DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to papers submitted on 14 January 2026.
Claims 1-27 are pending and presented for examination. Claim 8 has been amended.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1, 15, and 23 under 35 USC §112(a) or 35 USC §113 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is maintained and restated below.
The rejection of claims 1-27 under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0282257 A1 to Nixon et al. is maintained and restated below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference of prior art to Nixon et al. (herein after “Nixon”) “does not explain how or what the item tracking module would receive when communicating as means to verify the work is complete.” Applicant cites portions of paragraph [0055] as evidence that this element is not taught. To this Examiner disagrees, as Nixon states in paragraph [0062] “… The big data appliance 102 may collect and store all types of process control data from the process plant 10, including sensor data, control parameters, manually input data (e.g., data collected by personnel as they move around the process plant 10), personnel locations and command inputs, time stamps associated with all of the data, and any other type of data available in the process plant 10. The expert system 104, communicatively coupled to the big data appliance 102, may operate independently or according to specific user inputs to analyze process plant data stored in the big data appliance 102. The expert system 104 may develop and/or use models, recognize data trends and/or correlations, alert plant personnel to actual or predicted problems and/or abnormal situations and/or sub-optimal conditions that may be affecting or will soon affect the process plant 10, etc. In some embodiments, the expert system 104 performs these functions without being programmed specifically to associate a particular set of data or trends with a particular problem or condition and, instead, recognizes that a current trend or data concurrence has occurred before at or around the time of a previous condition (which could be a positive/desirable condition or a negative/undesirable condition). From the recognition of the prior occurrence of the trend or data concurrence, the expert system 104 may predict the condition ("pro-nostics"). The expert system 104 may also determine from the data stored in the big data appliance 102 which process variables, sensor readings, etc. (i.e., which data) are most important in detecting, predicting, preventing and/or correcting an abnormal situation in the process plant 10. …”. This clearly states the use of the data as stored when communicating to verify that the work is complete.
With regard to claim 8, Applicant argues that the amended limitation of “flagging the workpiece for review, contingently flagging one or more additional workpieces;”. And further states that “Nixon does not mention flagging additional workpieces for review on a contingent basis.” Again, Examiner disagrees as paragraph [0080] of Nixon teaches “The tablet may also display various process data or alarms as the first user walks through the plant 10. For example, the first user may pass a pump, causing the tablet to display operational data, graphics, and alarms pertaining to the pump, especially if the pump requires attention. The tablet may, for instance, receive a unique identifier from an NFC or RFID tag on or near the pump. The tablet may transmit the unique identifier to the routine via the server. The routine may receive the unique identifier and access a database that correlates the unique identifier to entities in the process plant. …”. As can be understood, Nixon teaches flagging or uniquely identifying a piece for review as it is dependent on (contingent) to correlate the entities in the process plant. Thereby clearly teaching the elements raised in arguments with regard to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The independent claims include “measure of the physical operation”. Upon review of the disclosure, the term “physical” is only used to refer to the definition of the word proximate, to a physical flag, and a few instances where physical inspection is required or not. These iterance’s do not explain or fully describe how “real-time measure of the physical operation” is carried through so that a person of skill in the art would be able to perform the duties without undue experimentation beyond reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nixon et al. (USPAP No. US 2014/0282257 A1).
The prior art of Nixon et al. (herein after “Nixon”) teaches of the use of mobile user-interface devices in process plants and in process control systems. In doing so, the limitations of the instant invention are taught as follows.
