The instant application having Application No. 17/896,276 filed on 8/26/2022 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 9/22/2022 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 200, 214, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application CN202010132392.2 (People’s Republic of China).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers have not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed 4/18/2025.
The amendments to claims 1, 8, 11, 12, and 15, filed 4/18/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
The cancellation of claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 16, and 17, filed 4/18/2025, is acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11-15, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikura (JP 2013218256 A)(Embodiment 4)(see attached machine translation), in view of Kim (US20060222088 A1), and further in view of Fujiwara (JP WO2016147501 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) discloses a zoom lens, in at least Figure 7, comprising:
a first lens group, wherein the first lens group (G1 "first lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states " When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, the first lens group G1 is fixed (stationary)") with negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a first lens group G1 having negative refractive power");
a second lens group (G2 "second lens group"), wherein the second lens group (G2 "second lens group") is a zoom lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, …, the second lens group G2 moves to the object side") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a second lens group G2 having positive refractive power") configured to slide along an optical axis on an image side of the first lens group (G1 "first lens group", Figure 7); and
a third lens group (G3 "third lens group"), wherein the third lens group (G3 "third lens group") … negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a third lens group G3 having a negative refractive power") configured to slide along the optical axis on an image side of the second lens group (G2 "second lens group", page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., the third lens group G3 moves to the object side", Figure 5), and the lens groups are arranged from an object side to an image side (Figure 5),
wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1 “first lens group”), the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”), and the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”) meets: 7 <= N <= 11 (page 9, paragraph 5 of translation states "The third lens group G3 includes a positive meniscus lens L8 having a convex surface directed toward the image side, and a biconcave negative lens L9", Figure 7 shows that there are 9 lenses in lens groups 1, 2, and 3 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range);
wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N (page 9, paragraph 8 of translation states "The aspherical surfaces include both sides of the biconcave negative lens L1, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L4, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L7, both sides of the positive meniscus lens L8, both sides of the biconcave negative lens L9, and biconvex. A total of 12 surfaces including both surfaces of the positive lens L10 are provided", table on line 21 of page 17 of original document shows that there are 10 aspheric surfaces in lens groups 1, 2, and 3), wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens (Figure 5).
However, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) does not disclose the third lens group is a compensation lens group and wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°.
Kim teaches a compensation lens (paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third lens group, which is the focusing lens group, of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) modified by a compensation lens, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for smaller focusing adjustments and for the refractive index of the lens system (paragraph 0035).
Fujiwara teaches wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6° (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “If the incident angle θ of the principal ray R to the imaging surface satisfies −3 ° ≦ θ ≦ + 3 ° at both the wide-angle end and the telephoto end, the wide-angle end and the telephoto end are hardly changed with little variation in the incident angle θ”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Fujikura modified by wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to suppress color shading (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses a fourth lens group (G4 "fourth lens group") located on an image side of the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”, Figure 5), wherein, the fourth lens group (G4 "fourth lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., The four lens group G4 is fixed (stationary)") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a fourth lens group G4 having a positive refractive power").
