DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments received 04/14/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Detailed response is given in sections 4-9 as set forth below in this Office Action.
Regarding the claim subject matter eligibility, Applicant argues that:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In CardioNet, LLC v. InfoBionic, Inc., 955 F.3d 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2020), the Federal Circuit determined that a medical device patent for detecting and distinguishing irregular heart arrhythmias was patent-eligible because the claims focused on a specific means of detecting arrhythmias, improving the sensitivity and positive predictivity of the technology, rather than merely using a generic computer to do math. In particular, the language of claim 1 indicates that it is directed to a device that detects beat-to-beat timing of cardiac activity, detects premature ventricular beats, and determines the relevance of the beat-to-beat timing to atrial fibrillation or atrial flutter, taking into account the variability in the beat-to-beat timing caused by premature ventricular beats identified by the device’s ventricular beat detector.
In the instant case, it is deemed that the pending claims focus on an algorithm of assessing a crop phenology based on temporal measurement of size characteristics of a crop. Whereas CardioNet particularly claims “a beat detector to identify a beat-to-beat timing of cardiac activity” and “a ventricular beat detector to identify ventricular beats in the cardiac activity”, the current claims recite each or the combination of the “crop dendrometry sensor”, the acquired data “crop size data of a crop in a crop location over time” and the first parameter and second parameter in a mere conventional manner, but does not reflect any improvement to the technology of crop phenology monitoring. The extracted first and second parameters are apparently related to only temporal trends (e.g., daily contraction and swelling) of the crop size over a predetermined time window of key growth stages in a crop's life cycle, while the beat detector in CardioNet is capable of identifying a beat-to-beat timing of cardiac activity instantaneously. The claimed invention in CardioNet achieves multiple technological improvements, e.g., more accurately detects the occurrence of atrial fibrillation and atrial flutter — as distinct from V-TACH and other arrhythmias — and allows for more reliable and immediate treatment of these two medical conditions. The current claims simply generate/predict “an indication of crop ripeness in response to one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter”. The claim as a whole does not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing, nor does it apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking it to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner asserts that the decision in CardioNet is not analogous to the instant claims of the present application.
The rest of the Applicant’s arguments regarding the claim eligibility are reliant upon the issue discussed above or have been fully addressed by the rejection as set forth below in this Office Action.
Claim Objection
3. Claims 1-23, 25-30, 33, 36-39, 43, 45, 50-55, 57-61, 64-66, 68-70, 74, 77-78 and 80-92 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Based on the response from the Applicant dated 11/21/2022, claims 1-23, 25-30, 33, 36-39, 43, 45, 50-55, 57-61, 64-66, 68-70, 74, 77-78 have been cancelled. As such, please change the status identifier of these claims from “Withdrawn” into – Canceled --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 24, 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 47-49, 56, 62-63, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation: “the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the periodic maximum and periodic minimum” in the claim.
In Claim 47, the phrase “to provide, via network communication, of crop ripeness” is vague. Please change it into -- to provide, via network communication, an indication of crop ripeness --.
Claims 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 48-49, 56, 62-63, and 67 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 24 or claim 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 24, 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 47-49, 56, 62-63, 67, 71-73, 75-76 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under the 2019 PEG (now been incorporated into MPEP 2106), the revised procedure for determining whether a claim is "directed to" a judicial exception requires a two-prong inquiry into whether the claim recites: (1) any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human interactions such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes); and (2) additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h)).
Only if a claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, do we then look to whether the claim: (3) adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not "well-understood, routine, conventional" in the field (see MPEP § 2106.0S(d)); or (4) simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Claims 24, 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 49, 56, 62-63, 67, 71-73, 75-76 and 79 are directed to an abstract idea of monitoring a crop phenology based on temporal variability of size characteristics of a crop.
