Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-12, 15-19, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0370952 to Changlani in view of US 2014/0302856 to Nory and US 2021/0235486 to Atefi.
As to claim 1, Changlani teaches, a wireless node for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Changlani, Fig. 1, access point 102 transceiving with devices 106A-D, thus a transceiver must exist);
one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; IT 0022, Although not shown, in some examples, the machine-readable storage medium may be encoded with certain additional executable instructions to perform any other operations performed by the AP 102, without limiting the scope of the present disclosure.]
and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the wireless node to: IT 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove.]
generate a first frame that indicates updated roles associated with at least two basic service set IDs (BSSIDs) of a multi-BSSID set, ['] 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure. IT 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. The beacon frames are broadcasted to the client devices. The client devices use the BSSID included in the beacon frames to determine a VAP to connect.]
wherein the updated roles relate to whether a BSSID is a transmitted BSSID (TxBSSID) or a non-transmitted BSSID (nonTxBSSID); IT 0014, The VAP whose BSSID is used in the BSSID field in the MBSSID beacon is referred to as a transmitted VAP and its BSSID is referred to as a transmitted BSSID. The rest of the VAPs of the MBSSID set are referred to as non-transmitted VAP and their BSSIDs are referred to as non-transmitted BSSIDs.] and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the first frame [' [0013] Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP.].
Changlani fails to explicitly disclose a counter that indicates when the updated roles apply.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nory discloses a counter that indicates when the updated roles apply (see Nory [0053] base stations may change states (roles) from dormant (non-transmitted) to active (transmitted) based on a timer. Note: a timer is interpreted as a counter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Nory into Changlani's invention to indicate when the base station becomes active based on needs such as how many mobile devices are in the coverage area needing to connect and communicate.
Based on applicant’s arguments Atefi is added.
In an analogous art, Atefi teaches a wireless system which wakes up devices and transmits frames within the network of devices. As described in section [0073], Atefi teaches “In some aspects, such communication/transmission (e.g., a packet, data packet, a frame, a data frame, an awaken packet, an awaken request packet, a request packet, a response packet, an awaken response packet, a beacon, and/or any various other suitable encapsulation of information) and/or any one or more of its field(s), signal(s), bit(s), or portion(s)) may include an indication (e.g., a counter, counter value, etc., as described in greater detail herein) regarding (1) an availability of an updated identifier/value for one or more parameters of a BSS…”.
Therefore, although the Changlani and Nory combination would result in the claimed feature, and as Atefi more explicitly teaches including counter values related to device roles into frames, this provides the motivation and/or obviousness of adding counter values into frames which relate to device roles, for the conventional reasons as in the art, which are that communications are enhanced between devices when the devices are informed as to the awake/sleep state (roles) of other devices within a network.
Regarding the amendments to claim 1, which now recite:
“an index adjustment value for adjusting index values to indicate updated roles” and “a counter that indicates when the updated roles apply index adjustment value is to be applied to the index values associated with the at least two BSSIDs”,
see Fig. 4 and section [0038] of Changlani which teaches that the frames include an index value 434, which “is revised to 1” when an MBSSID is updated (which is “adjusting the index value”. Therefore, as Changlani teaches that the frames include an index value which is updated/adjusted and as Nory and Atefi teach using timers to update/change the BS roles, the combination of references would teach and/or render obvious these new features (i.e., when to change the index value based on the timer).
As to claim 2, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein each BSSID of the multi-BSSID set is linked with wireless node. ['] 0040, At block 502, the AP may transmit an MBSSID beacon (e.g., the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG. 3). The MBSSID beacon includes BSSID field and an MBSSID element.]
As to claim 3, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein each AP that is linked with a BSSID of the multi-BSSID set is a virtual AP (VAP) affiliated with the wireless node [' 0012, A VAP can be configured with respective network properties, such as authentication and encryption, and its set of network properties can be indicated by a unique BSSID. Thus, each VAP can be associated with a BSSID configured with a set of network properties associated with the VAP]. [90013, In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP].
As to claim 4, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein at least one of an access point (AP) linked with a TxBSSID or an AP linked with a non TxBSSID is affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MILD). ['] 0016, In accordance with some examples presented herein, the AP transmits an MBSSID beacon having a BSSID field that is set to a BSSID of a transmitted VAP (i.e., a transmitted BSSID). IT 0022, The machine-readable storage medium may be encoded with executable instructions 104 (depicted using dashed box in FIG. 1) for managing beacon frames (e.g., MBSSID beacons) transmitted by the AP 102].
