DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 1/12/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 1/12/2026. In particular, original Claims 1 and 14 have been amended to recite a combination of limitations not previously presented, while newly added claims 26-28 recite subject matter not previously presented. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 9-16, and 19-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “each of R41”, where R41 is a substituent in Formula 7, and the claim has been amended such that the claim no longer recites what substituents are encompassed by R41, thereby rendering the scope of the clam indefinite. In the interests of compact prosecution, pending rectification/clarification of the above, in the rejections set forth below, R41 will be treated as being drawn to “phenyl-substituted phenyl” consonant with the Compound GHH3 recited in claim 27.
Claim 14 recites the phrase “each of R41”, where R41 is a substituent in Formula 7, and the claim has been amended such that the claim no longer recites what substituents are encompassed by R41, thereby rendering the scope of the clam indefinite. In the interests of compact prosecution, pending rectification/clarification of the above, in the rejections set forth below, R41 will be treated as being drawn to “phenyl-substituted phenyl” consonant with the Compound GHH3 recited in claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2022/0069237) in view of No et al (US 2020/0119285).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al discloses the following organic light emitting device ([0163] – Figure):
,
comprising a first electrode (11), a second electrode (19) facing the first electrode and an organic layer (15) disposed between the first (11) and second (19) electrodes.
The organic layer comprises and emission layer ([0029]), where the emission layer comprises the following dopant organometallic compound ([0028]-[0029] and Page 45 – Compound 1):
.
This compound corresponds to recited Formula 1:
Ir(LA)m(LB)n,
where m is one (1); n is two (2); and m + n is three (3). Ligand LA corresponds to recited Formula 2:
,
where:
X1 and X2 are each CR7;
X3 to X5 are each CR8;
X6 to X9 are each CR9;
R7, R8, and R9 are hydrogen, i.e. protium; and
the integers a are b are both zero (0).
In recited Formula (1), ligand LB corresponds to recited Formula (5A):
,
where R21 and R22 are protium and the integers f and g are both four (4).
While the reference discloses that the light emitting layer comprises a host compound ([0156]), the reference does not disclose that the light emitting layer comprises host compounds represented by Formulas (7) and (9).
No et al discloses an organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises two host compounds represented by Formula (1) and (2) (Abstract and [0142]-[0145]).
The second compound, represented by disclosed Formula (2), is exemplified as ([0137] and Page 70 – Compound 2-42):
.
This compound corresponds to the first host compound represented by Formula (7):
,
where:
R41 and R42 are biphenyl groups, i.e. phenyl-substituted phenyl groups;
R43 and R44 are both hydrogen; and
the integers p and q are both seven (7).
The first host compound, represented by disclosed Formula (1), is exemplified as ([0136] and Page 32 – Compound 139):
.
This compound corresponds to the second host compound represented by Formula (9):
,
where:
R51 and R52 phenyl groups;
Y1, Y2, and Y3 are N;
R61, R62 and R64 to R68 are hydrogen, i.e. protium;
R63 is a phenyl group;
R69 and R70 are hydrogen
L is a single bond;
Z is O; and
the integers r and s are both three (3).
The reference discloses that including the compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the light emitting layer results in superior efficiency and lifetime effects ([0134]).
Given that both Kwon et al and No et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices where the light emitting layers comprise host compound, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the particular host compounds as taught by No et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such host compound in the light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kwon et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kwon et al discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound ligand LA corresponds to Formula (4A):
,
where:
the integer c is zero (0);
R11 to R14 are protium, i.e. hydrogen;
the integer d is three (3); and
the integer e is four (4).
Regarding claim 3, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kwon et al discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound ligand LA corresponds to Formula (4C):
,
where:
the integer c is zero (0);
R11 to R14 are protium, i.e. hydrogen;
the integer d is three (3); and
the integer e is four (4).
Regarding claim 24, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Kwon et al discloses that a substrate is located under the first electrode (11) ([0164]). Accordingly, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device including a substrate and the organic light emitting device disposed on the substrate as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 26, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above Kwon et al discloses the following compound:
,
corresponding to Compound 1 of the claim:
.
