Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the applicant’s regarding the feature where it is required that one side of the guide member is in direct contact with the electrode accommodation portion, upon further review of the prior art Hong, it has been determined that said structure is present. Figure 5 specifically identifies the portions which are identified as the guide member 276 and 230 as including the framing portions which surround the bus bar unit 272. The electrode accommodation portion 260 is identified in figure 5 as including the full range of the concave protection member which accommodates the battery cell 111, further supported by Hong’s paragraph 0057: “Here, the pouch 116 may be configured as a pouch having an accommodation portion with a concave shape.”. As depicted in Hong’s figure 4, an outer edge of the concave pouch 116 is in direct contact with an inner face of the guide member 276, thereby satisfying the scope of the limitation.
Additionally, in regards to the applicant’s arguments directed towards the amended limitation requiring that the plurality of openings are disposed to extend through the guide member from the one side toward the bus bar unit, this structure is satisfied by Hong, as the plurality of openings H1 are perforated holes through which the leads of the batteries pass (Paragraph 0090, “In addition, the bus bar frame 276 of the battery module 200 of the present disclosure may have a plurality of perforated holes H 1 through which the electrode leads 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110 passes.”). Based on the leads passing through them, they are disposed to extend through the guide member from the one side toward the bus bar unit, further supported by figure 4 which shows the plurality of openings H1, and figure 5, which shows the placement of the bus bar unit 272 over the plurality of openings H1.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the plurality of slits are disposed at portions corresponding to the plurality of openings respectively, this structure is satisfied by Hong, as Hong discloses that the electrode leads 111 which extend through the openings H1 are inserted into the holes H2 (Paragraph 0091, “Moreover, the bus bar 272 may have an insert hole H 2 configured to communicate with the perforated hole H 1 . The insert hole H 2 may be configured such that the electrode lead 111 of the secondary battery 110 is inserted therein.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong (WO 2021145706 A1, with equivalent US publication US 20220367971 A1 used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Hong is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing (see Fig. 1-2 & 4-5) a battery module (200) comprising a cell assembly (100) including a plurality of battery cells (110) (Abstract, “A battery module includes at least one cell assembly including a plurality of secondary batteries,”). Additionally, Hong discloses structure where each of the plurality of battery cells (110) includes an electrode accommodation portion (116, “a pouch”) accommodating an electrode assembly, here the accommodation portion being the pouch accommodating an electrode assembly (Paragraph 0054, “. The secondary battery 110 may be a pouch-type secondary battery 110”; Paragraph 0055, “In particular, the pouch-type secondary battery 110 may include an electrode assembly”).
Additionally, Hong discloses an electrode lead (111a, 111b) which protrudes from the electrode accommodation portion (116), coupled to the electrode assembly (Paragraph 0059, “Here, the positive electrode lead 111a may have one end connected to the positive electrode tab and the other end exposed out of the pouch 116 , and the exposed portion may serve as an electrode lead of the secondary battery 110 , for example a positive electrode terminal of the secondary battery 110.”; Paragraph 0060, “In addition, a negative electrode tab is provided at the negative electrode plate of the electrode assembly…”). Additionally, Hong discloses a module housing (210) accommodating the cell assembly (100), depicted as upper cover (220) in Hong’s figure 1 (Paragraph 0070, “an upper cover 220 “) and a bus bar unit (272) (Paragraph 0082, “bus bar 272”).
Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the bus bar (272) includes a plurality of slits (H2) in which the electrode leads are inserted respectively, here the bus bar insert holes H2, depicted in Hong’s figure 5 (Paragraph 0091, “Moreover, the bus bar 272 may have an insert hole H2 configured to communicate with the perforated hole H1. The insert hole H2 may be configured such that the electrode lead 111 of the secondary battery 110 is inserted therein.”), as well as a bus bar (272) coupled to the electrode leads (111), here the bus bar (272) (Paragraph 0083, “The bus bar 272 may be configured to electrically connect the plurality of secondary batteries 110 to each other. That is, the bus bar 272 may be configured to contact a portion of the electrode lead 111”).