Specifically, representative claim 47 recites:
A system for monitoring a crop phenology, the system comprising:
a crop dendrometry sensor operable to acquire crop size data of a crop in a crop location over time;
a digital data processor operable on said crop size data to calculate
a first parameter based at least in part on one or more of a periodic recovery value occurring after a periodic minimum of said crop size date or a periodic shrinkage value occurring after a periodic maximum of said crop size date, and
a second parameter at least in part based on a periodic growth value, said periodic growth value equal to the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum,
wherein one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter are indicative of a crop characteristic; and
(c) an indicator system configured to provide, via network communication, an indication of crop ripeness in response to one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
The highlighted portion of the claim constitutes an abstract idea under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and the additional elements are NOT sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions, as analyzed below:
Step
Analysis
1. Statutory Category ?
Yes.
System
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes.
See the bolded portion listed above.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the limitation (b) encompasses mathematical concepts, namely a series of calculations leading to one or more numerical results or answers, which can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. Although it does not spell out any particular equation or formula being used, the lack of specific equations for individual steps merely indicates that the claim would monopolize all possible calculations in performing the steps.
The phrase “a digital data processor operable on said crop size data” covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with pen/paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a digital data processor operable on said crop size data” nothing in the claimed limitation precludes the math calculation from practically being performed in the mind or with pen/paper. According to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes except for the mention of generic computer components performing computing activities via basic function of the computer, then the claim is likely considered to be directed to an ineligible abstract idea, as it essentially describes a mental process that could be performed by a human without the computer components adding any significant practical application beyond the abstract concept itself.
That is, other than reciting “a digital data processor”, nothing in limitation (b) precludes the calculation from practically being performed in the mind or by a human with the aid of pen and paper.
As such, the bolded portion of instant claim 47 falls within a combination of the “Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Process” Groupings of Abstract Ideas defined by the 2019 PEG.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
The claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Under its BRI, the limitation (a) reads on merely a process of gathering the data/information necessary for performing the identified abstract. According to MPEP 2106.05(g)(3): … that were described as mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea. As such, it represents an extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
The “crop dendrometry sensor” is recited at a high level of generality. The claim does not require any particular device or sensor in a particular location to acquire the crop size data. Thus claim 47 would monopolize the abstract idea across a wide range of applications.
The limitation (c) reads on an insignificant post-solution activity of outputting, e.g., outputting and displaying the results of the identified abstract idea, which is not qualified for meaningful limitations to integrate the identified judicial exception into a practical application.
As to the particulars of the first parameter and the second parameter, under the BRI, they encompass merely data characterization which can be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the relevant technological environment.
In general, the claim as a whole does not meet any of the following criteria to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Various considerations are used to determine whether the additional elements are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, in all of these respects, the claim fails to recite additional elements which might possibly integrate the claim into a particular practical application. Instead, based on the above considerations, the claim would tend to monopolize the algorithm across a wide range of applications.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No.
Focusing on what the inventors have invented exactly, Examiner considers that the “core” of the pending claim 47 is directed to an algorithm of monitoring a crop phenology based on temporal variability of size characteristics of a crop, which is considered as a judicial exception falling within a combination of the mental process and the math concept groupings of abstract ideas under the 2019 PEG.
Each of the additional elements is evaluated by considering them both individually and in combination to determine whether or not an additional element amounts to an inventive concept. However, it is asserted that the claim does not recite any additional element that amounts to “significantly more” or reflect an “inventive concept”
The claim is therefore ineligible under 35 USC 101.
The dependent claims 48-49, 56, 62-63 and 67 inherit attributes of the independent claim 47, but do not add anything which would render the claimed invention a patent eligible application of the abstract idea. These claims merely extend (or narrow) the abstract idea which do not amount for "significant more" because they merely add details to the algorithm which forms the abstract idea as discussed above.
In particular, claim 63 recites: a crop treatment system operable to apply a crop treatment based on said crop treatment recommendation. Under its BRI, this limitation encompasses merely an insignificant extra-solution activity generally attached to the identified judicial exception. It does not amount to “significantly more” or an “inventive concept” because applying a crop treatment based on a crop treatment recommendation is considered "well-understood, routine, conventional" in the field. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g).
