the epoxy group-containing ethylene copolymer disclosed by Ikegawa, particularly as utilized in the working examples and especially IGETABOND™ BF-2C, inherently have/has a storage modulus within the claimed range of 1 GPa or less (as evidenced by Lee, Fig. 10), and hence, Ikegawa anticipates instant claim 2.
With respect to instant claim 7, Ikegawa discloses that the inorganic filler is preferably a fibrous inorganic filler, particularly glass fibers as utilized in the examples, wherein the amount of fibrous inorganic filler added to the resin composition is preferably set to a range of 5 to 500 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of liquid crystalline polyester (Paragraph 0067); and given the working examples disclosed by Ikegawa utilizing 67 parts by mass of milled glass fiber surface-treated with epoxy group-containing ethylene copolymer at an adhesion amount of 0.2% by mass as the inorganic filler mixed with 100 parts by mass of liquid crystalline polyester, falling within the claimed 10% by volume or greater range as recited in instant claim 7 based upon known densities thereof, the Examiner takes the position that Ikegawa discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to anticipate in instant claim 7.
With respect to instant claim 8, the Examiner takes the position that the liquid crystalline polyesters disclosed by Ikegawa, particularly as utilized in the working examples, inherently have a dielectric loss tangent within the claimed range of 0.010 or less at 10 GHz and 25°C as is well established in the art (as evidenced, for example, by Matsuura, US2023/0265238A1, Entire document, particularly Abstract, Background, Examples). Hence, Ikegawa anticipates instant claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12 as well as claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikegawa, as applied above to claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12, and further discussed below. The teachings of Ikegawa are discussed in detail above (and incorporated herein by reference) and although the Examiner is of the position that the reference, particularly in light of the working examples, is anticipatory with respect to instant claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12 for the reasons discussed in detail above and particularly when the loss tangent of the epoxy group-containing ethylene copolymer of Ikegawa as the claimed compound of region A is determined by some arbitrary method at some arbitrary frequency, the Examiner alternatively takes the position that given that Ikegawa clearly teaches that the epoxy group-containing ethylene copolymer to be coated on the surface of the inorganic filler has excellent elastomer-like energy absorption properties and dramatically improves the energy absorption capacity at the interface between the inorganic filler and the crystalline polyester matrix (Paragraph 0016), and that the resulting molded article possesses “excellent mechanical and thermal properties such as heat resistance, chemical resistance, low coefficient of linear expansion, flame retardancy, mechanical strength, vibration damping, and elastic modulus” (Paragraph 0087), wherein in addition to ethylene and the unsaturated carboxylic acid glycidyl ester units such as glycidyl (meth)acrylate and/or unsaturated glycidyl ether units such as styrene-p-glycidyl ether (Paragraph 0062), the copolymer may also comprise ethylene-based unsaturated ester compounds, such as particularly preferably vinyl acetate, methyl acrylate, and ethyl acrylate (Paragraph 0063), one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to determine the optimum monomers and monomer contents to utilize to produce the ethylene copolymer elastomer to have the desired energy absorption properties (e.g., damping capacity or tan δ) for a particular end use, wherein it is well established in the art that a higher tan δ or loss tangent provides greater energy absorption and vibration damping properties (as evidenced by Furuta, USPN 5,767,195A, Entire document, particularly Col. 11, lines 52-59; Examples); and given that the ethylene copolymers taught by Ikegawa are capable of exhibiting loss tangent values within the claimed range even when determined by the same method as in the instant invention, the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 12 (alternatively) would have been obvious over the teachings of Ikegawa given that it is prima facie obviousness to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to instant claim 4, although Ikegawa teaches that the surface of the inorganic filler particles is coated with the epoxy-group containing ethylene copolymer which is attached to the inorganic fillers “with high yield” and preferably in an amount in a range of 0.1 to 3% by mass (Paragraph 0080), Ikegawa does not specifically teach a thickness for said coating of the epoxy-group containing ethylene copolymer on the surfaces of the inorganic filler particles. However, given the above mass content taught by Ikegawa and the preferred particle materials and dimensions as taught by Ikegawa in Paragraphs 0067-0078, particularly glass fibers having a fiber diameter of 4 to 15 µm and an aspect ratio of 5 to 50, with working examples utilizing milled E-glass fibers of 10 µm fiber diameter and aspect ratio of 10 coated with an adhesion amount of 0.2% by mass as the inorganic filler, Ikegawa provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion of a coating thickness within the claimed range, such that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 4 would have been obvious over the teachings of Ikegawa.
With respect to instant claim 11, given that the instantly claimed invention does not specifically limit the claimed “acid-modified polyolefin” and that in general, the term “acid-modified” with respect to polyolefins typically includes α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acids and derivatives thereof including acid anhydrides and acid esters thereof, with the latter being specifically taught by Ikegawa (Paragraph 0063), and/or given that α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acids and derivatives thereof including acid anhydrides and acid esters are all known modifying monomers for polyolefins wherein α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid anhydrides would have been obvious over the α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid esters taught by Ikegawa, the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of unexpected results, the claimed invention as recited in instant claim 11 would have been obvious over the teachings of Ikegawa given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Any objection or rejection from the prior office action not restated above has been withdrawn by the Examiner in light of Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments filed 1/29/2026.
/MONIQUE R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787