Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 requires many substituted groups whose scopes are ill-defined. The term “substituted” is described in the specification as being selected from a group that includes, for example, a substituted heteroaryl group wherein the substituent of this substituted heteroaryl is a substituted carbazolyl (see page 10). The cyclic argument does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the term, rendering claim 1 indefinite. The other claims depend on claim 1 but fail to remedy the deficiency and they are indefinite as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0389456 A1 to Cho et al.
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al. discloses an OLED having the configuration of anode/HIL/HTL/EBL/EML/HBL/ETL/EIL/cathode (p. 191) wherein the EML comprises dopant PhGD (7 wt%) and a combination of host compound 1-38 and host compound 2-B-30 in a weight ratio of 4:6,
.
Compounds 2-B-30 and 1-38 are representative of the claimed compounds for formulae 1 and 2, respectively, but compound PhGD is different from the claimed compound of formula 3. Nevertheless, since Cho et al. teaches that one of the ligands can be replaced by
,
where R300 - R302 are similar to the R9 – R11 of the claimed compound (p. 154), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the prior art device by replacing the PhGD with one of its equivalents, such as an iridium complex having one equivalent of acac and 2 equivalents of
,
and expect the same result. Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable for being obvious. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A)&(B). So are claims 2-5 and 7-8.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2015/0116776 A to (= US 2017/0117488 A1) to Ahn et al. in view of US 2024/0389456 A1 to Cho et al.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn et al. discloses an OLED wherein the EML comprises a phosphorescent dopant and 2 host materials having the following respective structures,
and
,
and exemplified by
and
.
The phosphorescent dopant is typically an iridium complex such as the following
.
The three compounds correspond to the claimed compounds. While Ahn et al. discloses that the first host compound can be deuterated (see [0012]), it fails to provide an example that is representative of the claimed compound of formula 2. However, Cho et al. (see above) teaches that the deuteration of the biscarbazole host material lowers the energy of the ground state and weakens the intermolecular interaction, and thereby enables the formation of amorphous thin film, which in turn improves heat resistance, efficiency and lifespan and reduces the driving voltage (see [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the device disclosed by Ahn et al. by replacing the non-deuterated biscarbazoles with the heavily deuterated versions suggested by Cho et al. to achieve higher efficiency and lifespan at a reduced driving voltage. Claim 1 is accordingly unpatentable for being obvious. See MPEP § 2143(I)(D). So are claims 2-3, 5 and 7-8. The features of claim 4 are disclosed by Ahn et al. on pages 211+. So are the compounds of claim 6. For example, compound H1-68 is met by compound H2-487 disclosed by Ahn et al. on page 156.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762