Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) in views of Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) and Parks et al (2015/0186305).
For claim 1, Zhu teaches A system (fig.20) (abstract) comprising: sensors (sensor devices 2011 as shown in fig.20 sensors, or “things” capable of capturing and/or recording data associated with an event, and capable of communicating such data with one or more other devices over a network with little or no user intervention) (par.576, lines 1-10); a first data storage element (2036a as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12); a second data storage element (either 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12); a first processor and a first memory (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036 as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers) having code or instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to collect first sensor data, and store the first sensor data on the first data storage element (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12, sensors, par.617); a second processor and a second memory (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036b or 2036c which can be the second processor and second memory, as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers) having stored thereon code or instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the second processor to collect and process second sensor data (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12), periodically retrieve the first sensor data from the first data storage element by reviewing the first data storage element (element 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 can obtain sensor data from other storage 2036 in periodic basis, therefore, each processing devices 2036 can obtain multiple sensor devices data and also can exchange the sensor data with other processing devices 2036 in par.585, lines 1-4 and par.586, lines 1-5).
Zhu fails to teach, selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data, encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element in individually accessible data lockers arranged according to a time period when the sensor data was collected or generated, or data type, and wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Bak teaches, similar data, selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data (Bak teaches that identify one or more portions of cache data stored in the first memory that are to be copied to the second memory, and each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage as Bak teaches in par.7, 24 and 27), encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data (Bak teaches that the portion of cache data is encrypt to generate an encrypt portion of cache data, and the encrypt portion of cache data is copied to the second memory as Bak teaches in par.7, 27, 38 and 40) and store the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element in individually accessible storage modules (individual file modules) (Bak teaches of each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage, that each represent functions that the tiered memory manager for providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest which means that by arranging items, data, or people into specific levels, layers, or hierarchical, ordered ranks as Bak teaches in par.7, 23, 34). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element as taught and suggested by Bak for purpose of providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest when copied from the volatile byte-addressable memory in a manner that meets cryptographic requirements for that data, while utilizing performant hardware-based cryptographic capabilities (Bak, par.29). Zhu, as modified by Bak, do not explicitly teach store the encrypted sensor data in individually accessible data lockers arranged according to a time period and wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Ramanathan teaches, similar data system, store the encrypted sensor data in individually accessible data lockers arranged according to a time period (Ramanathan teaches the customer centric grid can provide secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider, each subset of such customer data is referred to as a locker, the customer data can be stored in the locker for a limited period of time, corresponding to a policy for the data and each item of customer data can be stored in a separate secure area, referred herein as a micro locker, and customer data in each information locker can comprise customer data in a plurality of micro lockers as Ramanathan teaches col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak, to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Ramanathan for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7). Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan, do not explicitly teach wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Parks teaches, similar system, wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor (abstract) (Parks teaches that One processor may operate in a higher power mode than another and may power or control a peripheral device as Parks teaches in par.6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan, to include the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor as taught and suggested by Parks for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 7, Zhu in view of Bak, Ramanathan and Parks further teach the system of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein symbolic links to files stored in the storage are maintained to provide a catalog of available files to subcomponents of the system (par.641 and par.702).
Zhu fails to teach data lockers.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 8, Zhu in view of Bak, Ramanathan and Parks further teach the system of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein the symbolic links are maintained in a flash storage of a device accessing the storage (par.711).
Zhu fails to teach data lockers.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 9, Zhu teaches a method to be implemented on a system having sensors (sensors devices 2011 as shown in fig.20 sensors, or “things” capable of capturing and/or recording data associated with an event, and capable of communicating such data with one or more other devices over a network with little or no user intervention) (par.576, lines 1-10), a first data storage element (2036a as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12), a second data storage element (either 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12), a first processor and a second processor (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036 as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers), the method comprising: collecting, by the first processor, first sensor data (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12); storing, by the first processor, the first sensor data on the first data storage element (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12); collecting and processing, by the second processor, second sensor data (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036b or 2036c which can be the second processor and second memory, as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers); periodically retrieving, by the second processor, the first sensor data from the first data storage element, comprising reviewing the first data storage element (element 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 can obtain sensor data from other storage 2036 in periodic basis, therefore, each processing devices 2036 can obtain multiple sensor devices data and also can exchange the sensor data with other processing devices 2036 in par.585, lines 1-4 and par.586, lines 1-5).