Regarding independent claim 1, a method of managing workflow for an industrial application is recited as, comprising:
• providing a guidance device configured to be communicatively coupled to a tool configured to be used on a workpiece – (Nixon teaches in paragraph [0113] as “the supervisor engine 106 cooperates with the mobile UI device 112 to guide the mobile operator through each step of the process or processes required to perform the work item” where the guidance device is taught at the UI device.);
• obtaining, via the guidance device, identification data pertaining to the workpiece being used in the industrial application – (Nixon teaches in paragraph [0080] “the tablet may, for instance, receive a unique identifier from an NFC or RFID tag on or near the pump. The tablet may transmit the unique identifier to the routine via the server.” The tablet being the UI/guidance device and the unique identifier being the identification data. Paragraph [0051] describes the use and presence of the guidance device as the UI device 112);
• obtaining, via the guidance device, industrial application state data pertaining to at least one state of the industrial application – (Nixon teaches in paragraph [0063] “the supervisor engine 106 may interact with the UI devices 112 to assign and track the performance of work items, and follow-up after the completion of a work item to verify that the status or indication that resulted in the creation of the work item (e.g., the identified trend, abnormal situation, etc.) is resolved.” The work or performance data is commensurate with the industrial application state data. The use of a guidance device is taught in paragraph [0051] as the UI device 112);
• obtaining, via the guidance device, workpiece state data – (Nixon teaches in paragraph [0102] “stores more complete data about every aspect of the plant environment, and the expert system 104 provides more complete analysis of the operation and condition of the process plant. The expert system 104 and the big data appliance 102 cooperate to provide information about the state of the processes operating in the plant, the state of the equipment in the plant, the location of and tasks associated with personnel in the plant, and countless other aspects related to plant management, materials management, personnel management, optimization, etc.”). The data that is stored includes operational or state data as claimed. The use of a guidance device is taught in paragraph [0051] as the UI device 112);
• operating the tool on the workpiece – (Nixon teaches this in paragraphs [0086]-[0087] where the process of sensing and controlling is explained);
• obtaining, via the guidance device, tool operation data – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0113] where the procedural or tool operation data is described. The use of a guidance device is taught in paragraph [0051] as the UI device 112);
• monitoring, in real-time based on the tool operation data, operation of the tool to detect a threshold tool operation corresponding to a point where tool operation should be discontinued, the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece; – (taught in paragraph [0055] where “the UI device 112 may execute routines related to monitoring the process”; also in paragraph [0113] as “a mobile operator or technician performs the target tasks associated with a work item, the supervisor engine 106 and, specifically, a work item tracking module 318 may track the progress of the tasks associated with the work item” along with “work item tracking module 318 may communicate with the mobile UI device 112 and, for example, receive indications as the mobile operator requests each subsequent instruction, …”. The use of a threshold Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0128]); As the claim continues with “the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece”. This is taught by Nixon in paragraph [0099] wherein “ the expert system 104 monitors (in real time or after collection and storage) data collected and stored by the big data appliance 102,” as well as “expert system 104 may be programmed to analyze the process parameters, process inputs, sensor data, and any other data stored in the big data appliance 102 to determine any common characteristics (trends, values, etc.) …”);
• responsive to detecting the threshold tool operation, providing an output to a user instructing the user to discontinue operation of the tool – (Nixon describes this aspect in paragraph [0128] where “ The UI device 803 may also include a motion sensor (e.g., the accelerometers 840) used to detect vibration. For example, a plant asset may have an expected level of vibration during operation. A user may place the UI device 803 on or near the plant asset. The UI device 803 may use data detected by the motion sensor to identify a current level of vibration associated with the asset. If the current level of vibration exceeds the expected level of vibration, the user may utilize the UI device 803 to further diagnose the plant asset or request a work order for the asset. In some instances, a diagnostic routine may automatically launch when the UI device 803 is placed on or near the asset to detect vibration associated with the asset” is stated);
• uploading to a service, via the guidance device, at least one of the identification data, the industrial application state data, and the tool operation data – (Nixon teaches the process of uploading the data in paragraph [0113] as stated); and
• validating the industrial application state data – (in paragraph [0113] Nixon teaches of the use of verification procedures to determine the completion of the task).
As for claim 2, the method of claim 1 wherein obtaining industrial application state data pertaining to at least one state of the industrial application includes:
• obtaining a first industrial application state data pertaining to the state of the industrial application prior to operation of the tool – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0115] as “the supervisor engine 106 may also store data associated with the execution of the work item. In particular, the supervisor engine 106 may store data captured by the mobile UI device(s) 112 associated with execution of the work item, may store data pertaining to the effects of the execution of the work item on the operation of the process plant (e.g., variations in the performance of the process plant caused by or correlated with the execution of the work item), and the like.”);
• obtaining a second industrial application state data pertaining to the state of the industrial application after operation of the tool – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0115] as “the supervisor engine 106 may also store data associated with the execution of the work item. In particular, the supervisor engine 106 may store data captured by the mobile UI device(s) 112 associated with execution of the work item, may store data pertaining to the effects of the execution of the work item on the operation of the process plant (e.g., variations in the performance of the process plant caused by or correlated with the execution of the work item), and the like …”); and
• uploading at least one of the first and the second industrial application state data to the computer service – (Nixon teaches this process of uploading the data in paragraph [0113] as stated).
