DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action addresses pending claims 1-12 and 14-16. Claim 1 was amended in the response filed 1/12/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the final office action on 10/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “at least one first pair of magnet members arranged to provide a compressive to the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other; and at least one second pair of magnet members disposed at first and second side portions of the plurality of unit cells, wherein each of the at least one second pair of magnet members extends along the stacking direction, to adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, and wherein the at least one first pair of magnet members are disposed at longitudinal ends of the plurality of unit cells, and the at least one second pair of magnet members at transverse ends of the plurality of unit cells”.
However, while the application discloses one embodiment where at least one [first] pair of magnet members is arranged to provide a compressive force and are magnetically coupled to each other (abstract, Figs 1-4); and discloses another embodiment where a pair of magnets are disposed at first and second side portions (Fig 6), the original application does not describe a single embodiment having both the first pair and second pair of magnet members in the same embodiment at the claimed location. Even further, it is unclear how the second pair of magnets on the sides would interact magnetically with the first pair of magnets that extend along the stacking direction, or the additional intervening magnets between cells.
Because the application does not disclose an embodiment having both a first pair of magnets extending along the stacking direction and a second pair of magnets at disposed at first and second side portions, and does not acknowledge or discuss how such magnets would interact with each other or additional magnets, the specification is not described in a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) in view Yamanaka (JP 2017-098115, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells 111-113,311-313, 411-413 (unit cells) that are housed within pressing frames 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 of a pressing jig 100, 300, 400 ([0079], [0081], Fig 3-5). As seen in at least Figure 1, the battery cells 111-113 are stacked along a stacking direction. The pressing frames, pressing jig, and battery cells are further housed within a module case 200 (abstract, Fig 4). The pressing jig further includes [a first pair of] magnets 171-172, 371-372, 421-424 arranged to provide a compressing [pressing] force and are magnetically coupled to each other ([0041], [0089], [[0102], [0104]).
Further, Yun teaches that at least one first pair of magnet members 171/172, 371/372, 471/472 are disposed at longitudinal ends of the plurality of unit cells (Figs 1, 6, or 7).
However, Yun does not explicitly disclose at least one second pair of magnet members disposed at first and second side portions of the plurality of unit cells, wherein each of the second pair of magnet members extends along the stacking direction, to adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, and the at least one second pair of magnet members at transverse ends of the plurality of unit cells.
Yamanaka discloses a battery unit 10 capable of more stably binding a bound member at a standard size (abstract). The battery unit 10 includes a cell stack 12 including a plurality of alternately laminated battery cells 14, a resin frame 16, and a lower case 30 for housing the cell stack 12 in a predetermined position (abstract). The lower case 30 and/or resin frame includes permanent magnets 26 (abstract, Figs 1 and 4). In an example, the magnets 26 are provided on both the resin frame 16 and lower case 30, and the magnets 26 are provided on the left side and the right side of the resin frame which are the left and right sides of the batteries (Fig 4); therefore, the [second] pair of magnets disposed at first and second side portions of the plurality of unit cells. Yamanaka teaches that with the permanent magnets, a magnetic attractive force is generated between the resin frame 16 and lower case 30, and therefore the movement of the resin frame 16 is restricted, and as a result, the resin frame 16 and the battery cell 14 are more stably restrained ([0027]).
In addition, while the magnets 26 in the resin frame are disclosed as in the width direction ([0016]), because the magnets have three dimensions, the magnet will also extend in the stacking direction.
Further, in the embodiment having a magnet 26 in the lower case 30, the lower case 30 has a housing hole extending in the stacking direction and the permanent magnet 26 is embedded in the housing hole ([0027]). That is, the permanent magnet 26 in the lower case 30 extends in the stacking direction, adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, and are at transverse ends of the plurality of unit cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the [second] pair of permanent magnets on the left and right sides of the unit cells (either in the frame, or in the case]) as taught by Yamanaka with the battery module in the of Yun for the purpose of restricting movement, and thereby having the battery cells more stably restrained.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun further teaches a pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 which surround and support the plurality of unit cells and the at least first pair of magnet members ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-3, 5-7). Further, the pressing frames similarly surround and support the at least second pair of magnets.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun teaches that at least first pair of magnet members include end magnets 171/172, 371/372, 471/472, wherein each of the end magnet members is disposed at first and second end portions of the plurality of unit cells in the stacking, respectively (Figs 1, 6, or 7).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun teaches, in an embodiment, where pressing plates between cells are made of magnets 421-424 ({0104], Fig 7).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun further teaches a pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 which surround and support the plurality of unit cells ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-3, 5-7). Yun further teaches a shielding film 230 and lower module case 210 which house and support the plurality of unit cells (see Figs 4-5). Any of all of the pressing frames, shielding film, lower module case read on the claimed “frame surrounding the plurality of unit cells”; further, the [end] magnets 171-172, 371-372, 421, 424 are disposed between the end unit cells (111,113, 311,313, 411,413) and the components above read on the claimed frame (Figs 1-3, 5-7). Further, the pressing frames similarly surround and support the at least second pair of magnets.