Regarding claim 8, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) discloses a camera module, in at least Figure 7, comprising a camera chip (149 "CCD", page 19, paragraph 9 of translation states "An object image formed by the photographing optical system 141 is formed on the imaging surface of the CCD 149", Figure 11) and a zoom lens (page 19, paragraph 8 of translation states "the zoom lens according to the present invention is incorporated in a photographing optical system 141 of a digital camera that is an information processing apparatus"), wherein a light ray passes through the zoom lens and strikes the camera chip (Figure 11); wherein the zoom lens, comprises
a first lens group, wherein the first lens group (G1 "first lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states " When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, the first lens group G1 is fixed (stationary)") with negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a first lens group G1 having negative refractive power");
a second lens group (G2 "second lens group"), wherein the second lens group (G2 "second lens group") is a zoom lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, …, the second lens group G2 moves to the object side") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a second lens group G2 having positive refractive power") configured to slide along an optical axis on an image side of the first lens group (G1 "first lens group", Figure 7); and
a third lens group (G3 "third lens group"), wherein
the third lens group (G3 "third lens group") … with negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a third lens group G3 having a negative refractive power") configured to slide along the optical axis on an image side of the second lens group (G2 "second lens group", page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., the third lens group G3 moves to the object side", Figure 5), and the lens groups are arranged from an object side to an image side (Figure 5),
wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1 “first lens group”), the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”), and the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”) meets: 7 <= N <= 13 (page 9, paragraph 5 of translation states "The third lens group G3 includes a positive meniscus lens L8 having a convex surface directed toward the image side, and a biconcave negative lens L9", Figure 7 shows that there are 9 lenses in lens groups 1, 2, and 3 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range);
wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N (page 9, paragraph 8 of translation states "The aspherical surfaces include both sides of the biconcave negative lens L1, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L4, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L7, both sides of the positive meniscus lens L8, both sides of the biconcave negative lens L9, and biconvex. A total of 12 surfaces including both surfaces of the positive lens L10 are provided", table on line 21 of page 17 of original document shows that there are 10 aspheric surfaces in lens groups 1, 2, and 3), wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens (Figure 5).
However, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) does not disclose the third lens group is a compensation lens group and wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°.
Kim teaches a compensation lens (paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third lens group, which is the focusing lens group, of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) modified by a compensation lens, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for smaller focusing adjustments and for the refractive index of the lens system (paragraph 0035).
Fujiwara teaches wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6° (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “If the incident angle θ of the principal ray R to the imaging surface satisfies −3 ° ≦ θ ≦ + 3 ° at both the wide-angle end and the telephoto end, the wide-angle end and the telephoto end are hardly changed with little variation in the incident angle θ”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Fujikura modified by wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to suppress color shading (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein the zoom lens further comprises: a fourth lens group (G4 "fourth lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., The four lens group G4 is fixed (stationary)") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a fourth lens group G4 having a positive refractive power").
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1 “first lens group”), the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”), the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”), and the fourth lens group (G4 “fourth lens group”) meets: 7 <= N <= 11 (page 9, paragraph 6 of translation states "The fourth lens group G4 includes a biconvex positive lens L10", Figure 7 shows that there are 10 lenses in lens groups 1, 2, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein a movement stroke L1 of the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”) along the optical axis and a total length TTL of the zoom lens from a surface closest to the object side to an imaging plane meet 0.12 < |L1/TTL1| < 0.35 (movement stroke calculated as movement with respect to the image plane, table on line 10 of page 18 of original document, d14 = 0.98 and d18 = 6.04 at the intermediate focal length state, which gives L1 = 7.02 and TTL = 27.06 at the intermediate focal length, so therefore |L1/TTL| = 0.259 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein a movement stroke L2 of the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”) along the optical axis and the total length TTL of the zoom lens from the surface closest to the object side to the imaging plane meet 0.08 < |L2/TTL| < 0.3 (movement stroke calculated as movement with respect to the image plane, table on line 10 of page 18 of original document, d18 = 6.04 at the intermediate focal length state, which gives L2 = 6.04 and TTL = 27.06 at the intermediate focal length, so therefore |L2/TTL| = 0.223 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range).
