DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 16 July 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 7 are amended; claims 2 and 8 are cancelled; claims 10-11 are withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, and 9 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8 May 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the polar solvent" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is interpreted to be the IPA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn ("Cation Effect on Anion Exchange in CsPbX3 (X = Cl, Br, I) Perovskite Nanocrystals").
Regarding Claim 1, Ahn discloses a method of exchanging anions of CsPbBr3 perovskite nanocrystals (aka CPB Pe NCs) (CPB Pe NCs meet the limitation of first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1), the method comprising: synthesizing CsPbBr3 Pe NCs (pg. 77, par. 2), which have surface defects (pg. 80, par. 2); preparing a solution by mixing a halide solute with isopropyl alcohol (IPA) (pg. 77, par. 3). Ahn further discloses NH4Cl and NaI (NH4Cl and NaI meet the limitation of a halogen salt of Formula 2) were selected as efficient anion-exchanging chemicals because they effectively provide Cl- or I- anions to Pe NCs, respectively (Abstract), such that the halogen salt of Ahn is present in an ionized state in the solution. Ahn further discloses adding the halide source to the CPB Pe NC, and I- and Cl- convert the halide element of the X-site of CPB Pe NCs (pg. 79, par. 1), wherein CsPbCl3 (aka CPC) and CsPbI3 (aka CPI) Pe NCs are formed (CsPbCl3 and CsPbI3 meet the limitation of second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 3; pg. 81, par. 2). Ahn further discloses I- has a weak binding energy with Na+, and using NaI, I- can be efficiently applied to CPB Pe NCs, and further, NH4+ soft cations have a weak binding energy with the Cl- hard anion, so the bonds in NH4Cl are easily broken, they readily donate Cl- anions to CPB Pe NCs (pg. 80, par. 2), such that Ahn meets the limitation wherein a bond between AB-X'3 of the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles is stronger than a bond between C-X' of the halogen salt. Ahn further discloses NH4+ and Na+ more readily passivate the surface because of their small ion size (pg. 80, par. 2), such that Ahn meets the limitation wherein a cation of the halogen salt is attached to the defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, and inducing nucleation is inherent. Ahn further discloses colloidal stability in CPC and CPI Pe NCs (pg. 81, par. 2), such that Ahn meets the limitation wherein the anion X of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles is substituted with the anion X' of the halogen salt.
Regarding Claim 3, Ahn discloses a grain size of CPB Pe NCs of 12.3 ± 3.0 nm, which would be substantially similar to that of CPC and CPI Pe NCs, such that Ahn meets the limitation wherein the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles have a grain size of 10nm to 20nm.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 3, the CPC and CPI products of Ahn are produced by a substantially similar process to that of the claim, such that the characteristics of the CPC and CPI products of Ahn are substantially similar to that of the claim, and therefore, the CPC and CPI products of Ahn meet the limitation wherein the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles have a grain size of 10nm to 20nm.
Regarding Claim 4, Ahn further discloses synthesizing CPB Pe NCs at room temperature (room temperature meets the limitation of 10°C to 30°C; pg. 77, par. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Ahn discloses synthesizing CsPbBr3 Pe NCs (pg. 77, par. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Ahn discloses NH4Cl and NaI were selected as efficient anion-exchanging chemicals (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, Ahn further discloses the concentration of halide-source solution of 30 * 10-3 M (pg. 77, par. 3), which is equivalent to 30 mM, and therefore, meets the limitation wherein a concentration of the halogen salt in the solution is 10 mM to 100 mM.
Regarding Claim 9, Ahn discloses the anion-exchanged Pe NCs were well-dispersed with the original surface ligands, maintaining high colloidal stability (Abstract), such that the limitation wherein ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in the polar solvent is inherent.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 9, the CPC and CPI products of Ahn are produced by a substantially similar process to that of the claim, such that the characteristics of the CPC and CPI products of Ahn are substantially similar to that of the claim, and therefore, the CPC and CPI products of Ahn meet the limitation wherein ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in the polar solvent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN 107760302) in view of Fan (CN 110205118).
