DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 1/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 1/12/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over White (US 20200053018 A1) in view of Malin (US 20060149845 A1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 20200053018 A1) in view of Malin (US 20060149845 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, White teaches a service receiving device, a provisioning system, a client device, and a user, the service provider device being configured to provide a service flow to the service receiving device and being configured to provide a low latency service flow to the service receiving device, (White, [0053], FIG. 2A as shown in the upstream direction, network 200 includes a Wi-Fi client device 202, which communicates with a gateway 204 over a wireless communication pathway 206. In the exemplary embodiment, wireless communication pathway 206 represents an 802.11 ad+ wireless communication protocol, and gateway 204 includes or is coupled with a CM 208. Gateway 204 communicates with a CMTS 210 over connection 212 using a DOCSIS 3.1 protocol. [0049], an upstream or downstream scheduler provide low latency service flow to a cable modem. [examiner notes: cable modem interprets to be service receiving device.])
the provisioning system being configured to provision the service receiving device to receive the service flow or the low latency service flow, (White, [0055], Fig.2B, Fig.3; Downstream AP 224 receives upstream data traffic from a client device 230, and sends the upstream data traffic to upstream AP 226, which is in operable communication with a CM 232. In an optional embodiment, CM 232 defaults to a TCP version in an ns-3 transport layer. CM 232 manages the upstream traffic according to the low latency techniques described herein, and sends the managed upstream traffic over a communication link 234 (e.g., cable, fiber, etc.) to a CMTS 236. [examiner notes: CM 232 interprets to be service receiving device.])
the client device being configured to operate an application for use by the user and to provide upstream application data based on the application to the service provider device via the service receiving device and to receive downstream application data based on the application from the service provider device via the service receiving device, (White, [0053]- [0055], Fig.2B shows Device 230 being configured to operate one or more applications to receive downstream traffic from CMTS 236 and cable network 238. Device 230 being configured to operate one or more applications to sending upstream traffic to CMTS 236 and cable network 238.)
obtain monitored data based on at least one of the upstream application data and the downstream application data; (White, [0057], Fig.3; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. [0086], Fig.5; in both the upstream 508 and downstream direction 510, when the CMTS 506 creates the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514, the CMTS 506 also configures classifiers 516 for the Low Latency Service Flow 512 and the Classic Service Flow 514 (if needed).)
obtain a comparison of the monitored data to a low latency data threshold; (White, [0057], [0193], Fig.3, Fig.10; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. Classification module 302 includes, or utilizes, a processor (not shown) to implement one or more algorithms according to the techniques described above. The system 1000 reclassifies the flow if the queue delay exceeds a critical threshold and the product of the queue delay and the queuing score exceeds a second threshold.)
automatically transmit a reconfigure instruction, based on the comparison, to the service provider device to instruct the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device or to the provisioning system to instruct the provisioning system to cause the service provider device to provide the low latency service flow to the service receiving device and (White, [0044], [0057], [0085], [0193], this technique is different from the conventional DualQ ACM in that the present systems and methods may be configured to direct the low latency upstream traffic from the strict priority queue into a separate channel from the other queue, which may implement DualQ ACM according to conventional techniques, but still intermingle the primary (high-priority) and secondary (“classic” priority) service flows of the DualQ ACM along the same upstream channel, as described further below. Low Latency services are provided by using a combination of queuing optimizations and scheduling improvements. As shown in FIG. 5 below both the CM 504 and CMTS 506 work together to enable lower latency across the DOCSIS network 502 based on monitoring and classifying flows. [examiner notes: CMTS 506 interprets to be service provider device. CM 504 interprets to be service receiving device.])
White does not teach a server device for use with a service provider device, said server device comprising: a memory having instructions stored therein; and a processor configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to cause said server device to: the low latency service flow having a latency that is lower than that of the service flow, provide the low latency service for a predetermined period of time; automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow.
