Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/17/26, 12/01/25 and 10/10/22 have been considered by the examiner.
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on June 17, 2026, amended claim 28 has been entered. New claims 42-55 have been added.
Response to Arguments.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections raised in the previous office action were fully considered, but are moot in view of the current combination of references that were necessitated by amendment. Please see prior art section below for more detail, updated citations (Heikenfeld 2020, Heikenfeld 2023, Zeira, Liang and Jimenez references), and updated obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 45, 46, 48, 51 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 45, 46, 48, 51 and 54 recite “The system of claim”. Examiner notes this is improper as these claims are dependent on Claim 28, which is a method claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-34 and 44-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld (U.S. Patent Application Document 2024/0215904) and Heikenfeld (WO 2020146043 A1), herein referred to as Heikenfeld 2020
Heikenfeld was applied in the previous office action
Heikenfeld 2020 was submitted in Applicant’s IDS
Regarding claim 28, Heikenfeld teaches a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject using a system comprising:
an electrochemical aptamer-based (EAB) biosensor [fig. 2B, element 200; par. 6], comprising at least one hormone and/or analyte sensing microneedle array configured to access interstitial fluid in the subject [fig. 2B, element 212; par. 38], wherein the EAB sensor is configured for in vivo detection of a plurality of hormones and/or analytes in the interstitial fluid, and to generate one or more signals associated with the detection of at least one of the plurality of hormones and/or analytes [par. 38],
wherein the microneedle array comprises a plurality of microneedles [fig. 2B, element 212; par. 38], wherein an aptamer is immobilized on the surface of the interrogating electrode [par. 37, 38], and wherein a redox reporter is linked to the aptamer [par. 37], and
wherein: (i) at least one of the microneedles in the microneedle array comprises an aptamer that selectively binds to luteinizing hormone (LH) [par. 38], or (ii) at least one of the microneedles in the microneedle array comprises an aptamer that selectively binds to luteinizing hormone (LH), and at least one of the microneedles in the microneedle array comprises an aptamer that selectively binds to progesterone, or a metabolite thereof,
and measuring a concentration change of luteinizing hormone (LH), or progesterone or a metabolite thereof, or any combination thereof in the subject [par. 8, 38, 44], wherein the at least one hormone and/or analyte is LH, progesterone, estrogen, or follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), or any metabolite thereof, or any combination of the foregoing [par. 8, 38]
However, Heikenfeld does not teach wherein one or more of the microneedles have a coating to form an interrogating electrode that is configured to insert into intradermal space of the subject; the method comprising; inserting the one or more microneedles into the intradermal space of the subject such that the aptamer immobilized on the surface of the interrogating electrode on the one or more microneedles is positioned in vivo in the intradermal space; and measuring at least one hormone and/or analyte from interstitial fluid of the subject using the aptamer positioned in vivo in the intradermal space
Heikenfeld 2020 teaches one or more of the microneedles have a coating to form an interrogating electrode that is configured to insert into intradermal space of the subject [fig. 5, elements 320, 350; par. 66, 71]; the method comprising: inserting the one or more microneedles into the intradermal space of the subject such that the aptamer immobilized on the surface of the interrogating electrode on the one or more microneedles is positioned in vivo in the intradermal space [par. 66, 71]; and measuring at least one hormone and/or analyte from interstitial fluid of the subject using the aptamer positioned in vivo in the intradermal space [par. 14, 71]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, to incorporate one or more of the microneedles have a coating to form an interrogating electrode that is configured to insert into intradermal space of the subject; the method comprising: inserting the one or more microneedles into the intradermal space of the subject such that the aptamer immobilized on the surface of the interrogating electrode on the one or more microneedles is positioned in vivo in the intradermal space; and measuring at least one hormone and/or analyte from interstitial fluid of the subject using the aptamer positioned in vivo in the intradermal space, for remaining in fluid contact, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2020 [par. 66].
Regarding claim 29, Heikenfeld further teaches using at least two urine-based LH test strips to indicate a time for use of the system, and wherein the system continuously measures at least LH for at least 6 hours [par. 9].
Regarding claim 30, Heikenfeld further teaches the system continuously measures at least LH for at least 24 hours [par. 9].
Regarding claim 31, Heikenfeld further teaches taking at least one measurement of progesterone, or a metabolite thereof [par. 8, 38].
Regarding claim 32, Heikenfeld further teaches the system continuously measures LH and progesterone for at least 6 hours [par. 10, 38]
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Heikenfeld further teaches providing continuous concentration data of at least one hormone and/or analyte measured, a predicted time of ovulation, a predicted time of peak fertility, and a confirmation that ovulation has occurred, or any combination thereof [par. 10, 40].
Regarding claim 44, Heikenfeld further teaches at least a portion of the microneedles has a hollow interior [fig. 2B, element 232; par. 38]
Regarding claim 45, Heikenfeld 2020 further teaches the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the inner wall of the microneedle is coated [fig. 5, element 320; par. 66, 71].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, to incorporate the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the inner wall of the microneedle is coated, for remaining in fluid contact, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2020 [par. 66].