Regarding claim 27, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, No et al discloses the following compound:
,
corresponding to Compound GHH3 of the claims:
Regarding claim 28, the combined disclosures of Kwon et al and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, No et al discloses the following compound:
,
corresponding to Compound GEH3 of the claims:
Claims 9-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0280159) in view of Kwon et al (US 2022/0069237) and No et al (US 2020/0119285).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
.
This device comprises a first electrode ([0031] – layer 10); a second electrode ([0033] – layer 20) facing the first electrode (10); and an emissive layer (layers 110 – 390). The emissive layer comprises: a first emitting part ([0034] – layer 110) disposed between the first electrode (10) and the second electrode (20). The first emitting part (100) comprises a first emitting layer ([0037] – layer 150), i.e. a first emitting material layer. The emissive layer further comprises a second emitting part ([0039] – 200) disposed between the first emitting payer (100) and the second electrode (20). The first emitting part (200) comprises a second emitting layer ([0041] – layer 250). A first charge generation layer ([0040] – 410) is disposed between the first emitting part (100) and the second emitting part (200).
The reference discloses the second emitting layer (250) includes a green emitting layer ([0041]); however, the reference does not disclose that this layer comprises the dopant represented by Formula (1) as required by the present claims.
Kwon et al discloses a light emitting device where the emissive layer comprises the following dopant organometallic compound emitting green light ([0028]-[0029], [0147], and Page 45 – Compound 1):
.
This compound corresponds to recited Formula 1:
Ir(LA)m(LB)n,
where m is one (1); n is two (2); and m + n is three (3). Ligand LA corresponds to recited Formula 2:
,
where:
X1 and X2 are each CR7;
X3 to X5 are each CR8;
X6 to X9 are each CR9;
R7, R8, and R9 are hydrogen, i.e. protium; and
the integers a are b are both zero (0).
In recited Formula (1), ligand LB corresponds to recited Formula (5A):
,
where R21 and R22 are protium, i.e. hydrogen, and the integers f and g are four (4).
The reference discloses that an organic light emitting device utilizing the organometallic compound has low driving voltage, high efficiency, a long lifespan, reduced roll-off phenomenon, and exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency and color purity ([0146]-[0147]).
Given that both Kim et al and Kwon et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices containing green light emitting layers, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the organometallic compound as taught by Kwon et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such organometallic compounds in the green light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kim et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combined disclosures of Kim et al and Kwon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, while Kim et al discloses a green emitting layer, the reference does not disclose that host compounds represented by Formulas (7) and (9).
No et al discloses a green organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises two host compounds represented by Formulas (1) and (2) (Abstract, [0156], and [0142]-[0145]).
The second compound, represented by disclosed Formula (2), is exemplified as ([0137] and Page 70 – Compound 2-42):
.
This compound corresponds to the first host compound represented by Formula (7):
,
where:
R41 and R42 are biphenyl groups, i.e. phenyl-substituted phenyl groups;
R43 and R44 are both hydrogen; and
the integers p and q are both seven (7).
The first host compound, represented by disclosed Formula (1), is exemplified as ([0136] and Page 32 – Compound 139):
.
This compound corresponds to the second host compound represented by Formula (9):
,
where:
R51 and R52 phenyl groups;
Y1, Y2, and Y3 are N;
R61, R62 and R64 to R68 are hydrogen, i.e. protium;
R63 is a phenyl group;
R69 and R70 are hydrogen
L is a single bond;
Z is O; and
the integers r and s are both three (3).
The reference discloses that including the compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the light emitting layer results in superior efficiency and lifetime effects ([0134]).
Given that both Kim et al and No et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices containing green light emitting layers, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the host compounds as taught by No et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such host compounds in the green light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kim et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device the structure of the second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200) is a follows ([0087] - Figure 3D):
.
where the second emitting layer (250) comprises: a red second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 253), i.e. a first layer, disposed between the first charge generation layer (410) and the second electrode (20); and a green second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 257) disposed between the red second emitting layer 253), i.e. first layer, and the second electrode (20).
From the discussion above, Kwon et al discloses a green light emitting organometallic compound, while No et al discloses a host compound for green light emitting layers. Accordingly, in Kim et al, the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer, comprises the organometallic compound disclosed by Kwon et al and the host compound disclosed by No et al.
