Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnston, US 2008/0113580.
Regarding claim 10, Johnston discloses a foam block capable of being securely assembled to a different foam block to create a structure that is larger than the foam block figures 1-3, paragraph 3), wherein the foam block has a plurality of channels defined in at least one side of the foam block (figure 4, paragraph 35), and wherein at least some of the plurality of channels is defined to accept a securing member that restricts vertical and horizontal movement of the foam block when the foam block is secured to the different foam block (paragraph 33-34).
Claim 1 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Johnston discloses the foam block of claim 9, wherein the securing member has a shape that enables the securing member to be inserted into at least one channel among the plurality of channels formed in the foam block (figures 1a-4, paragraph 33-34).
Regarding claim 13, Johnston discloses the foam block of claim 11, wherein the securing member have a shape matching the void shape (figures 1a-4, paragraph 33-34).
Regarding claim 2, Johnston discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming the securing member from foam, wherein the securing member has a shape that enables the securing member to be inserted into at least one channel among the plurality of channels formed in the foam block (figures 1a-4, paragraph 33-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Johnston in view of Peterman et al., US 2017/0215345.
Regarding claim 12, Johnston discloses the foam block of claim 9, wherein the plurality of channels are defined to have a void shape inside of the perimeter of the foam block (figures, paragraph 33-34).
Although Johnston teaches that the shape can be any shape (paragraph 34), Johnston is silent about the void shape is one of a T-shape, an X shape, or a keystone shape.
In an analogous art, Penterman discloses the void shape is one of a T-shape, an X shape, or a keystone shape (paragraph 12 and 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnston’s block with the teachings of Peterman. The motivation would have been to have a secure structure for the benefit of providing quality of service.
Claim 3 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding claim 4, Johnston and Peterman disclose the method of claim 3, wherein forming the securing member comprises forming the securing member to have a shape matching the void shape (Johnston figures 1a-4, paragraph 33-34; Peterman figures 6 and 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, Johnston and Peterman disclose the method of claim 3, further comprising forming a plurality of channels in a different foam block, wherein at least one channel formed in the different foam block aligns with at least one channel that was formed in the foam block when edges of the foam block and the different foam block are aligned (Johnston figures 1a-4, paragraph 33-34; Peterman figures 6 and 9-10).
Claim 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Johnston in view of Peterman in view of Pease, US 6,892,507.
Regarding claim 6, Johnston and Peterman disclose the method of claim 5.
Although Johnston teaches that the size can be a variable size (paragraph 35), Johnston and Peterman are silent about a length of each edge of the received foam block is at least two feet each.
In an analogous art, Pease discloses a length of each edge of the received foam block is at least two feet each (col. 5, lines 58-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnston and Peterman’s method with the teachings of Pease. The motivation would have been to have a bigger structure for the benefit of using less blocks.
Regarding claim 8, Johnston, Peterman and Pease disclose the method of claim 6, further comprising: forming a dimensioned block that has different dimensions than the foam block (Johnston figures 1a-4); forming at least one channel in the dimensioned block, wherein the at least one channel of the dimensioned block is formed at a location of the dimensioned block such that the at least one channel aligns with a given channel of the foam block when a corner of the dimensioned block is aligned with a corner of the foam block (Johnston figures 1a-4).
Regarding claim 9, Johnston and Peterman disclose the method of claim 8, wherein forming the dimensioned block comprises forming the dimensioned block to have:
a depth that matches the depth of the foam block (Johnston figures 1a-4);
a width that does not match the width of the foam block (Johnston figures 1a-4); and
a height that does not match the height of the foam block (Johnston figures 1a-4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Johnston in view of Peterman in view of Lanahan et al., US 5,943,775.
Regarding claim 7, Johnston and Peterman disclose the method of claim 5.
Johnston and Peterman are silent about forming a plurality of channels in at least one side of the foam block comprises forming the plurality of channels using a hot wire foam cutting table.
In an analogous art, Lanahan discloses forming a plurality of channels in at least one side of the foam block comprises forming the plurality of channels using a hot wire foam cutting table (col. 21, lines 23-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnston and Peterman’s method with the teachings of Lanahan. The motivation would have been to properly cut the blocks for the benefit of making precise blocks.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Johnston in view of Pease.
Regarding claim 14, Johnston discloses the foam block of claim 9.
Although Johnston teaches that the size can be a variable size (paragraph 35), Johnston is silent about a length of each edge of the foam block is at least two feet each.
In an analogous art, Pease discloses a length of each edge of the foam block is at least two feet each (col. 5, lines 58-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johnston’s block with the teachings of Pease. The motivation would have been to have a bigger structure for the benefit of using less blocks.
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421