An alternative rejection is provided in case Ahn is not considered prior art.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 1, Du discloses a method of exchanging anions of inorganic halide perovskite quantum dot CsPbBr3 (CsPbBr3 meets the limitation of first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1) solution, the method comprising preparing a solution by mixing an inorganic salt, which may be NaI or KI (NaI and KI meet the limitation of a halogen salt of Formula 2), with a solvent, which may be isopropanol, and injecting CsPbBr3 and the inorganic salt solution into a reactor to obtain CsPbX3, where X is I or Br (CsPbX3 meets the limitation of second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 3; claim 1). The halogen salt of Du participates in ion exchange to produce CsPbI3 from CsPbBr3 using NaI or KI (claim 1), and both the method of the present invention (pg. 4, par. 5) and Du (claim 1) teach anion exchange at room temperature. No specific parameters are provided in the specification as to how the halogen salt and IPA are mixed or how to facilitate dissociation of the halogen salt in IPA, such that the halogen salt in IPA of Du is necessarily in an ionized state in the solution, absent a showing of unexpected results.
Du is silent to synthesizing first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1 in which defects are formed, and Du is further silent to cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles to induce nucleation, and Du is further silent to the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibiting colloidal stability.
Fan discloses synthesizing metal halide perovskite nanocrystals with defect sites and adding a halide of an A-site monovalent cation (claim 1), which may be a halide of cesium (halide of cesium meets the limitation of CX'; middle of pg. 3), to fill the perovskite nanocrystal surface defect sites (filling surface defect sites meets the limitation of attaching to defects; claim 1). Fan further discloses collecting the stable dispersed supernatant to obtain the colloidal solution of the metal halide perovskite nanocrystal (claim 1), such that the stable colloidal solution of halide perovskites of Fan meets the limitation wherein inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibit colloidal stability in solution. Fan further discloses the metal halide nanocrystals are prepared in a simple and easy operation with high yield and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Forming nucleation sites would naturally flow from cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Fan to synthesize first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1 in which defects are formed, wherein cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles to induce nucleation, and wherein the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibiting colloidal stability, because the preparation method of Fan has simple and easy operation, high yield, and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Du discloses synthesizing perovskite quantum dots (claim 1), and quantum dots are known to have a particle size of 2-10 nm.
Regarding the particle size in claim 3, it appears that quantum dots taught by Du, having a particle size of 2-10nm, overlaps the claimed range of 10 nm to 20 nm such that the range taught by Du obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 4, Du is silent to synthesizing the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles at 10°C to 30°C.
Fan discloses synthesizing metal halide perovskite nanocrystals at room temperature (middle of pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Fan to synthesize the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles at 10°C to 30°C, because the room temperature preparation method of Fan has simple and easy operation, high yield, and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Du discloses ion exchange of CsPbBr3 (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Du discloses inorganic salt, which may be NaI (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Du is silent to the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibiting colloidal stability, so that ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in the polar solvent.
Fan discloses collecting the stable dispersed supernatant to obtain the colloidal solution of the metal halide perovskite nanocrystal (claim 1), such that the stable colloidal solution of halide perovskites of Fan meets the limitation wherein inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibit colloidal stability in solution.
Ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in IPA would naturally flow from defect passivation of halide perovskites producing a stable colloidal solution of halide perovskites.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN 107760302) in view of Fan (CN 110205118) and Chen (CN 108675341).
Regarding Claim 7, Du and Fan teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 1.
Du does not teach a concentration of halogen salt in a solution of 10mM to 100mM.
Chen discloses a method of adjusting the light emitting color of CsPbBr3 nanowires (adjusting the light emitting color meets the limitation of exchanging anions) using a Cl-/I- ion solution at a concentration of 0.02 mol/L ("Test Example 2").
Regarding the halogen salt concentration in claim 7, it appears that a concentration of 0.02 mol/L Cl-/I- ion solution, which is equivalent to 20 mM, taught by Chen, in the alternative, overlaps the claimed range of 10mM to 100mM of halogen salt in the solution such that the value taught by Chen obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Chen wherein a concentration of the halogen salt is 10 mM to 100 mM, because concentration is a process parameter well-known in the art of exchanging anions of inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, as taught by Chen.
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN 107760302) in view of Fan (CN 110205118) and Chen (CN 108675341).
An alternative rejection is provided in case a concentration of halogen salt in the solution of 10 mM to 100 mM is required for ionization of the halogen salt in solution and/or for the cations of the halogen salt to attach to the defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles to induce nucleation and the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibit colloidal stability in the solution.