Claims 24, 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 71-73, 75-76 and 79 are treated as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101 for the same reasons as for claims 47-49, 56, 62-63 and 67 set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 24, 31-32, 35, 40-42, 44, 47-49, 56, 62-63, 67, 71-73, 75-76 and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldemariam et al. (US 20200273172 A1) in view of GUY et al. (US 20160316643 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Weldemariam discloses a method of monitoring a crop phenology (Abstract; para. 0023, 0048, 0065), the method comprising: acquiring, using a dendrometry sensor (para. 0054: “a high quality camera” capable of performing hyperspectral imaging), a size measurement of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0049, 0057: “Photographic images may be submitted at regular time intervals, at regular intervals of the crop growth stage”); monitoring, by a digital data processor (see discussion of Fig. 2 and the cloud computing environment 50 in Fig. 1), a first parameter (e.g., the mean spectral reflectance, the mean spectral reflectance curves of healthy, or the rate of change of crop color discussed in para. 0054, 0057) calculated based at least in part on one or more of a periodic shrinkage value of said size measurement or a periodic recovery value of said size measurement (para. 0050, 0054: “… illustrate the potential for image analytic techniques to provide early warning of diseases or other environmental conditions that may impact the crop grade at harvest”; see also para. 0057, 0059, 0065: “The analysis further separates the temporal aspects of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends, … and assessments of irregular cycles …”), and a second parameter (e.g., cohort history of crop health and quality or crop grading discussed in para. 0009, or another temporal aspect of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends discussed in para. 0065) calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement (para. 0009, 0050, 0065), wherein one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter are indicative of a crop characteristic (para. 0054, 0050, 0059, 0065); and providing, by the digital data processor, an indication of crop ripeness in response to one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter (para. 0085; see also block 316 of Fig. 3B and/or block 420 of Fig. 4).
Weldemariam does not mention explicitly: said first parameter is calculated based at least in part on one or more of a periodic shrinkage value of said size measurement after a periodic maximum of said size measurement or a periodic recovery value of said size measurement after said size measurement; and said second parameter is calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement, said periodic growth value equal to the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum.
GUY discloses a method of monitoring a crop phenology (i.e., the timing and sequence of key growth stages in a crop's life cycle and how these stages are influenced by environmental factors; see para. 0124, 014100142), comprising: acquiring a size measurement of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0089, 0096, 0099, 0114); monitoring a first parameter (e.g., TDV1 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily contraction of the trunk diameter) calculated based at least in part on one or more of a periodic shrinkage value of said size measurement after a periodic maximum of said size measurement or a periodic recovery value of said size measurement after said size measurement (para. 0006: “monitoring a first parameter describing a daily shrinkage of a plant part of the crop”; para. 0100: “A first parameter describes the shrinkage (e.g., daily shrinkage, for example, maximum daily shrinkage) of a plant part”; para. 0190), and a second parameter (e.g., TDV2 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily swelling of the trunk diameter) calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement, said periodic growth value equal to the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum (para. 0006: “a second parameter describing daily growth rate of a plant part of the crop”; para. 0100, 0190), wherein one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter are indicative of a crop characteristic (para. 0016-0017, 0114, 0129).
Since Weldemariam teaches the general conditions of the first parameter and the second parameter (para. 0065: “… separates the temporal aspects of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends, seasonal variation (e.g., weather pattern, disease pattern, and the like), and assessments of irregular cycles”), in view of GUY, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weldemariam to monitor/calculate said first parameter and said second parameter as taught by GUY. Dong so would, for example, allow for operating a crop treatment system responsively to a plant status function derived from measurements of the daily variability and/or trends of size characteristics of a crop (Weldemariam, para. 0065; GUY, para. 0005-0006). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of such a modification were predictable for monitoring a crop phenology since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 31, Weldemariam discloses: calculating, based at least in part on a phenological model, a predicted crop ripeness parameter for a future time (see block 316 of Fig. 3B and/or block 420 of Fig. 4), said indication of crop ripeness at said future time is provided in response to at least one of said first parameter and said second parameter, based on said predicted crop ripeness parameter (para. 0065: “Various known time series techniques can be used, from simple statistical models (for time-series forecasting) to more complex models or approaches such as …”; see also para. 0062, 0075, 0084).