Regarding claim 46, Heikenfeld 2020 further teaches the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the outer wall of the microneedle is coated [par. 66, 71; Examiner notes Heikenfeld teaches the sensor could be on the microneedle].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, to incorporate the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the outer wall of the microneedle is coated, for remaining in fluid contact, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2020 [par. 66].
Regarding claim 47, Heikenfeld further teaches at least a portion of the microneedles has a solid interior [fig. 2B, element 212; par. 38 Examiner notes the microneedles include a hollow lumen, not stated that they are itself hollow].
Regarding claim 48, Heikenfeld 2020 further teaches the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the outer wall of the microneedle is coated [par. 66, 71; Examiner notes Heikenfeld teaches the sensor could be on the microneedle].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, to incorporate the microneedle has an inner wall and an outer wall, and wherein the outer wall of the microneedle is coated, for remaining in fluid contact, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2020 [par. 66].
Regarding claim 49, Heikenfeld further teaches the electrode comprises gold, silver, or carbon, or any combination thereof [par. 37]
Regarding claim 50, Heikenfeld further teaches the aptamer is immobilized on the surface of the electrode via a thiol group [par. 37]
Regarding claim 51, an alternate embodiment of Heikenfeld teaches the aptamer is covalently bonded to the electrode via the thiol group [par. 32]
Therefore, as the analyte capture complex is also covalently bonded to the molecule [par. 32]
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 and in further view of Beckley (U.S. Patent Application Document 2020/0141953)
Beckley was submitted in Applicant’s IDS
Beckley was applied in the previous office action
Regarding claim 39, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 do not teach the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol
Beckley teaches the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol [par. 57].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol, for allowing the results to be visually interpreted with the naked eye, as evidence by Beckley [par. 57].
Claims 42 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 and in further view of Heikenfeld (U.S. Patent Application Document 2020/0141953), herein referred to as Heikenfeld 2023
Regarding claim 42, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 do not teach the EAB sensor further comprises: a reference electrode having a site of known redox potential; and a counter electrode configured to act as a cathode or anode to the interrogating electrode
Heikenfeld 2023 teaches the EAB sensor further comprises: a reference electrode having a site of known redox potential [par. 85]; and a counter electrode configured to act as a cathode or anode to the interrogating electrode [par. 68]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the EAB sensor further comprises: a reference electrode having a site of known redox potential; and a counter electrode configured to act as a cathode or anode to the interrogating electrode, as determining redox peak is necessary for determining reference electrode degradation, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2023 [par. 77].
Regarding claim 55, Heikenfeld 2023 further teaches the redox reporter comprises methylene blue, ferrocene, or silver nanoparticles, or any combination thereof [par. 57, 101].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the redox reporter comprises methylene blue, ferrocene, or silver nanoparticles, or any combination thereof, as methylene blue is a common redox tag, as evidence by Heikenfeld 2023 [par. 57].
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 and in further view of Zeira (U.S. Patent Application Document 2022/0273923)
Regarding claim 43, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 do not teach the microneedles comprise pure silicon crystal
Zeira teaches the microneedles comprise pure silicon crystal [par. 70]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the microneedles comprise pure silicon crystal, for allowing the microneedles to be MEMS produced and polyhedral, as evidence by Zeira [par. 70].
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 and in further view of Liang ("Measuring luteinising hormone pulsatility with a robotic aptamer-enabled electrochemical reader." Nature communications 10.1 (2019): 852)
Regarding claim 52, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 do not teach the aptamer that selectively binds to LH comprises a B23 aptamer
Liang teaches the aptamer that selectively binds to LH comprises a B23 aptamer [pg. 2, col. 2: par. 4]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the aptamer that selectively binds to LH comprises a B23 aptamer, as aptamer B23 is the best LH-binder aptamer, as evidence by Liang [pg. 2, col. 2: par. 4].
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 and in further view of Jimenez ("Aptamer-based label-free impedimetric biosensor for detection of progesterone." Analytical chemistry 87.2 (2015): 1075-1082.)
Regarding claim 53, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020 do not teach the aptamer that selectively binds to progesterone comprises a P4G13 aptamer
Jimenez teaches the aptamer that selectively binds to progesterone comprises a P4G13 aptamer [pg 1080, col. 1: par. 3].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld and Heikenfeld 2020, to incorporate the aptamer that selectively binds to progesterone comprises a P4G13 aptamer, as P4G13 aptamer has the highest affinity and specificity for progesterone, as evidence by Jimenez [pg 1080, col. 1: par. 3].
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld, Heikenfeld 2020 and Jimenez and in further view of Base Pair Technologies ("Routine Characterization of DNA Aptamer Affinity to Recombinant Protein Targets." InteractIons (2012))
Regarding claim 54, Heikenfeld, Heikenfeld 2020 and Jimenez teach a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld, Heikenfeld 2020 and Jimenez do not teach the aptamer that selectively binds to HCG comprises a 19-C09 aptamer
Base Pair Biotechnologies teaches the aptamer that selectively binds to HCG comprises a 19-C09 aptamer [pg. 1-3]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, Heikenfeld 2020 and Jimenez, to incorporate the aptamer that selectively binds to HCG comprises a 19-C09 aptamer, as 19-C09 aptamer is specifically made for binding HCG, as evidence by Jimenez [pg. 1-3].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791