Zhu fails to teach selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data, encrypting, by the second processor, the copied first sensor data and the second sensor data; and, storing, by the second processor, the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element in individually accessible data lockers arranged according to a time period when the sensor data was collected or generated, or data type, and wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor
Bak teaches, similar data, selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data (Bak teaches that identify one or more portions of cache data stored in the first memory that are to be copied to the second memory, and each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage as Bak teaches in par.7, 24 and 27), encrypting, by the second processor, the copied first data and the second sensor data (Bak teaches that the portion of cache data is encrypt to generate an encrypt portion of cache data, and the encrypt portion of cache data is copied to the second memory as Bak teaches in par.7, 27, 38 and 40) and storing, by the second processor, the encrypted data in the second data storage element in individually accessible (individual file modules) (Bak teaches of each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage, that each represent functions that the tiered memory manager for providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest which means that by arranging items, data, or people into specific levels, layers, or hierarchical, ordered ranks as Bak teaches in par.7, 23, 34). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element as taught and suggested by Bak for purpose of providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest when copied from the volatile byte-addressable memory in a manner that meets cryptographic requirements for that data, while utilizing performant hardware-based cryptographic capabilities (Bak, par.29). Zhu, as modified by Bak, do not explicitly teach data lockers, and wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak, to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Ramanathan for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7). Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan, do not explicitly teach wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Parks teaches, similar system, wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor (abstract) (Parks teaches that One processor may operate in a higher power mode than another and may power or control a peripheral device as Parks teaches in par.6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan, to include the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor as taught and suggested by Parks for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 15, Zhu in view of Bak, Ramanathan and Parks further teach the method of claim 9. Zhu further teaches wherein symbolic links to files stored in the storage modules are maintained to provide a catalog of available files to subcomponents of the system (par.641 and par.702).
Zhu fails to teach data lockers.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 16, Zhu in view of Bak, Ramanathan and Parks further teach the method of claim 9. Zhu further teaches wherein the symbolic links are maintained in a flash storage of a device accessing the storage modules (par.711).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) in views of, Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) and Parks et al (2015/0186305) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Simmons et al (2017/0083713).
For claims 2 and 10, Zhu, as modified by Bak, Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the first processor is further caused to retrieve encrypted sensor data from one or more of the data lockers of the second data storage element in response to, and for transmission to, an interrogation device.
Simmons teaches wherein the first processor is further caused to retrieve encrypted sensor data from selected modules of the second data storage element in response to, and for transmission to, an interrogation device (Storage device 200 includes a processor 202, which controls the overall operation of storage device receives the encrypted data and messages and sends the encrypted data and messages via either Internet)(par.64, lines 1-7, par.65, lines 1-6, par.67, lines1-5 and par.78). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include retrieve encrypted sensor data from selected storage modules t as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of sending the encrypted data to a backup server for storage without jeopardizing the security of the data and helping improve privacy and security associated with data storage (Simmons, par.21).
Zhu fails to teach data lockers.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claims 3 and 11, Zhu in view of Bak, Ramanathan and Parks further teach the system of claim 1. Zhu further teaches wherein the second processor is further caused to trigger transmission of sensor data from the second data storage element to a satellite (the second processor 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links which satellite signal) (par.584, lines 1-20). However, Zhu fails to teach transmission encrypted sensor data.
Simmons further teaches transmission encrypted sensor data (abstract). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include transmission encrypted sensor data as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of sending the encrypted data to a backup server for storage without jeopardizing the security of the data and helping improve privacy and security associated with data storage (Simmons, par.21).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) in views of Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) and Parks et al (2015/0186305) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Talaalout et al (2016/0320503).
For claims 4 and 12, Zhu, as modified by Bak, Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the system is incorporated on a float device.
