Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 11/10/2025.
Amendments to the abstract, to the specification, and to claims 5, 7, and 10, filed 11/10/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Due to the amendments, all previous objections to the abstract, to the specification, and to claims 7 and 10 are now withdrawn. Due also to the amendments, the previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pgs. 6-7, and apparently regarding claims 1, 9, and 12, Applicant argues that Lee’s “insulating layer is distinct from a base body material and does not embed a conductor within the base body”. However, in the previous action filed 8/12/2025, Examiner deliberately mapped the base body to include Lee’s front body 700 and their insulation coating; see ¶ 13.B. Examiner thus holds that Lee’s insulation coating corresponds to material of the base body – and that their conductive part 320, which is coated over and “wrap[ped]” (Lee ¶ 109) by the insulating coating, is embedded in it. All previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 are thus maintained.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and – as stated in the previous action – must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20180239105 A1, hereinafter “Lee”)
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 12, Lee discloses (see FIGs. 1-2, ¶s 77-83, 106-109) a contact sleeve for a camera objective (lens part 10), comprising:
a sleeve-shaped base body (front body 700 with ¶ 109’s “insulation coating”) made of an electrically non-conductive material (¶ 109: “it is preferable that the… front body (700) be formed with plastic, which is an insulation material”, “insulation coating that wraps the conductive part (320) … may further be included”);
at least one electrical conductor (conductive part 320 in the written description, 820 in the figures) embedded in the material of the base body (front body 700 with ¶ 109’s “insulation coating”), which has, at at least one end, an exposed contacting portion (i.e. of first conductive part 821) configured to electrically contact an electrical consumer (heating layer 200) integrated in the camera objective (lens part 10) (see also ¶s 87-95, 110-112 regarding current delivered to heating layer 200 via first/second conductive parts 821/822 (of conductive part 320) and heating wire 400).
(Since Lee does not label, depict, or provide further details on ¶ 109’s “insulation coating”, Examiner omits it in the foregoing claim mapping, but notes this “insulation coating” is to implicitly accompany all references to “front body 700” mapped to the base body below.)
Further regarding claims 9 and 12, Lee also discloses a camera objective (lens part 10) wherein the contact sleeve (front body 700 with conductive part 320/820) is arranged on a shaft (lens barrel 500) of the camera objective (lens part 10) (as shown in FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1.
Lee further discloses (see FIGs. 2 and 9, ¶s 106-111) wherein at least two electrical conductors (i.e. opposing portions of (first/second conductive parts 821/822 of) conductive part 320/820) are provided, which furthermore extend in parallel to one another and/or are diametrically opposite to one another on the base body (front body 700).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1.
Lee further discloses (see FIG. 2(A), annotated below) wherein a first exposed contacting portion (i.e. of first conductive part 821) is formed by an end portion of the electrical conductor (conductive part 320/820) protruding beyond the base body (front body 700).
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2(A): FIG. 2 of Lee is annotated to highlight the first/second exposed contact portions)]
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1.
Lee further discloses (see annotated FIG. 2(A) above) wherein a second exposed contacting portion (i.e. of second conductive part 822) is formed by an exposed circumferential region (i.e. by an exposed surface) of the electrical conductor (conductive part 320/820) and is arranged in a region of a material recess of the base body (front body 700).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1.
Lee further discloses (see newly annotated FIG. 2(B) below) wherein the base body (front body 700) is a hollow cylinder with an annular collar, wherein the annular collar extends radially outward.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2(B): Lee’s FIG. 2 is again annotated to highlight the cylinder and collar of front body 700)]
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1.
Lee further discloses (see newly annotated FIG. 2(C) below) wherein the base body (front body 700) has, in a region of an end face and/or of an inner circumferential surface, at least one latching geometry, which can be brought into engagement with a geometry and/or recess of the camera objective (lens part 10) to secure a position of the contact sleeve (front body 700 with conductive part 320/820) on the camera objective (lens part 10).
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2(C): Lee’s FIG. 2 is again annotated to highlight geometries relevant to claims 8 and 10)]
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the camera objective as recited in claim 9.
Lee further discloses (see annotated FIG. 2(C) above) wherein, to secure a position of the contact sleeve (front body 700 with conductive part 320/820) on the shaft (lens barrel 500), at least one geometry is formed in a region of an end face and/or of an inner circumferential surface of the base body (front body 700), the geometry being a latching geometry, in engagement with a geometry and/or recess of the camera objective (lens part 10).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the camera objective as recited in claim 9.
Lee further discloses (see the previously annotated FIG. 2(B) above) wherein the contact sleeve (front body 700 with conductive part 320/820) is supported in an axial direction, via an annular collar of the base body (front body 700), on a radially extending shoulder of the shaft (lens barrel 500).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, in further view of Soshi and Takebayashi (US 5328391, hereinafter “Soshi).
Regarding claim 2 and 4, Lee discloses the contact sleeve as recited in claim 1 and the contact sleeve as recited in claim 3.
Lee does not disclose wherein the electrical conductors are contact pins.
Lee and Soshi are related as being directed towards power delivery circuits for cameras.
Soshi discloses wherein the electrical conductors are contact pins. (contact pins 15). (See FIGs. 1-2; col 2, lines 3-12; col. 3 lines 13-51.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee with Soshi’s contact assembly, in order to provide a simple circuit that is easy to assemble (Soshi col. 1, lines 54-57).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872