DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: recycle compression system” (i.e. system [for] recycle compression) in claims 2-3 and 6, liquefaction expansion system (i.e. system [for] expansion) in claims 2-5, “precooling system” in claim 9.
For the recitation, “recycle compression system” (claim 2), the corresponding structure can be found in spec. para. 16: as “one or more recycle compressors”.
For the recitation, “expansion system”, the corresponding structure can be found in spec. para. 16: as “one or more liquefaction expanders”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant admitted prior art (AAPA) in view of Kaart (US 20100071409 A1).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses a method for the liquefaction of hydrogen (Fig 1, par 0032), the method comprising the steps of: precooling a hydrogen feed stream (Fig 1 labeled “H2 feed”) in a precooling cold box having a heat exchanger disposed therein (Fig 1 heat exchanger within precooling zone 10) to form a cooled hydrogen stream (Fig 1 it is understood precooling zone cools the hydrogen feed), wherein the heat exchanger is configured to cool down the hydrogen feed stream within the precooling cold box by indirect heat exchange between the hydrogen feed stream and a precooling refrigerant (par 0032: “the refrigeration for the precooling zone 10 is provided by a closed loop refrigeration circuit 11”); withdrawing the cooled hydrogen stream from the precooling cold box (Fig 1 see H2 stream exiting precooling zone 10 where it enters “purif”); and introducing the cooled hydrogen stream to a liquefaction cold box (Fig 1 cooled H2 stream enters liquefaction zone 5), wherein the cooled hydrogen stream liquefies within the liquefaction cold box by indirect heat exchange against a liquefaction refrigerant (Fig 1 refrigerant within closed loop refrigeration circuit 13, par 0032) to form a product hydrogen stream in the liquefaction cold box (Fig 1 stream exiting liquefaction zone 5), wherein the product hydrogen stream is in liquid form or pseudo-liquid form (Fig 1 par 0032, it is understood liquefaction zone liquefies the hydrogen stream), wherein there are M total precooling cold boxes (Fig 1, there is one precooling zone 10 in train 1a).
AAPA does not disclose a plurality of liquefaction cold boxes and therefore does not disclose: introducing the cooled hydrogen stream to a plurality of liquefaction cold boxes, wherein the cooled hydrogen stream liquefies within the plurality of liquefaction cold boxes by indirect heat exchange against a liquefaction refrigerant to form a product hydrogen stream in each of the plurality of liquefaction cold boxes, and wherein there are N total liquefaction cold boxes, wherein M is less than N.
However, it is routine and well known to economically increase capacity by increasing the number of liquefaction heat exchangers and employing a single pre-cooling heat exchanger.
Moreover, Kaart (see Fig. 2 and whole disclosure) teaches a plurality of liquefaction cold boxes (38a, 38b; providing an increase in capacity without requiring a doubling of every system and thus increasing capacity at lower costs than fully doubling the entire train) and wherein there are M precooling cold boxes (36) and N total liquefaction cold boxes, wherein M is less than N (Fig 1 M=one heat exchanger 36, and N=two heat exchangers 38a, 38b).
Kaart teaches a liquefaction apparatus (see Fig. 2 and whole disclosure), comprising: a first cooling stage (2) having a single precooling heat exchanger (36) and a second cooling stage (4) comprising two liquefaction heat exchangers (38a, 38b) providing an increase in capacity without requiring a doubling of every system and thus increasing capacity at lower costs than fully doubling the entire train. Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Han with a single precooling cold box and dual liquefaction cold boxes for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the system without requiring a full doubling of the cost.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of AAPA with a single precooling cold box and dual liquefaction cold boxes for the purpose of increasing the capacity of the system without requiring a full doubling of the cost, for the purpose of increasing the liquefaction capacity without having to add a second first cooling stage without requiring a full doubling of the cost. It is noted that the modification of the rejection results in duplicating the liquefaction zone 5 of AAPA and splitting the H2 stream so that the H2 stream is distributed in parallel to each liquefaction zone.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA further discloses wherein the liquefaction refrigeration system comprises a recycle compression system and a liquefaction expansion system (see compressors and expanders in annotated Fig A), wherein the recycle compression system is configured to compress the liquefaction refrigerant (AAPA Fig 1 refrigerant within closed loop refrigeration circuit 13 is compressed by recycle compression system, par 0032) and the liquefaction expansion system is configured to expand the liquefaction refrigerant (AAPA Fig 1 refrigerant within closed loop refrigeration circuit 13 is expanded by expansion system, par 0032).
