DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high” in claims 1 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niazi (US 2012/0077243) in view of Olsen et al. (US 2017/0175066).
For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." (MPEP 2111.03(III))
Claims 1 and 8 recites an intended use (to provide a non-tacky exterior surface layers) and has been given little too no patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (MPEP 2114(II)).
Niazi discloses a multilayer bioreactor bag (20) made from a multilayer film (10) comprising: inner and outer exterior surface layers (11, 16) on opposing faces of the multilayer film (10) consisting essentially of a low density polyethylene having a high level of purity and without additives (since no additives are present, paragraphs [0021]) and having a density in a range of 0.91 to 0.94 g/cc (since LDPE has a density of 0.917-0.930 g/cc) to provide a non-tacky exterior surface layers (since LDPE layers are disclosed) (paragraphs [0011-0012], [0020-0021], [0094], [0097]).
Niazi does not disclose interior layers disposed between the exterior surface layers comprising a gas barrier layer (14) and a structural layer (12) comprising an ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer having a density in a range of 0.87-0.91 to provide a flexible support to the multilayer film; and one or more tie layers (13, 15) to bond the interior layers to one or more of the ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer structural layer (12) and surface layers (11, 16).
Olsen discloses disclose interior layers disposed between the exterior surface layers comprising a gas barrier layer (14) and a structural layer (12) comprising an ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer having a density in a range of 0.87-0.91 to provide a flexible support to the multilayer film; and one or more tie layers (13, 15) to bond the interior layers to one or more of the ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer structural layer (12) and surface layers (11, 16) in a bioreactor bag for the purpose of providing improved biological processing and improved mechanical properties (paragraphs [0002], [0015-[0023], [0072-0076], [0103-0105], [0114-0116], [0124-0131], [0134]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided disclose interior layers disposed between the exterior surface layers comprising a gas barrier layer (14) and a structural layer (12) comprising an ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer having a density in a range of 0.87-0.91 to provide a flexible support to the multilayer film; and one or more tie layers (13, 15) to bond the interior layers to one or more of the ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer structural layer (12) and surface layers (11, 16) in Niazi in order to provide improved biological processing and improved mechanical properties as taught or suggested by Olsen.
Although Olsen does specifically recite the words ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer, the ethylene alpha-olefin polymers disclosed in Olsen are ethylene alpha-olefin elastomers since they are made using metallocenes and ethylene alpha-olefin elastomers are ethylene alpha-olefin copolymers made using metallocenes.
Olsen discloses wherein the multilayer film further comprises one or more tie layers (13, 15) to bond the interior layers to one or more of the ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer structural layer (12) and surface layers (11, 16), wherein the one or more tie layers (13, 15) comprise a mixture of an ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer and a polyolefin copolymer grafted with maleic anhydride, wherein the gas barrier layer (14) is EVOH, wherein the interior layers comprise one or more of anhydride-modified polyethylene, ethylene/unsaturated acid copolymer, ethylene/unsaturated ester copolymer, anhydride-modified polyolefin, polyurethane, and mixtures thereof and comprising a single use bioprocessing bag for growing cell media wherein: the ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer is ethylene based octene-1 elastomer; and the gas barrier layer is ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer (paragraphs [0002], [0015-[0023], [0072-0076], [0103-0105], [0114-0116], [0124-0131], [0134]).
Olsen discloses wherein the multilayer film comprises six layers (Layers 1-6) in serial order as listed below: Layer 1: the inner exterior surface layer (11); Layer 2: a first ethylene alpha-olefin elastomer structural layer (12): Layer 3: a first tie layer (13); Layer 4: the gas barrier layer (14): Layer 5: a second tie layer (15); and Layer 6: the outer exterior surface layer (16) (paragraphs [0002], [0015-[0023], [0072-0076], [0103-0105], [0114-0116], [0124-0131], [0134]).
With regard to claims 5-6, 11-12 and 20, modified Niazi does not specifically disclose the individual thicknesses, densities and thickness ratios recited in claims 5-6, 11-12 and 20. However, discovering the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided applicant’s recited thicknesses, densities and thickness ratio in claims 5-6, 11-12 and 20 in order to provide improved mechanical properties.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niazi (US 2012/0077243) in view of Olsen et al. (US 2017/0175066), as applied to claims 1-14 and 18-20 above, and further in view of De Brouwer et al. (US 2019/0119620).
Modified Niazi does not disclose an inflatable bag (20) having an enclosed central chamber (21) for holding a cell or bioreactor liquid media, the inflatable bag (20) comprising a top sheet (22) of multilayer polymer material and a bottom sheet (24) of multilayer polymer material, wherein the multilayer polymer material comprises the multilayer film (10), wherein the top sheet (22) and the bottom sheet (24) are heat sealed along perimeter edges to form the central chamber (21).