Alternatively, regarding Claim 1, Du discloses a method of exchanging anions of inorganic halide perovskite quantum dot CsPbBr3 (CsPbBr3 meets the limitation of first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1) solution, the method comprising preparing a solution by mixing an inorganic salt, which may be NaI or KI (NaI and KI meet the limitation of a halogen salt of Formula 2), with a solvent, which may be isopropanol, and injecting CsPbBr3 and the inorganic salt solution into a reactor to obtain CsPbX3, where X is I or Br (CsPbX3 meets the limitation of second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 3; claim 1).
Du is silent to synthesizing first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1 in which defects are formed, and Du is further silent to cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles to induce nucleation.
Fan discloses synthesizing metal halide perovskite nanocrystals with defect sites and adding a halide of an A-site monovalent cation (claim 1), which may be a halide of cesium (halide of cesium meets the limitation of CX'; middle of pg. 3), to fill the perovskite nanocrystal surface defect sites (filling surface defect sites meets the limitation of attaching to defects; claim 1). Fan further discloses the metal halide nanocrystals are prepared in a simple and easy operation with high yield and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Forming nucleation sites would naturally flow from cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Fan to synthesize first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Formula 1 in which defects are formed, wherein cations of the halogen salt attaching to defects of the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles to induce nucleation, because the preparation method of Fan has simple and easy operation, high yield, and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Du is further silent to the halogen salt being in an ionized state in the solution as well as the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibiting colloidal stability.
However, the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Du are produced by a substantially similar process to that of the claim, as Du discloses preparing CsPbCl3 or CsPbI3 by ion exchange by mixing CsPbBr3 with a solution of NaI or KI in IPA (claim 1), and Applicant also discloses a method of preparing second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, which may be CsPbCl3 or CsPbI3, by anion exchange by adding first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, which may be CsPbBr3, to a solution of a halogen salt, which may be NaI or KI in a polar solvent, which may be IPA (Specification, pg. 4-6). Both the method of the present invention (pg. 4, par. 5) and Du (claim 1) teach anion exchange at room temperature.
Du does not teach a concentration of the halogen salt in the solution is 10 mM to 100 mM.
However, Chen discloses a method of adjusting the light emitting color of CsPbBr3 nanowires (adjusting the light emitting color meets the limitation of exchanging anions) using a Cl-/I- ion solution at a concentration of 0.02 mol/L ("Test Example 2"), which is equivalent to 20 mM, and in the alternative, overlaps the claimed range of 10mM to 100mM of halogen salt in the solution such that the value taught by Chen obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Chen wherein a concentration of the halogen salt is 10 mM to 100 mM, because concentration is a process parameter well-known in the art of exchanging anions of inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, as taught by Chen.
Therefore, because anion exchange of halide perovskites with a halogen salt in solution at a concentration of 10 mM to 100 mM is a process parameter well-known in the art of exchanging anion of halide perovskites, the characteristics of the halogen salt in the solution of Du in view of Chen are substantially similar to that of the claim, and, therefore, the halogen salt would be necessarily present in an ionized state in the solution. Additionally, the characteristics of the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Du in view of Fan and Chen are substantially similar to that of the claim, and, therefore, the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles would necessarily exhibit colloidal stability in the solution.
Regarding Claim 3, Du discloses synthesizing perovskite quantum dots (claim 1), and quantum dots are known to have a particle size of 2-10 nm.
Regarding the particle size in claim 3, it appears that quantum dots taught by Du, having a particle size of 2-10nm, overlaps the claimed range of 10 nm to 20 nm such that the range taught by Du obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 4, Du is silent to synthesizing the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles at 10°C to 30°C.
Fan discloses synthesizing metal halide perovskite nanocrystals at room temperature (middle of pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Fan to synthesize the first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles at 10°C to 30°C, because the room temperature preparation method of Fan has simple and easy operation, high yield, and low cost (middle of pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Du discloses ion exchange of CsPbBr3 (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Du discloses inorganic salt, which may be NaI (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Du does not teach a concentration of halogen salt in a solution of 10mM to 100mM.
Chen discloses a method of adjusting the light emitting color of CsPbBr3 nanowires (adjusting the light emitting color meets the limitation of exchanging anions) using a Cl-/I- ion solution at a concentration of 0.02 mol/L ("Test Example 2").