As to claim 5, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the wireless node to perform one or more actions based on the updated roles. ['] 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove]. ['] 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure]. ['] 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. The beacon frames are broadcasted to the client devices. The client devices use the BSSID included in the beacon frames to determine a VAP to connect].
As to claim 6, Changlani teaches the wireless node of claim 5, wherein the one or more actions comprise: generating a second frame based on the updated roles; and outputting the second frame for transmission. 19 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non- functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure]. IT 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. The beacon frames are broadcasted to the client devices. The client devices use the BSSID included in the beacon frames to determine a VAP to connect].
As to claim 10, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the wireless node to adjust, based on the index adjustment value: 19 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove]. IT 0026, The MBSSID index corresponding to the non-transmitted VAPs may be included in the MBSSID beacons transmitted by the AP 102 and it is used by the client devices 106A-106D to deduce non-transmitted BSSIDs based on the transmitted BSSID]. IT 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG]. an index value of a first BSSID, of the at least two BSSIDs, to indicate the updated role of the first BSSID to the role of TxBSSID; [T 0026, The MBSSID index corresponding to the non-transmitted VAPs may be included in the MBSSID beacons transmitted by the AP 102
and it is used by the client devices 106A-106D to deduce non-transmitted BSSIDs based on the transmitted BSSID]. ['] 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG]. [ ] 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure]. and an index value of a second BSSID, of the at least two BSSIDs, to indicate the updated role of the second BSSID to the role of nonTxBSSID. ['] 0026, The MBSSID index corresponding to the non-transmitted VAPs may be included in the MBSSID beacons transmitted by the AP 102 and it is used by the client devices 106A-106D to deduce non-transmitted BSSIDs based on the transmitted BSSID]. IT 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG]. IT 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure].
As to claim 11, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the wireless node to adjust an index value of at least a third BSSID, of the multi-BSSID set, based on the index adjustment value. IT 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove]. IT 0026, The MBSSID index corresponding to the non-transmitted VAPs may be included in the MBSSID beacons transmitted by the AP 102 and it is used by the client devices 106A-106D to deduce non-transmitted BSSIDs based on the transmitted BSSID]. IT 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG].
As to claim 15, Changlani teaches the wireless node, further comprising at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to transmit the first frame and the wireless node is configured to operate as an access point. IT 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. 0021, The AP 102 may be a combination of hardware, software, and/or firmware that is configured to provide wireless network connectivity to the client devices 106A-106D. In some examples, the AP 102 may comprise, be implemented as, or known as a radio router, radio transceiver, a switch, a Wi-Fi hotspot device, Basic Service Set (BSS) device, Extended Service Set (ESS) device, radio base station (RBS), or some other terminology and may act as a point of network access for the client devices 106A-106D].
As to claim 16, Changlani teaches a wireless node comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Fig. 1, access point 102 transceiving with devices, thus transceiver must exist);
processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the wireless node to. ['] 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove].
obtaining a first frame that indicates updated roles associated with at least two basic service set IDs (BSSIDs) of a multi-BSSID set. ['] 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure]. ['] 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. The beacon frames are broadcasted to the client devices. The client devices use the BSSID included in the beacon frames to determine a VAP to connect].
wherein the updated roles relate to whether a BSSID is a transmitted BSSID (TxBSSID) or a nontransmitted BSSID (nonTxBSSID); 19 0014, The VAP whose BSSID is used in the BSSID field in the MBSSID beacon is referred to as a transmitted VAP and its BSSID is referred to as a transmitted BSSID. The rest of the VAPs of the MBSSID set are referred to as non-transmitted VAP and their BSSIDs are referred to as non-transmitted BSSIDs].