Additionally, Hong discloses structure which comprises a guide member (276 & 230) positioned between the electrode accommodation portion (116) and the bus bar unit (272), here the bus bar frame (276), which is positioned between the electrode accommodation portion and the bus bar unit 272 (Paragraph 0087, “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5 along with FIG. 2, the bus bar frame 276 may include a body portion 276 a and at least two fixing portions 276b. The body portion 276a may have a plate shape so that the at least one bus bar 272 is mounted to an outer surface thereof.”).
Additionally, the guide member (bus bar frame 276) comprises a plurality of openings (H1), here the perforated holes (H1), through which the electrode leads (111) pass (Paragraph 0090, “In addition, the bus bar frame 276 of the battery module 200 of the present disclosure may have a plurality of perforated holes H1 through which the electrode leads 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110 passes. As shown in FIG. 4, the bus bar frame 276 may have the perforated holes H1 respectively formed at positions corresponding to the electrode leads 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110.”).
Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the guide member (276) (which includes subcomponents 276a and 276b (Paragraph 0087, “the bus bar frame 276 may include a body portion 276a and at least two fixing portions 276b.”)) fills a space between the electrode accommodation portion 116 and the bus bar unit 272, depicted in their figure 5, where the guide member 276 is positioned around and behind the bus bar unit 272, the guide member 276 being the frame upon which the bus bar 272 is mounted (Paragraph 0082, “Meanwhile, the bus bar assembly 270 may include at least one bus bar 272 and at least one bus bar frame 276 to which the bus bar 272 is mounted.”), while the bus bar 272 takes the form of plates placed on the bus bar frame 276, “The bus bar 272 may have a plate shape.”). Additionally, Hong’s figure 5 shows that the electrode accommodation portion 116 is located on an opposite side of the guide member 276 than the bus bar unit 272. Accordingly, Hong therefore discloses structure where the guide member 276 fills a space between the electrode accommodation portion 116 and the bus bar unit 272.
Here, it is noted that the instant claim requires structure where the guide member fills “a space” between the electrode accommodation portion and the bus bar unit. Here, based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of “a space”, this term has been interpreted as referring to any space or position which is between the electrode accommodation portion and the bus bar unit.
Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the guide member (276 & 230) seals between the electrode leads (111) of adjacent battery cells (110) of the plurality of battery cells, through their disclosure of the bus bar frame 276 having openings which receive electrode leads as discussed above. Here, where those openings H1 and frame plates 276a are depicted in Hong’s figure 4, the plate 276a therefore seals the space between the electrode leads, preventing horizontal motion that would allow the leads to contact each other within the space of the guide member thereby securely fastening said space and said leads, thereby resulting in structure which is sealing.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that one side of the guide member is in direct contact with the electrode accommodation portion, figure 5 identifies the portions which are identified as the guide member 276 and 230 as including the framing portions which surround the bus bar unit 272. The electrode accommodation portion 260 is identified in figure 5 as including the full range of the concave protection member which accommodates the battery cell 111, further supported by Hong’s paragraph 0057: “Here, the pouch 116 may be configured as a pouch having an accommodation portion with a concave shape.”. As depicted in Hong’s figure 4, an outer edge of the concave pouch 116 is in direct contact with an inner face of the guide member 276, thereby satisfying the scope of the limitation.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the plurality of openings are disposed to extend through the guide member from one side toward the bus bar unit, this structure is satisfied by Hong, as the plurality of openings H1 are perforated holes through which the leads of the batteries pass (Paragraph 0090, “In addition, the bus bar frame 276 of the battery module 200 of the present disclosure may have a plurality of perforated holes H 1 through which the electrode leads 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110 passes.”). Based on the leads passing through them, they are disposed to extend through the guide member from the one side toward the bus bar unit, further supported by figure 4 which shows the plurality of openings H1, and figure 5, which shows the placement of the bus bar unit 272 over the plurality of openings H1.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the plurality of slits are disposed at portions corresponding to the plurality of openings respectively, this structure is satisfied by Hong, as Hong discloses that the electrode leads 111 which extend through the openings H1 are inserted into the holes H2 (Paragraph 0091, “Moreover, the bus bar 272 may have an insert hole H 2 configured to communicate with the perforated hole H 1 . The insert hole H 2 may be configured such that the electrode lead 111 of the secondary battery 110 is inserted therein.”).