Malin however in the same field of computer networking teaches a server device for use with a service provider device, (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs.)
said server device comprising: a memory having instructions stored therein; and a processor configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
the low latency service flow having a latency that is lower than that of the service flow, (Malin [0040] Once a request is received and processed by the MSO server 118, a high-quality communications session is established between the CMTS 114 and the application running on the subscriber's computing device. In the example above, application 121 is given a high-quality communications session with the MSO 112, so communications between application 121 and the MSO's 112 CMTS 114 are given higher priority (i.e., to ensure that bandwidth, latency and jitter requirements are satisfied) than communications from other end users 106, 108, 110 sharing the shared network 102. [0041] For example, the MSO 112 can offer a premium “gaming tier” subscription to allow high-quality communications sessions when subscribers are playing popular games; [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium ‘gaming tier’ service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game.)
provide the low latency service for a predetermined period of time; (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game.)
automatically transmit a message instruction to instruct the user of the low latency service flow. (Malin, [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request (e.g. game tier request) is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of Malin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to makes the system easy to use, and it forces applications to use the premium service (Malin, [0009]).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, a server device of claim 1,
White-Malin teach for use with a cable modem termination system (CMTS) as the service provider device, a cable modem as the service receiving device, the CMTS being configured to provide the service flow as a data over cable service interface specifications (DOCSIS) service flow to the cable modem and being configured to provide the low latency service flow as a low latency DOCSIS (LLD) service flow to the cable modem, (White, [0049], [0053], [0080], FIG. 2A as shown in the upstream direction, network 200 includes a Wi-Fi client device 202, which communicates with a gateway 204 over a wireless communication pathway 206. In the exemplary embodiment, wireless communication pathway 206 represents an 802.11 ad+ wireless communication protocol, and gateway 204 includes or is coupled with a CM 208. Gateway 204 communicates with a CMTS 210 over connection 212 using a DOCSIS 3.1 protocol. an upstream or downstream scheduler provide low latency service flow as a low latency DOCSIS (LLD) service flow to a cable modem.) wherein said processor is configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to further cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
obtain the comparison as a second comparison of the at least one of the upstream application data and the downstream application data to the low latency data threshold; (White, [0057], [0193], Fig.3, Fig.10; scheduler 300 includes a classification module 302 that is configured to track the received upstream traffic and classify service flows as being one of active and inactive. Classification module 302 includes, or utilizes, a processor (not shown) to implement one or more algorithms according to the techniques described above. The system 1000 reclassifies the flow if the queue delay exceeds a critical threshold and the product of the queue delay and the queuing score exceeds a second threshold.)
automatically transmit the reconfigure instruction by automatically transmitting the reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to provide the LLD service flow to the cable modem based on the second comparison or automatically transmitting the reconfigure instruction to the provisioning system to instruct the provisioning system to cause the CMTS to provide the LLD service flow to the cable modem based on the second comparison; and (White, [0044], [0057], [0085], [0193], this technique is different from the conventional DualQ ACM in that the present systems and methods may be configured to direct the low latency upstream traffic from the strict priority queue into a separate channel from the other queue, which may implement DualQ ACM according to conventional techniques, but still intermingle the primary (high-priority) and secondary (“classic” priority) service flows of the DualQ ACM along the same upstream channel, as described further below. Low Latency services are provided by using a combination of queuing optimizations and scheduling improvements. As shown in FIG. 5 below both the CM 504 and CMTS 506 work together to enable lower latency across the DOCSIS network 502 based on monitoring and classifying flows.)
provide the LLD service flow for a predetermined period of time; automatically transmit the message instruction by automatically transmitting the message instruction to instruct the user of the LLD service flow and based on the predetermined period of time. (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 3-6, 10-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Malin further in view of Naggar (US 20200258152 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, the server device of claim 2,
White-Malin teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: store, into said memory, an association between the cable modem and the user; and (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
White-Malin do not teach store, into said memory, contact information of the user.
Naggar however in the same field of computer networking teaches store, into said memory, contact information of the user. (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of by Naggar. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to improves computational performance of the computing device that stores and/or manages the wallet (Naggar, [0008]).
Regarding claim(s) 4, the server device of claim 3,
White-Malin- Naggar teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
to store the contact information of the user as one of a telephone number and an email address. (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 5, the server device of claim 4
White-Malin- Naggar teach for further use with a wireless network, wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
automatically transmit the message instruction to the client device by way of the wireless network. (Li, [0008], [0013], [0069], Fig.3C, Fig.3D shows transmitting configuration information by a network device to a terminal equipment via wireless network or wired network, the configuration information configuring that the terminal equipment performs reception or transmission of a low-latency service for predetermined period of time.)