and monitoring for a second frame from an access point (AP) linked with a TxBSSID in accordance with the updated roles. IT 0016, Further, the AP continuously monitors any configuration changes with respect to the VAPs and upon determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional (e.g., deleted or inactivated), the AP dynamically reconfigures the MBSSID beacon to generate a reconfigured MBSSID beacon. In particular, such reconfiguration involves setting the BSSID field in the reconfigured beacon to a BSSID of the non-transmitted VAP (i.e., a non-transmitted BSSID) of the MBSSID set]. [T 0029, The dynamic reconfiguration as used herein may refer to the AP reconfiguring the MBSSID beacon upon detecting that transmitting VAP/BSSID is non-functional and without disconnecting the client devices associated with the non-transmitted VAPs. In some examples, the reconfiguration of MBSSID beacon involves replacing the transmitted BSSID with one of the plurality of non-transmitted BSSIDs of the MBSSID set in response to determining that the transmitted VAP is non-functional. For example, AP may select the VAP 108B to become a transmitted VAP by updating the BSSID field in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon to the BSSID of the VAP 108B. In some examples, the AP 102 may randomly select the non-transmitted BSSID from the MBSSID set. In certain examples, the AP 102 may select the non-transmitted BSSID for inclusion in the BSSID field 308 based on preconfigured VAP selection criteria without limiting the scope of the present disclosure].
Changlani fails to explicitly disclose a counter that indicates when the updated roles apply.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nory discloses a counter that indicates when the updated roles apply (see Nory [0053] base stations may change states (roles) from dormant (non-transmitted) to active (transmitted) based on a timer. Note: a timer is interpreted as a counter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Nory into Changlani's invention to indicate when the base station is active based on needs such as how many mobile devices are in the coverage area needing to connect and communicate.
As also described above in claim 1, as Atefi more explicitly teaches including counter values related to device roles into frames, this provides the motivation and/or obviousness of adding counter values into frames which relate to device roles, for the conventional reasons as in the art, which are that communications are enhanced between devices when the devices are informed as to the awake/sleep state (roles) of other devices within a network.
Regarding the amendments to claim 16, which are similar to claim 1, see above.
As to claim 17, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein each BSSID of the multi-BSSID set is linked with an AP. IT 0012, Thus, each VAP can be associated with a BSSID configured with a set of network properties associated with the VAP]. ['] 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP].
As to claim 18, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein each AP that is linked with a BSSID of the multi-BSSID set is a virtual AP (VAP) affiliated with the AP device. ['] 0012, Thus, each VAP can be associated with a BSSID configured with a set of network properties associated with the VAP]. 19 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP].
As to claim 19, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein at least one of an AP linked with a TxBSSID or an AP linked with a nonTxBSSID is affiliated with an AP multi-link device (MLD). ['] 0014, Information associated with the non-transmitted VAPs that are the same as the transmitted VAP (e.g., inherited information) is inferred from the information associated with the transmitted VAP that is included in the MBSSID. In particular, the MBSSID beacon includes an MBSSID element comprising information about the MBSSID set in a manner that allows client devices to determine the network properties for each non-transmitted VAP (i.e., non-transmitted BSSID) in the MBSSID set. Broadcasting the MBSSID beacons allows the AP to use fewer beacon frames than the AP would by broadcasting separate beacon frames individually for each VAP].
As to claim 22, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to update a BSSID index for a BSSID linked to an AP associated with the station, based on the index adjustment value. [T 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG. 3. For example, as depicted in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon 400, the MBSSID index 434 for the non-transmitted VAP is shown as revised to "1"].
As to claim 23, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless node to adjust, based on the index adjustment value: an index value of a first BSSID, of the at least two BSSIDs, to indicate the updated role of the first BSSID to the role of TxBSSID; and an index value of a second BSSID, of the at least two BSSIDs, to indicate the updated role of the second BSSID to the role of nonTxBSSID. 0059, in some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove. 0038, The MBSSID index 334 represents an index number of the non-transmitted VAP. Due to the non-existence of the original transmitted BSSID, the MBSSID index 434 may also have an updated value in comparison to the MBSSID beacon 300 of FIG. 3. For example, as depicted in the reconfigured MBSSID beacon 400, the MBSSID index 434 for the non-transmitted VAP is shown as revised to "1"].
As to claim 24, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein at least one of the first BSSID or the second BSSID has an AP that is associated with the station. IT 0013, Typically, an AP announces a wireless network by transmitting a beacon frame. In the case of an AP configured with multiple VAPs, the AP typically broadcasts a beacon frame for each VAP of the multiple VAPs, where the beacon frame includes a BSSID associated with the VAP. The beacon frames are broadcasted to the client devices. The client devices use the BSSID included in the beacon frames to determine a VAP to connect. In some deployments, an AP can support multiple wireless networks using multiple VAPs].
