Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
3. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed September 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of the necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POST, J.R. et al.(US 2020/0296317 A1)(hereinafter Post) in view of Niebres et al.(US 2019/0208281 A1)(hereinafter Niebres) in further view of Ojala (US 2020/0007921 A1)(hereinafter Ojala).
Regarding claim 1, Post discloses a method [See Post: at least Figs. 3A-15D and par. 7-8 regarding method for presenting media content] comprising:
encoding, using control circuitry, media content item having a partitioning structure [See Post: at least Figs. 5-8, par. 32-40, 90-98 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user. Encoder 530 can be implemented using one or more processors, which in some cases may be located on a server remote to the presentation device, or which may be implemented across a distributed computing system. In some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes on an entire asset in advance of that asset's presentation to the user; in some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes in real-time, while the asset is being presented to the user (as in live television). In such examples, an asset may be divided into individual units (e.g., groups of frames or samples), with encoding performed separately on each unit…Depending on which encoding processes are used, encoder 530 can output one or more streams 540 of encoded data. For example, data streams 540 can include a first encoded data stream 542, a second encoded data stream 544, and a third encoded data stream 546 (and potentially other data streams). A data stream may correspond to any suitable combination of video data, audio data, or data associated with any other suitable type of asset (e.g., haptic data)…].
Post does not explicitly disclose wherein the encoding process comprises: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item; identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item.
However, receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item and identifying a region interest included in a plurality of frames of the media content to be encoded in different formats was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Niebres [See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15, 22-29, 37, 76-78, 93-97, 103-118 regarding receiving content such as an image configured for display by a user device… when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information…A full image 300 or scene of a video may be originally captured with a portrait orientation, as shown in FIG. 3. However, an important portion of the full image 300, such as a focus of the scene or a portion of the scene associated with audio content for the scene, may be only a portion of the over all image area. As such, boundary parameters may be associated with the image for particular devices. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. It is understood that any orientation or device parameters may be used to control the display of at least a portion of the full image 300…The video streaming device may determine metadata based on the attributes associated with the recipient device, crop the video based on the boundary parameters in the metadata, and transmit (e.g., stream) the cropped video to the recipient device. The metadata may be determined based on the request.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Post with Niebres teachings by including “wherein the encoding process comprises: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item; identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item” because this combination has the benefit of providing improvements to the processing of images to be media content to be transmitted for better overall user experience [See Niebres: at least par. 1-4].
Post and Niebres do not explicitly disclose wherein the encoding process comprises: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, of at least one topic of interest; and based at least in part on the at least one topic of interest, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item.
However, identifying a region of interest of the media content based in part on a user preference, interest, theme or topic of interest was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Ojala[See Ojala: at least Figs. 3-15 and par. 53-56, 71-74, 81-94 regarding Content for presentation is extracted from the received stream in box 305, and high definition TV content is sent to a large screen in box 306. Additional content for connected devices is created, such as by extracting a zoomed region of interest, in box 307, to form an additional multi-device presentation. The additional content may then be streamed to a connected device in box 308. The connected device then forms the additional presentation in box 309 and displays it in box 310. Based on user control, more content may be created by the connected device and communicated back to a smart TV receiver device in box 311… As shown in FIG. 5 as solid black circles, there may be more than one traced object (502a and 502b) available for selection. In such a case, the local context of a smart TV and user context information received from a connected device may be applied to determine which traced object (502a or 502b) to use for additional content creation… ] One embodiment of a method tailors selection of available content streams for a plurality of connected devices based on user context and audience preferences… User context information can be used to determine user preferences for audio-visual content. For example, language selection, user profiles, contact information, installed applications, and location data may be used to determine a users preferences. A recommendation engine may use only certain camera view angles (which are sent by the AV content creator) and may control a presentation creation engine in box 1107, accordingly. A recommendation engine may apply user information such as: contact information and activity to interact with contacts, e.g., to determine similarities or connections with content; mobile application usage, e.g., to determine interests and hobbies; and sensor information to determine local context. A recommendation engine may limit the number of available options for extracting additional media streams from a streamed bundle, based upon the user information indicating preferences for viewing from certain camera angles or certain traced objects (such as players from certain sports teams. In addition, a recommendation engine may determine content features and context, and metadata may be used to determine a content type. For one embodiment, content may be analyzed continually to match optional regions of interest or to combine additional content with user preferences (or bias). For one embodiment, a recommendation engine creates a user profile for current and future tailoring of and recommendations of video stream option sets and determines a most likely viewpoint for features found in a stream…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Post and Niebres with Ojala teachings by including “wherein the encoding process comprises: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, of at least one topic of interest; and based at least in part on the at least one topic of interest, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item” because this combination has the benefit of improving the user experience for personalized viewing experiences targeted to individual personal devices[See Ojala: at least par. 5-7 and 29].
