DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to amendment filed on 01/21/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant has amended claims 1-2, 12-13, 15 and claims 3-10 are withdrawn as non-elected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunelle (US 4138443 A, IDS cited reference by applicant) in view of Yasukawa et al (US PGPUB No.: 20170050896 A1, IDS cited reference by applicant).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Brunelle discloses hydrodealkylation of alkylaromatic hydrocarbons (Brunelle, Title and Abstract). Brunelle further discloses a catalyst, which comprises rhodium and at least one metal selected from the group consisting of copper, nickel, cobalt, iron, and zinc (i.e., at least one metal selected from Group 6 to Group 14 metal elements in Period 4 to Period 6 of the periodic table), and a catalyst support, where the catalyst support comprises alumina with a gamma (i.e., γ-alumina, meets claim 11) tetragonal crystallographical structure (i.e., a tetragonal crystal phase) and catalyst support obtained by dehydrating alumina hydrate in a steam of hot gas (Brunelle, Abstract; column 4, lines 20-22 and 26-30, claim 1).
Brunelle does not explicitly disclose or suggest catalyst comprising SiO2.
However, Yasukawa discloses dehydration catalyst such as acid catalyst that includes alumina, silica-alumina, alumina hydrate used for producing isobutylene and further discloses catalyst includes silica (i.e., SiO2) in amount of less than 1.0 mass% (abstract, paragraphs 0041-0045, meets claim 12, see examples 13-15). Yasukawa discloses alumina such as α-alumina, β-alumina, γ-alumina, σ-alumina, θ-alumina, δ-alumina, and alumina hydrate (see paragraph 0042, meets claim 12). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Given Brunelle and Yasukawa both discloses dehydration catalyst and both discloses producing high selectivity, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, to utilize catalyst comprising SiO2 of Yasukawa with catalyst of Brunelle which would provide high yield or high selectivity isobutylene taught by Yasukawa (see abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 16-17, as applied to claim 1, Brunelle further discloses the content of nickel, copper, cobalt, iron, and zinc varying between about 0.10% and about 20% by weight relative to the support, i.e., alumina (Brunelle, column 4, lines 39-42), which corresponds 0.001 to 0.2 g of nickel, copper, cobalt, iron, and zinc per 1 g of alumina. Using cobalt as an example for converting mass into molar units, this corresponds to 0.017 mmol (i.e., 0.001 g / 58.93 g/mol × 1000 mmol/mol = 0.017 mmol) to 3.394 mmol (i.e., 0.2 g / 58.93 g/mol × 1000 mmol/mol = 3.394 mmol) of cobalt with respect to 1 g of alumina, which overlaps the claimed range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, Given Brunelle nor Yasukawa discloses having Na2O in the catalyst, thus it is clear Na2O is not required in the catalyst, and hence, a content of Na2O in the catalyst would necessarily be 0 wt%, which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Brunelle further discloses the catalyst support, i.e., the alumina, having a specific surface of between about 100 and about 350 m2/g (Brunelle, Abstract). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Yasukawa discloses BET surface area of catalyst (i.e., alumina) in range from 60-175 m2/g (abstract, see examples 1-19). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 1, Brunelle discloses the catalyst comprising a metal combination of rhodium and at least one metal selected from the group consisting of copper, nickel, cobalt, iron, and zinc (i.e., at least one metal selected from Group 6 to Group 14 metal elements in Period 4 to Period 6 of the periodic table) (Brunelle, Abstract; column 4, lines 26-30).
Regarding claims 18-20, as applied to claim 1, given that the catalyst of Brunelle in view of Yasukawa is identical or substantially identical to the present claimed catalyst in composition (i.e., the catalyst comprising SiO2 and at least one metal selected from Group 6 to Group 14 metal elements in Period 4 to Period 6 of the periodic table, in alumina) and structure (e.g., alumina containing gamma alumina having a tetragonal crystal phase), and further given that Brunelle specifically discloses the catalyst containing the metal cobalt with an amount of about 0.10% and about 20% of by weight relative to the support, i.e., alumina (Brunelle, column 4, lines 39-42, column 5 – Example 1), which corresponds to 0.017 mmol (i.e., 0.001 g / 58.93 g/mol × 1000 mmol/mol = 0.017 mmol) to 3.394 mmol (i.e., 0.2 g / 58.93 g/mol × 1000 mmol/mol = 3.394 mmol) with respect to 1 g of alumina after conversion of weight into molar units of the disclosed range, with those in the present invention (e.g., claims 16-17; Specification, Example 1), therefore, the catalyst of Brunelle would inherently be capable of having an isobutylene selectivity in C4 gas of 93.7% to 96.2%, a C4 gas selectivity of 84.1% to 99.8%, and an isobutanol conversion rate of 88.2% to 98.4%, as claimed. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
In addition Yasukawa discloses isobutanol conversion rate and isobutylene selectivity rate that reads on presently claimed range of isobutanol conversion rate from 88.2 to 98.4% of claim 20 and isobutylene selectivity from 93.7-96.2 of claim 18 (See tables 1-8).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments, see applicant remarks on pages 1-7, filed on 01/21/2026 with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 11-14 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) anticipated over Brunelle (US Patent No.: 4,138,443) and rejection of claims 2 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Brunelle (US Patent No.: 4,138,443) are persuasive and therefore the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, amendment to the claims necessitated new ground of rejection of claims 1-2 and 11-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Brunelle (US Patent No.: 4,138,443) in view of Yasukawa et al (US PGPUB No.: 20170050896) as set forth above. All the arguments are moot in view of new ground of rejections as set forth above.
Applicant mainly argues that Brunelle does not disclose or suggest amended claim limitation of catalyst comprising SiO2 but however, newly reference taught by Yasukawa discloses catalyst comprising SiO2 as disclosed above therefore combination of Brunelle in view of Yasukawa discloses presently claimed limitation set forth above.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SMITA S PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 10/27/2026