As to claim 25, Changlani teaches the wireless node, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the wireless node to adjust an index value of at least a third BSSID, of the multi-BSSID set, based on the index adjustment value. IT 0059, In some examples, the machine-readable storage medium 805 (e.g., one or more of the main memory 806, the ROM 808, or the storage device 810) may store instructions 807 which when executed by the processing resource 804 may cause the processing resource 804 to execute one or more of the methods/operations described hereinabove. IT 0015, While the use of the MBSSID set allows APs to broadcast information associated with a plurality of VAPs forming the MBSSID set with improved airtime efficiency, the use of the MBSSID set faces various technological challenges. For example, making changes to a transmitted VAP associated with an MBSSID set may involve interrupting services for all VAPs associated with the MBSSID as the change is made and the MBSSID is updated. Typically, when the transmitted VAP is made non-functional (e.g., deleted or inactivated), all of the non-transmitted VAPs of the MBSSID set are inactivated. This results in the disconnection of the client devices connected to such non-transmitted VAPs as the client devices may not have been configured to process MBSSID beacons with any BSSID other than the transmitted BSSID. Consequently, the client devices connected to the non-transmitted VAPs of the MBSSID set experiences a massive outage as it will result in the de-authentication of all the client devices connected to the different VAPs that are part of the MBSSID set. These interruptions may be exacerbated in deployments involving numerous VAPs].
As to claim 31, Changlani discloses the wireless node of claim 16, wherein wireless node is configured as a station (see Changlani, Fig. 1, access point 102).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani in view of Nory and Atefi, and further in view of Gan et al. (US 20200336969, hereinafter Gan.)
As to claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Changlani fails to teach, wherein the second frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. However, Gan teaches wherein the second frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. 19 0053, In S101, specifically, the first frame generated by the AP may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, a neighbor report frame, or another management frame. IT 0081,
When the first frame is the neighbor report frame or the frame including the neighbor element, and the indication information for indicating whether the address information appears is the second value, for example, 0, the address information of the AP operating on the 6 GHz band does not appear in the 6 GHz operation information field, which indicates that the address information of the AP operating on the 6 GHz band is the receiving address of the second frame and the receiving address of the second frame is set to a BSSID in the neighbor report frame for sending the 6 GHz operation information field or a BSSID in the neighbor element of the frame including the neighbor element.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Changlani with the method of Gan. Doing so would improve "long duration, high energy consumption, and unnecessary congestion on the 6 GHz band. "[See Gan, [0003]”.
As to claim 20 as applied to claim 16, Changlani fails to teach, wherein the second frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame.
However, Gan teaches wherein the second frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. IT 0053, In S101, specifically, the first frame generated by the AP may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, a neighbor report frame, or another management frame. IT 0081, When the first frame is the neighbor report frame or the frame including the neighbor element, and the indication information for indicating whether the address information appears is the second value, for example, 0, the address information of the AP operating on the 6 GHz band does not appear in the 6 GHz operation information field, which indicates that the address information of the AP operating on the 6 GHz band is the receiving address of the second frame and the receiving address of the second frame is set to a BSSID in the neighbor report frame for sending the 6 GHz operation information field or a BSSID in the neighbor element of the frame including the neighbor element.]
Claims 12, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani in view of Nory and Atefi, and further in view of Patil et al. (US 10972962, hereinafter Patil et al).