Further on, when combined with Ojala, Post and Niebres teach or suggest generating an encoded media item having a partitioning structure comprising: multiple partitioned areas configured to, when decoded, generate display of the media content item in a first format [See Post: at least Figs. 5-15D, par. 28-33, 35, 39-43, 45 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user. For example, media player application 560 can present the video assets to the user via a display 572 of device 550; and can concurrently present audio assets to the user via speaker 574 of device 550…In the example shown in FIG. 6B, data streams 540 can comprise two separate streams: a first stream 612 comprising a first video asset (e.g., a video asset in a portrait orientation) and a corresponding first audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a portrait orientation); and a second stream 614 comprising a second video asset (e.g., a video asset in a landscape orientation) and a corresponding second audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a landscape orientation)…. (Here a partitioned area of the encoded media content corresponds to video in portrait orientation or in a landscape orientation (each one of the orientations may correspond to a first format)) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 22-29, 37, 76-78, 93-97, 103-118 regarding when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information…A full image 300 or scene of a video may be originally captured with a portrait orientation, as shown in FIG. 3. However, an important portion of the full image 300, such as a focus of the scene or a portion of the scene associated with audio content for the scene, may be only a portion of the over all image area. As such, boundary parameters may be associated with the image for particular devices. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device encoding parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. It is understood that any orientation or device parameters may be used to control the display of at least a portion of the full image 300…The video streaming device may determine metadata based on the attributes associated with the recipient device, crop the video based on the boundary parameters in the metadata, and transmit (e.g., stream) the cropped video to the recipient device. The metadata may be determined based on the request. See Ojala: at least par. 41, 57, 91, 94 regarding encoding a sub-region. ]; and
a partition boundary defining one of the partitioned areas configured to, when decoded, generate display of the media content item in a second format[See Post: at least Figs. 5-15D, par. 28-33, 35, 39-43, 45-55 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user. For example, media player application 560 can present the video assets to the user via a display 572 of device 550; and can concurrently present audio assets to the user via speaker 574 of device 550…In the example shown in FIG. 6B, data streams 540 can comprise two separate streams: a first stream 612 comprising a first video asset (e.g., a video asset in a portrait orientation) and a corresponding first audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a portrait orientation); and a second stream 614 comprising a second video asset (e.g., a video asset in a landscape orientation) and a corresponding second audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a landscape orientation)…. in example data stream 710 in FIG. 7A, landscape orientation video asset 714 can be rotated 90 degrees to share a boundary (i.e., w2 and h1) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 712. And in example data stream 720 in FIG. 7B, a resolution of landscape orientation video asset 724 can be reduced with respect to portrait orientation video asset 722 such that landscape orientation video asset 724 shares a boundary (i.e., w1 and w2) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 722… Also refer to Figs. 7A, 7B, 7C, 7E and 7F… (Thus, there is a partition boundary to define portrait orientation from a landscape orientation (each one of the orientations may correspond to a first format or a second format) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding Boundary parameters may comprise information relating to a portion of an image in a video. For example, the boundary parameters may indicate a two dimensional area that is equal to or less than the full image. The boundary parameters may comprise coordinates or vertices of the two dimensional area. As a further example, the boundary parameters may relate to an image of the video associated with a particular timecode. If the orientation comprises a plurality of orientations, the boundary parameters may comprise a plurality of boundary parameters corresponding to the plurality of orientations. For example, if the orientation comprises a range of orientations representing a transition in perspectives, the boundary parameters may comprise a specific boundary parameter for each angle of orientation within the range of orientations. Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images…See Ojala: at least Figs. 8-9 and par. 65, 70 regarding Video content 802 is the displayed portion of the received primary video stream, and is determined, in part, by cropping and zoom settings of the host display…In general, a region of interest may be selected by a smart TV and displayed on a connected device. User device 102 may receive a stream and render the content on the screen as shown in FIG. 9. A zoomed view of a traced target may be synchronized and streamed to a connected tablet or device. As a result, a user may be able to follow a game in detail with a user device, while a TV presentation may show the overall tactics of both teams. For some embodiments, the user may be able to switch preferences during presentation of a game. For example, an event or play may be replayed from different viewpoints.], wherein the partition boundary within each respective frame encloses the region of interest[See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding As such, when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information… Boundary parameters may comprise information relating to a portion of an image in a video. For example, the boundary parameters may indicate a two dimensional area that is equal to or less than the full image. The boundary parameters may comprise coordinates or vertices of the two dimensional area. As a further example, the boundary parameters may relate to an image of the video associated with a particular timecode. If the orientation comprises a plurality of orientations, the boundary parameters may comprise a plurality of boundary parameters corresponding to the plurality of orientations. For example, if the orientation comprises a range of orientations representing a transition in perspectives, the boundary parameters may comprise a specific boundary parameter for each angle of orientation within the range of orientations. Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images…See Ojala: at least Figs. 8-9 and par. 65, 70 regarding Video content 802 is the displayed portion of the received primary video stream, and is determined, in part, by cropping and zoom settings of the host display…In general, a region of interest may be selected by a smart TV and displayed on a connected device. User device 102 may receive a stream and render the content on the screen as shown in FIG. 9. A zoomed view of a traced target may be synchronized and streamed to a connected tablet or device. As a result, a user may be able to follow a game in detail with a user device, while a TV presentation may show the overall tactics of both teams. For some embodiments, the user may be able to switch preferences during presentation of a game. For example, an event or play may be replayed from different viewpoints].
Regarding claim 11, Post discloses a system [See Post: at least Figs. 3A-15D and par. 7-8 regarding system for presenting media content] comprising control circuitry[See Post: at least Figs. 5 and 8, par. 36, 90-98 regarding computer 800 (which may comprise a mobile device) capable of implementing the disclosed examples with control circuitry and encoder 530 can be implemented using one or more processors, which in some cases may be located on a server remote to the presentation device, or which may be implemented across a distributed computing system…] configured to:
encode a media content item having a partitioning structure [See Post: at least Figs. 5-8, par. 32-40, 90-98 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user. Encoder 530 can be implemented using one or more processors, which in some cases may be located on a server remote to the presentation device, or which may be implemented across a distributed computing system. In some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes on an entire asset in advance of that asset's presentation to the user; in some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes in real-time, while the asset is being presented to the user (as in live television). In such examples, an asset may be divided into individual units (e.g., groups of frames or samples), with encoding performed separately on each unit…Depending on which encoding processes are used, encoder 530 can output one or more streams 540 of encoded data. For example, data streams 540 can include a first encoded data stream 542, a second encoded data stream 544, and a third encoded data stream 546 (and potentially other data streams). A data stream may correspond to any suitable combination of video data, audio data, or data associated with any other suitable type of asset (e.g., haptic data)…].
Post does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to encode the media content item by: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item.
However, receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item and identifying a region interest included in a plurality of frames of the media content to be encoded in different formats was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Niebres [See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15, 22-29, 37, 76-78, 93-97, 103-118 regarding receiving content such as an image configured for display by a user device… when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information…A full image 300 or scene of a video may be originally captured with a portrait orientation, as shown in FIG. 3. However, an important portion of the full image 300, such as a focus of the scene or a portion of the scene associated with audio content for the scene, may be only a portion of the over all image area. As such, boundary parameters may be associated with the image for particular devices. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. It is understood that any orientation or device parameters may be used to control the display of at least a portion of the full image 300…The video streaming device may determine metadata based on the attributes associated with the recipient device, crop the video based on the boundary parameters in the metadata, and transmit (e.g., stream) the cropped video to the recipient device. The metadata may be determined based on the request.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Post with Niebres teachings by including “wherein the control circuitry is configured to encode the media content item by: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item” because this combination has the benefit of providing improvements to the processing of images to be media content to be transmitted for better overall user experience [See Niebres: at least par. 1-4].
