DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 17/896,331 filed on 08/26/2022 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are amended. Claims 1-31 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed on 10/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-31 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection. Examiner provides a new ground(s) of rejections to address Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0370230 A1 hereinafter Duan) in view of NPL (“Characteristics template for NR RIT of “5G” (Release 15 and beyond”); 5D/980-E; 01/02/19), and further in view of Pakrooh et al. (Pub. No. 2025/0035770 A1 hereinafter Pakrooh).
Regarding claim 1, Duan teaches “a method of determining range information using joint communication and sensing, comprising: receiving assistance data for joint communication and sensing operations,” as [(Para. 0131), At stage 1330, the network entity 600 sends a configuration message 1332 to the UE 500 with the determined signal configuration. For example, the network entity 600 may request a TRP to send the configuration message 1332, e.g., requesting a TRI5 of the network entity 600, or requesting a TRP external to the network entity 600, to send the configuration message 1332 to the UE 500. The network entity 600 may, for example, request the TRP to schedule PRS and the supplemental signal to be sent using the same antenna port.] “performing joint communication and sensing operations utilizing the first subcarrier spacing to receive communication symbols and the second subcarrier spacing to receive radio frequency sensing symbols;” [(Para. 0133 and 0138), Step 1352 of fig. 13 shows the joint communication of the PRS (interpreted as RF symbols) and the supplemental signal (interpreted as communication symbols) …. (Para. 0121), the PRS properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc… the supplemental signal properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc…. (Para. 0068), the sensor processor 234 may comprise, e.g., processors for RF (radio frequency) sensing (with one or more (cellular) wireless signals transmitted and reflection(s) used to identify, map, and/or track an object), and/or ultrasound, etc..].
However, Duan does not specifically disclose wherein the assistance data includes mixed numerology information indicating at least a first subcarrier spacing for a frequency range and one or more first symbols of a signal transmission slot and a second subcarrier spacing for the frequency range and a plurality of second symbols of the signal transmission slot, wherein the second subcarrier spacing is at least twice the first subcarrier spacing; performing one or more channel stitching operations based on the received radio frequency sensing symbols to produce a stitched sensing signal having a stitched bandwidth spanning a combination of bandwidths of the received radio frequency sensing symbols; and determining range information based at least in part on the one or more channel stitching operations.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “wherein the assistance data includes mixed numerology information indicating at least a first subcarrier spacing for a frequency range and one or more first symbols of a signal transmission slot and a second subcarrier spacing for the frequency range and a plurality of second symbols of the signal transmission slot, wherein the second subcarrier spacing is at least twice the first subcarrier spacing” as [(Page 10, Section 5.2.3.2.7.1), The frame structure related information is as follows:
Frame length, sub-carrier spacing, and time slots:
One radio frame of length 10 ms consisting of 10 subframes, each of length 1 ms. Each subframe consists of an OFDM sub-carrier spacing dependent number of slots. Each slot consists of 14 OFDM symbols (twelve OFDM symbols in case of extended cyclic prefix)
15 kHz SCS: 1 ms slot, 1 slot per sub-frame
30 kHz SCS: 0.5 ms slot, 2 slots per sub-frame
60 kHz SCS: 0.25 ms slot, 4 slots per sub-frame
120 kHz SCS: 0.125 ms slot, 8 slots per sub-frame
240 kHz SCS: 0.0625 ms slot (only used for synchronization, not for data)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Duan with the modified system of NPL to provide time and frequency synchronization to the DL and UL frame structures in combination with the use of a cyclic prefix OFDM transmission in both UL(with or without transform precoding) and DL, provides robustness against intersymbol interference [NPL: Page 27].
However, the combination of Duan and NPL does not specifically disclose performing one or more channel stitching operations based on the received radio frequency sensing symbols to produce a stitched sensing signal having a stitched bandwidth spanning a combination of bandwidths of the received radio frequency sensing symbols; and determining range information based at least in part on the one or more channel stitching operations.