Regarding claim 32, Weldemariam discloses: updating said phenological model (see discussion of block 316 of Fig. 3B and blocks 404 to 420 of Fig. 4) based at least in part on a current crop ripeness parameter measured in accordance with a designated time associated with one or more of said first parameter or said second parameter (para. 0073: by inherency, the health/quality assessor 316 must use the current or updated crop related features, environmental context, plant status, visual evidence, crop stress levels, etc. to determines the current crop health status including a decision tree induction technique to generate new classification rules based on an analysis of the crop features; see also para. 0079-0084).
Regarding claim 35, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said first parameter is calculated as a function of the product (i.e., a thing that is the result of an action or process) of a designated number of one or more of said periodic shrinkage value or said periodic recovery value (para. 0054, 0057, 0059).
Regarding claim 40, Weldemariam discloses: generating a crop treatment recommendation based at least in part on one or more of said first or second parameter (see discussion of the actions in para. 0085).
Regarding claim 41, Weldemariam discloses: operating a crop treatment system based at least in part on said first or second parameter (see discussion of the actions in para. 0085).
Regarding claim 42, Weldemariam discloses: providing a crop treatment scheme for respective crop locations based at least in part on said first and second parameters corresponding to said respective crop locations (para. 0085: “The actions include, but are not limited to …. recommending a switch to a different crop for the following growing season, recommending the application of chemicals (such as pesticides, herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, and the like), recommending obtaining and ingesting more photographic images of crops, recommending to harvest the crop … The actions are based, for example, on the local weather, plant status, human evaluators, farmer profile, and the like. In one example embodiment, an action is recommended using a stored knowledge base, historic events of the crop, and the like”).
Regarding claim 44, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said monitoring further comprises monitoring an environmental parameter (e.g., local weather), and wherein said indication is provided at least in part based on said environmental parameter (para. 0085).
Regarding claim 47, Weldemariam discloses a system for monitoring a crop phenology (Abstract; para. 0023, 0048, 0065), the system comprising: a crop dendrometry sensor (para. 0054: “a high quality camera” capable of performing hyperspectral imaging) operable to acquire crop size data of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0049, 0057: “Photographic images may be submitted at regular time intervals, at regular intervals of the crop growth stage”); a digital data processor (see discussion of Fig. 2 and/or Fig. 6) operable on said crop size data to calculate a first parameter (e.g., the mean spectral reflectance, the mean spectral reflectance curves of healthy, or the rate of change of crop color discussed in para. 0054, 0057) based at least in part on one or more of to a periodic recovery value or a periodic shrinkage value (para. 0050, 0054: “… illustrate the potential for image analytic techniques to provide early warning of diseases or other environmental conditions that may impact the crop grade at harvest”; see also para. 0057, 0059, 0065: “The analysis further separates the temporal aspects of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends, … and assessments of irregular cycles …”) and a second parameter (e.g., cohort history of crop health and quality or crop grading discussed in para. 0009, or another temporal aspect of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends discussed in para. 0065) calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement (para. 0009, 0050, 0065), wherein one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter are indicative of a crop characteristic (para. 0054, 0050, 0059, 0065); and an indicator system configured to provide, via network communication (Fig. 2), an indication of crop ripeness in response to one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter (para. 0085; see also block 316 of Fig. 3B and/or block 420 of Fig. 4).
Weldemariam does not mention explicitly: said first parameter is calculated based at least in part on one or more of a periodic shrinkage value of said size measurement after a periodic maximum of said size measurement or a periodic recovery value of said size measurement after said size measurement; and said second parameter is calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement, said periodic growth value equal to the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum.
GUY discloses a method of monitoring a crop phenology (i.e., the timing and sequence of key growth stages in a crop's life cycle and how these stages are influenced by environmental factors; see para. 0124, 014100142), comprising: acquiring a size measurement of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0089, 0096, 0099, 0114); monitoring a first parameter (e.g., TDV1 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily contraction of the trunk diameter) calculated based at least in part on one or more of a periodic shrinkage value of said size measurement after a periodic maximum of said size measurement or a periodic recovery value of said size measurement after said size measurement (para. 0006: “monitoring a first parameter describing a daily shrinkage of a plant part of the crop”; para. 0100: “A first parameter describes the shrinkage (e.g., daily shrinkage, for example, maximum daily shrinkage) of a plant part”; para. 0190), and a second parameter (e.g., TDV2 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily swelling of the trunk diameter) calculated at least in part based on a periodic growth value of said size measurement, said periodic growth value equal to the difference between the periodic maximum and periodic minimum (para. 0006: “a second parameter describing daily growth rate of a plant part of the crop”; para. 0100, 0190), wherein one or more of said first parameter and said second parameter are indicative of a crop characteristic (para. 0016-0017, 0114, 0129).
