DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 38-54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,457,568. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach a method of providing PAR to a plant independently delivering to a plant in diurnal cycle at least three different spectra of PAR selected from the same group wavelengths of ultraviolet, ultra blue, aqua blue, green, gold orange, red, ultra red, and far red. The claims of the instant application are coextensive in scope to the claims of the patented application. Merely substituting flux (visible brightness) with bandwidth (width of wavelength range) is an obvious known shared parameter of light and a simple substitution of one known shared parameter for another to obtain predictable results lending to an obvious engineering design choice. The modification between the claim sets does not provide a patentable distinction.
Claim Objections
Claims 38 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 38 and 47 preambles, “PAR” should be --Photosynthetically Active Radiation (PAR)--
Applicant is advised that should claims 38-41 and 43-46 be found allowable, claims 47-54 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39, 40, 46, 48, 49 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 38 and 47 use the limiting term of “consisting of” to outline a series of PAR wavelengths and specific boundaries of the invention. Claims 39, 46, 48 and 54 try to introduce an addition wavelength of white light; however, the additional wavelength cannot be added to a closed range of wavelengths that is outside the establish boundaries of the independent claims. Additional wavelengths are excluded by the consisting of language of the independent claims.
Independent claims 38 and 47 establish bandwidths for each spectra and are part of a closed ended claim because of the “consisting of” limitation. However, dependent claims 40, section m) and section p) and dependent claims 49 section m) and section p) introduce new bandwidths that weren’t originally associated with the corresponding spectra. This is outside the established boundary of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38, 39, 41-48, 50-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,185,852 to Aikala et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,847,514 to Reynoso.
Regarding Claims 38 and 47, Aikala teaches a method of providing artificial PAR to a plant for growing, the method comprising: independently delivering to a plant in at least two different spectra of PAR drawn from the group consisting of, far red, ultra red, red, gold orange, green, aqua blue, ultra blue, ultraviolet. Aikala teaches that PAR is the known wavelength region of 300nm and 800nm of the electromagnetic spectrum (Aikala Col. 1 lines 15-17). All of applicant’s claimed wavelengths are “within” this known range. Thus, the known range taught by Aikala consists of far red, ultra red, red, gold orange, green, aqua blue, ultra blue, ultraviolet and covers the corresponding claimed wavelengths for each claimed spectra. Furhtermore, Aikala teaches “at least two” different spectra which would include more than two and cover the limitation of providing three but is silent on the exact claim language of “at least three different spectra of PAR drawn from the group consisting of.” Aikala teaches at least one emission has a Full Width at Half Maximum of at least 50nm or more and a second at maximum 50nm (Aikala Col. 5 lines 33-38; claims 1-10) which cover the claimed ranges of 70nm, 75nm, 95nm, and 60nm. Aikala teaches values for the spectra and bandwidths that encompass, overlap, are within the range of, but is silent on specifically teaching exact upper and lower limits of each range:
a) a spectra called "ultraviolet" containing light within the band of wavelengths from
340 to 410 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader
than 70 nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
b) a spectra called "ultra blue" containing light within the band of wavelengths from
390 to 465 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader
than 75 nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
c) a spectra called "aqua blue" containing light within the band of wavelengths from
430 to 500 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader
than 70 nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
d) a spectra called "green" containing light within a band of wavelengths from 500 to
550 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader than 50
nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
e) a spectra called "gold orange" containing light within a band of wavelengths from
565 to 650 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader
than 95 nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
f) a spectra called "red" containing light within a band of wavelengths from 620 to 680
nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader than 60
nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM),
g) a spectra called "ultra red" containing light within a band of wavelengths from 640
to 670 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader than
60 nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM), and
h) a spectra called "far red" containing light within a band of wavelengths from 705 to
755 nanometers from which PAR colors are chosen with bandwidths not broader than 50
nanometers Full Width Half Maximum (FWHM).
However, Aikala teaches that adjustment of the bandwidth for each spectral range and the upper and lower limits for each spectral range is merely a known spectral tuning improvement in the photomorphogenetic control of plant growth, and for further improvements in plant production (Aikala abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Aikala before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to treat plant specific species. The modification is merely “obvious to try” choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and/or merely an obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation to derived efficient treatments and does not present a patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
Aikala as modified is silent on explicitly teaching a diurnal cycle. However, Reynoso teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to apply programmable LED on a diurnal cycle to plants (Reynoso abstract; Fig. 8 shows over the course of a day). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Aikala with the teachings of Reynoso before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to improve target results as taught by Reynoso. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 39 and 48, Aikala as modified teaches wherein light is independently delivered diurnally at and during at least three different time periods at least three different spectra of PAR (Reynoso Fig. 8 diurnally at 6am, 12pm, and 6pm, at least three different spectra of PAR), the group further consisting of i) a spectra called "white" containing broadband light used for base level plant illumination or plant inspection and maintenance (Aikala “daylight” Col. 13 line 46; “sunlight” Col. 6 lines 60-67; Reynoso Col. 1 lines 20-21, sunlight is white light and Col. 14 lines 31-35).
Regarding Claims 41 and 50, Aikala as modified teaches independently delivering the at least three spectra at at least three different intensity, and flux, levels for each wavelength within each of the at least three spectra (Aikala Fig. 1A and Fig. 8; Col. 1 line 3, claim 7).
Regarding Claims 42, 43, 44, 45, 51, 52, 53, Aikala as modified teaches the method utilizes a wireless device to control the providing of the artificial PAR to a plant; wherein the method is controlled by a smartphone or a computer (Reynoso Col. 4 lines 38-41; Col. 8 line 20-21) with one or more sensors and controls (Reynoso Col. 8 line 5 “controls”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the teachings of Aikala with the teachings of Reynoso before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to control the system from a remote location as taught by Reynoso. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 46 and 54, Aikala as modified teaches the additional one or more light fixtures supply a spectra called "white" containing broadband light used for plant inspection and maintenance (Aikala “daylight” Col. 13 line 46; “sunlight” Col. 6 lines 60-67; Reynoso Col. 1 lines 20-21, sunlight is white light and Col. 14 lines 31-35).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 38-54 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
During the interview on 09 December 2025 the examiner suggested a method format for the claims but indicated method steps similar to section 8.2 and 8.3 of the specification that outline the method steps of when the lights are turned on and in a particular sequence. The examiner didn’t intend for applicant to merely list known wavelengths of a known PAR range. Newly applied art of Aikala teaches providing narrowband PAR wavelength light to plants within the claimed PAR range.
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
13 October 2026