Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 03/11/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 15-18, 20-23, 25-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 20210377860) in view of Frenger et al. (US 20140349587).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1), comprising:
receiving a set of operation modes associated with a network entity, a first operation mode of the set of operation modes having a first set of communications parameters associated with a first quantity of antenna ports, and a second operation mode of the set of operation modes having a second set of communications parameters associated with a second quantity of antenna ports that is different than the first set of communications parameters (the value of one, some or all of the communication parameters for one or more of the operation modes may be signaled, e.g. by higher-layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) and/or by DCI signaling. The value of one or more of the communication parameters for one or more of the operation modes may be signaled during initial access; [0087-0089].
base station 170 may transmit signaling to the UE 110 that configures one or more values of the communication parameters for the default operation mode and/or for the enhanced operation mode; [0106].
At step 452, the base station 170 transmits a configuration of communication parameters to the UE 110. Step 452 includes configuring one or more operation modes, including possibly configuring one or more communication parameter values for one or more enhanced and/or default operation modes; [0114].
one or more communication parameters of the default operation mode and enhanced operation mode may be modified/overwritten by UE-specific signal. The number of antenna ports may be overwritten by UE-specific signaling; [0069, 0081]),
each operation mode of the set of operation modes selectable for communications between the UE and the network entity for one or more identified time intervals (the switching out of the default operation mode and/or the switching back to the default operation mode may be triggered based on timing, e.g. based on the start of a frame, subframe, slot, etc. In some embodiments, the switching may be based on a predefined or configured switching pattern; [0100]);
communicating with the network entity according to the first operation mode using the first set of communications parameters (base station 170 initially wirelessly communicates with the UE 110 based on the default communication capability of the UE 110, i.e. based on the UE 110 being in default operation mode; [0115]);
receiving control information that indicates the network entity is operating in the second operation mode for a first time interval (base station 170 may determine that the communication capabilities of the UE 110 need to be increased because data for downlink transmission to the UE 110 has arrived at the base station 170. The downlink data may be associated with a particular application scenario and/or service type (e.g. it is low latency data). Base station 170 sends an instruction to the UE 110 to switch the UE 110 to the enhanced operation mode. In some embodiments, the instruction may include a configuration of one or more communication parameter values for the UE 110 for the enhanced operation mode, e.g. if the communication parameter values can be configured by the base station 110. base station 170 may determine that the UE 110 should return to default operation mode based on a timer that may have been started upon instructing the UE 110 to enter enhanced operation mode, and the base station 170 may determine that the UE 110 should return to default operation mode in response to the timer expiring; [0116-0117, 0119].
In response to expiry of a timer, at step 488 the network device and apparatus return to wirelessly communicating based on the default operation mode of the apparatus; [0126]); and
communicating with the network entity according to the second operation mode using the second set of communications parameters for the first time interval associated with the second operation mode (base station 170 wirelessly communicates with the UE 110 based on the enhanced communication capability of the UE 110, i.e. based on the UE 110 being in enhanced operation mode. A timer may have been started upon instructing the UE 110 to enter enhanced operation mode, and the base station 170 may determine that the UE 110 should return to default operation mode in response to the timer expiring; [0118-0119]).
Ma does not expressly disclose a first operation mode associated with a first quantity of antenna ports of the network entity, and a second operation mode associated with a second quantity of antenna ports of the network entity.
In an analogous art, Frenger discloses a first operation mode associated with a first quantity of antenna ports of the network entity, and a second operation mode associated with a second quantity of antenna ports of the network entity (Receipt of the information triggering antenna mode switching implies a decision to transfer modes from a first antenna mode to a second antenna mode. Thus, the antenna mode switching is initiated by the step of receiving triggering information. The first antenna mode may represent a normal mode and the second antenna mode a power saving mode with one or more muted physical antenna ports; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Frenger into the system of Ma in order to provide better performance and greater flexibility by muting antennas when the load is low to save energy (Frenger; [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses wherein the receiving the set of operation modes comprises:
receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling that indicates two or more operation modes of the set of operation modes, and that indicates corresponding sets of communications parameters associated with each operation mode of the two or more operation modes (the value of one or more of the communication parameters for one or more of the operation modes is signaled, e.g. by higher-layer signaling (such as RRC signaling) and/or by DCI signaling; [0088-0089]), and