Since Weldemariam teaches the general conditions of the first parameter and the second parameter (para. 0065: “… separates the temporal aspects of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends, seasonal variation (e.g., weather pattern, disease pattern, and the like), and assessments of irregular cycles”), in view of GUY, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weldemariam to monitor/calculate said first parameter and said second parameter as taught by GUY. Dong so would, for example, allow for operating a crop treatment system responsively to a plant status function derived from measurements of the daily variability and/or trends of size characteristics of a crop (Weldemariam, para. 0065; GUY, para. 0005-0006). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of such a modification were predictable for monitoring a crop phenology since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 48, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said crop ripeness is related to a phenological crop growth stage (para. 0050, 0054, 0059).
Regarding claim 49, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said phenological crop growth stage is related to a crop lag phase (para. 0065, 0069: “a recommendation may be issued recommending a delay in the ripening of a crop based, for example, on …”).
Regarding claim 56, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said digital data processor is further operable to calculate a third parameter (e.g., a maximum entropy) related to an extremum of said crop size data over said at least a portion of a growth season, wherein said third parameter is indicative of said crop characteristic, and wherein said indication is provided in response to one or more of said first, second, or third parameter (para. 0072).
Regarding claim 62, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said digital data processor is further operable to generate a crop treatment recommendation based at least in part on one or more of said first or second parameter (para. 0085).
Regarding claim 63, Weldemariam discloses: a crop treatment system operable to apply a crop treatment based on said crop treatment recommendation (para. 0085).
Regarding claim 67, Weldemariam discloses: wherein one or more of said first parameter or said second parameter is calculated based at least in part on environmental data acquired by an environmental sensor (para. 0048: by inherency, local environmental context such as weather and soil conditions must be derived at least in part from environmental data acquired by an environmental sensor; see also para. 0057: a sensing device mounted on … a satellite…).
Regarding claim 71, Weldemariam discloses a method of monitoring a crop phenology (Abstract; para. 0023, 0048, 0065), the method comprising: acquiring a size measurement of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0049, 0057: “Photographic images may be submitted at regular time intervals, at regular intervals of the crop growth stage”) using a dendrometry sensor (para. 0054: “a high quality camera” capable of performing hyperspectral imaging); monitoring, using a digital data processor (see discussion of Fig. 2 and the cloud computing environment 50 in Fig. 1), a first parameter (e.g., the mean spectral reflectance, the mean spectral reflectance curves of healthy, or the rate of change of crop color) periodically calculated based at least in part on a periodic maximum value (e.g., the rate of change of crop color when the leaves or crops are changing color rapidly) and a plurality of previously acquired periodic maximum values of said size measurement acquired within a designated time window (para. 0057: “For example, there may be no need to take photographs every third day when the leave color is not changing. When the leaves or crops are changing color rapidly (e.g., from green-to-brown), then it may be an early indication of disease, insect infestation, and the like, and photographs should be taken more closely together (e.g., once every four to six hours) to ensure the efficacy of pesticide application, changes in watering patterns, and the like. Once the rate of color change has stabilized, then the photographic images can be taken at the previous rate (e.g., at regular intervals)”; see also para. 0058-0059), and a second parameter (e.g., cohort history of crop health and quality or crop grading) calculated at least in part based on said first parameter and a periodic minimal value (e.g., the rate of color change that is stabilized) of said size measurement, said second parameter being indicative of a crop characteristic (para. 0009, 0050, 0057); and providing, by the digital data processor, an indication related to said crop ripeness in response to said second parameter (para. 0085).
