Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 08/14/2026 (“A…”), in which: claims 1 and 9 are amended; no claims are cancelled; no new claims are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 2 and 5 – 13 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9 – 13 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding claims 1 – 2 and 5 – 8, examiner provides additional comment regarding the applicant’s arguments filed 08/14/2026, which have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 5 – 6 of the instant Remarks:
Mischitz et al. (US 20160225718 A1) fails to disclose metal powders within pores located a side area of the porous member. Respectfully, the examiner disagrees. First, regarding the feature of metal powders, examiner asserts that Mischitz teaching of sintering (a process wherein metal powders are melted/fused/amalgamated together) and conductive powders renders the applicants claims 1 feature of wherein metal powders are disposed within pores (See teaching of sintering in [0030] and [0036], and teaching of powder and nanoparticles in [0036] and [0037]). Second, the examiner notes that the instant claim 1 feature of “a side area of the porous member” is not defined/described in instant claim 1 to be anything other than “a side area of the porous member”. The examiner understands “a side area of the porous member” to be a side/boundary of the porous member. Thus, in the examiner’s interpretation of the prior art of record, examiner asserts that the grain boundaries 190 shown in Mischitz’s Fig. 4B have a variety of areas/surfaces that may be denoted as top, bottom, and/or side areas/surfaces thereof. Therefore, the examiner is not persuaded that Mischitz is deficient in teaching the display apparatus feature wherein the porous member includes a conductive metal and the plurality of pore located inside the conductive metal, and wherein metal powders are disposed within pores located at a side area of the porous member.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1 and 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kwon et al. (US 20190165332 A1), and further in view of Mischitz et al. (US 20160225718 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Kwon teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1A; display panel 400. See [0053]) configured to display an image ([0007] teaches that the display panel displays an image );
a cover member (Fig. 3A; adhesive layer OC3) disposed on an upper surface of the display panel (Fig. 3A) and protecting the display panel from an external impact ([0103] – [0104] teaches that the adhesive layers OC1 to OC5 may act as cushions for the components respectively coupled by the adhesive layers OC1 to OC5); and
a porous member (Fig. 3A; support member 500 is taught in [0091] to include a porous organic layer, i.e., a porous member, and an inorganic material which fills pores of the porous organic layer) disposed on a lower surface of the display panel (Fig. 3A) and including a plurality of pores located inside the porous member (Kwon teaches in [0091] that there are pores, i.e., a plurality of pores, in the porous organic layer of the support member 500), …
However, Kwon remains silent regarding a display apparatus:
… wherein the porous member includes a conductive metal and the plurality of pore located inside the conductive metal, and
wherein metal powders are disposed within pores located at a side area of the porous member.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mischitz discloses a metallization layer 165 (Fig. 1B) made of metal ([0029] – [0030]). Further, Mischitz discloses pores 175 within the metallization layer 165 that may be filled with conductive filling materials 180, taught explicitly to include metals (Fig. 1B and [0029] – [0030]), which the examiner understands to include materials that may be considered as metal powders (See teaching of sintering in [0030] and [0036], and teaching of powder and nanoparticles in [0036] and [0037]). Thus, examiner asserts that Mischitz explicitly teaches a structure for a porous member wherein the porous member includes a conductive metal and the plurality of pore located inside the conductive metal, and wherein metal powders are disposed within pores located at a side area of the porous member (Figs. 1B and 4B, also [0029] – [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kwon’s porous member to include the features as disclosed by Mischitz, wherein the porous member includes a conductive metal and the plurality of pore located inside the conductive metal, and wherein metal powders are disposed in pore located in a side area of the porous member, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Mischitz’s porous member is comparable to Kwon’s porous member because they both function to provide support/relieve stress. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s porous member to include the features as disclosed by Mischitz, wherein the porous member includes a conductive metal and the plurality of pore located inside the conductive metal, and wherein metal powders are disposed in pore located in a side area of the porous member with the predictable result of forming a conductive layer that may provide a supporting base for a display panel.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the porous member is made of a composite metal including at least one of nickel (Ni), iron (Fe) or stainless steel (SUS) (Mischitz: [0030]).
Regarding dependent Claim 7, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
each of the metal powders includes at least one of nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al) or tungsten (W) (Mischitz: [0030]).