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the claim which requires structure wherein gas generated from the electrode accommodation portion is discharged through the plurality of openings into the plurality of slits, Hong discloses that when a fire or thermal runaway event occurs, at the cell assembly, the pressing pin 240 may flexibly allow for a high pressure gas to be ejected via internal pressure through the perforated hole H1 which are the openings of the plurality of openings into the slits H2, as a result of their directly adjacent structure, as shown in figures 4 and 5 (Paragraph 0113, “ Meanwhile, when a fire or thermal runaway occurs at the cell assembly 100 , the pressing pin 240 may flexibly allow a high-pressure gas ejected by internal pressure to be discharged through the perforated hole H 1 and the insert hole H 2 of the bus bar frame 276 while pushing the flame-retardant sheet 230 outward.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong discloses structure where the guide member (276 & 230) comprises a plurality of perforated holes H1, each of which an electrode lead of a battery cell extends through (Paragraph 0090, “As shown in FIG. 4, the bus bar frame 276 may have the perforated holes H1 respectively formed at positions corresponding to the electrode leads 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110. Accordingly, each electrode lead 111 of the plurality of secondary batteries 110 of the cell assembly 100 may be configured to protrude outward through the perforated hole H1”). Accordingly, this plurality represents structure wherein the guide member is coupled to at least two battery cells of the plurality of battery cells.
Regarding Claim 4, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong discloses a heat blocking member (280) accommodated in the module housing (220) (Paragraph 0081, “In addition, the battery module 200 of the present disclosure may include a flame-retardant sheet 280. The flame-retardant sheet may be located between the two cell assemblies 100.”). Here, Hong’s disclosure of a flame-retardant member (280) satisfies the instant claim’s requirement of a heat blocking member, as blocking flame includes blocking heat.
Additionally, Hong further discloses structure wherein the plurality of battery cells (110) is grouped into a plurality of unit cell assemblies (100) (Fig. 2 shows 2 individual cell assemblies), as depicted in Hong’s figure 2. Further Hong discloses wherein the guide member (276 & 230) includes a plurality of guide members (Fig. 2 shows 2 individual guide members), and the plurality of guide members (276 & 230) are coupled to the plurality of unit cell assemblies (100), respectively,
Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the heat blocking member (280) is disposed between adjacent unit cell assemblies of the plurality of unit cell assemblies (Paragraph 0081, “In addition, the battery module 200 of the present disclosure may include a flame-retardant sheet 280. The flame-retardant sheet may be located between the two cell assemblies 100.”).
Additionally, Hong further discloses structure wherein the guide member includes a plurality of guide members, as depicted in Hong’s figure 2, which depicts a plurality of bus bar frame 276 members, which are coupled to the plurality of unit cell assemblies, respectively, where the coupling is further demonstrated in Hong’s figure 3.
Regarding Claim 5, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the electrode lead (111) in each of the plurality of battery cells (110) forms a shape extending in the longitudinal direction in which the electrode lead (111) protrudes from the electrode accommodation portion (116), as depicted in Hong’s figure 2, where the electrode leads (111) extend and protrude in a longitudinal direction, where the longitudinal direction is the X-axis direction, as depicted in Hong’s figure 2.
Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the plurality of battery cells (110) is stacked in a thickness direction of each of the plurality of battery cells (110) to form the cell assembly (100), as depicted in Hong’s figure 2, where the cells (110) are stacked in a thickness direction, where the thickness direction is the Y-axis direction, as depicted in Hong’s figure 2.
Regarding Claim 7, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, Hong discloses structure where the length of each of the plurality of slits (H2) in a transverse direction, here, the Y-axis direction, as depicted in Hong’s figure 2 (the same direction as the thickness direction as discussed in regards to claim 5), is greater than a length of each of the electrode leads (111) in the transverse direction, where Hong discloses that the electrode leads (111) extends through the slits (H2) (Paragraph 0091, “The insert hole H2 may be configured such that the electrode lead 111 of the secondary battery 110 is inserted therein.”), the width of the slits is therefore greater than the width of the portion of the electrode leads that sit within the slits.
Regarding Claim 8, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the guide member (276 & 230) includes a mica sheet or an epoxy resin (Paragraph 0092, “For example, the flame-retardant material may be mica, vinyl chloride resin”).