the client device being configured to communicate with the wireless network based on the telephone number, store the contact information of the user as the telephone number; and (Naggar, [0093], users access cryptocurrencies stored in a universal wallet using user credentials (e.g., email, phone number, user name) that may be associated with a real user, rather than accessing the wallet using the wallet address)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 6, the server device of claim 4,
White-Malin- Naggar teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
automatically transmit the message instruction to the client device. (Malin, [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
the client device being configured to receive the message instruction based on the email address, using the email address. (Naggar, [0213] At 403, user credentials of the destination entity are registered and added as a new user when the destination entity is based on user credentials that are not registered with the computing device, for example, the user credentials of the destination entity are not stored in the user dataset storing mapping between multiple of user credentials and corresponding amounts of cryptocurrency stored in the universal wallet. In such a case, instructions are generated for transmitting a link to the user credentials of the destination entity, for example, in an email to the email address, and/or in a message to the phone number.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 19, the non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 18,
White-Malin- Naggar teach wherein at least one of: the server device being additionally for use with a wireless network, (Malin, Fig.1 shows client devices, Modens, servers and CMTSs. [examiner notes: processors (CPUs) and memory (RAM) are inherent, core components of any physical server.])
and wherein said automatically transmitting the message instruction comprises automatically transmitting, via the processor, the message instruction to the client device by way of the wireless network; and (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
and wherein said automatically transmitting the message instruction comprises automatically transmitting, via the processor, the message instruction to the client device. (Malin, [0042] As an example of the use of such a system QoS proxy, consider a subscriber running an online game that requires low latency. If the subscriber has subscribed to a premium `gaming tier` service of the MSO, then a high-quality (in this case, low-latency) communications session is made available for the duration of the game. [0066] QoS in DOCSIS networks is managed at the MAC layer by the CMTS 710. When a QoS request is accepted by the CMTS 710 it sets a gate (i.e., a logical entity within the CMTS 710). Every gate has associated with it a set of QoS parameters (bandwidth, jitter, latency, packet classifier, and service type) that define the service flow. For downstream data the traffic, classification and policing is done on the CMTS 710 before the traffic is sent across the shared network 712 to the modem 716. The CMTS 710 classifies the data and puts the data on the respective service flow's (SFID) queue, and then uses a queuing algorithm such as weighted-fair-queuing (WFQ), classless-fair-queuing, or priority-based-queuing. [0067] For the upstream, the CMTS 710 issues a management message to the cable modem 716 instructing it to create a SFID classifier and queue for the packets to correspond to the gate. Additionally, the CMTS 710 inserts the SFID into its upstream mini-slot scheduler to schedule transmission opportunities for the modem 716. Thus for the upstream the classification and policing is done at the cable modem 716 and the scheduling (i.e., traffic shaping) is done by the CMTS 710.)
the client device being configured to communicate with the wireless network based on the telephone number, wherein the computer-readable instructions are capable of instructing the server device to perform the method wherein said storing the contact information comprises storing, via the processor, the contact information of the user as the telephone number, the client device being configured to receive the message instruction based on the email address, wherein the computer-readable instructions are capable of instructing the server device to perform the method wherein said storing the contact information comprises storing, via the processor, the contact information of the user as an email address, using the email address. (Naggar, [0213], at 403, user credentials of the destination entity are registered and added as a new user when the destination entity is based on user credentials that are not registered with the computing device, for example, the user credentials of the destination entity are not stored in the user dataset storing mapping between multiple of user credentials and corresponding amounts of cryptocurrency stored in the universal wallet. In such a case, instructions are generated for transmitting a link to the user credentials of the destination entity, for example, in an email to the email address, and/or in a message to the phone number.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 3 applies here.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are substantially similar to claim 3, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 12 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
3. Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US in view of Malin further in view of Shin (US 20170013618 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 7, the server device of claim 2,
White- Malin teach do not teach wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: automatically transmit a second reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to cease providing the LLD service flow to the cable modem after expiration of the predetermined period of time.
Shin however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein said processor is further configured to execute the instructions stored on said memory to additionally cause said server device to: automatically transmit a second reconfigure instruction to the CMTS to instruct the CMTS to cease providing the LLD service flow to the cable modem after expiration of the predetermined period of time. (Shin, [0120] Referring to FIG. 11, when the base station 100 determines an end of a low latency service (S1110), the base station requests a low latency connection release through the control information of the sPDCCH to the terminal 200 operated in the low latency mode (S1120).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify White by incorporating the teachings of Shin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to supporting a low latency service on the basis of a legacy long term evolution (LTE) system while supporting the legacy LTE system (Shin, [0003]).
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are substantially similar to claim 7, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449