DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/30/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The basis of the rejection of claims 1-g 2, 4-5, and 7-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been maintained.
Additional analysis follows
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 0 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the holes 7(i.e. first pores) of Zhang cannot be defined or controlled, however the claim requires a predetermined depth which, in the case of Zhang, the depth would be predetermined by the desired thickness of the coating layer.
Applicant also argues Zhang is silent as to a closed porosity of the second pores resulting in closed pores, however the porosity of the plating layer is clearly defined at 0-60% where one of ordinary skill in the art would not expect all the pores to be at the surface but rather included within the layer resulting in the material comprising closed pores.
Applicant also argues that the first pores of Zhang are blocked by the coating layer, however Zhang clearly intends for the pores to be filled with the active material layer 5 as seen in Fig. 2 where the coating layer is an evenly applied layer between these two layers which leaves room for the active material and thereby not blocking the pores(see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et. al. (US20200313198) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cui et. al. (US20140329120).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an anode for a lithium secondary battery (¶[0060]), comprising:
an anode current collector layer comprising a substrate layer (¶[0035], Fig. 1A, see intermediate layer 1) and a porous plating layer (¶[0044], Fig. 1A, see second metal layer 3) disposed on the substrate layer; and
a lithium metal layer disposed on the plating layer (¶[0053]),
wherein the anode current collector layer has a thickness of about 12.5 µm (¶0081], see intermediate layer is 12 µm and the metal Cu layer, i.e. second metal layer 3, is 0.5 µm)
wherein the porous plating layer comprises first pores, which are open pores that are recessed at a predetermined depth from a surface of the plating layer (¶0081], Fig. 1, see holes/pores 7 recessed from outer surface of metal layer 3) and second pores that are closed formed in the first pores (¶[0044], see porosity of the metal layer are the first pores the sides of which are inside the first pores and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a porosity would result in closed pores within the material).
wherein a coating layer is positioned between the porous plating layer and the anode active material layer(5)(¶[0013], Fig. 2) where the material is evenly coated according to the shape of the previous plating layer(¶[0106]) and does not block the first and second pores leaving room for the active material to fill the pores(¶[0035]) and the coating layer may contain nanowires (¶[0014]), but does not disclose the specific material of the nanowires.
Cui, related to battery electrodes, teaches a conductive coating layer which comprises nanowires made of material selected from the group consisting of silver, germanium, silicon, aluminum oxide, copper oxide, and zinc oxide (¶[0031] see nanowires types).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the specific materials of the nanowires in conductive coating layer of Cui would act as effective component to a conductive coating layer containing nanowires in the conductive coating layer disclosed by Zhang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to select the nanowire materials taught by Cui for the conductive coating layer of Zhang to provide an effective conductive coating layer.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang discloses the anode of claim 1, wherein the anode current collector layer comprises copper (¶[0081], see Cu metal layer).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhang discloses the anode of claim 3, wherein the first pores have a diameter of 20 μm (¶0081]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhang discloses an anode according to claim 1, and Cui further teaches the conducting layer may be 1 nm - 200 nm (¶[0032]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang discloses the anode of claim 1, wherein the lithium metal layer (¶[0053], lithium metal may be active material layer) partially penetrates into the porous plating layer (¶[0057], Fig. 2, see filling first pores but not fully penetrating second pores).
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhang discloses the anode of claim 1, lithium secondary battery comprising:
a cathode;
the anode of claim 1;
a separator (¶[0114]) interposed between the cathode and the anode; and
an electrolyte impregnated in the separator (¶[0063], see porous separator which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize would become impregnated once the liquid electrolyte was added).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726