DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 7/7/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 7/7/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of White (US 20200053018 A1) in view of Malin (US 20060149845 A1) in view of Fan (US 20080250443 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
I. Alice/Mayo Step 2A, Prong 1: Direction to an Abstract Idea
Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea of managing a commercial transaction and marketing via a promotional trial period (i.e., providing a free trial for a service that conventionally requires payment (see limitation: automatically transmit a reconfigure instruction, based on the comparison, to the service provider device to instruct the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device for a predetermined period of time or to the provisioning system to instruct the provisioning system to cause the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device for a predetermined period of time; and automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow. )).
The courts have established that financial incentives, promotional marketing schemes, and fundamental economic practices fall squarely within the category of "certain methods of organizing human activity," which are ineligible abstract ideas. Specifically, offering a trial period to entice users into a paid service is a long-standing, conventional commercial business practice analogous to:
Fundamental economic practices and marketing concepts (see Bilski v. Kappos, holding that business methods like risk hedging are abstract ideas).
Structuring commercial transactions (see buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., holding that guaranteeing a party's performance in a transaction is an abstract idea).
The core concept of offering a free trial to induce a later purchase is an abstract business tactic, not a technological solution to a technical problem.
II. Alice/Mayo Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
The claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim merely recites the abstract marketing concept applied using generic computer components or communication networks (e.g., "[recite generic hardware from the claim, e.g., a processor, a server, or a database]").
The physical components are recited at a high level of generality and merely serve as a tool to execute the abstract marketing strategy. The claim does not provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, nor does it improve an underlying technological process; rather, it merely uses conventional technology as a conduit to automate a standard business practice. Therefore, the claim remains directed to the abstract idea.
III. Alice/Mayo Step 2B: Inventive Concept (Significantly More)
The claim fails to recite an inventive concept sufficient to provide "significantly more" than the abstract idea itself.
The specification and claim language indicate that the hardware and software mechanisms used to track the trial, provision the service, or transition the user to a paid model utilize well-known, routine, and conventional functions. Operating a generic server to grant temporary access permissions or pause billing does not constitute an "inventive concept."
An argument that a specific business rule (e.g., the exact duration of the trial or the specific conventional service being offered) is "novel" or "nonobvious" does not rescue the claim from a 101 rejection. A novel business method or marketing tactic implemented through conventional technical means remains patent-ineligible. (See SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, confirming that "any claim over an abstract idea must be rejected, no matter how novel or nonobvious the abstract idea may be").
Because the claim elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, amount to nothing more than instructing a generic computer environment to execute an ineligible marketing tactic, the claim does not recite an inventive concept. Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 recite similar limitations and therefore do not cure the deficiencies set forth above.
2. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 depending from claims 1,8 or 15 do not cure the deficiencies set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 20200053018 A1) in view of Malin (US 20060149845 A1) in view of Fan (US 20080250443 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, White teaches a service receiving device, (White, FIG.1; CM 108) a provisioning system, (White, FIG.1; CM 108 and gateway 104) a client device, (White, FIG.1; device 102) and a user, (White, [0054], FIG.2A; a client associate with device 202. [examiner notes: A CMTS most commonly stands for Cable Modem Termination System, a piece of networking equipment used by cable television operators to provide high-speed internet and VoIP services to subscribers.]) the service provider device (White, FIG.2A; CMTS 210) being configured to provide a service flow to the service receiving device and being configured to provide a low latency service flow to the service receiving device, (White, [0048]- [0053], [0085], FIGs.2A-5; upstream scheduler or downstream scheduler implemented in, or in association with CMTS 210 to provide a low latency service flow to CM 208, gateway 204 and device 202. [examiner notes: CMTS 210 interprets to be the service provider device.CM 208 interprets to be the service receiving device.])
