Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments dated 1/9/26 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2 and 3 have been cancelled. Claims 11 and 12 remain withdrawn. Claim 21 has been newly added. This leaves claims 1, 4-10, and 13-21 currently active and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 13-15, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blazejewski et al. (US 2018/0112110) in view of Homann et al. (US 2020/0091472).
Regarding claims 1, 5-10, 15, 19, and 21, Blazejewski teaches an adhesive tape that is redetachable (releasable) via stretching (Blazejewski para 54) urethane carrier layer (Blazejewski para 140, 142, 145) may be a polyester diol or a polyether diol, such as polypropylene glycol or polyethylene glycol (Blazejewski para 142) and a microballoon foamed pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) layer of a vinylaromatic adhesive, particularly styrene-butadiene block copolymer (Blazejewski para 54, 62, 69, 71, 75, 77, 114, 115). Blazejewski further teaches an exemplary thickness of the carrier layer at 30 µm, coated on each side with about 35 µm of PSA, for a total laminate thickness of 100 µm (Blazejewski para 162-164), thus providing a double-sided adhesive tape.
Blazejewski does not teach a polyurethane from dispersion (PUD) that is then further crosslinked by an additional crosslinking element of aziridine, carbodiimide, melamine, or isoscyanate.
Blazejewski and Homann are related in the field of tapes comprising polyurethane. Homann teaches that the polyurethane is preferably formed by dispersion for increased elasticity (Homann para 19, 22, 47) and may include additional melamine or isocyanate crosslinking agents to allow for further crosslinking of the of the urethane groups via any free -OH leftover from the initial formation of the urethane to improve crosslinking (Homann para 51). It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a polyurethane dispersion with additional melamine or isocyanate crosslinking agent as taught by Homann as the carrier polyurethane of Blazejewski because this would provide an improved polyurethane carrier with improved flexibility and crosslinking.
Because Blazejewski in view of Homann teaches the same materials, at the same thicknesses, with the same structure, it would be expected to possess the same properties, such as the claimed ratio of stripping force F-strip to breaking force Fbreak of less than 60% and the claimed ratio of tearing force to a stripping force of greater than two.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Blazejewski in view of Homann teaches a redetachable PSA tape as above for claim 1. Blazejewski further teaches the PSA may be used in bonding electronic components, that is, bonding a first component to a second component within an electronic device (Blazejewski para 19-51).
Regarding claim 18, Blazejewski in view of Homann teaches a PSA with a foamed polyurethane carrier formed from a polyurethane dispersion as above for claim 1.
While Blazejewski teaches that the carrier may be foamed (Blazejewski para 142, specifically incorporates EP 1 308 492 B1), Blazejewski is silent with respect to the foaming being formed by microballoons.
However, Blazejewski further teaches that microballoons as a foaming agent provide the benefits of a flexible thermoplastic polymer shell, such as compensation for manufacturing tolerances (Blazejewski para 15) and smooth surfaces (Blazejewski para 212). It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foaming agent of Blazejewski’s polyurethane carrier layer to use microballoons because they provide the benefits of improve manufacturing tolerances and smooth surfaces.
Claims 4, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blazejewski in view of Homann, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Chavannavar et al. (“Crosslinking Polyurethane Dispersions” attached).
Regarding claims 4, 16, 17, and 20, Blazejewski in view of Homann teaches a PSA with a foamed polyurethane carrier formed from a polyurethane dispersion as above for claim 1. As noted above, Blazejewski further teaches the carrier may be foamed (Blazejewski para 142).
Blazejewski in view of Homann is silent with respect to the amount of crosslinking agent used being from 0.5-10 wt%.
Blazejewski in view of Homann and Chavannavar are related in the field of crosslinked polyurethane dispersions. Chavannavar teaches that dispersions have good film formation (Chavannavar) and that exact amount and crosslinking agent chosen can depend on various factors, but that 3 and 6 wt% are common values, with notable improvements for isocyanate for chemical resistance at 3 and 6 wt%, while 3 and 6 wt% of melamine both provided improved durability (Chavannavar throughout, particularly Conclusion). It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from 3-6 wt% of crosslinking agent for Blazejewski in view of Homann as taught by Chavannavar, no matter if the isocyanate or melamine are chosen, because this amount of crosslinking agent provides various physical and/or chemical durability improvements to the final polyurethane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provides summary on pages 5-6 with arguments appearing to begin at the bottom of page 6.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that because the carrier polyurethane of Blazejewski and the carrier polyurethane of Homann are directed to carrying different types of adhesives they are sufficiently divergent in subject matter that they are not combinable.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. This appears to be an argument that Blazejewski and Homann are nonanalogous art, as it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both are drawn to carrier polyurethanes. Further, both are drawn to carrier polyurethanes for adhesives.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Incompatible Technologies and No Reasonable Expectation of Success are not persuasive as they appear to be arguing against stances the Examiner did not make. To whit, Applicant appears to argue that the Examiner is modifying the PSA of Blazejewski with the PU of Homann, which is not what was said in the above action. Rather, the polyurethane of Homann was used to modify the polyurethane of Blazejewski.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.F/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 5/14/26
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781