DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 21-24 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 12/22/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections. The reasons set forth below.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 08/26/2022 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtmanns (WO 2020174121) in view of Wang (US 20210258861).
Claim 1. Holtmanns teaches:
A system for wireless communication, comprising: – in paragraphs [0003]-[0005] [0072], Fig. 4 (There is provided a computer program product, a computer readable medium, or a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing an apparatus to perform the method according to any one of the above aspects or embodiments thereof. The transmitter and/or receiver may be configured to operate in accordance with global system for mobile communication, GSM, wideband code division multiple access, WCDMA, LTE, 5G, wireless local area network, WLAN, and/or Ethernet, for example.)
a first Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) network function implemented as a first network node that comprises at least one processor, – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0067]-[0070], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. The PFMNs each further comprise a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) 130, 132 configured to operate as a security edge node or gateway. As used in this application, the term circuitry also covers an implementation of merely a hardware circuit or processor (or multiple processors) or portion of a hardware circuit or processor and its (or their) accompanying software and/or firmware. The aSEPP or pSEPP 132, for example. Comprised in the device 800 is a processor 802.)
wherein the first SEPP network function is part of a first telecommunication network, – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0067]-[0070], Fig. 4 (The SEPP 130, 132 is a network node at the boundary of an operator's network that receives a message. The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150.)
wherein the first SEPP network function located at an edge of the first telecommunication network, and – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. The PFMNs each further comprise a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) 130, 132 configured to operate as a security edge node or gateway.)
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to filter control plane signaling traffic for the first telecommunication network; – in paragraphs [0013]-[0015], Fig. 4 (The SEPP 130, 132 is a network node at the boundary of an operator's network that receives a message. The PFMNs each further comprise a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) 130, 132 configured to operate as a security edge node or gateway. A security edge node is configured to perform the RAS, and hence the method of Figure 2, and filter out a non-authorized request for the resource of the first network entity. The SEPP may be configured to protect application layer control plane messages between the NFs 120, 150 belonging to the different PFMNs and use the N32 interface to communicate with each other.)
a first network repository function in communication with the first SEPP network function, – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. In case of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) 5G system Service Based Architecture (SBA), NFs may comprise at least some of an Access and Mobility Function (AMF), a Session Management Function (SMF), a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF), a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Network Repository Function (NRF), Unified Data Management (UDM), Authentication Server Function (AUSF), Policy Control Function (PCF), and Application Function (AF). The PFMNs each further comprise a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) 130, 132 configured to operate as a security edge node or gateway.)
wherein the first network repository function is part of the first telecommunication network, – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0067]-[0070], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. In case of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) 5G system Service Based Architecture (SBA), NFs may comprise at least some of an Access and Mobility Function (AMF), a Session Management Function (SMF), a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF), a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Network Repository Function (NRF), Unified Data Management (UDM), Authentication Server Function (AUSF), Policy Control Function (PCF), and Application Function (AF).)
wherein the first network repository function is implemented as a second network node that comprises at least one processor; and – in paragraphs [0013], [0014], [0067]-[0070], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. In case of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) 5G system Service Based Architecture (SBA), NFs may comprise at least some of an Access and Mobility Function (AMF), a Session Management Function (SMF), a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF), a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Network Repository Function (NRF), Unified Data Management (UDM), Authentication Server Function (AUSF), Policy Control Function (PCF), and Application Function (AF). As used in this application, the term circuitry also covers an implementation of merely a hardware circuit or processor (or multiple processors) or portion of a hardware circuit or processor and its (or their) accompanying software and/or firmware.)
wherein the root SEPP discovery node comprises at least one processor, – in paragraphs [0044], [0067]-[0070], Fig. 4 (With reference to another example configuration of Figure 4, the proxy node 160 is a SEPP located in a third PLMN 114. As used in this application, the term circuitry also covers an implementation of merely a hardware circuit or processor (or multiple processors) or portion of a hardware circuit or processor and its (or their) accompanying software and/or firmware.)
wherein the second network repository function of the second telecommunication network is in communication with a second SEPP network function that is part of the second telecommunication network and that is located at an edge of the second telecommunication network configured to filter control plane signaling traffic for the second telecommunication network, and – in paragraphs [0013]-[0015], Fig. 4 (The system comprises two PLMNs 110, 112 equipped with a Network Function (NF) 120, 150. In case of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) 5G system Service Based Architecture (SBA), NFs may comprise at least some of an Access and Mobility Function (AMF), a Session Management Function (SMF), a Network Slice Selection Function (NSSF), a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Network Repository Function (NRF), Unified Data Management (UDM), Authentication Server Function (AUSF), Policy Control Function (PCF), and Application Function (AF). The PFMNs each further comprise a Security Edge Protection Proxy (SEPP) 130, 132 configured to operate as a security edge node or gateway. The SEPP may be configured to protect application layer control plane messages between the NFs 120, 150 belonging to the different PFMNs and use the N32 interface to communicate with each other.)