the low latency service flow having a latency that is lower than that of the service flow, (White, [0086] In both the upstream 508 and downstream direction 510, when the CMTS 506 creates the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514, the CMTS 506 also configures classifiers 516 for the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514 (if needed). By default the classifiers 516 for the Low Latency Service Flow 512 will classify all packets marked with the DSCP code point EF (and other codepoints for non-queue building traffic 505) and all packets marked as ECN Capable Transport into the Low latency service flow 512. All other traffic will default to the Classic Service Flow 514. It is expected that the Low Latency Service Flow 512 queue is shorter compared to the Classic Service Flow 514. Each of these Service Flows implements an AQM which is coupled to the other, where the Low Latency Service Flow AQM 518 implements Explicit Congestion Notification 522, while the Classic Service Flow AQM 520 utilizes packet drops 524.[examiner notes: The low-latency service flow achieves its lower latency precisely because its queue (512) is kept shorter—or managed with stricter congestion control—compared to the Classic Service Flow queue (514).]) the provisioning system (White, FIG.5; cable modem (CM) 504) [examiner notes: the current invention specification [0062] a provisioning system, - cable modem 210 acts as provisioning system.]) being configured to provision the service receiving device to receive the service flow or the low latency service flow, (White, [0048]- [0053], [0085], FIGs.2A-5; upstream scheduler or downstream scheduler implemented in, or in association with CMTS 210 to provide a low latency service flow to CM 208, gateway 204 and device 202. [0085] Low Latency services are provided by using a combination of queuing optimizations and scheduling improvements. As shown in FIG. 5 below both the CM 504 and CMTS 506 work together to enable lower latency across the DOCSIS network 502. [examiner notes: CMTS 210 interprets to be the service provider device.CM 208 interprets to be the service receiving device.])
the client device being configured to operate an application for use by the user and to provide upstream application data based on the application to the service provider device via the service receiving device and to receive downstream application data based on the application from the service provider device via the service receiving device, (White, [0053]- [0055], FIG.2B shows Device 230 being configured to operate one or more applications to receive downstream traffic from CMTS 236 and cable network 238. Device 230 being configured to operate one or more applications to sending upstream traffic to CMTS 236 and cable network 238. [0064] Additionally, although the embodiments herein are described primarily with respect to upstream traffic, scheduler 300 may also be similarly implemented for downstream traffic, and therefore may be located within the operation of the CMTS in an exemplary embodiment.)
obtain monitored data based on at least one of the upstream application data and the downstream application data; (White, [0057], Fig.3; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. [0086], Fig.5; in both the upstream 508 and downstream direction 510, when the CMTS 506 creates the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514, the CMTS 506 also configures classifiers 516 for the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514 (if needed). [0064], Additionally, although the embodiments herein are described primarily with respect to upstream traffic, scheduler 300 may also be similarly implemented for downstream traffic.)
obtain a comparison of the monitored data to a low latency data threshold; (White, [0057], [0193], Fig.3, Fig.10; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. Classification module 302 includes, or utilizes, a processor (not shown) to implement one or more algorithms according to the techniques described above. The system 1000 reclassifies the flow if the queue delay exceeds a critical threshold and the product of the queue delay and the queuing score exceeds a second threshold.)
automatically transmit a reconfigure instruction, based on the comparison, to the service provider device to instruct the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device for a predetermined period of time or to the provisioning system to instruct the provisioning system to cause the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device for a predetermined period of time; (White, [0048]- [0053], [0085], FIGs.2A-5; discloses a system which proactively schedules a low-latency service flow rather than waiting for a request, which similar to “proactive engagement of customers through automated trial services. [0064] Additionally, although the embodiments herein are described primarily with respect to upstream traffic, scheduler 300 may also be similarly implemented for downstream traffic, and therefore may be located within the operation of the CMTS in an exemplary embodiment.)
and automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow. (Fan, [0066], FIG.6; the method 600 may also include, at 620, notifying a prospective subscriber that third communication services are available at the location. For example, the prospective subscriber may be notified via mail 624, via a notice provided at a pre-wired communication interface 626, or via the second communication services 622. The notice to the prospective subscriber that the third communication services are available may include an incentive to subscribe to the third communication services. For example, the notice to the prospective subscriber may include an offer to discount communication services or a limited-time free trial offer of the communication services. [examiner notes: White, [0048]- [0053], [0085], FIGs.2A-5; discloses a system which proactively schedules a low-latency service flow rather than waiting for a request, which similar to “proactive engagement of customers through automated trial services, except that it doesn’t include a notification explaining the free trial. Fan teach sending a notification explain the free trial. Giving a free trial for a service the art conventionally takes a payment to provide is either (1) nonobvious or (2) not a judicial exception. Like a free trial is not an invention, it’s an ineligible marketing tactic.])