In claim 3 the method of claim 2 is further defined wherein the second industrial application state data is based at least in part on the tool operation data. Taught by Nixon in paragraph [0113] as “the work item tracking module 318 may be operative to communicate with the target equipment (i.e., the equipment that is the subject of the work item), or equipment proximate or communicatively coupled to the target equipment, to verify that one or more of the steps is complete.”
With claim 4, the method of claim 1 is stated as further comprising:
• obtaining a first workpiece state data corresponding to the state of the workpiece prior to operation of the tool – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0115] as “the supervisor engine 106 may also store data associated with the execution of the work item. In particular, the supervisor engine 106 may store data captured by the mobile UI device(s) 112 associated with execution of the work item, may store data pertaining to the effects of the execution of the work item on the operation of the process plant (e.g., variations in the performance of the process plant caused by or correlated with the execution of the work item), and the like.” Wherein the equipment diagnostic data is targeted prior to processing.)
• obtaining a second workpiece state data corresponding to the state of the workpiece after operation of the tool – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0115] as “the supervisor engine 106 may also store data associated with the execution of the work item. In particular, the supervisor engine 106 may store data captured by the mobile UI device(s) 112 associated with execution of the work item, may store data pertaining to the effects of the execution of the work item on the operation of the process plant (e.g., variations in the performance of the process plant caused by or correlated with the execution of the work item), and the like …”). Wherein the verification or confirmation data after the process is used); and
• uploading at least one of the first and the second workpiece state data to the computer service – (Nixon teaches this process of uploading the data in paragraph [0113] as stated).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 4 further includes wherein the second workpiece state data is based at least in part on the tool operation data. Taught by Nixon in paragraph [0113] as “the work item tracking module 318 may be operative to communicate with the target equipment (i.e., the equipment that is the subject of the work item), or equipment proximate or communicatively coupled to the target equipment, to verify that one or more of the steps is complete.”
As per claim 6, the method of claim 1 wherein the industrial application state data is obtained by a set of requirements verified by an end user is claimed. Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0092] where the follow-up verification of data is explained.
In claim 7 the method of claim 1 is further defined as wherein the tool operation data is obtained from a sensor configured to monitor the operation of the tool on the workpiece. Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0092] as the input detectors/sensors to detect signals for tracking, inspecting, and indicating the operation is explained.
With claim 8 the method of claim 1 wherein validating the industrial application state data also includes:
• flagging the workpiece for review responsive to determining that an error in the operation of the tool may have occurred;
• performing a quality check on the workpiece; and
• releasing the workpiece from review.
Nixon teaches this validating step in paragraph [0088] where “a user utilizing a UI device to request an analysis and display the results of the analysis; it should be noted that the big data system may also use data from and collected by the UI device (tablet in this scenario) to use for other analysis that may or may not be related to the UI device. In any event, the second user may flag the work item for further review and create a maintenance ticket to have someone check the furnace at some point in the near future” is described.
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 1 also consists of wherein the computer service analyzes the data it receives and provides analytic information to a user, the analytic information including a data model for the workpiece based on at least the industrial application state data. Taught by Nixon in paragraph [0095] as “a plurality of big data network nodes to collect and store all (or almost all) data that is generated, received, and/or observed by devices included in and associated with the process control system or plant 10 … Such data can be helpful for improving plant operation and efficiency. For example, the log data may be mined and analyzed by the expert system to provide valuable insight into operator inputs in various situations.”
As per claim 10 the method of claim 9 is further limited to wherein validating the industrial application state data includes reviewing the analytic information. As taught by Nixon in paragraph [0098] “the expert system 104 is a collection of routines and/or modules configured to access and analyze data that is collected and stored by the big data appliance 102.”