Regarding claim 11, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200) ([0087] - Figure 3D):
,
where the yellow-green second emitting layer ([0087] – 255), i.e. a third layer, is disposed between the red second emitting layer (230), i.e. first layer, and the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device, the emissive layer further comprises a third emitting part ([0031] - 300) between the second emitting part (200) and the second electrode (20). This third emitting part comprises a third emitting layer ([0043] – layer 350), i.e. third emitting material layer. The device further comprises a second charge generation layer ([0031] - 420) located between the second emitting layer (200) and the third emitting part (300).
Regarding claim 13, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device the structure of the second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200) is a follows ([0087] - Figure 3D):
.
where the second emitting layer (250) comprises: a red second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 253), i.e. a first layer, disposed between the first charge generation layer (410) and the second electrode (20); and a green second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 257) disposed between the red second emitting layer 253), i.e. first layer, and the second electrode (20).
From the discussion above, Kwon et al discloses a green light emitting organometallic compound, while No et al discloses a host compound for green light emitting layers. Accordingly, in Kim et al, the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer, comprises the organometallic compound disclosed by Kwon et al and the host compound disclosed by No et al.
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
.
This device comprises a first electrode ([0031] – layer 10); a second electrode ([0033] – layer 20) facing the first electrode (10); and an emissive layer (layers 110 – 390). The emissive layer comprises: a first emitting part ([0034] – layer 110) disposed between the first electrode (10) and the second electrode (20). The first emitting part (100) comprises the following light emitting layers ([0058] – Figure 2A):
,
where layer 151 is a blue emitting layer, i.e. a blue emitting material layer ([0061]).
In the disclosed light emitting device:
,
the emissive layer further comprises a second emitting part ([0039] – 200) disposed between the first emitting payer (100) and the second electrode (20). The first emitting part (200) comprises a second emitting layer ([0041] – layer 250). A first charge generation layer ([0040] – 410) is disposed between the first emitting part (100) and the second emitting part (200).
The reference discloses the second emitting layer (250) includes a green emitting layer ([0041]); however, the reference does not disclose that this layer comprises the dopant represented by Formula (1) as required by the present claims.
Kwon et al discloses a light emitting device where the emissive layer comprises the following dopant organometallic compound emitting green light ([0028]-[0029], [0147], and Page 45 – Compound 1):
.
This compound corresponds to recited Formula 1:
Ir(LA)m(LB)n,
where m is one (1); n is two (2); and m + n is three (3). Ligand LA corresponds to recited Formula 2:
,
where:
X1 and X2 are each CR7;
X3 to X5 are each CR8;
X6 to X9 are each CR9;
R7, R8, and R9 are hydrogen, i.e. protium; and
the integers a are b are both zero (0).
In recited Formula (1), ligand LB corresponds to recited Formula (5A):
,
where R21 and R22 are protium, i.e. hydrogen, and the integers f and g are both four (4).
The reference discloses that an organic light emitting device utilizing the organometallic compound has low driving voltage, high efficiency, a long lifespan, reduced roll-off phenomenon, and exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency and color purity ([0146]-[0147]).
Given that both Kim et al and Kwon et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices containing green light emitting layers, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the organometallic compound as taught by Kwon et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such organometallic compounds in the green light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kim et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combined disclosures of Kim et al and Kwon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, while Kim et al discloses a green emitting layer, the reference does not disclose that host compounds represented by Formulas (7) and (9).
No et al discloses a green organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises two host compounds represented by Formulas (1) and (2) (Abstract, [0156], and [0142]-[0145]).
The second compound, represented by disclosed Formula (2), is exemplified as ([0137] and Page 70 – Compound 2-42):
.
This compound corresponds to the first host compound represented by Formula (7):
,
where:
R41 and R42 are biphenyl groups, i.e. phenyl-substituted phenyl groups;
R43 and R44 are both hydrogen; and
the integers p and q are both seven (7).
The first host compound, represented by disclosed Formula (1), is exemplified as ([0136] and Page 32 – Compound 139):
.
This compound corresponds to the second host compound represented by Formula (9):
,
where:
R51 and R52 phenyl groups;
Y1, Y2, and Y3 are N;
R61, R62 and R64 to R68 are hydrogen, i.e. protium;
R63 is a phenyl group;
R69 and R70 are hydrogen
L is a single bond;
Z is O; and
the integers r and s are both three (3).