White does not teach a server device for use with a service provider device, (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs.) said server device comprising: a memory having instructions stored therein; and a processor configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to cause said server device to: and automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow.
Malin however in the same field of computer networking teaches a server device for use with a service provider device, said server device comprising: a memory having instructions stored therein; and a processor configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of Malin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to makes the system easy to use, and it forces applications to use the premium service (Malin, [0009]).
White does not teach and automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow.
Fan however in the same field of computer networking teaches automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow. (Fan, [0066], FIG.6; the method 600 may also include, at 620, notifying a prospective subscriber that third communication services are available at the location. For example, the prospective subscriber may be notified via mail 624, via a notice provided at a pre-wired communication interface 626, or via the second communication services 622. The notice to the prospective subscriber that the third communication services are available may include an incentive to subscribe to the third communication services. For example, the notice to the prospective subscriber may include an offer to discount communication services or a limited-time free trial offer of the communication services. [examiner notes: White, [0048]- [0053], [0085], FIGs.2A-5; discloses a system which proactively schedules a low-latency service flow rather than waiting for a request, which similar to “proactive engagement of customers through automated trial services, except that it doesn’t include a notification explaining the free trial. Fan teach sending a notification explain the free trial. Giving a free trial for a service the art conventionally takes a payment to provide is either (1) nonobvious or (2) not a judicial exception. Like a free trial is not an invention, it’s an ineligible marketing tactic.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of Fan. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need or improved systems and methods for providing communication services (Fan, [0002]).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, a server device of claim 1,
White-Malin-Fan teach for use with a cable modem termination system (CMTS) as the service provider device, a cable modem as the service receiving device, the CMTS being configured to provide the service flow as a data over cable service interface specifications (DOCSIS) service flow to the cable modem and being configured to provide the low latency service flow as a low latency DOCSIS (LLD) service flow to the cable modem, (White, [0049], [0053], [0080], FIG. 2A as shown in the upstream direction, network 200 includes a Wi-Fi client device 202, which communicates with a gateway 204 over a wireless communication pathway 206. In the exemplary embodiment, wireless communication pathway 206 represents an 802.11 ad+ wireless communication protocol, and gateway 204 includes or is coupled with a CM 208. Gateway 204 communicates with a CMTS 210 over connection 212 using a DOCSIS 3.1 protocol. an upstream or downstream scheduler provide low latency service flow as a low latency DOCSIS (LLD) service flow to a cable modem.) wherein said processor is configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to further cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
obtain the comparison as a second comparison of the at least one of the upstream application data and the downstream application data to the low latency data threshold; (White, [0057], [0193], Fig.3, Fig.10; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. Classification module 302 includes, or utilizes, a processor (not shown) to implement one or more algorithms according to the techniques described above. The system 1000 reclassifies the flow if the queue delay exceeds a critical threshold and the product of the queue delay and the queuing score exceeds a second threshold.)
automatically transmit the reconfigure instruction by automatically transmitting the reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to provide the LLD service flow to the cable modem based on the second comparison or automatically transmitting the reconfigure instruction to the provisioning system to instruct the provisioning system to cause the CMTS to provide the LLD service flow to the cable modem based on the second comparison; and (White, [0044], [0057], [0085], [0193], this technique is different from the conventional DualQ ACM in that the present systems and methods may be configured to direct the low latency upstream traffic from the strict priority queue into a separate channel from the other queue, which may implement DualQ ACM according to conventional techniques, but still intermingle the primary (high-priority) and secondary (“classic” priority) service flows of the DualQ ACM along the same upstream channel, as described further below. Low Latency services are provided by using a combination of queuing optimizations and scheduling improvements. As shown in FIG. 5 below both the CM 504 and CMTS 506 work together to enable lower latency across the DOCSIS network 502 based on monitoring and classifying flows.)
provide the LLD service flow for a predetermined period of time; automatically transmit the message instruction by automatically transmitting the message instruction to instruct the user of the LLD service flow and based on the predetermined period of time. (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 3-6, 10-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Malin in view Fan further in view of Naggar (US 20200258152 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, the server device of claim 2,
White-Malin-Fan teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: store, into said memory, an association between the cable modem and the user; and (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
White-Malin-Fan do not teach store, into said memory, contact information of the user.