Weldemariam does not mention explicitly: said first parameter is periodically calculated based at least in part on comparing a periodic maximum value of said crop size measurement and a plurality of previously acquired periodic maximum values of said size measurement acquired within a designated time window, and a second parameter calculated at least in part based on said first parameter and a periodic minimum value of said crop size measurement, said second parameter being indicative of a crop ripeness.
GUY discloses a method of monitoring a crop phenology (i.e., the timing and sequence of key growth stages in a crop's life cycle and how these stages are influenced by environmental factors; see para. 0124, 014100142), comprising: acquiring a size measurement of a crop in a crop location over time (para. 0089, 0096, 0099, 0114); monitoring a first parameter (e.g., TDV1 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily contraction of the trunk diameter) periodically calculated based at least in part on comparing a periodic maximum value of said crop size measurement and a plurality of previously acquired periodic maximum values of said size measurement acquired within a designated time window (para. 0006: “monitoring a first parameter describing a daily shrinkage of a plant part of the crop”; para. 0100: “A first parameter describes the shrinkage (e.g., daily shrinkage, for example, maximum daily shrinkage) of a plant part”; para. 0190; Fig. 4), and a second parameter (e.g., TDV2 in Fig. 4 which shows significant daily swelling of the trunk diameter) calculated at least in part based on said first parameter and a periodic minimum value of said crop size measurement, said second parameter being indicative of a crop ripeness (para. 0006, 0016-0017, 0100, 0114, 0129, 0190).
Since Weldemariam teaches the general conditions of the first parameter and the second parameter (para. 0065: “… separates the temporal aspects of the observed farm/crop data in terms of trends, seasonal variation (e.g., weather pattern, disease pattern, and the like), and assessments of irregular cycles”), in view of GUY, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Weldemariam to monitor/calculate said first parameter and said second parameter as taught by GUY. Dong so would, for example, allow for operating a crop treatment system responsively to a plant status function derived from measurements of the daily variability and/or trends of size characteristics of a crop (Weldemariam, para. 0065; GUY, para. 0005-0006). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of such a modification were predictable for monitoring a crop phenology since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 72, Weldemariam discloses: calculating, using a digital data processor configured to receive as input said size measurement acquired over time, a crop growth parameter (e.g., a size, a shape, a color, visual spots, virus/insects, and the like, or the grade of a crop) corresponding at least in part to a characteristic periodic value of said size measurement, wherein said second parameter is calculated at least in part based on said crop growth parameter (para. 0049-0050, 0054, 0063, 0074).
Regarding claim 73, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said first parameter is calculated at least in part based on said crop growth parameter (para. 0049, 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 75, Weldemariam discloses: wherein said crop growth parameter is calculated at least in part based on a plurality of previously calculated crop growth parameters corresponding to a designated historical crop growth time window (para. 0058-0059, 0063, 0074).
Regarding claim 76, Weldemariam discloses: digitally adjusting one or more of said first or second parameter by a designated adjustment value (e.g., the rate of sampling the photographic images at non-regular intervals) corresponding at least in part to said crop growth parameter (para. 0057).
Regarding claim 79, Weldemariam discloses: digitally performing, using a digital data processor (see discussion of Fig. 2 and/or Fig. 6)), a comparison (e.g., change of the crop color, or a comparison to a crop without imperfections) of a current value of said first parameter with a previous value of said first parameter calculated over a designated seasonal time window, and, based at least in part on a result of said comparison, digitally updating said first parameter as said current value of said first parameter (para. 0073: by inherency, the health/quality assessor 316 must use the current or updated crop related features, environmental context, plant status, visual evidence, crop stress levels, etc. to determines the current crop health status including a decision tree induction technique to generate new classification rules based on an analysis of the crop features; see also para. 0079-0084, 0088).
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ton et al. (US 20020170229 A1) -- System And Method For Phytomonitoring
Song et al. (US 20200344965 A1) -- Automated systems and gardening apparatus for plant growth and cultivation
Yuan et al. (US 20220156917 A1) -- NORMALIZING COUNTS OF PLANT-PARTS-OF-INTEREST
BARTEN et al. (US 20220039320 A1) -- DELAYED HARVEST OF SHORT STATURE CORN PLANTS
Contact Information
/X.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857