DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The Applicant’s amendment filed on October 24, 2025 was received. Claims 2, 5, 10, 13, 18 and 20 are now canceled. Claims 1, 9 and 17 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 each recite “the heating plate comprises a support plate”. However, this arrangement is not clearly depicted in drawings supplied by the applicant or disclosed in the applicants’ specification. The recitation requires distinct structures, which is not support by the specification.
The specification does disclose the support unit 3320 is a heating plate. For purposes of compact prosecution, this interpretation will be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi and Koshimizu on claims 1 and 4 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, Koshimizu and Tadokora on claim 3 is withdrawn because independent claim 1 has amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, Koshimizu and Saitoh on claims 6-8 are withdrawn because independent claim 1 has amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu on claims 9, 12 and 17 are withdrawn because independent claims 9 and 17 have amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi, Koshimizu and Tadokoro on claims 11 and 19 are withdrawn because independent claims 9 and 17 have amended.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi, Koshimizu and Saitoh on claims 14-16 are withdrawn because independent claim 9 has amended.
Please consider the following:
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2019/0221455) in view of Hayashi (US 2021/0066049) and of Koshimizu (US 6,676,804).
In regards to claim 1, Seo teaches a heating unit (3230/1000, heat treatment unit) comprising:
a chamber (1100) that provides a heat treatment space (fig. 9-10; para. 47-48);
a substrate support unit (1300, heating plate) supports a seated substrate (W), the substrate support unit comprising a plurality of heaters (1420) (fig. 9-10; para. 54, 57);
a guide (1800, annular ring) (fig. 9-10; para. 47, 64) which restricts (blocks) airflow (fig. 9-10; para. 47, 64);
the substrate support unit is a support plate and further comprises:
a plurality of pin members (1700) and a plurality of lift pins (1342) support the substrate, the plurality of pin members and plurality of lift pins extend from a central area of an upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-11; para. 47, 54, 61);
the guide is formed on an edge area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-11);
the central area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit has the same heigh as the edge area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-9).
Seo teaches the substrate is heated when placed onto the substrate support unit (para. 57, 62).
Seo does not explicitly teach an upper surface of the annular ring is provided at a height equal to a height of an upper surface of the substrate seated on the heating plate
However, Hayashi teaches base/stage (12/411, heating plate) on which the wafer is seated where a focus ring (13, annular ring) is provided to surround the edge of the substrate (fig. 1-2, 4; para. 24, 76, 80, 86, 94), and upper surface of the focus ring is provided at a height equal to a height of an upper surface of the wafer seated on the base/stage (fig. 1, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the focus ring positioning of Hayashi onto the guide of Seo because Hayashi teaches it will reduce the flow of plasma (gas) towards the base/stage (para. 80, 86).
Seo and Hayashi do not explicitly teach the guide (annular ring) includes a heater
However, Koshimizu teaches a ring body (112) comprising an outer ring body (112b) with a heater (148), where the heater is connected to variable source (150). Koshimizu teaches the heater is controlled to maintain a temperature for the outer ring body (fig. 5-8; col. 8, lines 55-60, col. 11, lines 30-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the heater in the ring body of Koshimizu onto the guide/focus ring of Seo and Hayashi because Koshimizu teaches it will provide uniform temperature and uniform processing of the wafer (col. 11, lines 50-60).
With regards to the functional recitations of preventing temperature drop of an edge of the substrate, to block a surrounding air flow from approaching the edge of the substrate, and the heater of the annular ring directly heats the edge of the substrate when the substrate is seated on the heating plate, The apparatus of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu is capable of performing as necessary, as the prior art combination teach the structural elements of the claim. Additionally, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114).
In regards to claim 4, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, where Seo teaches the guide has a ring shape (fig. 10; para. 64) and Hayashi teaches the focus ring has a ring shaped, also the term of ring defines the element is ring shape (fig. 1, 7; para. 24, 94).
In regards to claims 9 and 17, Seo teaches a heat treatment chamber comprising
a housing (3210) providing a heat treatment space therein and having a door (not shown, slot) for loading and unloading the substrate on one side (fig. 5, 7-8; para. 44-45);
a cooling unit (3220) located in the heat treatment space of the housing to cool the substrate (fig. 7-8; para. 44-46);
a heating unit (3230) located at one side of the cooling unit and heating the substrate (fig. 7-8; para. 44-45, 47);
a transfer unit (3240) for transferring a substrate between the cooling unit and the heating unit (fig. 7-8; para. 44-45, 66-67).
The heating treatment chamber further comprises:
a process chamber (1100) in which an upper chamber (1120) and a lower chamber (1140) are in contact with each other to form a treatment space (1110) defined by the upper chamber and the lower chamber (fig. 9-10; para. 47-49);
a substrate support unit (1300) comprising a support plate (1320, heating plate) supports a seated substrate (W), the substrate support unit comprising a plurality of heaters (1420) (fig. 9-10; para. 54, 57);
a lift pin (1340) for placing the substrate on the support plate or for moving the substrate placed on the support plate to be spaced apart from the support plate (fig. 9; para. 54, 56);
an elevating member (1130, vertical actuator) connected to the upper chamber or the lower chamber to vertically drive the upper chamber or the lower chamber (fig. 9; para. 52);
an exhaust unit (1500) comprising an exhaust pipe (1530) is connected to a central region of the upper chamber to exhaust the treatment space (fig. 9; para. 58);
a guide (1800, annular ring) (fig. 9-10; para. 47, 64) which restricts (blocks) airflow (fig. 9-10; para. 47, 64).
the substrate support unit is a support plate and further comprises:
a plurality of pin members (1700) and a plurality of lift pins (1342) support the substrate, the plurality of pin members and plurality of lift pins extend from a central area of an upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-11; para. 47, 54, 61);
the guide is formed on an edge area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-11);
the central area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit has the same heigh as the edge area of the upper surface (1320a) of the substrate support unit (fig. 8-9).