Regarding claim 15, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) discloses a mobile terminal (140 “digital camera”), in at least Figure 7, comprising a housing (141 "photographing optical system", Figures 9, 10) and a zoom lens disposed in the housing (page 19, paragraph 8 of translation states "zoom lens according to the present invention is incorporated in a photographing optical system 141 of a digital camera");
wherein the zoom lens comprises
a first lens group, wherein the first lens group (G1 "first lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, the first lens group G1 is fixed (stationary)") with negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a first lens group G1 having negative refractive power");
a second lens group (G2 "second lens group"), wherein the second lens group (G2 "second lens group") is a zoom lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, …, the second lens group G2 moves to the object side") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a second lens group G2 having positive refractive power") configured to slide along an optical axis on an image side of the first lens group (G1 "first lens group", Figure 7); and
a third lens group (G3 "third lens group"), wherein
the third lens group (G3 "third lens group") … with negative focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a third lens group G3 having a negative refractive power") configured to slide along the optical axis on an image side of the second lens group (G2 "second lens group", page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., the third lens group G3 moves to the object side", Figure 5), and the lens groups are arranged from an object side to an image side (Figure 5),
wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1 “first lens group”), the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”), and the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”) meets: 7 <= N <= 11 (page 9, paragraph 5 of translation states "The third lens group G3 includes a positive meniscus lens L8 having a convex surface directed toward the image side, and a biconcave negative lens L9", Figure 7 shows that there are 9 lenses in lens groups 1, 2, and 3 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range);
wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N (page 9, paragraph 8 of translation states "The aspherical surfaces include both sides of the biconcave negative lens L1, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L4, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L7, both sides of the positive meniscus lens L8, both sides of the biconcave negative lens L9, and biconvex. A total of 12 surfaces including both surfaces of the positive lens L10 are provided", table on line 21 of page 17 of original document shows that there are 10 aspheric surfaces in lens groups 1, 2, and 3), wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens (Figure 5).
However, Fujikura (Embodiment 4) does not disclose the third lens group is a compensation lens group and wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°.
Kim teaches a compensation lens (paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third lens group, which is the focusing lens group, of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) modified by a compensation lens, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for smaller focusing adjustments and for the refractive index of the lens system (paragraph 0035).
Fujiwara teaches wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6° (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “If the incident angle θ of the principal ray R to the imaging surface satisfies −3 ° ≦ θ ≦ + 3 ° at both the wide-angle end and the telephoto end, the wide-angle end and the telephoto end are hardly changed with little variation in the incident angle θ”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Fujikura modified by wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to suppress color shading (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein the zoom lens further comprises a fourth lens group (G4 "fourth lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 9, paragraph 7 of translation states "When zooming from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., The four lens group G4 is fixed (stationary)") with positive focal power (page 9, paragraph 2 of translation states "a fourth lens group G4 having a positive refractive power").
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Fujikura (Embodiment 4) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and Fujikura (Embodiment 4) further discloses wherein the effective focal length ft at the telephoto end and an effective focal length fw at a wide-angle end of the zoom lens meet 1 <= |ft/fw| <= 3.7 (table on line 10 of page 18 of original document, ft = 9.55 and fw = 3.35, so therefore |ft/fw| = 2.85 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taoda (JP 5659992 B2)(Embodiment 1)(see attached machine translation), in view of Kim (US20060222088 A1), in view of Fujikura (JP 2013218256 A)(Embodiment 4)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Fujiwara (JP WO2016147501 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Taoda (Embodiment 1) discloses a zoom lens, in at least Figure 5, comprising:
a first lens group (GR1 "first lens group"), wherein the first lens group (GR1 "first lens group") is a fixed lens group (page 2, paragraph 8 of translation states "a first lens group having a negative power in a fixed upon zooming GR1") with negative focal power (page 5, paragraph 2 of translation states "GR1 is a first lens group having a negative power");
a second lens group (GR2 "second lens group"), wherein the second lens group (GR2 "second lens group") is a zoom lens group (page 2, paragraph 8 of translation states "a positive traveling along the optical axis during zooming the second lens group GR2") with positive focal power (page 5, paragraph 2 of translation states "GR2 is a second lens group having a positive power") configured to slide along an optical axis on an image side of the first lens group (GR1 "first lens group", Figure 5); and
a third lens group (GR3 "third lens group"), wherein the third lens group (GR3 "third lens group") … with negative focal power (page 5, paragraph 2 of translation states "GR3 is negative and a third lens group") configured to slide along the optical axis on an image side of the second lens group (GR2 "second lens group", page 2, paragraph 8 of translation states "a third lens group having a negative power which moves along the zooming", Figure 5), and the lens groups are arranged from an object side to an image side (Figure 5);
wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group, the second lens group, and the third lens group meets: 7 <= N <= 11 (Figure 5 shows that N = 8).