Naggar however in the same field of computer networking teaches store, into said memory, contact information of the user. (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of by Naggar. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to improves computational performance of the computing device that stores and/or manages the wallet (Naggar, [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 4, the server device of claim 3,
White-Malin-Fan-Naggar teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
to store the contact information of the user as one of a telephone number and an email address. (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 5, the server device of claim 4
White-Malin-Fan-Naggar teach for further use with a wireless network, wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
automatically transmit the message instruction to the client device by way of the wireless network. (Li, [0008], [0013], [0069], Fig.3C, Fig.3D shows transmitting configuration information by a network device to a terminal equipment via wireless network or wired network, the configuration information configuring that the terminal equipment performs reception or transmission of a low-latency service for predetermined period of time.)
the client device being configured to communicate with the wireless network based on the telephone number, store the contact information of the user as the telephone number; and (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 6, the server device of claim 4,
White-Malin-Fan-Naggar teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
automatically transmit the message instruction to the client device. (Malin, [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
the client device being configured to receive the message instruction based on the email address, using the email address. (Naggar, [0213] At 403, user credentials of the destination entity are registered and added as a new user when the destination entity is based on user credentials that are not registered with the computing device, for example, the user credentials of the destination entity are not stored in the user dataset storing mapping between multiple of user credentials and corresponding amounts of cryptocurrency stored in the universal wallet. In such a case, instructions are generated for transmitting a link to the user credentials of the destination entity, for example, in an email to the email address, and/or in a message to the phone number.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 19, the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 18,
White-Malin-Fan-Naggar teach wherein at least one of: the server device being additionally for use with a wireless network, (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
and wherein said automatically transmitting the message instruction comprises automatically transmitting, via the processor, the message instruction to the client device by way of the wireless network; and (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
and wherein said automatically transmitting the message instruction comprises automatically transmitting, via the processor, the message instruction to the client device. (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
the client device being configured to communicate with the wireless network based on the telephone number, wherein the computer-readable instructions are capable of instructing the server device to perform the method wherein said storing the contact information comprises storing, via the processor, the contact information of the user as the telephone number, the client device being configured to receive the message instruction based on the email address, wherein the computer-readable instructions are capable of instructing the server device to perform the method wherein said storing the contact information comprises storing, via the processor, the contact information of the user as an email address, using the email address. (Naggar, [0213], at 403, user credentials of the destination entity are registered and added as a new user when the destination entity is based on user credentials that are not registered with the computing device, for example, the user credentials of the destination entity are not stored in the user dataset storing mapping between multiple of user credentials and corresponding amounts of cryptocurrency stored in the universal wallet. In such a case, instructions are generated for transmitting a link to the user credentials of the destination entity, for example, in an email to the email address, and/or in a message to the phone number.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are substantially similar to claim 3, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 12 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
3. Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Malin in view Fan further in view of Shin (US 20170013618 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 7, the server device of claim 2,
White-Malin-Fan do not teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: automatically transmit a second reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to cease providing the LLD service flow to the cable modem after expiration of the predetermined period of time.
Shin however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: automatically transmit a second reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to cease providing the LLD service flow to the cable modem after expiration of the predetermined period of time. (Shin, [0120] Referring to FIG. 11, when the base station 100 determines an end of a low latency service (S1110), the base station requests a low latency connection release through the control information of the sPDCCH to the terminal 200 operated in the low latency mode (S1120).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of Shin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to supporting a low latency service on the basis of a legacy long term evolution (LTE) system while supporting the legacy LTE system (Shin, [0003]).
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are substantially similar to claim 7, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449