The reference discloses that including the compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the light emitting layer results in superior efficiency and lifetime effects ([0134]).
Given that both Kim et al and No et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices containing green light emitting layers, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the host compounds as taught by No et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such host compounds in the green light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kim et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kwon et al discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound ligand LA corresponds to Formula (4A):
,
where the integer c is zero (0); R11 to R14 are protium, i.e. hydrogen; the integer d is three (3); and the integer e is four (4).
Regarding claim 16, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kwon et al discloses the following compound:
.
In this compound ligand LA corresponds to Formula (4C):
,
where the integer c is zero (0); R11 to R14 are protium, i.e. hydrogen; the integer d is three (3); and the integer e is four (4).
Regarding claim 19, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device, the second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200), corresponding to the recited at least one emitting material layer, possesses the following structure ([0087] - Figure 3D):
.
where the second emitting layer (250) comprises: a red second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 253), i.e. a first layer, disposed between the first charge generation (410) and the second electrode (20); and a green second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 257), i.e. second layer, disposed between the red second emitting layer (253), i.e. first layer, and the second electrode (20).
From the discussion above, Kwon et al discloses a green light emitting organometallic compound, while No et al discloses a host compound for green light emitting layers. Accordingly, in Kim et al, the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer, comprises the organometallic compound disclosed by Kwon et al and the host compound disclosed by No et al.
Regarding claim 20, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following second emitting layer (250), recited as the at least one emitting material layer, (located in the second emitting part 200) ([0087] - Figure 3D):
,
where the yellow-green second emitting layer ([0087] – 255), i.e. a third layer, is disposed between the red second emitting layer (230), i.e. first layer, and the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer.
Regarding claim 21, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device, the emissive layer further comprises a third emitting part ([0031] - 300) between the second emitting part (200) and the second electrode (20). This third emitting part comprises a third emitting layer ([0043] – layer 350), i.e. third emitting material layer. The device further comprises a second charge generation layer ([0031] - 420) located between the second emitting layer (200) and the third emitting part (300). The third emitting part comprises a blue light emitting layer ([0053] and [0045] – layer 350), i.e. a blue emitting material layer.
Regarding claim 22, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following organic light emitting device:
.
In this device the structure of the second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200), i.e. the recited at least one emitting material layer, is a follows ([0087] - Figure 3D):
.
where a red second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 253), i.e. a first layer, is disposed between the first charge generation layer (410) and the second electrode (20); and a green second emitting layer ([0087] – layer 257) disposed between the red second emitting layer (253), i.e. first layer, and the second electrode (20).
From the discussion above, Kwon et al discloses a green light emitting organometallic compound, while No et al discloses a host compound for green light emitting layers. Accordingly, in Kim et al, the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer, comprises the organometallic compound disclosed by Kwon et al and the host compound disclosed by No et al.
Regarding claim 23, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Kim et al discloses the following second emitting layer (250) (located in the second emitting part 200), i.e. the recited at least one emitting material layer, ([0087] - Figure 3D):
,
where the yellow-green second emitting layer ([0087] – 255), i.e. a third layer, is disposed between the red second emitting layer (230), i.e. first layer, and the green second emitting layer (257), i.e. second layer.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0280159), Kwon et al (US 2022/0069237) and No et al (US 2020/0119285), as applied to claims 9-16 and 19-23 above, and in view of So et al (US 2005/0064234).
The discussion with respect to Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al as set forth in Paragraph 11 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 25, the combined disclosures of Kim et al, Kwon et al, and No et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Kim et al does not disclose that the organic light emitting device is disposed on a substrate as recited in the present claim.
So et al discloses that an organic light emitting device is typically comprised of a transparent anode, i.e. first electrode on a substrate ([0001]). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to include a substrate disposed on the first electrode of the organic light emitting device disclosed by Kim et al. as doing so would amount to nothing more than use of known element for its intended use, in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3, 10-11, and 13-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 10, 12, 14-19, and 21-27 of copending Application No. 17/957,336 (published as US PGPub 2023/0172051). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/957,336 recites an organic light emitting diode including a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode; and an emissive layer disposed between the first and second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises at least one emitting material layer, where the emitting material layer comprises a first host represented by Formula 7, a second host represented by Formula 9, and a dopant represented by Formula 1. Formulas 1, 7, and 9 are identical to Formulas 1, 7, and 9 recited in instant claim 1.
