Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nago (US 9,446,812).
In re claim 1, Nago discloses a cable guiding element (60, 62, 114) for guiding cables (104b) inside a bicycle frame inside a head tube (112) of a bicycle frame, comprising a sleeve element (114) which, in the assembled state, completely surrounds a steer tube (110), and at least one holding element (60, 68) connected with the sleeve element for defining the position of at least one cable (as shown in Figures 1-2 and 11); wherein the sleeve element is arranged together with the at least one holding element inside the head tube in the assembled state (as shown in Figure 1).
In re claim 2, Nago further discloses wherein the cables extend, in the assembled state, substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the steer tube as shown in Figure 1, wherein the cables have an angle of less than 300 to the longitudinal axis of the steer tube as shown in Figure 1.
In re claim 4, Nago further discloses wherein several holding elements (68) are connected with the sleeve element (as shown in Figure 11).
In re claim 5, Nago further discloses wherein the at least one holding element is arranged on an outer side (entire exterior of the bearing 114 can broadly be considered “an outer side”) of the sleeve element (as shown in Figure 11).
In re claim 6, Nago further discloses wherein at least two holding elements (outer two elements 68) are arranged opposite to each other (as shown in Figure 11). The Examiner notes that there are three openings 68 as shown in Figure 11, so the outer two can be considered opposite to each other with respect to the center opening 68.
In re claim 7, Nago further discloses wherein the at least one holding element in the assembled state is arranged approximately in the center of the steer tube (when viewed from the front of the bicycle) with a deviation of less than +20mm (as shown in Figures 1-2).
In re claim 8, Nago further discloses wherein the at least one holding element has a lead-through opening for leading through at least one cable (as shown in Figures 2 and 11).
In re claim 9, Nago further discloses wherein the at least one holding element is connected with an outer side (top side) of the sleeve element (as shown in Figure 11).
In re claim 10, Nago further discloses wherein the at least one holding element has connecting bars (reinforcing ribs 80) for connection with outer side (entire exterior of the bearing 114 can broadly be considered “an outer side”) of the sleeve element (as shown in Figures 11-12).
In re claim 11, Nago further discloses wherein the connecting bars have an outer side transitioning substantially step-free to the outer side of the sleeve element (as shown in Figure 12). The Examiner notes that the ribs 80 have a curved transition towards the ring portion 78 instead of having “steps” as shown in annotated Figure 12 below.
Examiner-annotated excerpt from Figure 12 of Nago
In re claim 12, Nago discloses a cable guiding system, comprising a head tube (112) of a bicycle frame, a steer tube (110) of a bicycle fork arranged inside the head tube, and a cable guiding element surrounding the steer tube according to claim 1 as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nago due to the amendment by simply using different reference numbers/components to teach the amended claim language. The Examiner notes that, in light of the amendment to fix the indefiniteness issues, the scope of the claimed invention was narrowed thus requiring the slight change in applied reference numerals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611