However, Taoda (Embodiment 1) does not disclose the third lens group is a compensation lens group, wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N, and wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°.
Kim discloses a compensation lens (paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third lens group, which is the focusing lens group, of Taoda (Embodiment 1) modified by a compensation lens, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for smaller focusing adjustments and for the refractive index of the lens system (paragraph 0035).
Fujikura (Embodiment 4) teaches wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N (page 9, paragraph 8 of translation states "The aspherical surfaces include both sides of the biconcave negative lens L1, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L4, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L7, both sides of the positive meniscus lens L8, both sides of the biconcave negative lens L9, and biconvex. A total of 12 surfaces including both surfaces of the positive lens L10 are provided", table on line 21 of page 17 of original document shows that there are 10 aspheric surfaces in lens groups 1, 2, and 3), wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens (Figure 5).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Taoda (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N, as taught by Fujikura, in order to improve image quality.
Fujiwara teaches wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6° (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “If the incident angle θ of the principal ray R to the imaging surface satisfies −3 ° ≦ θ ≦ + 3 ° at both the wide-angle end and the telephoto end, the wide-angle end and the telephoto end are hardly changed with little variation in the incident angle θ”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Fujikura modified by wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to suppress color shading (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Taoda (Embodiment 1) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Taoda (Embodiment 1) further discloses wherein a focal length f1 of the first lens group and a focal length ft at a telephoto end of the zoom lens meet 0.2 < |f1/ft| < 0.9 (table 1d, f1 = -9.030, table 1b, ft = 28.64, so therefore |f1/ft| = 0.315 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range); a focal length f2 of the second lens group and the focal length ft meet 0.10 < |f2/ft| < 0.6 (table 1d, f2 = 10.650, table 1b, ft = 28.64, so therefore |f2/ft| = 0.372 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range); and a focal length f3 of the third lens group and the focal length ft meet 0.10 |f3/ft| < 0.7 (table 1d, f3 = -11.182, table 1b, ft = 28.64, so therefore |f3/ft| = 0.390 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range).
Claims 15 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki (US 20150109485 A1)(Embodiment 1), in view of Kim (US20060222088 A1), in view of Fujikura (JP 2013218256 A)(Embodiment 4)(see attached machine translation), and further in view of Fujiwara (JP WO2016147501 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, Ozaki (Embodiment 1) discloses a mobile terminal, in at least Figures 5A-C, comprising a housing (54 "lens-barrel portion", paragraph 0091) and a zoom lens disposed in the housing (paragraph 0091 states "The lens-barrel portion 54 accommodates and holds the zoom lens 10");
wherein the zoom lens comprises
a first lens group (Gr1 "first lens group"), wherein the first lens group (Gr1 “first lens group) is a fixed lens group (paragraph 0133 states "Gr1 and Gr4 are fixed during magnification change") with negative focal power (Table 3, f(Gr1) = -6.36, which is negative);
a second lens group (Gr2 "second lens group"), wherein the second lens group (Gr2 “second lens group”) is a zoom lens group (paragraph 0133 states "during magnification change from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, the second lens group Gr2 moves to the object side along the optical axis AX direction") with positive focal power (table 3, f(Gr2) = +5.88, which is positive) configured to slide along an optical axis on an image side of the first lens group (Gr1 “first lens group”, Figures 5A-C); and
a third lens group (Gr3 "third lens group") wherein
the third lens group (Gr3 "third lens group") … with negative focal power (table 3, f(Gr3) = -8.31, which is negative) configured to slide along the optical axis on an image side of the second lens group (Gr2 “second lens group”, paragraph 0133 states "during magnification change from the wide-angle end to the telephoto end, ..., and the third lens group Gr3 moves along the optical axis AX direction"), and the lens groups are arranged from an object side to an image side (Figures 5A-C).