Holtmanns does not explicitly teach:
a root SEPP discovery node in communication with the first network repository function and a second network repository function of a second telecommunication network, wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to store information of different SEPP network functions that include the first SEPP network function and the second SEPP network function available in different telecommunication networks globally or regionally, wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to: transmit a discovery request to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; obtain, in response to the discovery request, information about the second SEPP network function from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; and establish a connection with the second SEPP network function using the information.
However, Wang teaches:
a root SEPP discovery node in communication with the first network repository function and a second network repository function of a second telecommunication network, – in paragraphs [0069]-[0089] (Reference is now made to FIG. 3, the communication system 400 comprises at least one central NRF 10 and at least one regional NRF (as Regional NRF #1, Regional NRF #2, Regional NRF #3, . . . , Regional NRF #n). The primary NRF (central NRF) may directly send the discovery request to at least one of other secondary NRFs (Regional NRF #2, Regional NRF #3, . . . , Regional NRF #n).)
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to store information of different SEPP network functions that include the first SEPP network function and the second SEPP network function available in different telecommunication networks globally or regionally, – in paragraphs [0069]-[0089] (The central NRF may maintain a routing table for mapping the service query information and the target NF information and/or the information of the regional NRF. The network can be divided into several regions, for example, based on the province border. And the NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances and their supported services. In FIG. 2, the network is divided into 3 regions, region A-C. In every region, there is a corresponding NRF, and at least one NF, such as AMF, SMF, UPF, NSSF (Network Slice Selection Function), AUSF, UDM, UDR, etc. The NF in the specific area register its NF profile to its own regional NRF, for example, NF X registers its NF profile to regional NRF #1. The regional NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances (as NF X) and the supported services.)
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to: – in paragraphs [0120]-[0131] (At 702, the NF X (a service consumer, e.g. AMF) triggers discover “NF Y” (a service producer, e.g. UDM) with the service query parameters towards its own regional NRF, i.e. regional NRF #1.)
register with the root SEPP discovery node by transmitting a registration message to the first network repository function, – in paragraphs [0077]-[0101] (The central NRF maintains routing table information for mapping the information of NRFs and the information of NFs which are registered in the corresponding NRF. The NF in the specific area register its NF profile to its own regional NRF, for example, NF X registers its NF profile to regional NRF #1. The regional NRF can also register itself in the central NRF with its address, and the NRF property (e.g. region information: region ID, group ID etc). For example, when a regional NRF checks that it contains the target NF, it includes the target NF information and/or the information of itself (this regional NRF) into the response, and sends the response to the central NRF.)
wherein the first network repository function forwards the registration message to the root SEPP discovery node, and – in paragraphs [0120]-[0131] (At 702, the NF X (a service consumer, e.g. AMF) triggers discover “NF Y” (a service producer, e.g. UDM) with the service query parameters towards its own regional NRF, i.e. regional NRF #1. At 706, the regional NRF #1 then forward the discovery request to the Central NRF with all the service query parameters.)
wherein the root SEPP discovery node stores information about the first SEPP network function including at least one of: an internet protocol (IP) address, a uniform resource identifier (URI), or an NF Profile of the first SEPP network function; – in paragraphs [0069]-[0089] (The central NRF may maintain a routing table for mapping the service query information and the target NF information and/or the information of the regional NRF. The network can be divided into several regions, for example, based on the province border. And the NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances and their supported services. In FIG. 2, the network is divided into 3 regions, region A-C. In every region, there is a corresponding NRF, and at least one NF, such as AMF, SMF, UPF, NSSF (Network Slice Selection Function), AUSF, UDM, UDR, etc. The NF in the specific area register its NF profile to its own regional NRF, for example, NF X registers its NF profile to regional NRF #1. The regional NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances (as NF X) and the supported services. The NRF's profile comprising at least part of following information of the NRF: NF instance ID, NF type; service name, PLMN ID, FQDN, S-NSSAI, NSI, IP address, region ID, ECGi, NCGI, TAI; DNN, group ID, SUPI ranges, GPSI ranges, external Group Identifiers Ranges; Data Set ID; routing ID of SUCI;)
transmit a discovery request to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; – in paragraphs [0120]-[0131] (At 702, the NF X (a service consumer, e.g. AMF) triggers discover “NF Y” (a service producer, e.g. UDM) with the service query parameters towards its own regional NRF, i.e. regional NRF #1. At 706, the regional NRF #1 then forward the discovery request to the Central NRF with all the service query parameters.)