Regarding claim 16, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun teaches that the batteries can be lithium ion batteries ([0055], claim 14), which are secondary batteries.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) in view Yamanaka (JP 2017-098115, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1, 3, or 4 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (EP 3125332).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yun teaches pressing plates 122,123, 322-323, 422-423 disposed between adjacent unit cells (Figs 1-3 and 5-7), Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing plates have a cushioning material.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate of Choi with the pressing plates between adjacent unit cells of Yun for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
Regarding claim 6, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yun teaches pressing plates 422-423 disposed between adjacent unit cells that are made of magnets ([0104], Fig 7), and therefore teaches wherein the unit cells adjacent to each other include a first unit cell and a second unit cell adjacent to the first unit cell with a predetermined gap, and intervening magnets between the cells, Yun does not explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more intervening magnets includes: a first intervening magnet disposed on a side of the first unit cell; and a second intervening magnet disposed on a side of the second unit cell facing the side of the first unit cell, and wherein the one or more intervening magnets includes a volume cushioning material disposed between the first intervening magnet and the second intervening magnet.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [volume cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate of Choi with the pressing plates between adjacent unit cells of Yun for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
In addition, because Choi teaches using rigid materials for contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate, and because Yun teaches magnet pressing plates are used (and therefore teaches that magnets are rigid materials for pressing), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic plate [volume cushioning material] sandwiched by a first and second intervening magnet.
Regarding claim 15, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yun further teaches a pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 which surround and support the plurality of unit cells ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-3, 5-7). Yun further teaches a shielding film 230 and lower module case 210 which house and support the plurality of unit cells (see Figs 4-5). Any of all of the pressing frames, shielding film, lower module case read on the claimed “frame surrounding the plurality of unit cells and at least one pair of magnet members”. Further, while Yun teaches pressing plates 122,123, 322-323, 422-423 disposed between adjacent unit cells (Figs 1-3 and 5-7), Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the pressing plates have a cushioning material.
Choi discloses a battery module 10 including a battery cell assembly 100, terminal frame 200, end plate 300, cover frame 400, and an elastic member 500 ([0027]). The elastic member 500 can be placed between battery cells and/or between the outermost battery cells and the end plates 300 ([0044], Fig 3). The elastic member 500 includes contact plates 510, 530 which sandwich an elastic plate 550 ([0046]). The contact plates 510, 530 have a flat shape and are made of metal material, and apply surface pressure to the battery ([0047]), and therefore has a rigidity ([0057]). The elastic plate 550 provides an elastic force [cushioning] to the contact plates as well as the batteries ([0049]). Choi teaches the elastic member controls the cell swelling, and applies surface pressure more firmly than a conventional member, and absorbs a thickness tolerance ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine or use the elastic member having the contact plates sandwiching an elastic plate of Choi with the pressing plates between adjacent unit cells or between an end cell and the frame of Yun for the purpose of controlling the cell swelling, applying a firm surface pressure to the cells, and absorb a thickness tolerance of the cells.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) in view Yamanaka (JP 2017-098115, see machine translation), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Fujimoto (JP 2017-054681).
Regarding claim 8, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yun further teaches a pressing frame 130-132, 330-332, 430-432 and lower module case 210 which surround and support the plurality of unit cells ([0079]-[0082], Figs 1-7), Yun does not explicitly disclose additional end magnets respectively disposed at an external side of each end unit cell of the plurality of unit cells disposed at the first and second end portions of the plurality of unit cells in the stacking direction.
Fujimoto discloses a battery module 1 holding a plurality of battery cells 2 inside a case 3 having a frame 31 (Fig 1, [0015]). Permanent magnets 4 are attached to opposite surfaces of cells 2 in order to maintain the position of the battery cell 2 ([0018]). As seen in Figures 2-5, a permanent magnet 4 is attached to the sides of the frame 3 (additional magnets); and therefore there are two sets of magnets between the end unit cells and the frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the additional set of magnets part of the frame of Fujimoto with the frame or module case of Yun for the purpose of providing a force to the cells from the walls of the frame.
Regarding claim 9, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Fujimoto at Figures 2-5, the end magnets are spaced from the end unit cell within the frame with a predetermined distance from the respective end unit cell.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Fujimoto at Figures 2-5, the end magnets are disposed inside [in] the frame.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) in view Yamanaka (JP 2017-098115, see machine translation) and Fujimoto (JP 2017-054681), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lee (WO 2022/098215, see machine translation, and has priority to 11/9/2020).
Regarding claim 11, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Fujimoto teaches a magnet on the inside of the frame (Figs 2-5), modified Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the end magnets is disposed in the body of the frame.