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kwon et al. (US 20190165332 A1), and further in view of Mischitz et al. (US 20160225718 A1) and Park et al. (US 12443224 B2).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kwon remains silent on the display apparatus further comprising
a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate,
wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park discloses in Fig. 2 that their display module may include a first plate 210 and a second plate 220; wherein the porous member, i.e., metal foam 320, may be disposed between the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 (Col. 7; lines 55 – 59). Park teaches that both the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Within the art of bendable display devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the applicability of such plates in Kwon’s bendable display device. Thus, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Park, yield a display device wherein a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz to include a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate, as disclosed by Park, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, as modified by a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate, as disclosed by Park, can yield a predictable result of providing support for the porous member and rigidity of the display panel since Park teaches that both the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kwon remains silent wherein the display apparatus is further comprising
a metal plate disposed on an upper surface of the porous member.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park discloses in Fig. 2 that their display module may include a first plate 210 disposed on an upper surface of the porous member, i.e., metal foam 320 (Col. 7; lines 55 – 59). Park teaches that the first plate 210 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Within the art of bendable display devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the applicability of such a plate in Kwon’s bendable display device. Thus, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Park, yield a display device wherein a metal plate disposed on an upper surface of the porous member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz to include a metal plate disposed on an upper surface of the porous member, as disclosed by Park, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz, as modified a metal plate disposed on an upper surface of the porous member, as disclosed by Park, can yield a predictable result of providing support for the porous member and rigidity of the display panel since Park teaches that the first plate 210 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, teach the display apparatus of claim 1; however, Kwon remains silent regarding the display apparatus further comprising
a discharging member connecting the cover member and the porous member.
However, Park teaches a protrusion 325 (Fig. 3) that connects the cushion plate 300, including metal foam 320 as a porous member, to a cover member 20. Further, Park teaches that electric charge introduced from the cover member 20 into the cushion plate 300 may pass through the protrusion 325 of the cushion plate 300 and be discharged out of the display module 10 through the ground (Col. 15; lines 64 - 68). Thus, examiner asserts that Park’s protrusion 325 may be used to modify the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz to yield a discharging member connecting the cover member and the porous member. Safely removing charge build up would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, especially in consideration of Kwon’s display device which has bending parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz to include Park’s discharging member connecting the cover member and the porous member, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kwon and Mischitz, as modified by Park’s discharging member connecting the cover member and the porous member can yield a predictable result of safely removing charge build up in the cover window since the cover window may accumulate charge due to user’s applying pressure to the cover window or stretching of the cover window during device operation. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Claims 9 and 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kwon et al. (US 20190165332 A1), and further in view of Mischitz et al. (US 20160225718 A1) and Joo (US 20180162098 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 9, Kwon teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1A; display panel 400. See [0053]) configured to display an image ([0007] teaches that the display panel displays an image);
a cover member (Fig. 3A; adhesive layer OC3) disposed on an upper surface of the display panel (Fig. 3A) and protecting the display panel from an external impact ([0103] – [0104] teaches that the adhesive layers OC1 to OC5 may act as cushions for the components respectively coupled by the adhesive layers OC1 to OC5);
a porous member (Fig. 3A; support member 500 is taught in [0091] to include a porous organic layer, i.e., a porous member, and an inorganic material which fills pores of the porous organic layer) disposed on a lower surface of the display panel (Fig. 3A) and …
However, Kwon remains silent wherein the porous member has the structure:
including a plurality of pores located inside the porous member, …
an organic material is disposed within the plurality of pores and on an upper surface and a lower surface of the porous member;
a conductive member disposed on the organic material of the upper surface or the lower surface of the porous member; and
an adhesive member is disposed between the conductive member and the display panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mischitz discloses a metallization layer 165 (Fig. 1B) made of metal ([0029] – [0030]), considered analogous to Kwon’s porous member. Further, Mischitz discloses pores 175 within the metallization layer 165 which may include conductive filling materials 180 (Fig. 1B and [0029] – [0030]). Thus, examiner asserts that Mischitz explicitly teaches a structure for a porous member including a plurality of pores located inside the porous member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Kwon’s porous member to include the features as disclosed by Mischitz’s porous member including a plurality of pores located inside the porous member, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Mischitz’s porous member is comparable to Kwon’s porous member because they both function to provide support/relieve stress. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s porous member to include the features as disclosed by Mischitz’s porous member including a plurality of pores located inside the porous member with the predictable result of forming a conductive layer that may provide a supporting base for a display panel.
Further in the same field of endeavor, Joo (US 20180162098 A1) teaches a porous metal sheet 20 (e.g., Fig. 1) having a plurality of pores. Further, Joo teaches a heat dissipation film 30 including organic rein material, wherein the heat dissipation film is attached to the porous member by pressing the heat dissipation film 30 against the porous member such that a portion of the heat dissipation film 30 impregnates through the pores of the porous member, i.e., an organic material is disposed within the plurality of pores and on an upper surface and a lower surface of the porous member (at least [0033], [0038] – [0039], [0070], [0079], [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the porous member of Kwon and Mischitz to include Joo’s display apparatus feature wherein their porous member includes an organic material is disposed in the plurality of pores and on an upper surface and a lower surface of the porous member, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the porous member of Kwon and Mischitz is comparable to Joo’s porous member because they both function to provide support/relieve stress. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to the porous member of Kwon and Mischitz to include Joo’s display apparatus feature wherein their porous member includes an organic material is disposed in the plurality of pores and on an upper surface and a lower surface of the porous member with the predictable result of attaching additional structures (as disclosed by Joo) completing the formation of a conductive layer that may provide a supporting base for a display panel.
