DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments 12 January 2026.
Claims 1-2, 3-6, 10-11, and 13-14 were amended; no claims were cancelled; new claims 18-20 were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) to claims 6-8 and 15-16 are withdrawn due to amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner notes that the amendments to the independent claims have changed scope of all claims. Further, Applicant does not specifically argue how these amendments are allowable. Therefore, the issue of whether the cited prior art teaches these limitations is not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Downing in the present office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-9, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11460551. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, 11460551 claim 1 teaches a system, comprising:
a light source (light source, claim 1);
an optical element configurable to receive a first light signal from the light source and project a second light signal having a spatial modulation pattern (optical element, claim 1);
a pixel array configurable to receive a third light signal resulted from reflection of the second light signal (pixel array, claim 1); and
a processing element coupled to the pixel array, and configurable to generate a map of a scene responsive to information from the pixel array (processing element, claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, 11460551 claim 5 (which depends on claim 1) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical element includes a diffractive optical element configured to diffract the first light signal into the second light signal having a virtual array pattern (claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, 11460551 claim 7 (which depends on claim 1) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical element includes a phased array (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, 11460551 claim 6 (which depends on claim 1) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical element includes an optical microelectromechanical system (MEMS) (claim 6)
Regarding claim 9, 11460551 claim 8 (which depends on claim 1)teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processing element is programmed with a multipath resolution algorithm (claim 8).
Regarding claim 19, 11460551 claim 1 teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising an imaging lens configurable to receive the third light signal and project the third light signal onto the pixel array (imaging lens, claim 1)
Regarding claim 20, Downs teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pixel array has a smaller dimension than the spatial modulation pattern (MxN pixel array with M an N less than respective corresponding dimension of the virtual array pattern, claim 1).
Claims 2-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11460551 in view of Downing US 20190037136 A1.
Regarding claim 2, 11460551 claim 1 teaches the system of claim 1,
11460551 claim 1 as modified above does not explicitly teach but Downing teaches further comprising an array of light sources including the light source, wherein each of the light sources is configurable to independently transmit the first light signal at the same wavelength (102-1 to 102-NN, [0019-20]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 11460551 claim 1 to include an array of light sources including the light source, wherein each of the light sources is configurable to independently transmit the first light signal at the same wavelength similar to Downing with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing additional control over the creation of the spatial light patterns.
Regarding claim 3, 11460551 claim 1 as modified above teaches the system of claim 2,
11460551 does not explicitly teach but Downing teaches wherein the wavelength is in the infrared range ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 11460551 claim 1 such that the wavelength is in the infrared range similar to Downing with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving eye safety
Regarding claim 4, 11460551 claim 1 as modified above teaches the system of claim 2,
11460551 does not explicitly teach but Downing teaches wherein the array of light sources is configurable to generate light pulse sequences, each respective light pulse sequence generated at a different time ([0029, 36-44]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 11460551 claim 1 such that the array of light sources is configurable to generate light pulse sequences, each respective light pulse sequence generated at a different time similar to Downing with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling compressive sensing.
Regarding claim 5, Downing teaches the system of claim 4,
11460551 does not explicitly teach wherein the array of light sources includes lasers (VCSELs and other options, [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 11460551 claim 1 such that the array of light sources includes lasers similar to Downing with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling control of light emission using emitters with well-known characteristics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Downing US 20190037136 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Downing teaches a system, comprising:
a light source (102 in Fig. 3B, [0036-37]);
an optical element configurable to receive a first light signal from the light source and project a second light signal having a spatial modulation pattern (304 can be diffractive optical element, digital mirror device, spatial light modulator, [0037]);
a pixel array configurable to receive a third light signal resulted from reflection of the second light signal (104 in Fig. 3B, [0025, 30, 32, 34, 35, 40, 43]); and
a processing element coupled to the pixel array, and configurable to generate a map of a scene responsive to information from the pixel array (126 in Fig. 3B, [0026-27, 40-45]).
Regarding claim 2, Downing teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising an array of light sources including the light source, wherein each of the light sources is configurable to independently transmit the first light signal at the same wavelength (102-1 to 102-NN, [0019-20]).
Regarding claim 3, Downing teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the wavelength is in the infrared range ([0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Downing teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the array of light sources is configurable to generate light pulse sequences, each respective light pulse sequence generated at a different time ([0029, 36-44]).
Regarding claim 5, Downing teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the array of light sources includes lasers (VCSELs and other options, [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Downing teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical element includes a diffractive optical element configured to diffract the first light signal into the second light signal having a virtual array pattern (304 in Fig. 3B, [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Downing teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical element includes an optical microelectromechanical system (MEMS) (digital mirror device (DMD) is a type of MEMS, [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Downing teaches a method comprising:
transmitting a first light signal from a light source (102 in Fig. 3B, [0036-37]);
receiving, by an optical element, the first light signal; projecting a second light signal having a spatial modulation pattern (304 can be diffractive optical element, digital mirror device, spatial light modulator, [0037]);
projecting a third light signal resulted from a reflection of the second light signal onto a pixel array (104 in Fig. 3B, [0025, 30, 32, 34, 35, 40, 43]); and
generating, by a processing element, a map of a scene using information received from the pixel array (126 in Fig. 3B, [0026-27, 40-45]).
an optical element configurable to receive a first light signal from the light source and project a second light signal having a spatial modulation pattern (304 can be diffractive optical element, digital mirror device, spatial light modulator, [0037]);
a pixel array configurable to receive a third light signal resulted from reflection of the second light signal (104 in Fig. 3B, [0025, 30, 32, 34, 35, 40, 43]); and
a processing element coupled to the pixel array, and configurable to generate a map of a scene responsive to information from the pixel array (126 in Fig. 3B, [0026-27, 40-45]).
Regarding claim 11, see rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection to claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection to claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection to claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection to claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection to claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, Downs teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising an imaging lens configurable to receive the third light signal and project the third light signal onto the pixel array (306 may be one or more return lenses, [0043]).
Regarding claim 20, Downs teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the pixel array has a smaller dimension than the spatial modulation pattern (Spatial modulation patterns of size LxL are larger than the size of the pixel array (K^2<L^2), [0032,35]; additionally, the size of illumination pattern 302 is larger than the size of detector array 104 in Fig. 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downing US 20190037136 A1 in view of Dussan US 20190086550 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Downing teaches the system of claim 1,
Downing does not explicitly teach wherein the optical element includes a phased array.
Dussan teaches beam steering device 104 may be a phased array ([0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Downing such that the optical element includes a phased array similar to Dussan with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a well-known method of controlling light emission patterns.
Regarding claim 15, see rejection to claim 7.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downing US 20190037136 A1 in view of East-Lavoie US 20200166616 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Downing teaches the system of claim 1,
Downing does not explicitly teach wherein the processing element is programmed with a multipath resolution algorithm.
East-Lavoie teaches use of MUSIC, a multipath resolution algorithm used for distance measuring applications ([0049, 110])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Downing such that the processing element is programmed with a multipath resolution algorithm similar to East-Lavoie with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a well-known method to process data to create distance measurements.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection to claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645