DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 20 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kippley et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2013/0083575 A1) in view of Won et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2012/0223797 A1) and Ger et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0019875 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kippley teaches a magnetic component (FIG. 3A), comprising:
a primary coil group 314A and 314B comprising a first primary coil 314A and a second primary coil 314B;
a secondary coil group (“secondary windings” para. [0038]) comprising a first secondary coil 316A (annotated FIG. 3A below) and a second secondary coil 316B; and
a magnetic core 300, comprising:
a first cover 306A and 306B and a second cover 310A and 310B;
a central column 312 connecting with the first cover and the second cover, no air gap existing between the central column and the first cover and between the central column and the second cover; and
a first winding column 308A and a second winding column 308B respectively disposed on two opposite sides of the central column;
wherein, the first primary coil and the second primary coil are respectively winding around the first winding column and the second winding column; the first secondary coil and the second secondary coil are respectively winding around the first winding column and the second winding column (paras. [0038] and [0039]).
Kippley does not expressly teach the number of turns of the first primary coil is different from the number of turns of the second primary coil; [and] where the number of turns of the first secondary coil is different from the number of turns of the second secondary coil.
Won et al., hereinafter referred to as “Won,” teaches a magnetic component 100 [FIG. 1]), where the number of turns n of the first primary coil 10 is different from the number of turns N of the second primary coil 11; [and] where the number of turns N of the first secondary coil 20 is different from the number of turns n of the second secondary coil 21;
wherein the number of turns (n turns) of the first primary coil is equal to the number of turns (n turns) of the second secondary coil, and the number of turns (N turns) of the second primary coil is equal to the number of turns (N turns) of the first secondary coil (paras. [0050]- [0052]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the different coil turns as taught by Won to the magnetic component of Kippley to control external magnetic flux leakage (para. [0064]).
Kippley does not also expressly teach
wherein the first primary coil is wounding around a first winding part of the first winding column on the side adjacent to the central column, the first secondary coil is wounding around a second winding part of the first winding column on the side away from the central column, and the second primary coil is wounding around a third winding part of the second winding column on the side adjacent to the central column, the second secondary coil is wounding around a fourth winding part of the second winding column on the side away from the central column.
Ger et al., hereinafter referred to as “Ger,” teaches a magnetic component 500’ (FIG. 20A),
wherein the first primary coil P411 is wounding around a first winding part 142’a (annotated FIG. 20A) of the first winding column 142’ on the side adjacent to the central column 141’a, the first secondary coil S411 is wounding around a second winding part 142’b of the first winding column 142’e on the side away from the central column, and the second primary coil P412 is wounding around a third winding part 142’c of the second winding column 142’f on the side adjacent to the central column, the second secondary coil S412 is wounding around a fourth winding part 142’d of the second winding column on the side away from the central column (para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the primary and secondary windings as taught by Ger to the magnetic component of Kippley to improve ease of connection between the first primary winding and the second primary winding.
With respect to claim 4, Kippley in view of Won and Ger teaches the magnetic component according to claim 1 comprising a first supporting column 304A and a second supporting column 304B respectively connected to the first cover and the second cover, the first winding column being disposed between the first supporting column and the central column, the second winding column being disposed between the second supporting column and the central column (Kippley, paras. [0038] and [0039]).
With respect to claim 21, Kippley in view of Won and Ger teaches the magnetic component according to claim 1, wherein the number of turns of the first primary coil is equal to the number of turns of the second secondary coil, and the number of turns of the second primary coil is equal to the number of turns of the first secondary coil (Won, para. [0050] and [0051]).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kippley in view of Won and Ger, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Garcia (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0054611 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Kippley in view of Won and Ger teaches the magnetic component according to claim 4. Kippley in view of Won and Ger does not expressly teach the first winding column or the second winding column comprises an air gap.
Garcia teaches a magnetic core (FIG. 2), wherein the first winding column 24a (annotated Fig. 2) or the second winding column 22a comprises an air gap 24b or 22b (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the air gap on the first or second winding column as taught by Garcia to the magnetic component of Kippley in view of Won and Ger to control the leakage of the coils (para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 20, Kippley in view of Won, Ger and Garcia teaches the magnetic component according to claim 5, wherein the number of the air gap of the first winding column is different from the number of turns of the first primary coil, wherein the number of the air gap of the second winding column is different from the number of turns of the second primary coil (Won, paras. [0051] and [0052], Garcia, para. [0031]). The combination would result in the claimed limitations.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kippley in view of Won and Ger, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wadlington et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2007/0046415 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Kippley in view of Won and Ger teaches the magnetic component according to claim 4, wherein one end 308c (annotated FIG. 3A above) of the first winding column is connected to the first supporting column; one end 308d of the second winding column is connected to the second supporting column (Kippley, para. [0038]).
Kippley in view of Won and Ger does not expressly teach an air gap exists between the other end of the first winding column and the central column; an air gap exists between the other end of the second winding column and the central column.
Wadlington teaches a magnetic component (FIG. 2), wherein one end (left end of column 131) of the first winding column 131 is connected to the first supporting column 137; an air gap 162 exists between the other end (right end of column 131) of the first winding column and the central column 117; one end (right end of column 121) of the second winding column 121 is connected to the second supporting column 127; an air gap 160 exists between the other end (left end) of the second winding column and the central column (paras. [0036]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the winding columns connection to the supporting columns and airgaps as taught by Wadlington to the magnetic core of Kippley in view of Won and Ger to permit use of the apparatus of the magnetic core in DC (direct current) applications without the magnetic component saturating (para. [0033]).
Conclusion
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837