Regarding claim 3, AAPA, as modified, teaches that there are M total recycle compression systems (see there is one recycle compression system) and N total liquefaction expansion systems (from duplicating the liquefaction cold box of AAPA as taught by DAM).
Regarding claim 4, AAPA further discloses wherein the recycle compression system comprises one or more recycle compressors (annotated Fig A, see at least one compressor within recycle compression system, par 0032).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA further disclose wherein the one or more recycle compressors are arranged in parallel or series (annotated Fig A, see compressors within recycle compressions system are at least in series).
Regarding claim 6, AAPA further discloses wherein liquefaction expansion system comprises one or more liquefaction expanders, wherein the one or more liquefaction expanders are arranged in parallel or series (annotated Fig A, see expanders within expansion system arranged in parallel).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA further discloses wherein the liquefaction refrigerant is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, neon, helium, and combinations thereof (AAPA Fig 1: hydrogen is supplied as liquefaction refrigerant via the gas liquid separator 21).
Regarding claim 8, AAPA further discloses wherein the liquefaction refrigerant comprises one or more of hydrogen, neon, and helium (AAPA Fig 1: hydrogen is supplied as liquefaction refrigerant via the gas liquid separator 21).
Regarding claim 9, AAPA further discloses a precooling system comprising a precooling refrigeration cycle (AAPA Fig 1, refrigeration circuit 11 is capable of performing a precooling refrigeration cycle, par 0032).
Regarding claim 10, AAPA further discloses wherein the precooling refrigerant is selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, ammonia, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, water, hydrocarbon, mixed hydrocarbons, fluorocarbon and combinations thereof (see para. 4 - Nitrogen cycle).
Regarding claim 11, AAPA further discloses wherein the precooling refrigerant comprises one or more of nitrogen, argon, ammonia, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, water, hydrocarbon, mixed hydrocarbons, and fluorocarbons (AAPA par 0004: “Regarding the warm temperature range (80K to 300K): referenced art exists using a) closed loop N2 cycle, b) vaporization of LIN from an ASU, c) mixed hydrocarbon refrigerant, and d) optionally pre-precooling to a first temperature (250K to 300K) using NH3 and/or water”).
Regarding claim 12, Modified AAPA further discloses wherein the recycle compression system comprises a single, common recycle compression system (see the compression system in annotated Fig A, see the system may be considered one system; see system has compressors with refrigerant in common).
Regarding claim 14, Modified AAPA teaches wherein the temperature at a cold end of the precooling cold box is in a range of 30K to 250K (Kaart [0064]: -60 ℃ = 213.15 K)
Regarding claim 16, Modified AAPA further discloses wherein the ratio of N total liquefaction cold boxes to M total precooling cold boxes is between 1.25 and 3.0 (1.25 ≤ N/M ≤ 3.0) (AAPA in view of Kaart N=2/M=1).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA (Applicant admitted prior art) in view of Dam (US-9435583-B2), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guillard (US-20180038638-A1).
Inclusive of claims 15, AAPA is silent regarding wherein the temperature at a warm end of the plurality of the liquefaction cold boxes is in a range of 30K to 150K and Kaart teaches wherein the temperature at a warm end of the plurality of the liquefaction cold boxes is at least below 173.15 K (See Kaart [0067]). However, a temperature at a cold end of the precooling cold box and at a warm end of the liquefaction zone, is a result effective variable, as recognized by the teachings of Guillard (see [0084]: purified hydrogen is cooled in the first heat exchanger 345 to a temperature sufficient to remove impurities by adsorption; further see para. 80, 107 - see -190C =83K ).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to operate the system of AAPA in view of Kaart and modified the temperature at a warm end of the liquefaction zone is in the range of 30K to 150K, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments with respect to the §112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection and 112(f) interpretation have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and Applicant Specification Publication [0015] and [0073].
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner respectfully remind Applicant with respect to arguments that the references fail to show certain features of applicant's invention, that the features upon which applicant relies must be recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763