The difference between the organic light emitting diode in claim 1 of the copending application and that recited in instant claim 1, is that organic light emitting diode recited in claim 1 of the copending application requires the presence of a hole transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 11 and an electron transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 13. However, it is noted that claim 1 of the instant application recites the transitional phrase “comprising”, and is therefore, open to the inclusion of additional elements including the hole transport and electron transport layers recited in the copending application.
Claim 1 of the copending application does not recite ligand LB as required by instant claim 1, However, claim 4 of the copending application recites the identical phenyl-pyridine, i.e. Formula 5A as required by instant claim 1. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize to ligand recited in claim 4 of the copending application as ligand LB in claim 1 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound of Formula 1 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 2 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 2.
Claim 3 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 3.
Claim 10 of the copending application recites subject matter encompassed by instant claim 10.
Claim 12 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 11.
Claim 14 of the copending application recites subject encompassed by instant claim 13.
Claim 26 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 24.
Claim 6 of the copending application recites subject matter encompassed by instant claim 26, i.e. Compound 1 of the copending application is identical of Compound 1 of the instant application.
Claim 15 of copending Application No. 17/957,336 recites an organic light emitting diode including a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode; and an emissive layer disposed between the first and second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises a first emitting parts, a second emitting parts, and a first charge generation layer, identical to that recited in instant claim 14. The device further comprises at least one emitting material layer, where the emitting material layer comprises a first host represented by Formula 7, a second host represented by Formula 9, and a dopant represented by Formula 1. Formulas 1, 7, and 9 are identical to Formulas 1, 7, and 9 recited in instant claim 1.
The difference between the organic light emitting diode in claim 15 of the copending application and that recited in instant claim 14, is that organic light emitting diode recited in claim 15 of the copending application requires the presence of a hole transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 11 and an electron transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 13. However, it is noted that claim 14 of the instant application recites the transitional phrase “comprising”, and is therefore, open to the inclusion of additional elements including the hole transport and electron transport layers recited in the copending application.
Claim 15 of the copending application does not recite ligand LB as required by instant claim 14, However, claim 18 of the copending application recites the identical phenyl-pyridine, i.e. Formula 5A as required by instant claim 14. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize to ligand recited in claim 18 of the copending application as ligand LB in claim 15 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound of Formula 1 recited in instant claim 14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 16 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 15.
Claim 17 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 16.
Claim 18 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 17.
Claim 19 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 18.
Claim 21 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 19.
Claim 22 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 20.
Claim 23 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 21.
Claim 24 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 22.
Claim 25 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 23.
Claim 27 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 25.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 11, 13-16, and 19-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3, 10, 12, 14-19, and 21-27 of copending Application No. 17/957,381 (published as US PGPub 2023/0171980). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
Claim 1 of copending Application No 17/957,381 recites an organic light emitting diode including a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode; and an emissive layer disposed between the first and second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises at least one emitting material layer, where the emitting material layer comprises a first host represented by Formula 7, a second host represented by Formula 9, and a dopant represented by Formula 1. Formulas 1, 7, and 9 are identical to Formulas 1, 7, and 9 recited in instant claim 1.
The difference between the organic light emitting diode in claim 1 of the copending application and that recited in instant claim 1, is that organic light emitting diode recited in claim 1 of the copending application requires the presence of a hole transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 11 and an electron transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 13.. However, it is noted that claim 1 of the instant application recites the transitional phrase “comprising”, and is therefore, open to the inclusion of additional elements including the hole transport and electron transport layers recited in the copending application.
Claim 1 of the copending application does not recite ligand LB as required by instant claim 1, However, claim 4 of the copending application recites the identical phenyl-pyridine, i.e. Formula 5A as required by instant claim 1. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize to ligand recited in claim 4 of the copending application as ligand LB in claim 1 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound of Formula 1 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 2 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 2.
Claim 3 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 3.
Claim 10 of the copending application recites subject matter encompassed by instant claim 10.
Claim 12 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 11.
Claim 14 of the copending application recites subject encompassed by instant claim 13.
Claim 26 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 24.
Claim 6 of the copending application recites subject matter encompassed by instant claim 26, i.e. Compound 1 of the copending application is identical of Compound 1 of the instant application.