Additionally, Mischitz teaches in [0050] that the porous may be formed in sub-layers wherein the sub-layers may be a metal paste, i.e., an adhesive member, and/or another conductive member; such that Mischitz discloses a conductive member disposed on the organic material of the upper surface or the lower surface of the porous member and an adhesive member, wherein the combination of Kwon and Mischitz may include the structure wherein an adhesive member is disposed between the conductive member and the display panel. Additionally, examiner asserts that Joo provides additional support of the above structure of Mischitz, wherein Joo teaches heat dissipation layer 30 attached to the porous member 20 (E.g., Fig. 1); wherein the heat dissipation layer is thermally conductive (e.g., [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, to include Mischitz’s porous member features, further supported by Joo, wherein a conductive member disposed on the organic material of the upper surface or the lower surface of the porous member and an adhesive member is disposed between the conductive member and the display panel, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Mischitz’s porous member is comparable to Kwon’s and Joo’s porous members because they all function to provide support/relieve stress. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, to include Mischitz’s porous member features, further supported by Joo, wherein a conductive member disposed on the organic material of the upper surface or the lower surface of the porous member and an adhesive member is disposed between the conductive member and the display panel with the predictable result of forming a porous member wherein the conductive filling material is formed within the porous member and be attached to a display panel of a display apparatus.
Regarding dependent Claim 11, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, teach the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein
the conductive member includes metal powders or a metal plate disposed on an upper surface or a lower surface of the porous member.
Kwon teaches that the protective film 600 may include or be formed of glass, ceramic, metal, other rigid materials, or any combination thereof. Thus, the examiner is interpreting the protective film 600 formed of metal or other rigid materials to be a metal plate disposed on an upper surface or a lower surface of the porous member (Fig. 3A).
Regarding dependent Claim 12, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, teach the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the conductive member includes:
metal powders disposed on an upper surface of the porous member (metal powders included in Mischitz porous member. See [0036]); and
a metal plate (Kwon teaches that the protective film 600 may include or be formed of glass, ceramic, metal, other rigid materials, or any combination thereof. Thus, the examiner is interpreting the protective film 600 formed of metal or other rigid materials to be a metal plate) disposed on the metal powders (Yield through the combination of Kwon’s display apparatus and Mischitz porous member).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kwon et al. (US 20190165332 A1), and further in view of Mischitz et al. (US 20160225718 A1), Joo (US 20180162098 A1), and Park et al. (US 12443224 B2).
Regarding dependent Claim 10, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, teach the display apparatus of claim 9; however, Kwon remain silent on the display apparatus further comprising
a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate,
wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park discloses in Fig. 2 that their display module may include a first plate 210 and a second plate 220; wherein the porous member, i.e., metal foam 320, may be disposed between the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 (Col. 7; lines 55 – 59). Park teaches that both the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Within the art of bendable display devices, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the applicability of such plates in Kwon’s bendable display device. Thus, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz, Joo, and Park, yield a display device wherein a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon, Mischitz, and Joo to include a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate, as disclosed by Park, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kwon, Mischitz, and Joo as modified by a first plate disposed under a front portion of the display panel and a second plate disposed under the first plate, wherein the porous member is disposed between the first plate and the second plate, as disclosed by Park, can yield a predictable result of providing support for the porous member and rigidity of the display panel since Park teaches that both the first plate 210 and the second plate 220 may be formed to supplement rigidity of the display substrate and maintain flatness of surrounding display module structures (Col. 9; lines 40 – 62). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent Claim 13, Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, teach the display apparatus of claim 9; however, Kwon remains silent on the display apparatus further comprising
a discharging member connecting the cover member and the conductive member.
However, Park teaches a conductive solution 700 (Fig. 5) that connects the cushion plate 300, including metal foam 320 as a porous member, to a cover member 20; wherein the conductive solution 700 is disposed on a lower surface of the cushion plate 300. Further, Park teaches when the conductive solution 700 is used, the charge discharge path capable of discharging the charges introduced into the cover member 20 out of the display module through the cushion plate 300 may be formed (Col. 17; lines 17 - 20). Thus, examiner asserts that Park’s conductive solution 700 may be added to the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, to yield a discharging member connecting the cover member and the conductive member. Safely removing charge build up would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, especially in consideration of Kwon’s display device which has bending parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, to include Park’s discharging member connecting the cover member and the conductive member, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the display apparatus of Kwon, further in view of Mischitz and Joo, as modified by Park’s discharging member connecting the cover member and the conductive member can yield a predictable result of safely removing charge build up in the cover window since the cover window may accumulate charge due to user’s applying pressure to the cover window or stretching of the cover window during device operation. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200211920 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20140048786 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20180149435 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20130027892 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20210335763 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20210343987 A1 previously relied upon.
US 20170031473 A1 considered for teaching of MOFs.
US 20170207401 A1 considered for porous scattering layer.
US 20200361194 A1 considered for teaching regarding removing accumulated charge on a window element.
US 20220418118 A1 considered for its discussion regarding accumulated charge on a window element.
US 20190019450 A1 discloses a device similar to Kwon’s (US 20190165332 A1).
US 20220285657 A1 discloses a device similar to Kwon’s (US 20190165332 A1).
US 20160020416 A1 considered for porous scattering layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897