obtain, in response to the discovery request, information about the second SEPP network function from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; and – in paragraphs [0120]-[0131] (At 714, the central NRF then forwards the successful result and NF profile of NF Y back to the regional NRF #1. At 716, the regional NRF #1 then response the successful result and NF profile of NF Y back to NF X.)
establish a connection with the second SEPP network function using the information. – in paragraphs [0120]-[0131] (At 718, NF x then set up communication with NF Y.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns with Wang to include a root SEPP discovery node in communication with the first network repository function and a second network repository function of a second telecommunication network, wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to store information of different SEPP network functions that include the first SEPP network function and the second SEPP network function available in different telecommunication networks globally or regionally, wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to: transmit a discovery request to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; obtain, in response to the discovery request, information about the second SEPP network function from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function; and establish a connection with the second SEPP network function using the information, as taught by Wang, in paragraphs [0001]-[0049], to provide a technique for managing service discovery across different regions.
Claim 2. The system of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node comprises a root SEPP discovery network repository function. – in paragraphs [0002]-[0049], [0069]-[0089] (Reference is now made to FIG. 3, the communication system 400 comprises at least one central NRF 10 and at least one regional NRF (as Regional NRF #1, Regional NRF #2, Regional NRF #3, . . . , Regional NRF #n). NF Repository Function (NRF) supports the following functionality: Supports service discovery function. Receive NF Discovery Request from NF instance, and provides the information of the discovered NF instances (be discovered) to the NF instance. Maintains the NF profile of available NF instances and their supported services.)
Claim 3. The system of claim 1– refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node comprises a database configured to store the information of different SEPP network functions. – in paragraphs [0069]-[0089] (The central NRF may maintain a routing table for mapping the service query information and the target NF information and/or the information of the regional NRF. The network can be divided into several regions, for example, based on the province border. And the NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances and their supported services. In FIG. 2, the network is divided into 3 regions, region A-C. In every region, there is a corresponding NRF, and at least one NF, such as AMF, SMF, UPF, NSSF (Network Slice Selection Function), AUSF, UDM, UDR, etc. The NF in the specific area register its NF profile to its own regional NRF, for example, NF X registers its NF profile to regional NRF #1. The regional NRF maintains the NF profile of available NF instances (as NF X) and the supported services.)
Claim 4. The system of claim 1– refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to register with the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function. – in paragraphs [0077]-[0101] (The central NRF maintains routing table information for mapping the information of NRFs and the information of NFs which are registered in the corresponding NRF. The NF in the specific area register its NF profile to its own regional NRF, for example, NF X registers its NF profile to regional NRF #1. The regional NRF can also register itself in the central NRF with its address, and the NRF property (e.g. region information: region ID, group ID etc). For example, when a regional NRF checks that it contains the target NF, it includes the target NF information and/or the information of itself (this regional NRF) into the response, and sends the response to the central NRF.)
Claim 9. The system of claim 1– refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the first network repository function is configured to store an Internet Protocol (IP) address of at least the first SEPP network function or the second SEPP network function. – in paragraphs [0090]-[0101] (The NRF's profile comprising at least part of following information of the NRF: NF instance ID, NF type; service name, PLMN ID, FQDN, S-NSSAI, NSI, IP address, region ID, ECGi, NCGI, TAI; DNN, group ID, SUPI ranges, GPSI ranges, external Group Identifiers Ranges; Data Set ID; routing ID of SUCI;)
Claim 10. The system of claim 1– refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the first network repository function is configured to store a mapping between the first SEPP network function and the second SEPP network function. – in paragraphs [0082]-[0089], [0109]-[0111], [0119], [0129], [0130] (If it contains the target NF information (NF Y) mapping, it will send the target NF information (NF Y) and/or the information of the NRF (regional NRF #3) in which the target NF is registered to the first secondary NRF (regional NRF #1). The regional NRF can create a local information, recording the mapping between, the input service query parameter, the target NF of query, and the target regional NRF.)
Claim 23. The system of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Wang teaches:
wherein the discovery request comprises a Nnrf_NFDiscovery request. – in paragraphs [0037], [0105], [0106] (As the discovery request, it refers to at least the requests of Nnrf_NFDiscovery and Nnrf_NFManagement, OAuth2 Authorization as defined in 3GPP 29.510, and correspondingly, discovery response refers to at least, the response of the above-mentioned requests.)
