DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-18 and 22-26) in the reply filed on 07/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/28/2025.
The invention of Group I further includes claims directed to the following patentably Species:
Species A₁ (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is in the form of an autologous corneal graft, and wherein the cut portion of the cornea that is removed from the eye of the patient forms the autologous corneal graft).
Species A₂ (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is in the form of homologous corneal graft, and wherein a donor corneal portion that is removed from an eye bank cornea forms the homologous corneal graft).
Species B₁ (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from a human cornea.
Species B2 (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from an animal cornea.
Species C1 (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from a human cornea.
Species C2 (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from an animal cornea.
Species D1 (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized and crosslinked, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from an animal cornea.
Species D2 (directed to a method of implanting lamellar corneal graph onto an eye, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized and crosslinked, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from a human cornea.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: chemical means to prevent in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,889 (hereinafter “US Patent 889”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to analogous methods of lamellar corneal graft implantations.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 1 of the US Patent 889 is directed to a method of lamellar corneal graft implantation, said method comprising the steps of:
forming a corneal flap or one or more intrastromal incisions/cuts in a cornea of an eye of a patient (forming one or more intrastromal incisions/cuts in a cornea of an eye of a patient);
pivoting the corneal flap or removing a cut portion of the cornea defined by the one or more intrastromal incisions from the eye of the patient (removing a cut portion of the cornea defined by the one or more intrastromal incisions/cuts from the eye of the patient so as to form a pocket in the cornea, the pocket being bounded on all sides by corneal tissue of the cornea); forming one or more corneal access incisions in the cornea of the eye of the patient, the pocket being accessible through the one or more corneal access incisions in the cornea;
applying laser energy to a lamellar corneal graft using an excimer laser or a femtosecond laser so as to modify the refractive power of the lamellar corneal graft, the lamellar corneal graft being in the form of an autologous corneal graft, a homologous corneal graft, or an exogenous corneal graft (applying laser energy to a lamellar corneal graft using an excimer laser so as to modify the refractive power of the lamellar corneal graft, the lamellar corneal graft being in the form of a autologous corneal graft or a homologous corneal graft); and;
implanting the lamellar corneal graft into the eye of the patient under the corneal flap or in a location previously occupied by the cut portion of the cornea so as to correct the refractive power of the eye of the patient (implanting the lamellar corneal graft into the pocket in the cornea of the eye of the patient in a location previously occupied by the cut portion of the cornea so as to correct the refractive power of the eye of the patient).
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 3 of the US Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is in the form of an autologous corneal graft, and wherein the cut portion of the cornea that is removed from the eye of the patient forms the autologous corneal graft).
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 4 of the US Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is in the form of an homologous corneal graft, and wherein a donor corneal portion that is removed from an eye bank cornea forms the homologous corneal graft).
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 5 of the US Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 4, wherein, prior to implantation of the homologous corneal graft or after implantation of the homologous corneal graft, the method further comprises the steps of: treating the homologous corneal graft with a solution of riboflavin or benzalkonium chloride (BAK) for making the homologous corneal graft acellular, and for killing any bacteria, viruses, or parasites prior to implantation; and irradiating the homologous corneal graft so as to cross-link the homologous corneal graft, thereby killing keratocytes and decellularizing the homologous corneal graft and preventing graft rejection without affecting the transparency of the homologous corneal graft.
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, claim 13 of the US Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from a human cornea).
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, claim 14 of the US Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from an animal cornea).
Regarding claim 7 of the application, claim 16 of the Patent 889 teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from a human cornea).
Regarding claim 8 of the application, claim 17 of the Patent teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized and crosslinked, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from an animal cornea).
Regarding claim 9 of the application, claim 18 of the patent teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on a human patient, the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized and crosslinked, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the human patient is formed from an animal cornea).
Regarding claim 10 of the application, claim 19 of the patent teaches (The method according to claim 1, wherein the lamellar corneal graft implantation is performed on an animal, the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized and crosslinked, and the lamellar corneal graft implanted into the animal is formed from a human cornea).
Regarding claim 11 of the application, claim 20 of the patent teaches (The method according to claim 19, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is decellularized using chemical means, the chemical means for destroying the cellular elements in the lamellar corneal graft are selected from the group consisting of cthanol, glycerol, acids, alkalis, peracetic acid, ammonium hydroxide ionic detergents, sodium dodecyl sulfate, sodium deoxycholate non-ionic detergents, zwitterionic detergents, Triton X-100, benzalkonium chloride, Igepal, genipin, and combinations thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White, U.S. Patent Nol. 5,269,812, in view of Schuele et al., U.S. Patent No. 9,833,358 (hereinafter “Schuele”).
Regarding claims 1, White discloses a method of lamellar corneal graft implantation, the method comprising: one or more intrastromal incisions/cuts in a cornea of an eye of a patient (abstract, Fig. 4, col. 1, lines 51-56); removing a cut portion of the cornea defined by the one or more intrastromal incisions from the eye of the patient (Fig. 3, col. 2, lines 52-54, Col. 4, lines 14-21, and col. 12 lines 65 through col. 13 line 6); and implanting the lamellar corneal graft into the eye of the patient in a location previously occupied by the cut portion of the cornea to correct the refractive power of the eye of the patient, wherein the lamellar corneal graft is in the from homologous corneal graft (col. 1, lines 64-69 and col. 2 line 66 though col. 3).
White does not teach a step of applying laser energy to the corneal graft using an excimer or femtosecond laser (col. 2 lines 35to modify the refractive power of the graft as claimed. Schuele discloses a system and method for making physical modification to target ocular tissue, including corneal transplant teaches a method of applying laser light to create one or more physical modification on the corneal tissue (col. 4 lines 14-27 and col. 7, lines 5-9 ). He further teaches that ArF excimer lasers are routinely used for corneal modification (col. 8 lines 34-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious the time applicant’s invention to one having an ordinary skill in the art to use an excimer laser to modify the size and/or the shape of the corneal graft to precisely place the corneal transplant into the formed intrastromal cut as presently claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18and 22-26 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose, imply or anticipate a control system for a laser surgery device, the system comprising the combination of the method steps and features recited in claims 12, 13, 17, 18, and 22 in its entirety, or provide a properly motivated combination to make obvious the presently claimed invention.
/AHMED M FARAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792