Post and Niebres do not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to encode the media content item by: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, of at least one topic of interest; and based at least in part on the at least one topic of interest, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item.
However, identifying a region of interest of the media content based in part on a user preference, interest, theme or topic of interest was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Ojala[See Ojala: at least Figs. 3-15 and par. 53-56, 71-74, 81-94 regarding Content for presentation is extracted from the received stream in box 305, and high definition TV content is sent to a large screen in box 306. Additional content for connected devices is created, such as by extracting a zoomed region of interest, in box 307, to form an additional multi-device presentation. The additional content may then be streamed to a connected device in box 308. The connected device then forms the additional presentation in box 309 and displays it in box 310. Based on user control, more content may be created by the connected device and communicated back to a smart TV receiver device in box 311… As shown in FIG. 5 as solid black circles, there may be more than one traced object (502a and 502b) available for selection. In such a case, the local context of a smart TV and user context information received from a connected device may be applied to determine which traced object (502a or 502b) to use for additional content creation… ] One embodiment of a method tailors selection of available content streams for a plurality of connected devices based on user context and audience preferences… User context information can be used to determine user preferences for audio-visual content. For example, language selection, user profiles, contact information, installed applications, and location data may be used to determine a users preferences. A recommendation engine may use only certain camera view angles (which are sent by the AV content creator) and may control a presentation creation engine in box 1107, accordingly. A recommendation engine may apply user information such as: contact information and activity to interact with contacts, e.g., to determine similarities or connections with content; mobile application usage, e.g., to determine interests and hobbies; and sensor information to determine local context. A recommendation engine may limit the number of available options for extracting additional media streams from a streamed bundle, based upon the user information indicating preferences for viewing from certain camera angles or certain traced objects (such as players from certain sports teams. In addition, a recommendation engine may determine content features and context, and metadata may be used to determine a content type. For one embodiment, content may be analyzed continually to match optional regions of interest or to combine additional content with user preferences (or bias). For one embodiment, a recommendation engine creates a user profile for current and future tailoring of and recommendations of video stream option sets and determines a most likely viewpoint for features found in a stream…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Post and Niebres with Ojala teachings by including “wherein the control circuitry is configured to encode the media content item by: receiving a user selection, from a user device configured to access the media content item, of at least one topic of interest; and based at least in part on the at least one topic of interest, identifying a region of interest presented among a plurality of frames of the media content item” because this combination has the benefit of improving the user experience for personalized viewing experiences targeted to individual personal devices[See Ojala: at least par. 5-7 and 29].
Further on, when combined with Ojala, Post and Niebres teach or suggest generating an encoded media item having a partitioning structure comprising: multiple partitioned areas configured to, when decoded, generate display of the media content item in a first format[See Post: at least Figs. 5-15D, par. 28-33, 35, 39-43, 45 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user. For example, media player application 560 can present the video assets to the user via a display 572 of device 550; and can concurrently present audio assets to the user via speaker 574 of device 550…In the example shown in FIG. 6B, data streams 540 can comprise two separate streams: a first stream 612 comprising a first video asset (e.g., a video asset in a portrait orientation) and a corresponding first audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a portrait orientation); and a second stream 614 comprising a second video asset (e.g., a video asset in a landscape orientation) and a corresponding second audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a landscape orientation)…. (Here a partitioned area of the encoded media content corresponds to video in portrait orientation or in landscape orientation (each one of the orientations may correspond to a first format or a second format)) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 22-29, 37, 76-78, 93-97, 103-118 regarding when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information…A full image 300 or scene of a video may be originally captured with a portrait orientation, as shown in FIG. 3. However, an important portion of the full image 300, such as a focus of the scene or a portion of the scene associated with audio content for the scene, may be only a portion of the over all image area. As such, boundary parameters may be associated with the image for particular devices. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. As a further example, boundary parameters may define a first image 400 intended for a device having particular device parameters and a second image 500 intended for a device having other device parameters. As shown in FIG. 3, the boundary parameters are established for landscape orientation of the display device. It is understood that any orientation or device parameters may be used to control the display of at least a portion of the full image 300…The video streaming device may determine metadata based on the attributes associated with the recipient device, crop the video based on the boundary parameters in the metadata, and transmit (e.g., stream) the cropped video to the recipient device. The metadata may be determined based on the request. See Ojala: at least par. 41, 57, 91, 94 regarding encoding a sub-region.]; and
