DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose the “first connection frames” in a reasonable way in light of Applicant’s specification. Specifically, Applicant states that the “the rejection appears to reveal that Egami’s mapping to “a plurality of first connection frames” does not comport with Applicant’s recited structure because the cited reference directs the rejection to an electrical schematic representation NOT the plate-like structure portions as described by the inventors.” While the claims should be give their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, the MPEP states that “The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” Applicant is bringing in limitations from the specification that is not explicitly recited in the claims, thereby unnecessarily narrowing the scope of the claim. The broadest reasonable interpretation includes connection frames that is NOT shaped like a plate. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant also argues that Egami does not disclose “a plurality of first connection frames disposed on the inner part of the stator body.” Examiner disagrees. The applicant is arguing against references individually and not as a combination. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the objection of claims 5, 7-8, 11-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egami et al. (US 2015/0061430 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2022/0239178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Egami discloses a stator (3) for an electric motor (1) comprising:
a stator body (31) including a plurality of teeth (see annotation below) extending between an outer part (radially outer side in FIG. 1) and an inner part (radial inner side in FIG. 1) of the stator body (31; FIG. 1);
a number of windings (32) forming a plurality of coils (32U, 32V, 32W) configured to be respectively wound around the plurality of teeth between the outer part and the inner part of the stator body (31; FIG. 1);
a plurality of first connection frames (41-43) disposed on the outer part of the stator body (31) that is configured to provide electrical connections between the coils (32U, 32V, 32W);
a second connection frame (44) disposed on the inner part of the stator body (31) and configured to provide electrical connections between the coils (32U, 32V, 32W);
a non-conductive wall (331, 333) separating said first connection frames (41-43) from each other, wherein a height of the non-conductive wall (331) is greater than a height of said first connection frames (41-43; FIG. 13A);
the non-conductive wall (331, 333) including a material recess (gap between 331e, 331f; 333a) in a portion protruding (411, 421, 431) from one of said first connection frames (41-43); and
the one of said first connection frames (41-43) including a connector (411, 421, 431) extending opposite the material recess (gap between 331e, 331f; 333a) such that the connector (411, 421, 431) is configured to secure a winding portion (321) located within the material recess (333a).
Egami does not disclose the first connection frame is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame is on the outer part of the stator body.
Ogawa discloses the first connection frame (10-12) is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame (20) is on the outer part of the stator body (FIG. 1; ¶ [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa to disclose the first connection frame is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame is on the outer part of the stator body, for the advantages of a busbar assembly which is simple to make and has a low axial height (¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 4/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami further discloses wherein the one or more of the first connection frames (41-43) or the second connection frames (44) is configured to connect the coils (32U, 32V, 32W) using a standard winding (FIG. 1), in which the coils (32U, 32V, 32W) of one phase are connected parallel with each other using a full pitch winding (FIG. 1).
The instant application discloses a standard winding as “a winding in which the various coils of a phase u, v, w are disposed in parallel.” Egami in FIG. 1 discloses each the U, V, W phase windings are connected in parallel through the distributing ring.
Regarding claim 6/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami further discloses wherein the coils (32U, 32V, 32W) are wound by starting winding (staring at 322) from the inner part of the stator body (31; FIG 7B).
Regarding claim 12/10, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 10. Egami further discloses wherein the electrical insulation element (33) is configured to accommodate said first connection frame and second connection frame.
Regarding claim 13/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami further discloses wherein the electric motor (1) is a three-phase brushless motor (¶ [0073]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Egami discloses a method for manufacturing a stator (3) comprising:
presenting a stator body (31) including a plurality of teeth (see annotation below) extending between an outer part (radially outer side in FIG. 1) and an inner part (radially inner side in FIG. 1) of the stator body (31);
winding a plurality of coils (32U, 32V, 32W; ¶ [0114]) respectively around the plurality of teeth between the outer part and the inner part of the stator body (31), wherein the winding (32) is carried out starting (from winding portion 322) from a side of the inner part such that the method also includes a step of
positioning a plurality of first connection frames (41-43) on an outer part of the stator body (31) where the one of said first connection frames (41-43) is configured to provide electrical connections between the plurality of coils (32U, 32V, 32W),
positioning a second connection frame (44) disposed on an inner part of the stator body (31) wherein the second connection frame (44) is configured to provide electrical connections between the coils (32U, 32V, 32W)
providing a non-conductive wall (331, 333) separating said first connection frames (41-43) from each other, wherein a height of the non-conducive wall (331, 333) is greater than a height of said first connection frames (41-43; FIG. 13A); wherein the non-conductive wall (331, 333) includes material recess (gap between 331e, 331f; 333a) in a portion protruding from one of said first connection frames (41-43); and
including a connector (411, 421, 431) on at least one of said first connection frames (41-43) that extend opposite the material recess (gap between 331e, 331f; 333a) such that each connector (411, 421, 431) is configured to secure a winding portion (321) located within the material recess (333a).