In claim 11 , the method of claim 1 also includes wherein uploading to a service via the guidance device further comprises:
• transmitting the industrial application state data from a guidance client installed on the guidance device to a local client communicatively coupled to the client – (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0138] where data transmitted between two users is explained.);
• transmitting the industrial application state data from the local client to a server communicatively coupled to the local client, the server hosting a database configured to store the industrial application state data - (Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0138] where data transmitted between a client and a server is explained.); and
• transmitting the industrial application state data from the server to the computer service, the service being configured to perform operations on the industrial application state data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0130] where data transmitted between a server to a service is described).
With claim 12 the method of claim 11 further states wherein the operations the computer service is configured to perform on the industrial application state data include: data analytics – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0098] as “expert system 104 is a collection of routines and/or modules configured to access and analyze data that is collected and stored by the big data appliance 102”); and building a data model of the industrial application associated with the industrial application state data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0098] as “expert system 104 may use pre-defined models to perform analysis of the collected data and/or may actively (and possibly automatically) generate models according to analysis of the data.”).
Regarding claim 13, the method of claim 1 further includes wherein the guidance device is further configured to provide workflow instructions to the end user, the instructions instructing the end user on at least one of:
which workpiece to operate the tool on;
when to collect the industrial application state data; and
when to collect the tool operation data.
Nixon teaches this aspect of the instant invention in paragraph [0055] as “some routines may be used for installing, replacing, maintaining, calibrating, diagnosing, or commissioning assets in the process plant. Other routines may be used to prepare or complete work orders associated with particular assets and/or to notify plant personnel (e.g., personnel in the vicinity of a particular device) of a work order. The UI device 112 may execute routines related to monitoring the process. For example, some routines may be used for field logging instrument data, reporting lab samples, displaying real-time asset parameters, and the like. The UI device 112 may further execute routines related to compliance with plant procedures and workflow. For example, some routines may provide information related to standard operating procedures (SOPs), start-up procedures, shut-down procedures, lockout procedures, work instructions, or other product/asset documentation.”.
As per claim 14 the method of claim 13 states wherein providing workflow instructions to the end user causes the guidance device to update information displayed to the end user. This is taught by Nixon in paragraph [0141] “when the server 150 receives a request for a state transfer, the server 150 may access locally saved UI state information at the database 151 and may transmit the UI state information to the appropriate UI executing at the server 150. The UI may transmit corresponding display data to the appropriate UI device …”; wherein the receipt of subsequent instructions in response to task performance is described.
In independent claim 15 a non-transitory computer readable medium containing thereon sequences of computer executable instructions for managing workflow of an industrial application, the sequences of computer readable instructions including instructions that instruct at least one processor to is introduced:
• provide workflow instructions to a first user – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0055] as “routines may be used for installing, replacing, maintaining, calibrating, diagnosing, or commissioning assets in the process plant. Other routines may be used to prepare or complete work orders associated with particular assets and/or to notify plant personnel (e.g., personnel in the vicinity of a particular device) of a work order.”);
• associate identification data with a workpiece, the workpiece being used in the industrial application – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0080] as “tablet may, for instance, receive a unique identifier from an NFC or RFID tag on or near the pump.”);
• associate industrial application state data with one of a first industrial application state and a second industrial application state, the first industrial application state corresponding to a state of the industrial application before operation of a tool on the workpiece, and the second industrial application state corresponding to a state of the industrial application after operation of the tool on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0063] as “the supervisor engine 106 may interact with the UI devices 112 to assign and track the performance of work items, and follow-up after the completion of a work item to verify that the status or indication that resulted in the creation of the work item (e.g., the identified trend, abnormal situation, etc.) is resolved.” Also see paragraph [0115] regarding “after fix”);
• monitor, in real-time via the tool operation data, operation of the tool to detect a threshold tool operation corresponding to a point where tool operation should be discontinued, the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece; – (taught in paragraph [0055] where “the UI device 112 may execute routines related to monitoring the process.”; also in paragraph [0113] as “a mobile operator or technician performs the target tasks associated with a work item, the supervisor engine 106 and, specifically, a work item tracking module 318 may track the progress of the tasks associated with the work item” along with “work item tracking module 318 may communicate with the mobile UI device 112 and, for example, receive indications as the mobile operator requests each subsequent instruction, …”. The use of a threshold Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0128]). As the claim continues with “the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece”. This is taught by Nixon in paragraph [0099] wherein “ the expert system 104 monitors (in real time or after collection and storage) data collected and stored by the big data appliance 102,” as well as “expert system 104 may be programmed to analyze the process parameters, process inputs, sensor data, and any other data stored in the big data appliance 102 to determine any common characteristics (trends, values, etc.) …”);