As to claim 12, as applied to claim 8, Changlani fails to teach, wherein the parameter and the counter are conveyed in one or more elements of the first frame. However, Patil teaches wherein the parameter and the counter are conveyed in one or more elements of the first frame. IT 25, In some implementations, a field in each management frame may include an indicator to indicate whether that management frame includes a complete list or a partial list of NonTxBSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set. The indicator may be carried in a new field, new element, or in one or more bits of an existing field or element. For example, the indicator may be included in an Extended Capabilities element or a high efficiency (HE) Operations element of a Beacon Frame or Probe Response Frame. IT 16, It also may be desirable to inform the STA how many BSSIDs are actually implemented in the Multiple BSSID set. By knowing a quantity (or count) of BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set, the STA can unambiguously determine whether the STA has discovered about all the BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set even if the STA has received one or more partial lists. In some implementations, a first management frame may indicate a quantity (or count) of BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Changlani with the method of Patil. Doing SO would improve a single WLAN wireless node may be configured to host multiple BSSs (each BSS associated with a different virtual AP) from the same WLAN wireless node. Each BSS may be associated with a different BSS identifier (BSSID)." [See Patil,|3]
As to claim 26, as applied to claim 25, Changlani fails to teach, wherein the third BSSID has an AP that is associated with the station. However, Patil teaches wherein the third BSSID has an AP that is associated with the station. 19 22, In FIG. 1, each of the VAPs 151, 152, 153 and 154 are associated with different BSSIDs and are part of a Multiple BSSID set. Each BSS can have different wireless associations with client stations. A STA can establish a wireless association (also referred to as a wireless link, wireless connection, or the like) with a VAP to access the broadband network via the WLAN wireless node 150. In FIG. 1, a first STA 110 has a first wireless association 112 with a first BSSID (corresponding to the first VAP 151). A second STA 120 has a second wireless association 122 with a second BSSID (corresponding to the second VAP 152). A third STA 130 has a third wireless association 132 with a third BSSID (corresponding to the third VAP 153).]
As to claim 27, as applied to claim 21, Changlani fails to teach, wherein the parameter and the counter are obtained in one or more elements of the first frame. However, Patil teaches wherein the parameter and the counter are obtained in one or more elements of the first frame. I'll 25, In some implementations, a field in each management frame may include an indicator to indicate whether that management frame includes a complete list or a partial list of NonTxBSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set. The indicator may be carried in a new field, new element, or in one or more bits of an existing field or element. For example, the indicator may be included in an Extended Capabilities element or a high efficiency (HE) Operations element of a Beacon Frame or Probe Response Frame.] IT 16, It also may be desirable to inform the STA how many BSSIDs are actually implemented in the Multiple BSSID set. By knowing a quantity (or count) of BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set, the STA can unambiguously determine whether the STA has discovered about all the BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set even if the STA has received one or more partial lists. In some implementations, a first management frame may indicate a quantity (or count) of BSSIDs in the Multiple BSSID set.]
Claims 13, 14, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1, 8, 16 and 21, and further in view of Seok et al. (US 20210337613, hereinafter Seok), and Sun et al. (US 20230155782, hereinafter Sun).
As to claim 13 as applied to claim 8, Changlani fails to teach, wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a reconfiguration multi-link element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame. However, Seok teaches wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a reconfiguration multi-link element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame. 0032, In general, a STA within an AP MLD may send an information element (IE) regarding BSS parameters associated with another STA within the AP MLD. 19 0044, The Link ID field may indicate a Link ID associated with link n (mapping between the link (specified in the Operating Class, Channel Number, and BSSID) and the link ID is defined in the RNR element). I'll 0077, Moreover, processor 1122 may receive, via transceiver 1126, from the first virtual AP MLD a beacon frame containing capabilities and operating parameters of a first BSSID of the plurality of different BSSIDs under which the first virtual AP MLD operates on at least the first link of the plurality of links.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Changlani with the method of Seok. Doing so would improve "ambiguity when two affiliated APs of an AP MLD use the same MAC address. For example, if AP1 and AP2 of an AP MLD use the same MAC address, it would be difficult for legacy STAs to know if AP2 is a different from AP1 or if AP2 is actually AP1 performing channel switching. Thus, there is a need for a solution to address the relation between MAC addresses and affiliated APs of an AP MLD.' [See Seok, ||0005]
Changlani and Seok fail to teach, and the counter is conveyed in a delete timer subfield of the first frame. However, Sun teaches, and the counter is conveyed in a delete timer subfield of the first frame. IT 0092, In certain aspects, a disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field (not shown, e.g. the Channel Switch Count field in an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element) may provided in the action frame 600 or the legacy IE 500. The disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field may provide a countdown timer so that the devices of the BSS (e.g., the AP and the STAs) are able to simultaneously switch communications to a new puncture pattern indicated by the disabled subchannel bitmap element 522, as discussed in more detail below in reference to FIG. 7.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention to combine the method of Changlani and Seok with the method of Sun. Doing so would improve the "increasing demand for bandwidth intensive applications, new protocols and technologies are being developed to improve the performance or the reliability of WLAN communications. With new designs being implemented in WLAN communications, improvements in signaling are desirable." [See Sun, |0002].