Egami does not disclose the first connection frame is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame is on the outer part of the stator body.
Ogawa discloses the first connection frame (10-12) is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame (20) is on the outer part of the stator body (FIG. 1; ¶ [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa to disclose the first connection frame is on the inner part of the stator body, and the second connection frame is on the outer part of the stator body, for the advantages of a busbar assembly which is simple to make and has a low axial height (¶ [0006]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egami et al. (US 2015/0061430 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2022/0239178 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (US 2021/0028666 A1).
Regarding claim 3/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose wherein the plurality of teeth of the stator are separate detachable teeth.
Feng discloses wherein the plurality of teeth (73) of the stator (20) are separate detachable teeth (FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa, further in view of Feng to disclose wherein the plurality of teeth of the stator are separate detachable teeth, for the advantages of simplified assembly process and efficient winding process (¶ [0027]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egami et al. (US 2015/0061430 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2022/0239178 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katou et al. (US 2012/0262014 A1).
Regarding claim 5/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose wherein at least one of said first connection frames or of the second connection frame is configured to connect some of the coils in series using a fractional pitch winding.
Katou discloses wherein at least one of said first connection frames (121, 122, 124, 125, 127, 128) or of the second connection frame is configured to connect some of the coils (U1-U4, V1-V4, W1-V4) in series using a fractional pitch winding (FIG. 17 discloses the coils in the same phase has a fractional pitch of 90 degrees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa to disclose wherein at least one of said first connection frames or of a plurality of second connection frames is configured to connect some of the coils in series using a fractional pitch winding, for the advantages of easier manufacturing of the bus bar assembly (¶ [0068]-[0083], [0147])
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egami et al. (US 2015/0061430 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2022/0239178 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iga et al. (US 2021/0135531 A1).
Regarding claim 7/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Ogawa further discloses the second connection frame (20) concentrically extending over the outer part of the stator body (FIG. 3).
Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose said first connection frames configured to connect the coils as a star or triangle arrangement and the second connection frame in triplicate to connect the coils of one phase to each other, with the second connection frames being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls.
Iga discloses said first connection frames (51) configured to connect the coils (43) as a star or triangle arrangement (¶ [0132]) and the second connection frame (53) in triplicate to connect the coils (43) of one phase to each other (FIG. 3), with the second connection frames (53) being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls (529).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa, further in view of Iga to disclose said first connection frames configured to connect the coils as a star or triangle arrangement and the second connection frame in triplicate to connect the coils of one phase to each other, with the second connection frames being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls., for the advantages of an easily realized motor (¶ [0132]).
Regarding claim 8/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Ogawa further discloses the first connection frames (10-12) in triplicate concentrically extending over the inner part of the stator body (FIG. 3).
Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose where the second connection frame is configured to connect the number of windings as a star or triangle arrangement and the first connection frames in triplicate to connect the coils of one phase to each other, with the three first connection frames being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls.
Iga discloses where the second connection frame (51) is configured to connect the number of windings as a star or triangle arrangement (¶ [0132]) and the first connection frames (53) in triplicate to connect the coils (43) of one phase to each other (FIG. 3), with the three first connection frames (53) being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls (241k; FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa, further in view of Iga to disclose where the second connection frame is configured to connect the number of windings as a star or triangle arrangement and the first connection frames in triplicate to connect the coils of one phase to each other, with the three first connection frames being separated from each other by non-electrically conductive walls, for the advantages of an easily realized motor (¶ [0132]).
Regarding claim 9/8, Egami in view of Ogawa and Iga was discussed above in claim 8. Ogawa further discloses wherein the three first connection frames (10-12) are disposed on a module (9) configured to be positioned on the inner part of the stator body (FIG. 3).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egami et al. (US 2015/0061430 A1) in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2022/0239178 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brettschneider et al. (US 2021/0013758 A1).
Regarding claim 10/1, Egami in view of Ogawa was discussed above in claim 1. Egami further discloses wherein an electrical insulation element (33) is disposed on the stator body (31) of the stator (3).
Egami in view of Ogawa does not disclose wherein said electrical insulation element comprises a winding wire retention pad.
Brettschneider discloses wherein said electrical insulation element (4) comprises a winding wire retention pad (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Egami in view of Ogawa, further in view of Brettschneider to disclose wherein said electrical insulation element comprises a winding wire retention pad, for the advantages of providing a support for the coil ends prior to connecting it to an interconnection unit (bus bar; ¶ [0052], [0054]).
Regarding claim 11/1, Egami in view of Ogawa and Brettschneider was discussed above in claim 1. Brettschneider further discloses wherein the retention pad (16) is a temporary pad configured to be removed when positioning said first connection frame (7; ¶ [0054]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834