Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/01/25 and 10/10/22 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 28-34 and 39) in the reply filed on 12/01/25 is acknowledged. Invention I (Claims 1-27), Invention III (Claims 35, 36 and 40), Invention IV (Claims 37 and 38) and Invention V (Claim 41) have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld (U.S. Patent Application Document 2024/0215904)
Regarding claim 28, Heikenfeld teaches a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject using a system of claim 1 [par. 8, 44], the method comprising; measuring at least one hormone and/or analyte from interstitial fluid of the subject [par. 38]; and measuring a concentration change of luteinizing hormone (LH), or progesterone or a metabolite [par. 8, 38].
Regarding claim 29, Heikenfeld further teaches using at least two urine-based LH test strips to indicate a time for use of the system, and wherein the system continuously measures at least LH for at least 6 hours [par. 9].
Regarding claim 30, Heikenfeld further teaches the system continuously measures at least LH for at least 24 hours [par. 9].
Regarding claim 31, Heikenfeld further teaches taking at least one measurement of progesterone, or a metabolite thereof [par. 8, 38].
Regarding claim 32, Heikenfeld further teaches the system continuously measures LH and progesterone for at least 6 hours [par. 10, 38]
Regarding claims 33 and 34, Heikenfeld further teaches providing continuous concentration data of at least one hormone and/or analyte measured, a predicted time of ovulation, a predicted time of peak fertility, and a confirmation that ovulation has occurred, or any combination thereof [par. 10, 40].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld and in further view of Beckley (U.S. Patent Application Document 2020/0141953)
Beckley was submitted in Applicant’s IDS
Regarding claim 39, Heikenfeld teaches method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation, as disclosed above
However, Heikenfeld does not teach the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol
Beckley teaches the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol [par. 57].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by Heikenfeld, to incorporate the metabolite of progesterone is pregnanediol, for allowing the results to be visually interpreted with the naked eye, as evidence by Beckley [par. 57].
Conclusion
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791