Lee taches a battery receiving apparatus comprising a body 100 with a battery accommodation space 150, battery 200, and a battery accommodation space cover 300 (abstract). The edges 320 of the battery accommodation space cover 300 has a first magnetic material 321 (magnet) provided therein, and the edges 120 of the battery accommodating space 150 has a second magnetic material 121 (magnet) provided therein (see Fig 4). That is, the magnets are contained within the body of the material. The magnets are for aligning the cover with the space and closing and sealing the space (see sealing agents 400, abstract, Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the magnet within the body of the material as taught by Lee with the magnets and frame of Yun modified by Fujimoto for the purpose of having the magnet contained in the material/frame and thereby preventing the magnet from becoming detached from the surface.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US 2021/0226246) in view Yamanaka (JP 2017-098115, see machine translation) and Fujimoto (JP 2017-054681), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Montazeri (US 2017/0094823).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yun discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Fujimoto teaches a magnet on the inside of the frame (Figs 2-5), modified Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the additional end magnets is disposed at an external side of the frame.
Montazeri discloses an apparatus for use with an electrical module 102 (abstract). The connection module 202 connects electrical modules 102 together ([0009]). The connection magnets 210 are positioned on both sides of the connection module 202 and is securely supported by the connection housing 204 ([0093], see Fig 8). The connection magnet 210 is configured to be magnetically attracted or repelled from magnet 110 of the electrical module 102 depending on magnetic polarity and positioning ([0094]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the magnets on both sides of the module as taught by Montazeri with the frame of Yun modified by Fujimoto for the purpose of permitting connection and alignment with additional features. Therefore, there are additional magnets on an external side of the frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the 112a new matter rejection, Applicant argues the limitations are supported by the original specification at paragraphs 19 and 53 and Figs 1 and 6. Applicant further argues that because the specification describes modifications and variations are possible in the light of the teachings in the specification, Applicant argues that including a first pair of magnet members (Fig 1) and a second pair of magnet members (Fig 6) in a battery module would have been clearly understood by one having ordinary skill in the art.
This is not considered persuasive. The test for new matter of written description is not whether or not a person of ordinary skill would understand the limitations, but rather that the specification reasonably conveys to one skilled in the art that the inventor(s) at the time the application was filed had possession of the claimed invention. The specification illustrates several embodiments, namely embodiments with magnets 20 between cells or at the ends (Figs 1-5) or an embodiment where the magnets are on the sides of the stack extending in the stacking direction (Fig 6). However, the specification does not disclose combining these separate embodiments, or the effects of the combination because the specification admits that the magnet filed changes the movement of lithium ions (paragraph [0043]) and because the magnets exert a force, it is unclear how the second pair of magnets on the sides would interact magnetically with the first pair of magnets or the additional intervening magnets between cells.
Further, paragraphs 19 and 53 merely state that the disclosure “is not intended to limit the present disclosure(s), to those exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure” and that the disclosure covers “various alternatives, modifications, equivalents, and other embodiments”. These paragraphs do not describe any alternatives, modifications, or equivalents; merely just that modifications are possible. Further, a blanket boilerplate statement does not convince a person of ordinary skill in the art that such combinations are actually possessed by the applicant at the time of invention.
In addition, Applicant appears to recognizes that the specification does not contain a single embodiment comprising both of the claimed first pair of magnets and second pair of magnets because Applicant refers to paragraphs that allow for modifications, but does not describe the modifications or alternatives themselves.
While the specification describes embodiments of the pairs of magnets separately, the specification does not provide support for the claimed combination of the first pair of magnets and the second pair of magnets. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)
Applicant argues the prior art, alone in combination, fail to teach or suggest the amended limitations of “wherein each of the second pair of magnet members extends along the stacking direction, to adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, and the at least one second pair of magnet members at transverse ends of the plurality of unit cells”. Applicant argues that Yun does not disclose the second pair of magnet members and Yamanaka discloses magnets that does not extend in the stacking direction. Applicant further argues that even if Yun and Yamanaka were combined, the proposed combination does not yield the presently claimed invention as a necessary and predictable result.
This is not considered persuasive. As set forth above, Yamanaka discloses magnets 26 in the resin frame 16 (Figs 1 and 4). Because the magnets have three dimensions, the magnet will also extend in the stacking direction.
In addition, Yamanaka discloses in the embodiment having a magnet 26 in the lower case 30, the lower case 30 has a housing hole extending in the stacking direction and the permanent magnet 26 is embedded in the housing hole ([0027]). That is, the permanent magnet 26 in the lower case 30 extends in the stacking direction, adjoin the plurality of unit cells and magnetically coupled to each other, and are at transverse ends of the plurality of unit cells.
Therefore, Yamanaka discloses the amended claimed limitations.
With regards to the arguments against combination of Yun and Yamanaka, because Yamanaka teaches the benefit of having the batteries more stably restrained because of the presence of the magnets ([0027]), the combination does result in the predictable result of having the batteries more stably restrained.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725