DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed January 15, 2026, which amends claims 1, 8, and 14. Claims 1-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Office points out that each reference does need to teach each and every limitation in the claims, but the combination of references need to teach all the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Regarding the combining of Cho with Choi to add a second host material. The Office points out that Cho does not teach the presence of a second host material, but Min teaches that adding a second host material improves the efficiency and lowers the drive voltage of the device. Given that the first host of Choi comprises a triazine group and the second host of Choi does not comprise a triazine group, one of ordinary skill in the art would select the non-triazine containing compounds to select as the second host material to use with the host material of Cho. One would expect that adding the non-triazine host material to the device of Cho one would expect an increase in efficiency and lower drive voltage of the device. The applicant has not provided any information indicating that this is the case. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant's argument that the OLED would have had luminous efficiency and luminous life span as well as low driving voltage as shown in the examples, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The applicant does not provide any data of the increase in device properties when the number of hosts goes from one to two host materials. The applicant shows results with one host vs two hosts, but does not show results when a single host device is modified to added a second host. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, defining C3-C30 hetero aromatic ring group to include an indene ring is indefinite as an indene ring does not comprise a heteroatom and cannot be a hetero aromatic ring group. This is found in the linking of the R moieties among R61 to R68.
Claims 2-13 and 15-25 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2014/0374711) (hereafter “Cho”) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237) (hereafter “Kwon”) and Choi et al. (WO 2018/026197) (hereafter “Choi”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-8, Cho teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0323]-[0338]). Cho teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0324] and [0329]). Cho teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can emit green light and can be metal complex (is not limited), but specifically teaches using
(paragraphs [0323]-[0338]). Cho teaches that the host material can be
or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0123] and [0323]-[0338]).
Cho does not teach where the phosphorescent dopant meets applicant’s claimed formula 1 and does not specifically teach where the layer comprises a second host material.
Kwon teaches green emitting phosphorescent dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [0149] and [0290]-[0295]). Kwon teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can be
or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0145], [0149], and [0290]-[0295]). Kwon teaches that when these metal complexes are used instead of
, the device has improved EQE and lifetime (paragraphs [0149] and [0290]-[0297]).
Choi teaches an comprising two host materials and a green phosphorescent dopant (page 96 of the machine translation). Choi teaches that the first host material can comprise a triazine group and the second host material can be a compound, such as
,
, or
are a few examples (pages 22-25 and 96-99 of the machine translation and paragraphs [237]-[274] and [737] of the WO document). Choi teaches that when these compounds are sued as the second host material the device has a lower drive voltage and improved efficiency (pages 96-99 of the machine translation and paragraph [737] of the WO document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cho so the phosphorescent dopant was
or
as taught by Kwon. The motivation would have been to improve the EQE and lifetime of the device.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cho to include a second host material,
,
, or
as taught by Choi. The motivation would have been to improve the lifetime and efficiency of the device.
Claim(s) 9-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2014/0374711) (hereafter “Cho”) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237) (hereafter “Kwon”) and Choi et al. (WO 2018/026197) (hereafter “Choi”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0280159) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 9-25, Cho in view of Kwon and Choi does not teach where the electroluminescent device is a tandem electroluminescent device with a charge generation layer.
Kim teaches a tandem electroluminescent device comprising an anode, first emitting unit, a charge generation layer, a second emitting unit, an optional charge generation layer, an optional third emitting unit, and a cathode (paragraphs [0021]-[0068]). Kim teaches that each emitting unit can have a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, and an electron transporting layer, where the light emitting layer can comprise 1, 2 or 3 layers (paragraphs [0021]-[0068]). Kim teaches that the light emitting layer in the first emitting unit can emit blue light, the light emitting layer in the second emitting unit comprises multiple layer, 2 or 3 layers, where one layer emits red light, the second layer can emit green light, and the third can emit green/yellow, and the light emitting layer of the third emitting unit can emit blue light (paragraphs [0090]-[0106]). Kim teaches that using tandem electroluminescent devices leads to improved color reproduction range and emitting efficiency (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so electroluminescent device of Cho in view of Kwon and Choi is made into a tandem electroluminescent device as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve the reproduction range and emitting efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759