a partition boundary defining one of the partitioned areas configured to, when decoded, generate display of the media content item in a second format[See Post: at least Figs. 5-15D, par. 28-33, 35, 39-43, 45-55 regarding With respect to FIG. 5, stage 530 represents an encoder, which comprises or executes one or more encoding processes that can encode the data of one or more assets, such that the encoded data can be presented to a device or a process (e.g., a software application) that can decode the encoded data and present it to a user... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user. For example, media player application 560 can present the video assets to the user via a display 572 of device 550; and can concurrently present audio assets to the user via speaker 574 of device 550…In the example shown in FIG. 6B, data streams 540 can comprise two separate streams: a first stream 612 comprising a first video asset (e.g., a video asset in a portrait orientation) and a corresponding first audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a portrait orientation); and a second stream 614 comprising a second video asset (e.g., a video asset in a landscape orientation) and a corresponding second audio asset (e.g., an audio asset for playback on a device in a landscape orientation)…. in example data stream 710 in FIG. 7A, landscape orientation video asset 714 can be rotated 90 degrees to share a boundary (i.e., w2 and h1) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 712. And in example data stream 720 in FIG. 7B, a resolution of landscape orientation video asset 724 can be reduced with respect to portrait orientation video asset 722 such that landscape orientation video asset 724 shares a boundary (i.e., w1 and w2) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 722… Also refer to Figs. 7A, 7B, 7C, 7E and 7F… (Thus, there is a partition boundary to define portrait orientation from a landscape orientation (each one of the orientations may correspond to a first format or a second format)) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding Boundary parameters may comprise information relating to a portion of an image in a video. For example, the boundary parameters may indicate a two dimensional area that is equal to or less than the full image. The boundary parameters may comprise coordinates or vertices of the two dimensional area. As a further example, the boundary parameters may relate to an image of the video associated with a particular timecode. If the orientation comprises a plurality of orientations, the boundary parameters may comprise a plurality of boundary parameters corresponding to the plurality of orientations. For example, if the orientation comprises a range of orientations representing a transition in perspectives, the boundary parameters may comprise a specific boundary parameter for each angle of orientation within the range of orientations. Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images… See Ojala: at least Figs. 8-9 and par. 65, 70 regarding Video content 802 is the displayed portion of the received primary video stream, and is determined, in part, by cropping and zoom settings of the host display…In general, a region of interest may be selected by a smart TV and displayed on a connected device. User device 102 may receive a stream and render the content on the screen as shown in FIG. 9. A zoomed view of a traced target may be synchronized and streamed to a connected tablet or device. As a result, a user may be able to follow a game in detail with a user device, while a TV presentation may show the overall tactics of both teams. For some embodiments, the user may be able to switch preferences during presentation of a game. For example, an event or play may be replayed from different viewpoints.], wherein the partition boundary within each respective frame encloses the region of interest[See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding As such, when the display device is rotated through the angular steps, the mapped display information may be determined and applied to the corresponding angle of the display device. Such application of the display information may result in pan, tilt, or zoom, to specified bounded regions of the available content. Image processing may be used to translate between the stepped application of the display information… Boundary parameters may comprise information relating to a portion of an image in a video. For example, the boundary parameters may indicate a two dimensional area that is equal to or less than the full image. The boundary parameters may comprise coordinates or vertices of the two dimensional area. As a further example, the boundary parameters may relate to an image of the video associated with a particular timecode. If the orientation comprises a plurality of orientations, the boundary parameters may comprise a plurality of boundary parameters corresponding to the plurality of orientations. For example, if the orientation comprises a range of orientations representing a transition in perspectives, the boundary parameters may comprise a specific boundary parameter for each angle of orientation within the range of orientations. Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images… See Ojala: at least Figs. 8-9 and par. 65, 70 regarding Video content 802 is the displayed portion of the received primary video stream, and is determined, in part, by cropping and zoom settings of the host display…In general, a region of interest may be selected by a smart TV and displayed on a connected device. User device 102 may receive a stream and render the content on the screen as shown in FIG. 9. A zoomed view of a traced target may be synchronized and streamed to a connected tablet or device. As a result, a user may be able to follow a game in detail with a user device, while a TV presentation may show the overall tactics of both teams. For some embodiments, the user may be able to switch preferences during presentation of a game. For example, an event or play may be replayed from different viewpoints.].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Post, Niebres and Ojala teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, when combined with Ojala, Post and Niebres teach wherein the position of the partition boundary is time-varying[See Post: at least Figs. 5-15D, par. 28-33, 35, 36, 39-43, 45-55 regarding in some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes in real-time, while the asset is being presented to the user (as in live television). In such examples, an asset may be divided into individual units (e.g., groups of frames or samples), with encoding performed separately on each unit.... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user… In some examples, encoding multiple video assets may comprise composing a video from respective time-matched frames of two or more input video assets…The examples shown in FIGS. 7A-7F can include composed videos, such as described above, where the composed videos comprise time-matched frames from two or more video assets; the frames are scaled and positioned in the composed video, which is encoded by encoder 530…in example data stream 710 in FIG. 7A, landscape orientation video asset 714 can be rotated 90 degrees to share a boundary (i.e., w2 and h1) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 712. And in example data stream 720 in FIG. 7B, a resolution of landscape orientation video asset 724 can be reduced with respect to portrait orientation video asset 722 such that landscape orientation video asset 724 shares a boundary (i.e., w1 and w2) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 722…(Thus, the position of the common boundary between the portrait format and the landscape format video changes with time) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images…].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Post, Niebres and Ojala teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, when combined with Ojala, Post and Niebres teach wherein the aspect ratio of the partition boundary is time-varying [See Post: at least Figs. 2-3B, 5-15D, par. 27-36, 39-43, 45-55 regarding as seen in Figs. 2, 3A and 3B, the aspect ratio for presenting video content may be in portrait aspect ratio or landscape aspect ratio…in some cases, encoder 530 can perform encoding processes in real-time, while the asset is being presented to the user (as in live television). In such examples, an asset may be divided into individual units (e.g., groups of frames or samples), with encoding performed separately on each unit.... A media player application 560 (e.g., a software application executing on one or more processors of device 550) can accept the encoded data streams 540 as input, and process that data (e.g., by decompressing it and setting rendering parameters) to present the underlying assets (e.g., video assets 502 and 512 and audio assets 504 and 514) to a user… In some examples, encoding multiple video assets may comprise composing a video from respective time-matched frames of two or more input video assets…The examples shown in FIGS. 7A-7F can include composed videos, such as described above, where the composed videos comprise time-matched frames from two or more video assets; the frames are scaled and positioned in the composed video, which is encoded by encoder 530…in example data stream 710 in FIG. 7A, landscape orientation video asset 714 can be rotated 90 degrees to share a boundary (i.e., w2 and h1) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 712. And in example data stream 720 in FIG. 7B, a resolution of landscape orientation video asset 724 can be reduced with respect to portrait orientation video asset 722 such that landscape orientation video asset 724 shares a boundary (i.e., w1 and w2) coextensive with portrait orientation video asset 722…(Thus, the portrait aspect ratio or landscape aspect ratio of the common partition boundary also is configured to be time varying.) See Niebres: at least Figs. 1-9 and par. 15-17, 22-30, 34-37, 66-67, 75-78, 93-101, 103-118 regarding As an example, the computing device may receive a sample mapped group comprising boundary parameters (Xa, Ya) (Xb,Yb) for a timecode HHc:MMc:SSc corresponding to a portrait orientation for device parameters of a 16:9 aspect ratio… Transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image prior to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may comprise information relating to a display transition from an image subsequent to a designated timecode to the bounded image associated with the boundary parameters. The transition information may be associated with a transition in and/or a transition out relative the bounded image or images…].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Post, Niebres and Ojala teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, when combined with Ojala, Post and Nieb