• responsive to detecting the threshold tool operation, provide an output to a user instructing the user to discontinue operation of the tool– (Nixon describes this aspect in paragraph [0128] where “ The UI device 803 may also include a motion sensor (e.g., the accelerometers 840) used to detect vibration. For example, a plant asset may have an expected level of vibration during operation. A user may place the UI device 803 on or near the plant asset. The UI device 803 may use data detected by the motion sensor to identify a current level of vibration associated with the asset. If the current level of vibration exceeds the expected level of vibration, the user may utilize the UI device 803 to further diagnose the plant asset or request a work order for the asset. In some instances, a diagnostic routine may automatically launch when the UI device 803 is placed on or near the asset to detect vibration associated with the asset” is stated);
• associate workpiece state data pertaining to the workpiece with the identification data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0102] as “stores more complete data about every aspect of the plant environment, and the expert system 104 provides more complete analysis of the operation and condition of the process plant.”; where the operation and condition equate to state data);
• update at least the second industrial application state data based on tool operation data associated with the operation of a tool on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0063] as “routines may be used for installing, replacing, maintaining, calibrating, diagnosing, or commissioning assets in the process plant. Other routines may be used to prepare or complete work orders associated with particular assets and/or to notify plant personnel (e.g., personnel in the vicinity of a particular device) of a work order.”); and
• upload at least one of the identification data, the first industrial application state data, the second industrial application state data, and the workpiece state data to a computer service – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0113] where “the work item tracking module 318 may be operative to communicate with the target equipment (i.e., the equipment that is the subject of the work item), or equipment proximate or communicatively coupled to the target equipment, to verify that one or more of the steps is complete”; where the identification data is used).
With claim 16 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, also includes wherein the workflow instructions further include one or more of:
• selecting an appropriate tool to use on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0111] as “creating a work item may include specifying tools or equipment necessary to perform the specified task, a priority level for the work item, a required skill set necessary to perform the specified task, a required start time and/or date, and/or a required completion time and/or date.”);
• recording the identification data associated with the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0080] as “the tablet may transmit the unique identifier to the routine via the server. The routine may receive the unique identifier and access a database that correlates the unique identifier to entities in the process plant.”);
• recording the industrial application state data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0113] as “tracking the progress of the execution of the work item. In embodiments, the work item tracking module 318 may be operative to communicate with the target equipment (i.e., the equipment that is the subject of the work item), or equipment proximate or communicatively coupled to the target equipment, to verify that one or more of the steps is complete”);
• recording the workpiece state data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0113] as “tracking the progress of the execution of the work item.”); and
• stopping work on the workpiece pending release of a hold associated with the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0082] where the process for the lockout or hold procedure is explained).
Regarding claim 17 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16 states wherein instructions further instruct the processor to record completion of a given workflow instruction responsive to the first user indicating completion of the given workflow instruction. Taught by Nixon in paragraph [0082] where the process for lockout and completion procedures is described.
As per claim 18 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, the instruction further includes instructing the at least one processor to instruct the computer service to:
• provide the data to a second user – (taught by Nixon in paragraphs [0091]-[0092] where the data and instructions are provided to a second user or welder generated from a supervisor. Also see paragraph [0088] where a first and second user are stated.);
• perform data analytics on the data, the data analytics including building a data model of the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0088] as “a user utilizing a UI device to request an analysis and display the results of the analysis, it should be noted that the big data system may also use data from and collected by the UI device (tablet in this scenario) to use for other analysis that may or may not be related to the UI device”);
• place a hold on the workpiece responsive to receiving an instruction to place the hold on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0112] where “a maintenance technician may first be presented (via the mobile UI device 112) with a SOP for locking out a valve and taking the valve out of service. Then the maintenance technician may be presented with pages from the operational manual for the valve that relate to performing cleaning and/or lubrication of the valve. Later, the maintenance technician may be presented with a SOP for returning the valve to operational service and removing the lockout of the device” is described as an example placing a hold); and
• release the hold on the workpiece responsive to receiving an instruction to release the hold on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0112] where placing a hold and releasing the hold is described).