wherein different operation modes of the set of operation modes are associated with different energy usage at the network entity (base station 170 may have different operation modes, such as a lower power default operation mode and an enhanced power operation mode, which may complement the operation modes of the UE 110 network device and UE 110 may operate having regard to joint power consumption optimization, e.g. the UE 110 and base station 170 may together operate in respective default operation modes that on the whole aim to reduce or minimizes power consumption when considered across the two devices; [0127]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses wherein the control information indicates the first time interval during which the second operation mode is active (The duration of the timer (from when it starts to expiry) may be set at a value that ensures that the UE 110 does not stay out of the default operation mode too long. The duration of the timer may be set by the UE 110 or the network (e.g. via signaling from the base station 170). The duration of the timer may be configurable; [0097]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses wherein the receiving the set of operation modes further comprises: receiving a timer value associated with each operation mode of the set of operation modes, and wherein the UE communicates with the network entity according to the first operation mode subsequent to an expiration of a timer that is set based on the timer value associated with the second operation mode (a trigger that may cause a return to the lower power default operation mode may be expiry of a timer. For example, the UE 110 may start a timer upon switching to the enhanced operation mode. When the timer expires, the UE 110 returns to the default operation mode. The duration of the timer (from when it starts to expiry) may be set at a value that ensures that the UE 110 does not stay out of the default operation mode too long. The duration of the timer may be set by the UE 110 or the network (e.g. via signaling from the base station 170). The duration of the timer may be configurable; [0097]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses wherein the first time interval is indicated in the control information as a selected time interval of a set of available time intervals, or as a number of symbols, slots, or frames associated with the second operation mode (The duration of the timer (from when it starts to expiry) may be set at a value that ensures that the UE 110 does not stay out of the default operation mode too long. The duration of the timer may be set by the UE 110 or the network (e.g. via signaling from the base station 170). The duration of the timer may be configurable. the switching out of the default operation mode and/or the switching back to the default operation mode may be triggered based on timing, e.g. based on the start of a frame, subframe, slot, etc; [0097, 0100]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses wherein the first time interval corresponds to a time duration until a subsequent control information transmission indicates a different operation mode of the set of operation modes (a trigger that may cause the UE 110 to switch from the lower power default operation mode to a higher power enhanced operation mode is receipt of signaling from the base station 170, where the signaling explicitly or implicitly instructs the UE 110 to switch to the enhanced operation mode. base station 170 may transmit an instruction to the UE 110 that explicitly instructs the UE 110 to enter the enhanced operation mode. a trigger that may cause the UE 110 to return to the lower power default operation mode is receipt of signaling from the base station 170, where the signaling implicitly or explicitly instructs the UE 110 to switch back to the default operation mode. For example, upon completion of a downlink transmission to the UE 110, the base station 170 may transmit signaling to the UE 110 that instructs the UE 110 to return to the default operation mode; [0093, 0098]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses communicating with the network entity based at least in part on one or more communications parameters associated with a default operation mode when a subsequent control information transmission that indicates a new operation mode is undetected prior to an expiration of the first time interval (a trigger that may cause a return to the lower power default operation mode may be expiry of a timer. For example, the UE 110 may start a timer upon switching to the enhanced operation mode. When the timer expires, the UE 110 returns to the default operation mode. The duration of the timer (from when it starts to expiry) may be set at a value that ensures that the UE 110 does not stay out of the default operation mode too long; [0097]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses receiving an indication of the default operation mode in radio resource control (RRC) signaling (transmitting a message to the apparatus, where the message configures at least one of a first set of communication parameters used by the apparatus in the default operation mode and/or configures at least one of a second set of communication parameters used by the apparatus in the second operation mode. The message might or might not be transmitted during the initial access procedure. The message might or might not be sent in RRC signaling or in DCI; [0149]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses communicating with the network entity according to the second operation mode subsequent to an expiration of the first time interval and until a subsequent control information transmission indicates a different operation mode (a trigger that may cause a return to the lower power default operation mode may be expiry of a timer. UE 110 may start a timer upon switching to the enhanced operation mode. When the timer expires, the UE 110 returns to the default operation mode; [0097].
The UE may enter enhanced mode again upon a second trigger being satisfied and subsequent to the expiration of the first time interval. The UE may be instructed to switch to another operation mode by the network entity).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ma and Frenger, particularly Ma discloses communicating, with the network entity subsequent to an expiration of the first time interval according to a default operation mode in an absence of a subsequent control information communication that indicates a new operation mode (the response initiates a timer, and the expiry of the timer acts as a trigger for the UE 110 to switch from the enhanced operation mode back to the default operation mode. In some embodiments, the timer may be implemented at the UE 110, e.g. the response triggers a timer at the UE 110 to start counting, and when the timer has expired the UE 110 switches back to the default operation mode. In some embodiments, the timer may be implemented by the base station 170, e.g. the response triggers a timer at the base station 170 to start counting, and when the timer has expired the base station 170 transmits a message to the UE 110 instructing the UE 110 to switch back to the default operation mode; [0102]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 10.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 19, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 20210377860) in view of Frenger et al. (US 20140349587) and in view of Lin et al. (US 20200029315).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Ma and Frenger does not expressly disclose wherein the control information is provided in a group-common downlink control information (GC-DCI) communication that indicates different operation modes for different UEs that receive the GC-DCI.