Regarding Claim 10, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong further discloses a support frame coupled to the module housing (220) and supporting the bus bar unit (272), as depicted in Hong’s figure 2, comprising the lower members of the frame 210 and the front covers 250, rear cover 260, BMS 290, and base plate 255, where the front cover 250 includes a plurality of through holes, as depicted in Hong’s figure 2.
Regarding Claim 11, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 10. Additionally, Hong discloses structure wherein the support frame includes a seating portion on which the bus bar unit is placed, here the portions of the base plate 255 which attach to the bus bar unit. Additionally, Hong discloses an upper extension extending upward from the seating portion, that being the portions of the support frame which includes the front cover (250), and the rear cover (260), and a lower extension extending downward from the seating portion, that being the portions of the base plate (255) which extend down from the point where the bus bar unit is placed.
Additionally, the plurality of through holes are formed in the front cover (255), as depicted in Hong’s figure 2, which is the upper extension.
Regarding Claim 12, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 11. Additionally, Hong discloses structure where the plurality of through holes in component 250 include left-side holes and right-side holes, resulting in structure where the left side holes correspond to the plurality of openings on the left side of the battery (The lead 111a side depicted in figure 4), and where the right-side holes correspond to the openings on the right side of the battery (the lead 111b side depicted in figure 4), thereby corresponding respectively. Here, it is noted that the language of the current claim requires only structure where each of the pluralities correspond, and does not require individual correspondence between a hole and an opening.
Regarding Claim 13, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Hong discloses structure which further comprises a bracket coupled to the module housing, here the pressing pin (240) (Paragraph 0113, “the pressing pin 240 may bring the flame-retardant sheet 230 into close contact with the bus bar 272 so that the perforated hole H1 of the bus bar frame 276 is closed.”), where the bracket forms a discharge path through which a gas passing through the bus bar unit is discharged (Paragraph 0113, “Meanwhile, when a fire or thermal runaway occurs at the cell assembly 100 , the pressing pin 240 may flexibly allow a high-pressure gas ejected by internal pressure to be discharged through the perforated hole H1 and the insert hole H2 of the bus bar frame 276 while pushing the flame-retardant sheet 230 outward.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that wherein each of the plurality of slits comprises an open portion that is not occupied by the electrode lead, and gas generated from the electrode accommodation is discharged through the open portion, this structure is disclosed by Hong, as a result of Hong’s disclosure that gas is disclosed through the slit H2 (Paragraph 0113, “ Meanwhile, when a fire or thermal runaway occurs at the cell assembly 100 , the pressing pin 240 may flexibly allow a high-pressure gas ejected by internal pressure to be discharged through the perforated hole H 1 and the insert hole H 2 of the bus bar frame 276 while pushing the flame-retardant sheet 230 outward.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 14. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the open portion is continuously open to allow discharge of gas, Hong discloses said structure. Although Hong discloses optional embodiments where the slit is conditionally open based on a bending of a pressing pin 240 (Paragraph 0111, “Referring to FIGS. 11 and 12 together with FIG. 5, a battery module 200 E according to another exemplary embodiment may further include a pressing pin 240”, Paragraph 0113, “ Meanwhile, when a fire or thermal runaway occurs at the cell assembly 100 , the pressing pin 240 may flexibly allow a high-pressure gas ejected by internal pressure to be discharged through the perforated hole H 1 and the insert hole H 2 of the bus bar frame 276 while pushing the flame-retardant sheet 230 outward.”) to prevent external air from being introduced into the cell assembly (Paragraph 0035, “Accordingly, it is possible to prevent an external air from being introduced into the cell assembly while discharging the high-temperature gas of the cell assembly, thereby preventing the fire or thermal runaway of the battery module from spreading to other neighboring cell assemblies.”), and where the slit is optionally filled by a protrusion 235, “Referring to FIG. 8 along with FIG. 5, a flame-retardant sheet 230 B of a battery module according to another embodiment may further include a protrusion 235 on the inner surface 230 A as compared to the flame-retardant sheet 230 of FIG. 6. Specifically, the protrusion 235 may have a shape protruding inward to a predetermined length so that a portion of the protrusion 235 is inserted into the insert hole H 2 of the bus bar 272 .”), as these embodiments are discloses as being optional and therefore nonlimiting, they disclose structure where these features are not present, thereby satisfying the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, as applied to Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 6, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein a length of each of the plurality of slits (H2) in a transverse direction is greater than a length of each of the plurality of opening (H1) of the transverse direction, Hong fails to explicitly disclose said structure, as Hong’s disclosure is silent in regards to specific dimensions in regards the slits (H2) and the openings (H1). Here, the it is noted that the transverse direction is the Y-axis direction as depicted in Hong’s figure 2.