Regarding the halogen salt concentration in claim 7, it appears that a concentration of 0.02 mol/L Cl-/I- ion solution, which is equivalent to 20 mM, taught by Chen, in the alternative, overlaps the claimed range of 10mM to 100mM of halogen salt in the solution such that the value taught by Chen obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Du to incorporate the teachings of Chen wherein a concentration of the halogen salt is 10 mM to 100 mM, because concentration is a process parameter well-known in the art of exchanging anions of inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claim 9, Du is silent to the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles exhibiting colloidal stability, so that ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in the polar solvent.
However, the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Du are produced by a substantially similar process to that of the claim, as Du discloses preparing CsPbCl3 or CsPbI3 by ion exchange by mixing CsPbBr3 with a solution of NaI or KI in IPA (claim 1), and Applicant also discloses a method of preparing second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, which may be CsPbCl3 or CsPbI3, by anion exchange by adding first inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles, which may be CsPbBr3, to a solution of a halogen salt, which may be NaI or KI in a polar solvent, which may be IPA (Specification, pg. 4-6). Both the method of the present invention (pg. 4, par. 5) and Du (claim 1) teach anion exchange at room temperature.
Du does not teach a concentration of the halogen salt in the solution is 10 mM to 100 mM.
However, Chen discloses a method of adjusting the light emitting color of CsPbBr3 nanowires (adjusting the light emitting color meets the limitation of exchanging anions) using a Cl-/I- ion solution at a concentration of 0.02 mol/L ("Test Example 2"), which is equivalent to 20 mM, and in the alternative, overlaps the claimed range of 10mM to 100mM of halogen salt in the solution such that the value taught by Chen obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Therefore, because anion exchange of halide perovskites with a halogen salt in solution at a concentration of 10 mM to 100 mM is a process parameter well-known in the art of exchanging anion of halide perovskites, the characteristics of the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles of Du in view of Fan and Chen are substantially similar to that of the claim, and, therefore, the second inorganic halide perovskite nanoparticles would necessarily exhibit colloidal stability, so that ligand distribution on surfaces of the nanoparticles is maintained at 60% to 90% in the polar solvent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see "Remarks", pg. 5, par. 4-5, filed 16 July 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Du and Fan or alternatively, Du, Fan, and Chen.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Du fails to disclose or suggest the configuration, in which a halogen salt is ionized in an IPA solvent to impart reactivity, and that IPA is merely a simple dissolution solvent (“Remarks”, pg. 6, par. 9-10).
However, it appears that the reaction conditions in the present invention are substantially similar to the prior art, as both the method of the present invention (pg. 4, par. 5) and Du (claim 1) teach anion exchange at room temperature, and no specific parameters are provided in the specification as to how the halogen salt and IPA are mixed such that the inorganic salt solution of Du meets the limitation of mixing a halogen salt of Formula 2 with IPA, and additionally, there are no specific parameters provided to facilitate dissociation of the halogen salt in IPA, such that the halogen salt in the inorganic salt solution of Du would be necessarily present in an ionized state in the solution. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention (MPEP 2145(II)).
Alternatively, if a concentration of halogen salt in the solution of 10 mM to 100 mM is required for ionization of the halogen salt in IPA, Chen teaches anion exchange of halide perovskites with a concentration of halide ions overlapping that of the claim such that it would have been obvious to provide a concentration in the claimed range, and therefore, the halogen salt would be necessarily present in an ionized state in the solution (see the rejection of claim 1 in view of Du, Fan, and Chen).
Applicant argues Du fails to disclose the structural mechanism, in which a nucleation reaction is induced by attachment of a cation of a halogen salt to a defective site of a nanoparticle, and the precise control reaction mechanism based on ionization conditions of the claimed invention (“Remarks”, pg. 6, par. 9-10).
However, Fan was relied upon to teach the attachment of a cation of a halogen salt to a defective site of a nanoparticle. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues Du fails to disclose a directional control technique through comparison of binding energies of AB-X'3 and C-X' ("Remarks", pg. 6, par. 9).
However, Du teaches the anion exchange of X for X’ (claim 1), and therefore, the bond between AB-X’3 is necessarily stronger than the bond between C-X’. Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a directional control technique through comparison of binding energies of AB-X'3 and C-X') are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
/S.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735