In an analogous art, Pakrooh teaches “performing one or more channel stitching operations based on the received radio frequency sensing symbols to produce a stitched sensing signal having a stitched bandwidth spanning a combination of bandwidths of the received radio frequency sensing symbols” as [(Para. 0068), FIG. 6 is a frequency diagram 600, illustrating how frequency stitching may be performed in UWB for RF sensing and/or ranging in UWB sessions. In this diagram 600, different RF signals used for RF sensing/ranging have different carrier frequencies (7 fc, 7.75 fc, etc.), which may represent different UWB channels. The RF signals further have respective bandwidths represented by blocks 620. In this example, the value of fc and the bandwidth are 499.2 MHZ, although embodiments may vary. Frequency domain stitching of sensing/ranging measurements across multiple carrier frequencies can be used in order to perform UWB ranging/sensing at artificially higher bandwidth. This can provide resolution for RF sensing/ranging due to the higher bandwidth of the sensing waveform, and ultimately higher accuracy for sensing/ranging] “and determining range information based at least in part on the one or more channel stitching operations” [(Para. 0068), FIG. 6 is a frequency diagram 600, illustrating how frequency stitching may be performed in UWB for RF sensing and/or ranging in UWB sessions.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique of Duan and NPL with the modified system of Pakrooh to provide frequency domain stitching of multiple RF signals to effectively increase the bandwidth of UWB signals for positioning/sensing [Pakrooh: Para. 0031].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information, and performing the joint communication and sensing operations includes receiving radio frequency sensing symbols from a plurality of stations based at least in part on the intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information” as [(Para. 0121), The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis. An indication that a frequency band combination is supported for stitching indicates that the UE 500 would allow cross-band stitching (e.g., of PRS and SSB). For an indication in the field 1110 that stitching is not supported for the corresponding frequency band/band combination, the remaining fields of the report 1100 may be filled with null values. The PRS properties field 1130 may indicate one or more properties for the PRS to have in order for the combined processing unit 550 to be capable of processing the PRS in combination with the supplemental signal. For example, the PRS properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc. The PRS properties may include a PRS type, e.g., DL-PRS, SL-PRS, UL-PRS, which may imply one or more other properties.].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein an intra-symbol multiplexing configuration is a comb based configuration” as [(Para. 0121), For example, the stitching capability field 1110 may indicate whether the UE 500 is able to stitch PRS and a supplemental signal for the corresponding frequency band or frequency band combination indicated in the field 1120, at least while providing the indicated accuracy(ies) (discussed below). The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis.].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes tuning gap information, and performing the joint communication and sensing operations includes receiving radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the tuning gap information” as [(Para. 0121), The maximum frequency separation field 1 165 may indicate a maximum frequency gap (e.g., maximum number of sub-bands) between a bandwidth of the PRS and a bandwidth of the supplemental signal (e.g., an instance of the supplemental signal nearest in frequency to the PRS).].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the radio frequency sensing symbols are positioning reference signals” as [(Para. 0133), Step 1352 of Fig. 13 illustrates the join communication of the PRS signals].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “further comprising transmitting one or more reports including the range information” as [(Para. 0135), At stage 1370, the UE 500 may send position information to the network entity 600 in a position information message 1372.].
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the mobile device is configured to receive signals based on a first bandwidth and transmitting the symbols for the joint communication and sensing operations utilizes a second bandwidth that is larger than the first bandwidth” as [(Para. 0134), By processing the PRS and the supplemental signal in combination, a larger bandwidth of signal is processed than processing the PRS alone].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information, and transmitting the symbols for the joint communication and sensing operations includes transmitting radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information” as [(Para. 0121), The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis. An indication that a frequency band combination is supported for stitching indicates that the UE 500 would allow cross-band stitching (e.g., of PRS and SSB). For an indication in the field 1110 that stitching is not supported for the corresponding frequency band/band combination, the remaining fields of the report 1100 may be filled with null values. The PRS properties field 1130 may indicate one or more properties for the PRS to have in order for the combined processing unit 550 to be capable of processing the PRS in combination with the supplemental signal. For example, the PRS properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc. The PRS properties may include a PRS type, e.g., DL-PRS, SL-PRS, UL-PRS, which may imply one or more other properties].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein an intra-symbol multiplexing configuration is a comb based configuration” as [(Para. 0121), For example, the stitching capability field 1110 may indicate whether the UE 500 is able to stitch PRS and a supplemental signal for the corresponding frequency band or frequency band combination indicated in the field 1120, at least while providing the indicated accuracy(ies) (discussed below). The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis.].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes tuning gap information, and transmitting the symbols for the joint communication and sensing operations includes transmitting radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the tuning gap information” as [(Para. 0121), The maximum frequency separation field 1 165 may indicate a maximum frequency gap (e.g., maximum number of sub-bands) between a bandwidth of the PRS and a bandwidth of the supplemental signal (e.g., an instance of the supplemental signal nearest in frequency to the PRS).].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the radio frequency sensing symbols are positioning reference signals” as [(Para. 0133), Step 1352 of Fig. 13 illustrates the join communication of the PRS signals].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “further comprising providing the range information to a server” as [(Para. 0134), The processor 510 may use one or more measurements to determine other position information].