However, Ozaki (Embodiment 1) does not disclose the third lens group is a compensation lens group, wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group, the second lens group, and the third lens group meets: 7 <= N <= 11; wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N, wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens, and wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°.
Kim discloses a compensation lens (paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third lens group, which is the focusing lens group, of Ozaki (Embodiment 1) modified by a compensation lens, as taught by Kim, in order to compensate for smaller focusing adjustments and for the refractive index of the lens system (paragraph 0035).
Fujikura (Embodiment 4) teaches wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group (G1 “first lens group”), the second lens group (G2 “second lens group”), and the third lens group (G3 “third lens group”) meets: 7 <= N <= 11 (page 9, paragraph 5 of translation states "The third lens group G3 includes a positive meniscus lens L8 having a convex surface directed toward the image side, and a biconcave negative lens L9", Figure 7 shows that there are 9 lenses in lens groups 1, 2, and 3 which falls within the claimed range thereby anticipating the claimed range); wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N (page 9, paragraph 8 of translation states "The aspherical surfaces include both sides of the biconcave negative lens L1, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L4, both sides of the biconvex positive lens L7, both sides of the positive meniscus lens L8, both sides of the biconcave negative lens L9, and biconvex. A total of 12 surfaces including both surfaces of the positive lens L10 are provided", table on line 21 of page 17 of original document shows that there are 10 aspheric surfaces in lens groups 1, 2, and 3), wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens (Figure 5).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Ozaki (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein a total quantity N of lenses in the first lens group, the second lens group, and the third lens group meets: 7 <= N <= 11 and wherein lenses comprised in the zoom lens meet: N <= a quantity of aspheric surfaces <= 2N, wherein the quantity of aspheric surfaces is a quantity of aspheric surfaces of all lenses comprised in the zoom lens, as taught by Fujikura, in order to improve image quality.
Fujiwara teaches wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6° (page 4, paragraph 9 of translation states “If the incident angle θ of the principal ray R to the imaging surface satisfies −3 ° ≦ θ ≦ + 3 ° at both the wide-angle end and the telephoto end, the wide-angle end and the telephoto end are hardly changed with little variation in the incident angle θ”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the zoom lens of Fujikura modified by wherein a difference between a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a wide-angle state and a chief ray angle when the zoom lens is in a telephoto state is less than or equal to 6°, as taught by Fujiwara, in order to suppress color shading (page 4, paragraph 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ozaki (Embodiment 1) and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and Ozaki (Embodiment 1) further discloses a half-image height IMH (Table 2, 2Y = 5.871 is the image height, so 2Y/2 = half image height = IMH = 2.935 at telephoto end) and an effective focal length ft (table 2, ft = 12.54) at the telephoto end of the zoom lens, but does not disclose wherein a range of a ratio of a half-image height IMH to an effective focal length ft at the telephoto end of the zoom lens meets 0.02 <|IMH/ft|< 0.20 (Table 2, 2Y = 5.871 is the image height, so 2Y/2 = half image height = IMH = 2.935 at telephoto end and ft = 12.54, so therefore |IMH/ft| = 0.234).
Thus Ozaki (Embodiment 1) discloses the claimed invention except for 0.02 <|IMH/ft|< 0.20. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the half-image height or the telephoto focal length, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, IMH/ft is an art recognized results effective variable in that its value can affect the field of view. Thus, one would have been motivated to optimize |IMH/ft| because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Ozaki (Embodiment 1) gives |IMH/ft| = 0.234 which is only 13.0% away from the upper limit of the conditional expression.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872