Seo teaches the substrate is heated when placed onto the substrate support unit (para. 57, 62).
Seo does not explicitly teach an upper surface of the annular ring is provided at a height equal to a height of an upper surface of the substrate seated on the heating plate
However, Hayashi teaches base/stage (12/411, heating plate) on which the wafer is seated where a focus ring (13, annular ring) is provided to surround the edge of the substrate (fig. 1-2, 4; para. 24, 76, 80, 86, 94), and upper surface of the focus ring is provided at a height equal to a height of an upper surface of the wafer seated on the base/stage (fig. 1, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the focus ring positioning of Hayashi onto the guide of Seo because Hayashi teaches it will reduce the flow of plasma (gas) towards the base/stage (para. 80, 86).
Seo and Hayashi do not explicitly teach the guide (annular ring) includes a heater
However, Koshimizu teaches a ring body (112) comprising an outer ring body (112b) with a heater (148), where the heater is connected to variable source (150). Koshimizu teaches the heater is controlled to maintain a temperature for the outer ring body (fig. 5-8; col. 8, lines 55-60, col. 11, lines 30-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the heater in the ring body of Koshimizu onto the guide/focus ring of Seo and Hayashi because Koshimizu teaches it will provide uniform temperature and uniform processing of the wafer (col. 11, lines 50-60).
With regards to the functional recitations of preventing temperature drop of an edge of the substrate, to block a surrounding air flow from approaching the edge of the substrate, and the heater of the annular ring directly heats the edge of the substrate when the substrate is seated on the heating plate, The apparatus of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu is capable of performing as necessary, as the prior art combination teach the structural elements of the claim. Additionally, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP 2114).
In regards to claim 12, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, where Seo teaches the guide has a ring shape (fig. 10; para. 64) and Hayashi teaches the focus ring has a ring shaped, also the term of ring defines the element is ring shape (Hayashi-fig. 1, 7; para. 24, 94).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Tadokoro (US 2008/0257495).
In regards to claim 3, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the annular ring is divided into a plurality of sections, and the heating element is provided in each section to be independently controllable.
However, Tadokoro teaches a plurality of heaters (141) arranged in different regions, where a temperature controller (142) provides individual temperature control for each region (fig. 5; para. 42-43, 81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the individual region control of heaters of Tadokoro onto the ring and heater of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu because Tadokoro teaches it will improve the uniformity of the line widths within the wafer (para. 75).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Saitoh (US 2019/0108986).
In regards to claim 6-8, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the annular ring has a curved upper surface, the annular ring has one side facing the edge of the substrate and other side opposite to the one side have different inclinations from each other, the annular ring has inclination of the other side is provided more gently than the inclination of the one side.
However, Saitoh teaches a focus ring (5) comprising a curved upper surface with a height equal to a height of the upper surface of the wafer seated on the mounting table (2) (fig. 13a/13b; para. 32, 36, 54, 101).
Saitoh teaches the focus ring has one side facing the edge of the wafer (see protruding portion-5a of focus ring) and other side opposite to the one side having different inclinations from each other and the focus ring has an inclination of the other side is provided more gently than the inclination of the one side (fig. 13/13b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the focus ring shape of Saitoh onto the annular/focus ring of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu because Saitoh teaches it will provide control of the flow of plasma (gas) around the edge of the wafer (para. 55).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Tadokoro (US 2008/0257495).
In regards to claims 11 and 19, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the airflow blocking member is divided into a plurality of sections, and the heating element is provided in each section to be independently controllable.
However, Tadokoro teaches a plurality of heaters (141) arranged in different regions, where a temperature controller (142) provides individual temperature control for each region (fig. 5; para. 42-43, 81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the individual region control of heaters of Tadokoro onto the heater of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu because Tadokoro teaches it will improve the uniformity of the line widths within the wafer (para. 75).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Saitoh (US 2019/0108986).
In regards to claims 14-16, Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the annular ring has a curved upper surface, the annular ring has one side facing the edge of the substrate and other side opposite to the one side have different inclinations from each other, the annular ring has inclination of the other side is provided more gently than the inclination of the one side.
However, Saitoh teaches a focus ring (5) comprising a curved upper surface with a height equal to a height of the upper surface of the wafer seated on the mounting table (2) (fig. 13a/13b; para. 32, 36, 54, 101).
Saitoh teaches the focus ring has one side facing the edge of the wafer (see protruding portion-5a of focus ring) and other side opposite to the one side having different inclinations from each other and the focus ring has an inclination of the other side is provided more gently than the inclination of the one side (fig. 13/13b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the focus ring shape of Saitoh onto the focus ring of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu because Saitoh teaches it will provide control of the flow of plasma (gas) around the edge of the wafer (para. 55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
The Examiner's rejection fails to address the critical limitation added to claim 1 as amended, which requires that the heating plate includes a support plate, and a plurality of support pins configured to support the substrate, the plurality of support pins being formed on a central area of an upper surface of the support plate, wherein the annular ring is formed on a edge area of the upper surface of the support plate, wherein the central area of the upper surface of the support plate is provided at a height equal to a height off the edge area of the upper surface of the support plate, and wherein the heater of the annular ring directly heats the edge of the substrate when the substrate is seated on the heating plate. These limitations establishes a specific structural relationship where the heater must be positioned to directly heat the substrate edge, not merely heat the annular ring itself.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
A new grounds rejection of Seo, Hayashi and Koshimizu is presented above to address the amended claim.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717