CTNF 17/897,076 CTNF 84331 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-10, 12, 16, 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by AMIN et al. (US 2015/0239775) . Amin teaches a method of forming a chemically strengthened glass- based article comprising ion exchanging a plurality of alkali ions into a glass-based substrate to form a glass-based article with a non-zero alkali metal oxide concentration that varies along at least a substantial portion of a thickness (t) of the glass-based substrate (para. 0070, 0073), wherein the ion exchanging comprises immersing the glass-based substrate in a molten salt bath at a temperature in a range from 350°C to 450°C (para. 0102) which incorporates the claimed range of 380°C to 450°C, for from 50% to 130% of an ion exchange time that produces a peak central tension (CT) with the same molten salt bath composition and temperature (para. 0071, 0101-0102). Amin teaches the molten salt bath comprises from at least 95% by weight of a potassium salt (para. 0103) which overlaps with the claimed range of about 91% to 97%; and from 0-5% by weight of a sodium salt (para. 0103), which overlaps with the claimed range of about 3% to about 9%,wherein the glass-based substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface defining the thickness (t) (see figure 1). Amin teaches the glass-based article comprises from 0-15 mol% Li 2 O (para. 0106) which incorporates the claimed range of 6 mol% to 10 mol%Li 2 O and from 0-20 mol% Na 2 O (para. 0106) which incorporates the claimed range of 1 mol% to 3 mol% Na 2 O. Regarding claim 3, Amin teaches that the molten salt comprises only potassium and sodium salts (para. 0103); wherein 0% lithium salt falls into the claimed range of less than about 2% lithium salt by weight. Regarding claim 8, Amin teaches the glass-based article is ion exchanged for from 70% to 130% of the ion exchange time that produces the peak central tension (CT) with the same molten salt bath composition and temperature (para. 0071, 0102). Regarding claim 9, Amin teaches the glass-based article is ion exchanged for less than about 12 hours (para. 0102). Regarding claim 10, Amin teaches the potassium salt is KNO 3 , and the sodium salt is NaNO 3 (para. 0103). Regarding claim 11, in paragraph 0098, Amin teaches that Lee US 8,312,739 is incorporated by reference. Lee teaches a first molten salt bath comprising potassium salt with up to 7.5% sodium salt (claim 1 step b) flowed by a second ion exchange in a second molten salt bath comprising a potassium salt (claim 1 step c, claim 13 step c). Regarding claim 12, Amin teaches the glass-based substrate has a 2.5D shape with at least one edge having an asymmetric profile such that one of the first surface and the second surface is non-planar; or a 3D shape where at least one of both the first surface and the second surface are non-planar (para. 0071). Regarding claim 16, Amin teaches a compressive stress spike (para. 0077, 0182), and a spike depth of layer (DOLs p ike), wherein DOLs p ike /t is 0.121 (para. 0182, calculated from 0.97 mm/0.8 mm) which falls into the claimed range from about 0.006 to about 0.014. Regarding claim 19, Amin teaches that the glass-based article has a maximum central tension of 150 MPa (para. 0120) and teaches that the glass article has a thickness of 0.15 to about 1.0 mm (para. 0119). Amin’s maximum central tension of 150 MPa is greater than 71.5/√(t) at the higher end of 1.0 mm (calculates to 71.5). Regarding claim 20, Amin teaches a glass-based article (para. 0064). Regarding claim 21, Amin teaches that the molten salt comprises only potassium and sodium salts (para. 0103); wherein 0% lithium salt falls into the claimed range of less than 1.5 wt%. Regarding claim 22, Amin teaches that the molten salt comprises only potassium and sodium salts (para. 0103); wherein 0% lithium salt falls into the claimed range of less than 1 wt%. Regarding claim 23, Amin teaches the molten salt bath comprises from at least 95% by weight of a potassium salt (para. 0103) which overlaps with the claimed range of about 92% to 97%; and from 0-5% by weight of a sodium salt (para. 0103), which overlaps with the claimed range of about 3% to about 8% Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-27-aia AIA Claim(s) 4-6, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over AMIN et al. (US 2015/0239775) . Amin teaches a method of forming a chemically strengthened glass- based article comprising ion exchanging. Amin does not teach any change in weight, length, or width of the glass article therefore, it is inferred that the change in weight, length and width of the glass article is 0% and falls into the claimed ranges of less than 1.6% gain in weight, less than 0.24% change in a length, and less than 0.24% change in a width. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that no change in weight, length and width would occur since there is no change in shape of the glass article during the ion exchange step. Regarding claims 15 and 18, Amin does not teach any change in the Na 2 O concentration at a center point of the glass-based substrate; therefore, it is inferred that the change in the Na 2 O concentration at a center point of the glass-based substrate is 0%, which falls into the claimed range of less than 1.3 mol% and less than 3 mol%. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over AMIN et al. (US 2015/0239775) in view of GULATI et al. (US 2011/0281093). Amin teaches a method of forming a chemically strengthened glass- based article by ion exchanging. Amin is silent to warping of the glass article. Gulati teaches a method of forming a chemically strengthened glass- based article by ion exchanging. Gulati teaches that the warp magnitudes of glass articles after ion exchange are generally small (para. 0030) and that maximum warp values for the most highly stressed glass articles are less than 0.1 mm over a 10 cm span (para. 0066) which falls into the claimed range of less than 200 µm after ion exchanging compared to the glass substrate before ion exchanging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the glass article of Amin would have a glass article with a warp range suggested by Gulati because Gulati teaches that this is a property of glass articles that have undergone am ion-exchange (para. 0052). Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over AMIN et al. (US 2015/0239775). Amin teaches a method of forming a chemically strengthened glass- based article by ion exchanging. Amin teaches the glass-based article comprises from 0-15 mol% Li 2 O (para. 0106) which incorporates the claimed range of 6 mol% to 10 mol%Li 2 O and from 0-20 mol% Na 2 O (para. 0106) which incorporates the claimed range of 1 mol% to 3 mol% Na 2 O. Although Amin is silent to a Na 2 O molar concentration at a center point of the glass-based article, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that concentration of less than 45% of the total alkali metal oxide molar concentration would have been achieved through routine experimentation. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed January 30, 2026, with respect to the prior art date of Amin (US 2016/0257605) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Although Amin is actually available as prior art under 102(a)(2), the claims have now been rejected in view of Amin’s parent application publication US 2015/0239775, which is available as prior art under 102(a)(1). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK whose telephone number is (571)270-5130. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 10 am - 6 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison Hindenlang can be reached at 571-270-7001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 2 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 3 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 4 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 5 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 6 Art Unit: 1741 Application/Control Number: 17/897,076 Page 7 Art Unit: 1741