In claim 19 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, recites wherein the data includes at least one of the industrial application state data, the workpiece state data, and the tool operation data. Nixon teaches this feature in paragraph [0246] wherein “the context information may relate to one or more process areas, devices, or equipment proximate to the UI device 112” is explained.
With claim 20, the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, includes wherein the second user provides the instructions to place the hold on the workpiece and to release the hold on the workpiece. Nixon teaches this element of the instant invention in paragraph [0112] where “a maintenance technician may first be presented (via the mobile UI device 112) with a SOP for locking out a valve and taking the valve out of service. Then the maintenance technician may be presented with pages from the operational manual for the valve that relate to performing cleaning and/or lubrication of the valve. Later, the maintenance technician may be presented with a SOP for returning the valve to operational service and removing the lockout of the device” is described as an example placing a hold and to release the hold.
Regarding claim 21 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, the instructions further include instructing the at least one processor to instruct the computer service to provide the data analytics to the second user. Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0095] wherein “data can be helpful for improving plant operation and efficiency. For example, the log data may be mined and analyzed by the expert system to provide valuable insight into operator inputs in various situations,” is stated.
As per claim 22 the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, also includes the instructions further instructing the at least one processor to change the workflow instructions responsive to inputs from the second user. This aspect of the instant invention is taught by Nixon in paragraph [0141] where the updated or changed data or information being provided to another user is explained.
In independent claim 23, a system for managing workflow of an industrial application is recited wherein the system comprises:
• at least one sensor – (paragraph [0078] of Nixon states the use of sensors);
• a guidance device – (is taught as the UI device by Nixon in paragraph [0092]), configured to:
provide instructions to a user, the instructions indicating acts of the user to perform – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0092] where the UI device (or guidance device) displays procedure guidance, requests to perform work on a target equipment (or workpiece));
receive from the at least one sensor at least one of tool operation data obtained responsive to the operation of a tool — (taught by Nixon in paragraphs [0086]-[0087] where the sensing and controlling of the workpiece is detailed), industrial application state data — (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0102] where the work or process performance data is stated), and workpiece state data — (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0102] where the operational state data is described); and
monitor, in real-time via the tool operation data, operation of the tool to detect a threshold tool operation corresponding to a point where tool operation should be discontinued, the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece;– (taught in paragraph [0055] where “the UI device 112 may execute routines related to monitoring the process.” The use of a threshold Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0128]); also in paragraph [0113] as “a mobile operator or technician performs the target tasks associated with a work item, the supervisor engine 106 and, specifically, a work item tracking module 318 may track the progress of the tasks associated with the work item” along with “work item tracking module 318 may communicate with the mobile UI device 112 and, for example, receive indications as the mobile operator requests each subsequent instruction, …”. The use of a threshold Nixon teaches this in paragraph [0128]); As the claim continues with “the tool operation data being a real-time measure of the physical operation of the tool on the workpiece”. This is taught by Nixon in paragraph [0099] wherein “ the expert system 104 monitors (in real time or after collection and storage) data collected and stored by the big data appliance 102,” as well as “expert system 104 may be programmed to analyze the process parameters, process inputs, sensor data, and any other data stored in the big data appliance 102 to determine any common characteristics (trends, values, etc.) …”);
responsive to detecting the threshold tool operation, provide an output to a user instructing the user to discontinue operation of the tool– (Nixon describes this aspect in paragraph [0128] where “ The UI device 803 may also include a motion sensor (e.g., the accelerometers 840) used to detect vibration. For example, a plant asset may have an expected level of vibration during operation. A user may place the UI device 803 on or near the plant asset. The UI device 803 may use data detected by the motion sensor to identify a current level of vibration associated with the asset. If the current level of vibration exceeds the expected level of vibration, the user may utilize the UI device 803 to further diagnose the plant asset or request a work order for the asset. In some instances, a diagnostic routine may automatically launch when the UI device 803 is placed on or near the asset to detect vibration associated with the asset” is stated);
provide at least one of the tool operation data, the industrial application state data, and the workpiece state data to a computer service – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0246] where “the context information may relate to one or more process areas, devices, or equipment proximate to the UI device 112” is explained); and a computer service configured to:
receive at least one of the tool operation data, the industrial application state data and the workpiece state data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0246] where “the context information may relate to one or more process areas, devices, or equipment proximate to the UI device 112” is explained);
perform data analytics on received data, including generating a data model associated with the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0098] as “expert system 104 may use pre-defined models to perform analysis of the collected data and/or may actively (and possibly automatically) generate models according to analysis of the data.”);
o place a hold on the workpiece – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0112] where “a maintenance technician may first be presented (via the mobile UI device 112) with a SOP for locking out a valve and taking the valve out of service. Then the maintenance technician may be presented with pages from the operational manual for the valve that relate to performing cleaning and/or lubrication of the valve. Later, the maintenance technician may be presented with a SOP for returning the valve to operational service and removing the lockout of the device” is described as an example placing a hold);
o release the hold from the workpiece - (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0112] where placing a hold and releasing the hold is described).; and
o audit the received data – (taught by Nixon in paragraph [0056] as “the audit processes may include, for example, work audits and/or regulatory audits. In embodiments, the routines may allow a user to view data and/or generate reports related to data collected, maintained, and/or collated for the purposes of satisfying regulatory requirements” is explained).
With claim 24 the system of claim 23, further includes wherein the tool operation data is associated with the operation of the tool and is received by the guidance device from the at least one sensor in communication with the guidance device, the at least one sensor being configured to monitor the operation of the tool to produce the tool operation data. Nixon teaches this element of the instant invention in paragraph [0092] as “when the UI device senses that the welder has arrived at the furnace, the UI device automatically displays procedures relevant to the work item task (which may be provided by the supervisor module, for example)”.
Regarding claim 25 the system of claim 23 is recited as further comprising a local client configured to communicate with the guidance device and the service, the guidance device providing the at least one of the tool operation data, the industrial application state data, and the workpiece state data to the local client, and the local client providing the at least one of the tool operation data, the industrial application state data, and the workpiece state data to the computer service. Taught by Nixon in paragraph [0132] wherein “state information is seamlessly transferred from a first UI device to a second UI device, allowing a user to resume on, or transfer to, the second UI device a session from the first UI device without any interruption in work flow. The state transfer may also allow a first user of a first UI device to collaborate with a second user of a second UI device, so that the two users may work on tasks or work items in a cooperative manner. In another embodiment, a UI device may provide output according to the context of the UI device's operation. For example, the UI device may account for the UI device location and equipment location, the type of UI device, or other considerations when determining what information to provide or how to provide information at the UI device display. The UI device and mobile control room disclosed herein offers the benefit of "untethering" operators and users of UI devices from physical control rooms. A user of such a UI device may move freely throughout the plant without interruption in workflow and without loss of functionality or capability with regard to monitoring and controlling the process” is stated.
As per claim 26 the system of claim 25 recites wherein the local client is further configured to provide updated data to the guidance device in response to receiving at least one of:
the industrial application state data,
the workpiece state data,
the tool operation data,
data indicative of the hold being placed on the workpiece, and
data indicative of the hold being released from the workpiece.
Nixon teaches the attributes of claim 26 in paragraph [0132] as each of the types of data are explained.
In claim 27 the system of claim 23 also states wherein the industrial application
state data includes a first industrial application state data and a second industrial
application state data, the first industrial application state data corresponding to a
state of the industrial application prior to operation of the tool on the workpiece,
and the second industrial application state data corresponding to a state of the
industrial application after operation of the tool on the workpiece. Nixon addresses this feature of the instant invention in paragraph [0115] where the diagnostic performance data prior to a fix and the fix verification and confirmation performance data after a fix are described.
For the reasons stated above, the limitations of the instant invention are taught and/or fairly suggested by the prior arts of record; thereby, rendering the instant claims unpatentable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. US 2021/0149655 A1 Mathews et al.
Relates to a software defined manufacturing/assembly system
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sheela Rao/Examiner, Art Unit 2119 March 10, 2026
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119