DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses pending claims 1-2, 4-6, and 14-16. Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 15 were amended and claims 3 and 8-13 were cancelled in the response filed 6/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lohmann (US 2016/0365600).
Regarding claim 1, Lohmann discloses an electrochemical cell [battery module] comprising a cell stack 260 comprising a plurality of cells 268 [plurality of unit cells stacked along a stacking direction] wherein coils 264 and 266 [first pair of magnet members] are disposed around opposite ends of the stack (see Fig 7, [0069]).
The coils surround the stack (see Fig 7), and therefore the coils are disposed at first and second side portions of the plurality of unit cells, and face each other with the plurality of unit cells being disposed between the coils. Further, the coils have a portion that extends along the stacking direction (see Fig 7), and therefore it is considered that the coils extends along the stacking direction.
The coils generate a magnetic field ([0060]-[0061]), such that the direction of the magnetic field is the same in both coils (i.e., in a first direction during a charging operation, and in a second direction during a discharging operation). Therefore, the coils are considered magnet members (which aligns with the instant specification stating that the magnet member “may include a permanent magnet, an electromagnet, or the like” in paragraph [0030]), and adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, because of the magnetic field.
Regarding claim 16, Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Lohmann teaches the batteries are lithium and are charged and discharged [secondary batteries] ([0003], [0021], [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohmann (US 2016/0365600), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246).
Regarding claim 2, Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Lohmann discloses a stack and coils [first pair of magnet members] (Fig 7), Lohmann does not explicitly disclose a frame surrounding and supporting the plurality of unit cells and the at least one first pair of magnet members.
Yun discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 111-113,311-313, 411-413 (unit cells) that are housed within pressing frames 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 of a pressing jig 100, 300, 400 ([0079], [0081], Fig 3-5). As seen in at least Figure 1, the battery cells 111-113 are stacked along a stacking direction. The pressing frames, pressing jig, and battery cells are further housed within a module case 200 [frame surrounding and supporting the cells] (abstract, Fig 4). The pressing jig further includes magnets 171-172, 371-372, 421-424 arranged to provide a compressing [pressing] force and are magnetically coupled to each other ([0041], [0089], [[0102], [0104]). Yun further teaches the pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 surround and support the plurality of unit cells and the magnet members ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-3, 5-7). Yun further teaches a shielding film 230 and lower module case 210 which house and support the plurality of unit cells (see Figs 4-5). Any of all of the pressing frames, shielding film, lower module case read on the claimed “frame surrounding the plurality of unit cells”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine any or all of the pressing frame, shielding film, and/or the module case as taught by Yun with the electrochemical cell of Lohmann for the purpose of surrounding and supporting the stack and magnet members.
Regarding claim 4, Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Lohmann discloses a stack and coils [first pair of magnet members] (Fig 7), Lohmann does not explicitly disclose the at least first one pair of magnet members further includes one or more intervening magnets disposed between the unit cells adjacent to each other.
Yun discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 111-113,311-313, 411-413 (unit cells) that are housed within pressing frames 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 of a pressing jig 100, 300, 400 ([0079], [0081], Fig 3-5). As seen in at least Figure 1, the battery cells 111-113 are stacked along a stacking direction. The pressing frames, pressing jig, and battery cells are further housed within a module case 200 [frame surrounding and supporting the cells] (abstract, Fig 4). The pressing jig further includes magnets 171-172, 371-372, 421-424 arranged to provide a compressing [pressing] force and are magnetically coupled to each other ([0041], [0089], [[0102], [0104]). In an embodiment, Yun teaches pressing plates 422-423 [intervening magnets] disposed between adjacent unit cells that are made of magnets ([0104], Fig 7), and therefore teaches wherein the unit cells adjacent to each other include a first unit cell and a second unit cell adjacent to the first unit cell with a predetermined gap, and intervening magnets between the cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the pressing plates 422-423 [intervening magnets] between adjacent unit cells as taught by Yun with the stack of Lohmann for the purpose of compressing and improving battery performance of the battery cells (Yun at [0014]).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohmann (US 2016/0365600), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (EP 3125332).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Lohmann discloses a stack 260 (Fig 7), Lohmann does not explicitly disclose wherein the stack includes one or more volume cushioning material disposed between the unit cells adjacent to each other, in the stacking direction.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate between adjacent cells of Choi with the stack of Lohmann for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohmann (US 2016/0365600) in view of Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (EP 3125332).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yun teaches pressing plates 422-423 disposed between adjacent unit cells that are made of magnets ([0104], Fig 7), and therefore teaches wherein the unit cells adjacent to each other include a first unit cell and a second unit cell adjacent to the first unit cell with a predetermined gap, and intervening magnets between the cells, Lohmann modified by Yun does not explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more intervening magnets includes: a first intervening magnet disposed on a side of the first unit cell; and a second intervening magnet disposed on a side of the second unit cell facing the side of the first unit cell, and wherein the one or more intervening magnets includes a volume cushioning material disposed between the first intervening magnet and the second intervening magnet.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [volume cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate of Choi with the pressing plates between adjacent unit cells of Lohmann modified Yun for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
In addition, because Choi teaches using rigid materials for contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate, and because Yun teaches magnet pressing plates are used (and therefore teaches that magnets are rigid materials for pressing), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic plate [volume cushioning material] sandwiched by a first and second intervening magnet.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohmann (US 2016/0365600), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) and Choi et al. (EP 3125332).
Regarding claim 15, Lohmann discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Lohmann discloses a stack and coils [first pair of magnet members] (Fig 7), Lohmann does not explicitly disclose a frame surrounding and supporting the plurality of unit cells and the at least one first pair of magnet members.
Yun discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 111-113,311-313, 411-413 (unit cells) that are housed within pressing frames 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 of a pressing jig 100, 300, 400 ([0079], [0081], Fig 3-5). As seen in at least Figure 1, the battery cells 111-113 are stacked along a stacking direction. The pressing frames, pressing jig, and battery cells are further housed within a module case 200 [frame surrounding and supporting the cells] (abstract, Fig 4). The pressing jig further includes magnets 171-172, 371-372, 421-424 arranged to provide a compressing [pressing] force and are magnetically coupled to each other ([0041], [0089], [[0102], [0104]). Yun further teaches the pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 surround and support the plurality of unit cells and the magnet members ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-3, 5-7). Yun further teaches a shielding film 230 and lower module case 210 which house and support the plurality of unit cells (see Figs 4-5). Any of all of the pressing frames, shielding film, lower module case read on the claimed “frame surrounding the plurality of unit cells”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine any or all of the pressing frame, shielding film, and/or the module case as taught by Yun with the electrochemical cell of Lohmann for the purpose of surrounding and supporting the stack and magnet members.
However, modified Lohmann does not explicitly disclose wherein the stack includes one or more volume cushioning material disposed between an end unit cell among the unit cells and the frame.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate of Choi with the pressing plates between adjacent unit cells or between an end cell and the frame of Lohmann modified by Yun for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725