De Brouwer discloses an inflatable bag (20) having an enclosed central chamber (21) for holding a cell or bioreactor liquid media, the inflatable bag (20) comprising a top sheet (22) of multilayer polymer material and a bottom sheet (24) of multilayer polymer material, wherein the multilayer polymer material comprises the multilayer film (10), wherein the top sheet (22) and the bottom sheet (24) are heat sealed along perimeter edges to form the central chamber (21) (paragraphs [0001], [0007-0008], [0047) in a bioreactor for the purpose of providing improved biological processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided an inflatable bag (20) having an enclosed central chamber (21) for holding a cell or bioreactor liquid media, the inflatable bag (20) comprising a top sheet (22) of multilayer polymer material and a bottom sheet (24) of multilayer polymer material, wherein the multilayer polymer material comprises the multilayer film (10), wherein the top sheet (22) and the bottom sheet (24) are heat sealed along perimeter edges to form the central chamber (21) in modified Niazi in order to provide improved biological processing as taught or suggested De Brouwer.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niazi (US 2012/0077243) in view of Olsen et al. (US 2017/0175066) and De Brouwer et al. (US 2019/0119620), as applied to claims 15-16 above, and further in view of Maggiore (US 2019/0184353).
Modified Niazi does not disclose wherein a handle opening (25) is provided in a top perimeter edge of the bag (20); and port openings for receiving tubes (27) are provided in a bottom perimeter edge of the bag (20).
Maggiore discloses wherein a handle opening (25) is provided in a top perimeter edge of the bag (20); and port openings for receiving tubes (27) are provided in a bottom perimeter edge of the bag (20) (paragraphs [0005-0010], Figs. 3A-3B) for the purpose of providing improved biological processing and the ability to hang the bioreactor bag.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein a handle opening (25) is provided in a top perimeter edge of the bag (20); and port openings for receiving tubes (27) are provided in a bottom perimeter edge of the bag (20) in modified Niazi in order to provide improved biological processing and the ability to hang the bioreactor bag as taught or suggested by Maggiore.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 9/29/25 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
Applicant argues, “The primary reference Niazi fails to disclose any specific film structure or lay-out. Niazi only mentions a broad array of suitable polymers to be used to produce film for bioreactors but does not mention anything about increasing purity or reducing tackiness of film structures. Thus, the primary reference fails to disclose the invention and fails to even address the problem solved by applicant.”
However, Niazi discloses a multilayer bioreactor bag (20) made from a multilayer film (10) comprising: inner and outer exterior surface layers (11, 16) on opposing faces of the multilayer film (10) consisting essentially of a low density polyethylene having a high level of purity and without additives (since no additives are present, paragraphs [0021]) and having a density in a range of 0.91 to 0.94 g/cc (since LDPE has a density of 0.917-0.930 g/cc) to provide a non-tacky exterior surface layers (since LDPE layers are disclosed) (paragraphs [0011-0012], [0020-0021], [0094], [0097]).
Applicant argues, “The secondary reference Olsen, taken alone or in combination with Niazi, fails to disclose applicant's claimed structure nor address the problem solved by applicant. Olsen mentions the use of additives such as anti-block agents, but importantly ‘desirably in layers other than the contact layer’ - and thus there will be tackiness to the contact layer. In the extensive table of film structures on page 14, there is only one that is potentially relevant (in hindsight and without any hint of applicant's claimed purpose), i.e. PE/tie/TPE/tie/EVOH/tie/LDPE. However, applicant's claimed
apparatus and method differ in multiple respects. Firstly, applicant specifies an alpha olefin copolymer as the most flexible layer (versus TPE in Olsen). Secondly, applicant positions that layer on the other side of EVOH (towards inside of the bag). Thirdly, applicant does not need a tie layer between PE and alpha olefin copolymer. Olsen does mention alpha olefin copolymers, but they are being mentioned under the PE umbrella and would therefore in each of the examples reside in the contact layer, which would provide high tackiness. In direct contrast, in applicant's claimed invention this layer is buried in the structure.”
However, the additives in Olsen are optional, not required ([0025], [0114, [0118], [0137-0138]), and Niazi doesn’t disclose additives (paragraph [0021]). Niazi discloses inner and outer exterior surface layers (11, 16) on opposing faces of the multilayer film (10) consisting essentially of a low density polyethylene (paragraph [0121]) so hindsight is not needed. Olsen discloses an ethylene alpha olefin elastomer (see trademarks in paragraph [0084] many of which contain EPDM which is an ethylene alpha olefin elastomer) which is used in the structural layer (paragraph [0104]). Applicant’s independent claims do not recite a specific position for the structural layer containing the ethylene alpha olefin elastomer. Applicant’s claims do not exclude tie layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
February 12, 2026