As to claim 14 as applied to claim 8, Changlani fails to teach, wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a Traffic ID (TID) to link mapping (T2LM) element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame.
However, Seok teaches wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a Traffic ID (TID) to link mapping (T2LM) element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame. IT 0032, In general, a STA within an AP MLD may send an information element (IE) regarding BSS parameters associated with another STA within the AP MLD.] [T 0044, The Link ID field may indicate a Link ID associated with link n (mapping between the link (specified in the Operating Class, Channel Number, and BSSID) and the link ID is defined in the RNR element).] [ ] 0077, Moreover, processor 1122 may receive, via transceiver 1126, from the first virtual AP MLD a beacon frame containing capabilities and operating parameters of a first BSSID of the plurality of different BSSIDs under which the first virtual AP MLD operates on at least the first link of the plurality of links.]
Changlani and Seok fail to teach, and the counter is conveyed in a mapping switch timer subfield of the first frame. However, Sun teaches, and the counter is conveyed in a mapping switch timer subfield of the first frame. IT 0092, In certain aspects, a disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field (not shown, e.g. the Channel Switch Count field in an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element) may provided in the action frame 600 or the legacy IE 500. The disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field may provide a countdown timer so that the devices of the BSS (e.g., the AP and the STAs) are able to simultaneously switch communications to a new puncture pattern indicated by the disabled subchannel bitmap element 522, as discussed in more detail below in reference to FIG. 7.]
As to claim 28 as applied to claim 21, Changlani fails to teach, wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a reconfiguration multi-link element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame.
However, Seok teaches wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a reconfiguration multi-link element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame. IT 0032, In general, a STA within an AP MLD may send an information element (IE) regarding BSS parameters associated with another STA within the AP MLD.] ['] 0044, The Link ID field may indicate a Link ID associated with link n (mapping between the link (specified in the Operating Class, Channel Number, and BSSID) and the link ID is defined in the RNR element).] IT 0077, Moreover, processor 1122 may receive, via transceiver 1126, from the first virtual AP MLD a beacon frame containing capabilities and operating parameters of a first BSSID of the plurality of different BSSIDs under which the first virtual AP MLD operates on at least the first link of the plurality of links.]
Changlani and Seok fail to teach, and the counter is conveyed in a delete timer subfield of the first frame. However, Sun teaches, and the counter is conveyed in a delete timer subfield of the first frame. 0092, In certain aspects, a disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field (not shown, e.g. the Channel Switch Count field in an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element) may provided in the action frame 600 or the legacy IE 500. The disabled subchannel bitmap switch countdown element or field may provide a countdown timer so that the devices of the BSS (e.g., the AP and the STAs) are able to simultaneously switch communications to a new puncture pattern indicated by the disabled subchannel bitmap element 522, as discussed in more detail below in reference to FIG. 7.]
As to claim 29 as applied to claim 21, Changlani fails to teach, wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a Traffic ID (TID) to link mapping (T2LM) element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame.
However, Seok teaches wherein: the parameter is conveyed in a Traffic ID (TID) to link mapping (T2LM) element of the first frame or a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) of the first frame. IT 0032, In general, a STA within an AP MLD may send an information element (IE) regarding BSS parameters associated with another STA within the AP MLD. L9 0044, The Link ID field may indicate a Link ID associated with link n (mapping between the link (specified in the Operating Class, Channel Number, and BSSID) and the link ID is defined in the RNR element).] ['] 0077, Moreover, processor 1122 may receive, via transceiver 1126, from the first virtual AP MLD a beacon frame containing capabilities and operating parameters of a first BSSID of the plurality of different BSSIDs under which the first virtual AP MLD operates on at least the first link of the plurality of links.]
Changlani and Seok fail to teach, and the counter is conveyed in a mapping switch timer subfield of the first frame. However, Sun teaches, and the counter is conveyed in a mapping switch timer subfield of the first frame. IT 0092, In certain aspects, a disabled subchannel
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are now moot because of the new grounds of rejection. As above, see Fig. 4 and section [0038] of Changlani, which renders obvious using the counters/timers of Nory/Atefi to adjust the index value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646