Talaalout teaches, similar data system, wherein the system is incorporated on a float device (par.86). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak, Ramanathan and Parks, to include float device as taught and suggested by Talaalout for purpose of collecting seismic data with improved coupling between the seismic sensor and ground. As noted above, the ground can be above or below water (Talaalout, par.86).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) in views of Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) and Parks et al (2015/0186305) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Shelton (2019/0125459).
For claims 5 and 13, Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the data lockers are deleted when determined to be no longer relevant based on information associated with the storage module.
Shelton teaches, similar data system, wherein the storage modules are deleted when determined to be no longer relevant based on information associated with the storage module (par.912, lines 10-15 and par.1961, lines 3-8). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan and Parks to include the storage modules are deleted when determined to be no longer relevant as taught and suggested by Shelton for purpose of ensuring the data cannot be recovered and to maintain patient anonymity (Shelton, par.912, lines 10-15).
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Bak for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claims 6 and 14, Zhu, as modified by Bak and Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the information associated with the data locker is acquisition date.
Shelton further teaches, similar data system, wherein the information associated with the storage module is acquisition date (par.1484, lines 2-6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include with the storage module is acquisition date as taught and suggested by Shelton for purpose of showing how the data is analyzed by the cloud system to provide a comparison between multiple facilities to compare use of resources and to determine best outcomes based on any and all of these variables, or even one or more combinations of them (Shelton, par.1484, lines 1-2).
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) Talaalout et al (2016/0320503) in view of Bak et al (2023/0409490), and Ramanathan et al (10735406).
For claim 17, Zhu teaches the apparatus having sensors positioned thereon to gather sensor data, the float apparatus (par.576) (abstract) comprising: sensors (sensor devices 2011 as shown in fig.20 sensors, or “things” capable of capturing and/or recording data associated with an event, and capable of communicating such data with one or more other devices over a network with little or no user intervention) (par.576, lines 1-10); an inertial measurement unit (par.584); a first data storage element (2036a as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12); a second data storage element (either 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 is computing system that provides compute, storage, and network resources to edge computing applications)(par.601,lines 1-12); a first processor and a first memory (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036 as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers) having code or instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to collect first sensor data, and store the first sensor data on the first data storage element (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12, sensors, par.617); a second processor and a second memory (in par.603, Zhu teaches that each of the 2036b or 2036c which can be the second processor and second memory, as shown in fig.20 includes processor and memory storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers) having stored thereon code or instructions that, when executed by the second processor, cause the second processor to collect and process second sensor data by selectively using the inertial measurement unit (each of element 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links and the measurements collected by the UEs 2021, 2011 and/or included in the measurement reports) (par.576, lines 5-14, par.585, lines 1-3, par.586, lines 1-5; and, par.603, lines 1-12), periodically retrieve the first sensor data from the first data storage element by reviewing the first data storage element (element 2036b or 2036c as shown in fig.20 can obtain sensor data from other storage 2036 in periodic basis, therefore, each processing devices 2036 can obtain multiple sensor devices data and also can exchange the sensor data with other processing devices 2036 in par.585, lines 1-4 and par.586, lines 1-5).
Zhu fails to teach float apparatus sufficiently buoyant to float on the surface of a body of water, selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data, encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the lockers arranged according to a time period when the sensor data was collected or generated, or data type.
Talaalout teaches, similar data system, float apparatus sufficiently buoyant to float on the surface of a body of water (par.86). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include float device as taught and suggested by Talaalout for purpose of collecting seismic data with improved coupling between the seismic sensor and ground. As noted above, the ground can be above or below water (Talaalout, par.86). Zhu, as modified by Talaalout, do not explicitly teach selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data, encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the lockers arranged according to a time period when the sensor data was collected or generated, or data type.