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses wherein the control information is provided in a group-common downlink control information (GC-DCI) communication that indicates different operation modes for different UEs that receive the GC-DCI (control message to convey an AR from gNB can be a list of adaptation entities and corresponding value pairs. Each adaptation entity can be independently configured whether or not is included in the list and a size of the AR format 3 can be determined based on the adaptation entities contained in each AR message. This type of AR is referred to as AR format 3. All examples of adaptation entities in AR format 1 or in AR format 2, and their combinations, can be examples for AR format 3. AR, such as AR Format 1 or AR format 2, can be conveyed by a DCI format through a PDCCH. DCI format can be a new UE group-common (GC) DCI format that a UE is configured to monitor in a CSS; [0251, 0253, 0257]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Ma and Frenger in order to reduce signaling overhead while maintaining flexibility on adaptation granularity by defining multiple DCI formats (Lin; [0272]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ma and Frenger does not expressly disclose skipping one or more decoding attempts for one or more control information transmissions during the first time interval.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses skipping one or more decoding attempts for one or more control information transmissions during the first time interval (PDCCH decoding/monitoring related adaptation entity can be for a UE to skip PDCCH monitoring for a number of C-DRX cycles after the AR reception. The number of C-DRX cycles can be provided to the UE in advance by higher layer signaling or be indicated by the AR. An AR indication to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in a number of C-DRX cycles can be applicable to a subset of DCI formats that a UE is configured to monitor. For example, the AR indication to the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring can be applicable to search space sets associated with DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, 1_0, and 1_1 and not be applicable to search space sets associated with DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2; [0226]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Ma and Frenger in order to reduce signaling overhead while maintaining flexibility on adaptation granularity by defining multiple DCI formats (Lin; [0272]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Claim(s) 12-14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 20210377860) in view of Frenger et al. (US 20140349587) and in view of Islam et al. (US 20220159574).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ma and Frenger does not expressly disclose wherein the receiving the control information comprises: receiving a group-common downlink control information (GC-DCI) communication that includes two or more different operation mode indications for two or more different UEs; and determining which of the two or more different operation mode indications corresponds to the second operation mode based at least in part on a location of information in the GC-DCI.
In an analogous art, Islam discloses wherein the receiving the control information comprises: receiving a group-common downlink control information (GC-DCI) communication that includes two or more different operation mode indications for two or more different UEs (FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a common DCI format structure with UE-specific fields. The DCI based on this format can be a GC-DCI containing UE-specific content. In this example, there are K fields in the DCI structure shown in FIG. 14. Each field is UE-specifically configured and contains information for a given UE. The network can map UEs to respective fields in the DCI; [0212]); and
determining which of the two or more different operation mode indications corresponds to the second operation mode based at least in part on a location of information in the GC-DCI (a common DCI format can be used for signaling GTS. In some implementations, each UE-specific field includes a single bit, where a bit value of 1 indicates a GTS, and bit value of 0 indicates that there is no GTS trigger for the given UE. only UEs mapped to 2.sup.nd and 5.sup.th fields have a GTS indicated trigger, the other UEs do not have a trigger. Upon detecting the DCI transmission. UEs mapped to the 2.sup.nd and 5.sup.th fields may go to sleep, whereas other UEs continue to be in active state either until the end of a configured ON duration or until further signaling is received; [0213]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Islam into the system of Ma and Frenger in order to enable dynamic management of switching between active state and sleep state and minimize signaling overhead from the network perspective (Islam; [0167]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ma, Frenger, and Islam, particularly Islam discloses wherein a network operation field in the GC-DCI indicates a which operation mode of the set of operation modes is to be used for communications, or indicates a sequence of different operation modes for different time intervals (Based on which state a UE is currently in, different bit fields inside a UE-specific field in a GC DCI can have different interpretations. For example, in regard to a field to indicate activation and deactivation of DRX mode, if received during active state while monitoring PDCCHs or scheduling DCI: the bit field=0 may imply activation, 1 may imply deactivation of DRX mode, vice versa, and if received during WUS monitoring duration: the bit field=0 may imply stay in activated DRX mode, 1 may imply deactivation of DRX mode, vice versa; [0223]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Islam into the system of Ma and Frenger in order to enable dynamic management of switching between active state and sleep state and minimize signaling overhead from the network perspective (Islam; [0167]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ma, Frenger, and Islam, particularly Islam discloses receiving a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with operation modes that are to be used for communications with the network entity, and wherein the GC-DCI is received based at least in part on the RNTI (dynamic layer 1 (L1) signaling such as DCI, e.g., in a PDCCH transmission, can be used to notify a UE of adaptation of DRX parameters, activation of DRX mode, deactivation of DRX mode, go-to-sleep, or wake up from sleep. In some implementations, a dynamic L1 wake-up signal and/or go-to-sleep signal can be used to potentially increase the sleep duration of a UE. In some implementations, a DCI message for wake-up signaling or go-to-sleep signaling can be a group-common DCI (GC-DCI). Control information, for example, can be conveyed in a common downlink control channel that is monitored by a group of UEs. A DCI can be appended with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) and transmitted via PDCCH; [0174]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Islam into the system of Ma and Frenger in order to enable dynamic management of switching between active state and sleep state and minimize signaling overhead from the network perspective (Islam; [0167]).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rosenqvist et al. (US 20110201334), “Energy-Efficient Network Methods And Apparatus.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413