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information, and the at least one processor is further configured to receive radio frequency sensing symbols from a plurality of stations based at least in part on the intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information” as [(Para. 0121), The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis. An indication that a frequency band combination is supported for stitching indicates that the UE 500 would allow cross-band stitching (e.g., of PRS and SSB). For an indication in the field 1110 that stitching is not supported for the corresponding frequency band/band combination, the remaining fields of the report 1100 may be filled with null values. The PRS properties field 1130 may indicate one or more properties for the PRS to have in order for the combined processing unit 550 to be capable of processing the PRS in combination with the supplemental signal. For example, the PRS properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc. The PRS properties may include a PRS type, e.g., DL-PRS, SL-PRS, UL-PRS, which may imply one or more other properties].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein an intra-symbol multiplexing configuration is a comb based configuration” as [(Para. 0121), For example, the stitching capability field 1110 may indicate whether the UE 500 is able to stitch PRS and a supplemental signal for the corresponding frequency band or frequency band combination indicated in the field 1120, at least while providing the indicated accuracy(ies) (discussed below). The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis.].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes tuning gap information, and the at least one processor is further configured to receive radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the tuning gap information” as [(Para. 0121), The maximum frequency separation field 1 165 may indicate a maximum frequency gap (e.g., maximum number of sub-bands) between a bandwidth of the PRS and a bandwidth of the supplemental signal (e.g., an instance of the supplemental signal nearest in frequency to the PRS).].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the mixed numerology information further includes a third subcarrier spacing, and the at least one processor is further configured to receive synchronization signal symbols based on the third subcarrier spacing” as [(Para. 0131), At stage 1330, the network entity 600 sends a configuration message 1332 to the UE 500 with the determined signal configuration. For example, the network entity 600 may request a TRP to send the configuration message 1332, e.g., requesting a TRI5 of the network entity 600, or requesting a TRP external to the network entity 600, to send the configuration message 1332 to the UE 500. The network entity 600 may, for example, request the TRP to schedule PRS and the supplemental signal to be sent using the same antenna port.].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the radio frequency sensing symbols are positioning reference signals” as [(Para. 0133), Step 1352 of Fig. 13 illustrates the join communication of the PRS signals].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine timing information for the radio frequency sensing symbols received via a line of sight path and at least one non-line of sight path” as [(Para. 0099), In some instances, additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that, defines a straight-line direction (e.g., which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (e.g., for the LIE from the locations of base stations). The intersection of two directions can provide another estimate of the location for the UE.].
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit one or more reports including the range information” as [(Para. 0135), At stage 1370, the UE 500 may send position information to the network entity 600 in a position information message 1372.].
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data is received via radio resource control messaging, downlink control information messaging, medium access control messaging, or any combination thereof” as [(Para. 0055), The UE 105 may communicate with the CU 113 via RRC].
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the mobile device is configured to receive signals based on a first bandwidth and the symbols transmitted for the joint communication and sensing operations utilize a second bandwidth that is larger than the first bandwidth” as [(Para. 0134), By processing the PRS and the supplemental signal in combination, a larger bandwidth of signal is processed than processing the PRS alone].
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information, and the at least one processor is further configured to transmit radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the intra-symbol multiplexing configuration information” as [(Para. 0121), The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis. An indication that a frequency band combination is supported for stitching indicates that the UE 500 would allow cross-band stitching (e.g., of PRS and SSB). For an indication in the field 1110 that stitching is not supported for the corresponding frequency band/band combination, the remaining fields of the report 1100 may be filled with null values. The PRS properties field 1130 may indicate one or more properties for the PRS to have in order for the combined processing unit 550 to be capable of processing the PRS in combination with the supplemental signal. For example, the PRS properties may include frequency layer, comb number, numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)), etc. The PRS properties may include a PRS type, e.g., DL-PRS, SL-PRS, UL-PRS, which may imply one or more other properties].
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein an intra-symbol multiplexing configuration is a comb based configuration” as [(Para. 0121), For example, the stitching capability field 1110 may indicate whether the UE 500 is able to stitch PRS and a supplemental signal for the corresponding frequency band or frequency band combination indicated in the field 1120, at least while providing the indicated accuracy(ies) (discussed below). The combined processing unit 550 may thus indicate the capability of the UE 500 to process PRS and a supplemental signal in combination on a per frequency band and/or per frequency band combination basis.].
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the assistance data includes tuning gap information, and the at least one processor is further configured to transmit radio frequency sensing symbols based at least in part on the tuning gap information” as [(Para. 0121), The maximum frequency separation field 1 165 may indicate a maximum frequency gap (e.g., maximum number of sub-bands) between a bandwidth of the PRS and a bandwidth of the supplemental signal (e.g., an instance of the supplemental signal nearest in frequency to the PRS).].
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive timing information associated with the radio frequency sensing symbols received by the mobile device via a line of sight path and at least one non-line of sight path” as [(Para. 0099), In some instances, additional information may be obtained in the form of an angle of arrival (AoA) or angle of departure (AoD) that, defines a straight-line direction (e.g., which may be in a horizontal plane or in three dimensions) or possibly a range of directions (e.g., for the LIE from the locations of base stations). The intersection of two directions can provide another estimate of the location for the UE.].
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide the range information to a server” as [(Para. 0134), The processor 510 may use one or more measurements to determine other position information].
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide the assistance data via radio resource control messaging, downlink control information messaging, medium access control messaging, or any combination thereof” as [(Para. 0055), The UE 105 may communicate with the CU 113 via RRC].
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Duan, NPL and Pakrooh, specifically Duan teaches “wherein to perform one or more channel stitching operations based on the received radio frequency sensing symbols the at least one processor is configured to perform the one or more channel stitching operations based only on the received radio frequency sensing symbols” as [(Para. 0134), At stage 1360, the UE 500 determines a positioning signal measurement. For example, the processor 510 may process the PRS and the supplemental signal in combination (interpreted as channel stitching) … (Para. 0121), The supplemental signal type field 1140 may be omitted, or the supplemental signal properties field 1145 may be omitted if the supplemental signal type field 1140 is included and a value of the supplemental signal type field 1140 implies the corresponding properties.].
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463