Claim 15 of copending Application No. 17/957,381 recites an organic light emitting diode including a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode; and an emissive layer disposed between the first and second electrodes. The emissive layer comprises a first emitting parts, a second emitting parts, and a first charge generation layer, identical to that recited in instant claim 14. The device further comprises at least one emitting material layer, where the emitting material layer comprises a first host represented by Formula 7, a second host represented by Formula 9, and a dopant represented by Formula 1. Formulas 1, 7, and 9 are identical to Formulas 1, 7, and 9 recited in instant claim 1.
The difference between the organic light emitting diode in claim 15 of the copending application and that recited in instant claim 14, is that organic light emitting diode recited in claim 15 of the copending application requires the presence of a hole transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 11 and an electron transport layer which comprises a compound represented by Formula 13. However, it is noted that claim 14 of the instant application recites the transitional phrase “comprising”, and is therefore, open to the inclusion of additional elements including the hole transport and electron transport layers recited in the copending application.
Claim 15 of the copending application does not recite ligand LB as required by instant claim 14, However, claim 18 of the copending application recites the identical phenyl-pyridine, i.e. Formula 5A as required by instant claim 14. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize to ligand recited in claim 18 of the copending application as ligand LB in claim 15 of the co-pending application, and thereby obtain the compound of Formula 1 recited in instant claim 14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, it is noted that:
Claim 16 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 15.
Claim 17 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 16.
Claim 21 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 19.
Claim 22 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 20.
Claim 23 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 21.
Claim 24 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 22.
Claim 25 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 23.
Claim 27 of the copending application recites subject matter identical to instant claim 25.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Applicants argue that Kwon does not disclose or render obvious the first host represented by Formula 7 and the second host represented by Formula 9. However, it is for this reason that this reference was modified by No which discloses the first and second hosts recited in the present claim. To that end it is noted that in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants argue that No does not disclose or render obvious the dopant represented by Formula 1. However, while this reference does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, No is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely the benefits of the recited first and second host compounds, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention. If the secondary reference contained all the features of the present claimed invention, it would be identical to the present claimed invention, and there would be no need for secondary references.
Applicants argue that Kim and So do not disclose the first host, the second host or the dopant. However, firstly, it is recognized that Kim et al does not disclose the first and second host compounds or the dopant, and it is for this reason that this reference was modified by Kwon and No, which disclose the claimed dopant, and first and second host compounds, respectively. To that end it is noted that in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Secondly, regarding, So, while this reference does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, the reference is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely that a light emitting device is typically comprised of a transparent anode, i.e. first electrode on a substrate, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention. If the secondary reference contained all the features of the present claimed invention, it would be identical to the present claimed invention, and there would be no need for secondary references.
Applicants argue that based on the teachings of the applied art, there is nothing that would have provided a reason or motivation for the ordinarily skilled artisan to specifically select the combination that is set forth in the claims. However, regarding claim 1, it is the Examiner’s position absent evidence to the contrary, that it would have been obvious to modify the organic light emitting device disclosed by Kwon with the host compounds disclosed by No, especially, given that No discloses that including the host compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the light emitting layer results in superior efficiency and lifetime effects. Accordingly, given that both Kwon et al and No et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices where the light emitting layers comprise host compound, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the particular host compounds as taught by No et al, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such host compound in the light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Kwon et al with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, it the Examiner’s position, absent evidence to the contrary, that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the green light emitting layer disclosed by Kim et al to comprise the dopant disclosed by Kwon and the host compound disclosed by No given that Kwon discloses that this dopant results in low driving voltage, high efficiency, a long lifespan, reduced roll-off phenomenon, and exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency and color purity, while No discloses that the host compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 in the light emitting layer results in superior efficiency and lifetime effects.
Applicants argue that given the lack of direction, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had been sufficiently guided to select the claimed hosts and dopant to arrive at the claimed organic light emitting diode. However, it is noted that Applicants have not proffered any evidence, i.e. data, that supports their position. It remains that Office’s position, absent evidence to the contrary, that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the dopant and host compounds disclosed by the references, and thereby arrive at the claimed organic light emitting device with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicants argue that absent impermissible hindsight, the applied references would not have led a skilled artisan to the claimed organic light emitting diode. However, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786