Bak teaches, similar data, selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data (Bak teaches that identify one or more portions of cache data stored in the first memory that are to be copied to the second memory, and each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage as Bak teaches in par.7, 24 and 27), encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data (Bak teaches that the portion of cache data is encrypt to generate an encrypt portion of cache data, and the encrypt portion of cache data is copied to the second memory as Bak teaches in par.7, 27, 38 and 40) and store the data (individual file modules) (Bak teaches of each portion of cache data is associated with a corresponding set of cryptographic requirements for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage, that each represent functions that the tiered memory manager for providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest which means that by arranging items, data, or people into specific levels, layers, or hierarchical, ordered ranks as Bak teaches in par.7, 23, 34). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data, and store the encrypted sensor data in the second data storage element as taught and suggested by Bak for purpose of providing a technical effect of ensuring that data is protected at rest when copied from the volatile byte-addressable memory in a manner that meets cryptographic requirements for that data, while utilizing performant hardware-based cryptographic capabilities (Bak, par.29). Zhu, as modified by Talaalout and Bak, do not explicitly teach store the lockers arranged according to a time period.
Ramanathan teaches, similar data system, store the lockers arranged according to a time period (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Bak, to include the lockers as taught and suggested by Ramanathan for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) Talaalout et al (2016/0320503) in view of Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Simmons et al (2017/0083713).
For claim 18, Zhu, as modified by, Bak and Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for teach wherein the first processor is further caused to retrieve encrypted sensor data from one or more data lockers of the second data storage element in response to, and for transmission to, an interrogation device.
Simmons further teaches wherein the first processor is further caused to retrieve encrypted sensor data from one or more modules of the second data storage element in response to, and for transmission to, an interrogation device (Storage device 200 includes a processor 202, which controls the overall operation of storage device receives the encrypted data and messages and sends the encrypted data and messages via either Internet)(par.64, lines 1-7, par.65, lines 1-6, par.67, lines1-5 and par.78). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include retrieve encrypted sensor data from selected storage modules t as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of sending the encrypted data to a backup server for storage without jeopardizing the security of the data and helping improve privacy and security associated with data storage (Simmons, par.21).
Zhu fails to teach data lockers.
Ramanathan further teaches data lockers (col.3, lines 65-68 to col.4, lines 1-10 and col.8, lines 55-68). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include data lockers as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
For claim 19, Zhu, as modified by, Bak and Ramanathan and Parks, teaches all the limitations, Zhu further teaches wherein the second processor is further caused to trigger transmission of sensor data from the second data storage element to a satellite (the second processor 2036 which communicates with sensor devices 2011 and collect sensor data from the sensor devices thru the communication links which satellite signal) (par.584, lines 1-20). However, Zhu fails to teach transmission encrypted sensor data.
Simmons further teaches transmission encrypted sensor data (abstract). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu to include transmission encrypted sensor data as taught and suggested by Simmons for purpose of sending the encrypted data to a backup server for storage without jeopardizing the security of the data and helping improve privacy and security associated with data storage (Simmons, par.21).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (2021/0409335) Talaalout et al (2016/0320503) in view of Bak et al (2023/0409490), Ramanathan et al (10735406) and as applied to claims above, and further in view of Parks et al (2015/0186305).
Zhu, as modified by Bak, Ramanathan and Talaalout, teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor.
Parks teaches, similar system, wherein the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor (abstract) (Parks teaches that One processor may operate in a higher power mode than another and may power or control a peripheral device as Parks teaches in par.6). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Zhu, as modified by Simmons, Ramanathan and Talaalout, to include the second processor is a higher power processor than the first processor as taught and suggested by Parks for purpose of providing secure areas for storing a subset of customer data that can be transmitted to a service provider and providing who can access the customer data in the locker, for how long and what can be done with the customer data (Ramanathan, col.4, lines 5-7).
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant’s arguments regarding new amendment limitations “selecting at least a portion of the first sensor data and copying the selected first sensor data, encrypt the copied first sensor data with the second sensor data” in claims 1, 9 and 17, has been considered but is moot, because the examiner applied new art, Bak et al (2023/0409490), that covers newly amendment limitation.
Regarding dependent claims arguments, said arguments are moot because the applied references are not considered to have alleged differences, and therefore are considered to properly show that for which they were cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYUB A MAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 /AMIE C. LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436