Claim(s) 5-7, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtmanns (WO 2020174121) in view of Wang (US 20210258861), and further in view of Onno (US 20240137282).
Claim 5. The system of claim 1– refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Holtmanns and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to deregister with the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function.
However, Onno teaches:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to deregister with the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function. – in paragraphs [0208]-[0212] (When an NRF service analytics data consumer uses NFStatusSubscribe, to be notified of newly registered NF Instances in NRF, or to be notified of profile changes of a specific NF Instance, or to be notified of the deregistration of an NF Instance, the NRF includes a Subscription ID in the response to the subscription creation request.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns and Wang with Onno to include wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to deregister with the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function, as taught by Onno, in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], to retrieve analytics data for the purpose of improving the network's efficiency and performance.
Claim 6. The system of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Holtmanns and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to subscribe to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the root SEPP discovery node.
However, Onno teaches:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to subscribe to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the root SEPP discovery node. – in paragraphs [0235]-[0244] (The NWDAF service analytics data consumer 64 subscribes to the NRF 63 for NF status updates.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns and Wang with Onno to include wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to subscribe to the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the root SEPP discovery node, as taught by Onno, in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], to retrieve analytics data for the purpose of improving the network's efficiency and performance.
Claim 7. The system of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Holtmanns and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to unsubscribe from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function.
However, Onno teaches:
wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to unsubscribe from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function. – in paragraphs [0256]-[0264] (A new function for the unsubscription on behalf of a customer NF is defined, or, according to a different embodiment, a modification of the Analytics_function_unsubscribe is defined to allow the NRF 63 to unsubscribe on behalf of a NF.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns and Wang with Onno to include wherein the first SEPP network function is configured to unsubscribe from the root SEPP discovery node via the first network repository function, as taught by Onno, in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], to retrieve analytics data for the purpose of improving the network's efficiency and performance.
Claim 21. The system of claim 3 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Holtmanns and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to receive a subscription request from at least one of the first SEPP network function or the second SEPP network function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the database.
However, Onno teaches:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to receive a subscription request from at least one of the first SEPP network function or the second SEPP network function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the database. – in paragraphs [0235]-[0244] (The NWDAF service analytics data consumer 64 subscribes to the NRF 63 for NF status updates. The existing NFStatusSubscribe operation is extended to allow the service subscriber to specify for which request/subscription identifier updates are requested.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns and Wang with Onno to include wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to receive a subscription request from at least one of the first SEPP network function or the second SEPP network function to obtain a status update of other SEPP network functions stored in the database, as taught by Onno, in paragraphs [0001]-[0010], to retrieve analytics data for the purpose of improving the network's efficiency and performance.
Claim 22. The system of claim 21 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Onno teaches:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to transmit the status update of other SEPP network functions to at least one of the first SEPP network function or the second SEPP network function. – in paragraphs [0235]-[0244] (The NRF 63 notifies the NWDAF service analytics data consumer 64 that there has been a change of NWDAF instance mapping for the subscribed status update.)
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holtmanns (WO 2020174121) in view of Wang (US 20210258861), and further in view of Sapra (US 20230188963).
Claim 24. The system of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Holtmanns and Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to transmit an indicator to the first SEPP network function indicating a validity period during which the information about the second SEPP network function is cacheable.
However, Sapra teaches:
wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to transmit an indicator to the first SEPP network function indicating a validity period during which the information about the second SEPP network function is cacheable. – in paragraphs [0012]-[0022] (The method for reducing inter-PLMN forwarding of messages relating to Nnrf service operations includes reading, by the first NRF and from the response to the first request for the Nnrf_NFDiscovery service operation, a validity period, detecting expiration of the validity period, and in response to detecting expiration of the validity period, sending, to the second NRF, a third request for the Nnrf_NFDiscovery service operation, receiving a response to the third request for the Nnrf_NFDiscovery service operation, and updating NF profiles cached by the first NRF based on the response.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Holtmanns and Wang with Sapra to include wherein the root SEPP discovery node is configured to transmit an indicator to the first SEPP network function indicating a validity period during which the information about the second SEPP network function is cacheable, as taught by Sapra, in paragraph [0053], to provide a mechanism in which, rather than forwarding every inter-PLMN Nnrf service request towards the home NRF, the visited NRF forwards only required/selected Nnrf service request towards the home NRF, which significantly increases throughput and reduces service latency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449