DETAILED ACTION
Final Action
Claims 1, and 3-13 are pending.
Claims 1, and 3-13 are rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (U.S. PG Pub. 2021/0216914) in view of Yatabe (U.S. PG Pub. 2016/0291577).
As to claims 1, 10 and 11 Kimura teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: hardware processors configured to: store, in a memory, pieces of history information identification information of a model [0093] and a history of updating the model[0116 examiner notes that the historical data is what the model is updated based on and the claims does not require the history of the data to occur each time of updating], the model being configured to receive a piece of input data including variables and output a piece of output data[0041, 0047], the variables each being a variable for which a rate of influence on the output data is calculated[0099, 0132], the model having been updated by using pieces of first input data[0066]; predict the output data by using the second input data[0119], the output data being predicted for each of models identified by their respective identification information included in the pieces of history information[0120]; calculate, for each of the models, an evaluation value indicating accuracy of prediction on the basis of the output data[0120 most similar], select a target model to be updated by using the second input data, the target model being a model whose evaluation value indicates that the corresponding model has higher accuracy of prediction than the other models [0119-0120 since it is also the one training model this always occurs]; and update the target model by performing transfer learning in which updated parameters are estimated by using the second input data[0121, abstract].
Kimura teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the invention. However, this is an obvious variation as taught by Yatabe as follows:
As to claims 1, 10, and 11 Yatabe teaches storing pieces of history information, each of the pieces of history information including one of pieces of identification information of a model and a history of updating the model each identifying one of models( abstract [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Yatabe into the system and methods of Kimura. The motivation to combine is that Yatabe teaches The anomaly determiner 15 determines a possibility of the abnormality of the plant by using the data managed by the data manager 13 and the model information (the normal model M1 and the abnormal model M2) managed by the model manager 14. For example, the anomaly determiner 15 calculates a correlation value by obtaining various types of information (for example, the pressure data, the image data, and the sound data which are shown in FIG. 4A) from the data manager 13. The anomaly determiner 15 determines the possibility of the abnormality of the plant by comparing the calculated correlation value with the normal model M1 and the abnormal model M2 which are obtained from the model manager 14. The anomaly determiner 15 is also capable of determining the possibility of the abnormality of the plant based on whether a number of turning points (or a magnitude of a deviation) of the data, which is obtained from the data manager 13 within a fixed period of time, is settled in a predetermined acceptable value [0053].
As to claim 4, Kimura teaches wherein, when the number of pieces of the history information exceeds a threshold value, the hardware processors delete part of the pieces of history information stored in the memory[0059]. The historical data can also include portions of the model.
As to claim 5, Kimura teaches wherein the hardware processors are configured to: generate attribute information representing attributes of a specified model being a model identified by a piece of identification information included in a specified piece of the pieces of the history information (fig. 1); and visualize the attribute information[0127].
As to claim 6, Kimura teaches wherein the hardware processors generate the rates of influence as the attribute information[0132].
As to claim 7, Kimura teaches wherein the hardware processors generate the attribute information indicating one of parameters of the specified model[0134], the one of parameters being a parameter having changed from a parameter of the target model selected when the specified model is updated[0134].
As to claim 8, Kimura teaches wherein the pieces of history information further include information indicating periods in which the corresponding pieces of first input data used for updating the specified model are acquired(fig. 8 – date), and the hardware processors generate the attribute information indicating the periods (other data in fig. 8).
As to claim 9, Kimura teaches wherein the pieces of history information further include information indicating periods in which the corresponding pieces of first input data used for updating the specified model are acquired (fig. 8 – date), and the hardware processors generate, on the basis of the history information, the attribute information indicating an inapplicable period in which the first input data is not used for updating the specified model [0135 – when the data is not used for updating].
As to claim 12, Kimura teaches wherein pieces of first input data used to update the models are acquired at mutually different data periods[0121].
As to claim 13, Kimura teaches wherein the hardware processors are configured to: store, in the memory, parameters each of which corresponds to one of the models; and update the target model by performing transfer learning by using, as an initial parameter, a parameter of the target model among the parameters stored in the memory[0121].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (U.S. PG Pub. 2021/0216914) in view of Yatabe in view of Vandikas (U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0256973).
Kimura in view of Yatabe teach most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the invention. However, this is an obvious variation as taught by Vandikas as follows:
As to claim 3, Vandikas teaches wherein the models are each a regression model to which a piece of input data is input and from which a piece of output data is output, the piece of input data including a plurality of explanatory variables, the piece of output data being an objective variable, and the evaluation value is a mean square error, a coefficient of determination, or a mean absolute error[0037, 0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Vandikas into the system and methods of Kimura in view Yatabe. The motivation to combine is that Vandikas teaches In some embodiments, the method 200 may be for use in training a machine learning model to predict actions that should be performed in a safety critical system. In such cases, the integrity of the machine learning model is critical, and the method may be used to quickly and accurately pinpoint and quarantine computing nodes that may be contributing malicious or otherwise inaccurate updates [0037].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks on page 10, filed 2-5-26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 11 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yatabe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119