However, Hong discloses that their invention further comprises a protrusion 235 on their flame retardant sheet 230B, which protrudes into the slit H2, in a position corresponding to the opening H1 (Paragraph 0103, “The protrusion 235 may be formed at a position corresponding to the perforated hole H1 (FIG. 4) of the bus bar frame 276. In addition, the protrusion 235 may be configured to be inserted into the insert hole H2 (FIG. 5) of the bus bar 272.”). Here, Hong discloses that the purpose of the protrusion is to prevent air from being introduced from the outside of the battery through the slit H2, into the opening H1 (Paragraph 0104, “it is possible to prevent air from being introduced from the outside to the inside through insert hole H2 communicating with the perforated hole H1. Accordingly, the battery module of the present disclosure may block air inflow to the inside even if a fire or thermal runaway occurs at the cell assembly 100 (FIG. 2), thereby preventing fire or thermal runaway from spreading to other neighboring cell assemblies 100 (FIG. 2).”), to prevent thermal runaway.
Accordingly, based on this, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to further reduce the chance of air being made available to the opening H1 by minimizing the size of the opening H1. Accordingly, where the opening H1 requires space for the passage of the electrode leads 111, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to reduce the area of the opening H1 to be as close to the cross-sectional area of the electrode leads 111 as possible. This would result in structure wherein each opening has a length in the transverse direction that is approximately the same as the electrode lead, and where each slit has a length in the transverse direction that is approximately the sum of the lengths in the transverse direction of the electrode lead and the protrusion. Accordingly, this means that the length of each of the plurality of slits in the transverse direction is greater than a length of each of the plurality of openings in the transverse direction, where the sum of the lengths of the lead and protrusion in the transverse direction is greater than the length in the transverse direction of the lead alone.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Oikawa (US 20200378058 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Hong anticipates the invention of Claim 1. However, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the guide member (276 & 230) includes a heat insulation material in the form of a gel, Hong fails to disclose said structure. Therefore, we look to Oikawa, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a heat insulating sheet disposed between batteries (Abstract, “This provides a heat insulating sheet that can be used under a high load and a manufacturing method thereof, and an electronic device and a battery unit including the same.”).
Here, Oikawa discloses an aerogel insulation material comprising a silica aerogel (Paragraph 0013, “The present disclosure provides a heat insulating sheet that can be used even under a high load and a method of manufacturing thereof, and an electronic device and a battery unit using the heat insulating sheet.”; Paragraph 0014, “A method of manufacturing a heat insulating sheet of the present disclosure includes a composite generating step of impregnating a nonwoven fiber with a basic sol prepared to generate a composite of a hydrogel-nonwoven fiber,”). Here, Oikawa discloses that their invention comprises a high-density heat insulation member (Paragraph 0035, “On the other hand, the silica aerogel of the present exemplary embodiment is prepared by a synthesis method described later, the density of the aerogel can be increased. Thus, a high-strength heat insulating sheet including at least a high-density aerogel and nonwoven fibers can be realized.”), which is further capable of flame retardant structure and heat resistance (Paragraph 0065, “Among these, the inorganic fiber materials are preferable as a material of the nonwoven fiber, particularly from the viewpoint of heat resistance and flame retardancy.”), and is further capable of suppressing thermal runaway (Paragraph 0193, “On the other hand, when the compression rate of the heat insulating sheet is 40% or less, the heat chain that transfers heat through the heat insulating sheet can be effectively suppressed because the approach among the adjacent cells is suppressed.”). Accordingly, where the minimization of thermal runaway events and flame retardation are desirable attributes for the invention of Hong, as discussed above, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to incorporate the composite aerogel insulation material of Oikawa to the guide member of Hong, thereby resulting in structure wherein the guide member includes a heat insulation material in the form of a gel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725