DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the Arguments and Remarks filed 8-21-2026.
Claims 1-10, 56 and 58 are currently examined. No claims are amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
Figures 1-41 are objected to because the figures do not have solid black lines in violation of 37 CFR 1.84 (a)(1).
FIG. 40 is objected to because the drawing includes shading that is excessively dark and the lead lines between the reference characters and the details referred to are obstructed by the excessively dark shading in the figure, its also unclear if the reference lines are lead lines or arrows; in violation of 37 CFR 1.84 (q) or (r). The solid black shading included in FIG 40 is also in violation of 37 CFR 1.84 (m) e.g., solid black shading areas are not permitted.
FIG 1B, 1C, 3A, 3B, 3C, 5A, 5B, 6, 7A, 8B, 11A, 12A, 12B, 13A, 13B, 13C, 14, 17A, 17B, 19B, 21A, 21B, 21C, 25B, 28B, 30, 31, 35B, 37B, 37C, 38 are objected to because they include cutaway cross sectional drawings with shading, which shading makes the internal cross section portions of the drawings unclear, are not used to indicate the surface of an object and is in violation of 37 CFR 1.84 (m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 56, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conner (US 20210015176 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Conner teaches an aerosol delivery device comprising:
a holder comprising a main body (see annotated FIG 3, portion of device that holds the cigarette) defining a proximal end (end towards mouthpiece) and a distal end (end that receives the cigarette, see also FIG 1),
the main body further defining a receiving chamber (receiving compartment 212, [0030]) configured to receive a removable cartridge (300, see [0033] and FIG 1) comprising an ignitable heat source (308, e.g., see FIG 1, the receiving chamber is configured to receive the removable cartridge 300, see also [0027] the cartridge can be a traditional cigarette which comprises an ignitable heat source),
the main body further defining a first aerosol passageway (214, see annotated FIG 3) that extends through at least a portion of the main body;
a mouthpiece (See annotated FIG 3, mouth end of device) including a first end (mouth end of mouthpiece portion) and a longitudinally opposed second end (portion towards cigarette holder, see annotated FIG 3) with a second aerosol passageway (216, see annotated FIG 3 and [0030]) extending longitudinally therebetween, wherein
the first end is configured to engage with a user's mouth ([0030] and FIG 3) and the second end is configured to engage the proximal end of the holder (see annotated FIG 3, the second end is where the second aerosol passageway 216 meets the first aerosol passageway 214); and
an access door (206, see [0033] and FIG 1) movably coupled to the distal end of the main body (see [0033] and FIG 1-FIG 2) and defining a third aerosol passageway (air passageway that allows ambient air to enter the access door 206 via the passageway 220, see [0034] and FIG 1-3), wherein,
in an open configuration, the access door provides access to the receiving chamber for loading the removable cartridge therein ([0033] and FIG 1) and,
in a closed configuration, fluidly couples (allows air to flow to, [0034]) the receiving chamber (212) with the first aerosol passageway (214) via the third aerosol passageway (see [0034], FIG 1, and annotated FIG 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses a sidewall of the holder defines an opening therethrough (see third aerosol passageway inlets in annotated FIG 3 above), the opening in fluid communication with the receiving chamber and disposed proximate the ignitable heat source (308) when the removable cartridge (300) is loaded within the receiving chamber (212, see FIG 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses the opening is configured to provide air intake therethrough for mixing with an aerosol generated by the removable cartridge and deliverable to a user via the mouthpiece (e.g., 220, FIG 1, see also [0030] air flows therethrough the device and to the mouthpiece, an ordinary artisan would appreciate the intake air mixes with the aerosol generated by the cartridge as its passing through the cartridge).
Regarding Claim 56, Connor discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses the cartridge includes a substrate material having an aerosol precursor composition configured to form an aerosol upon application of heat thereto ([0039], see also FIG 3).
Regarding Claim 58, Conner discloses the mouthpiece is removable (mouthpiece can be connected to the main body using magnets, screw connections, or interference fit connections, [0030], an ordinary artisan would appreciate that such connections are removable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner (US 20210015176 A1) in view of Hon (WO 2019218311A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above.
Conner teaches the ignitable heat source 308 on the cartridge 300, and teaches that 308 is ignited to result in aerosol formation [0039], and suggests electrical energy can be implemented to power heat generating sources [0003].
However, Conner fails to explicitly disclose a power source disposed within the main body; and a pair of ignitor contacts in electrical communication with the power supply and disposed proximate the opening and configured to engage the ignitable heat source when the removable cartridge is loaded within the receiving chamber.
However, Hon teaches a similar aerosol generating device with a cartridge (See FIG 3C) and teaches electrical heat generating sources in devices with electrical heat sources and teaches a power source disposed within the main body (e.g., battery 31, see last paragraph on page 17); and
a pair of ignitor contacts in electrical communication with the power supply (electrodes 41 and 42 are connected to the battery and an electric arc between the electrodes can be initiated between the electrodes for igniting the heat source in the cartridge, see page 18 first paragraph) and
disposed proximate the opening (See FIG 3C) and configured to engage the ignitable heat source when the removable cartridge is loaded within the receiving chamber (electrodes 41 and 42 are connected to the battery and an electric arc between the electrodes can be initiated between the electrodes for igniting the heat source in the cartridge, see page 18 first paragraph, see also FIG 1 and FIG 3C).
Hon teaches that smoking tobacco can be a fire hazard but that there is a need for devices for smoking devices that can limit this risk while still providing users with an experience similar to smoking conventional smoking articles. (page 1 paragraph 2), and teaches that the ignition system of the device provides controlled combustion of a cartridge/cigarette while also providing an experience similar to conventional cigarettes. (page 4 paragraph 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ignition system of Conner with the pair of electrical ignitor contacts of Hon in order to provide a safe controlled combustion of the ignitable heat source while still providing an experience similar to conventional cigarettes. (page 4 paragraph 1)
Regarding Claim 4, modified Conner teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Hon teaches an ignition switch (page 9 paragraph 2, the device comprises a switch for turning on and off the control circuit) in electrical communication with the power source and the ignitor contacts and configured to provide power to the contacts when actuated (see page 9 paragraph 1, the control circuit, which is turned on by the switch, is connected to the battery and the electrodes to provide power for ignition).
Claim 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner (US 20210015176 A1) in view of Mason (US20220361573A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Conner teaches the access door is coupled to the main body and configured to maintain the access door in at least one of the open configuration (See FIG 1) or the closed configuration (see FIG 2), see also [0033]). Conner teaches the door opens via the distal ends are configured to be rotated or pivoted outward and away from eachother to open the device to allow access to the cartridge [0033] and when the doors pivot close they come together when actuated to do so [0036]. Conner discloses suitable ways doors are pivoted (hinges in [0046]).
Conner does not explicitly disclose the doors are hinged with detent hinges.
However, Mason teaches a similar smoking device with a door for accessing the aerosolizable material with detent hinges and teaches the doors/covers includes a bistable hinge [0072] that comprises a detent axle and a spring plunger and teaches that recesses in the detent axle provide stable positions at the open and closed positions [0072. Mason teaches that the advantage of the detent hinge axle is that it may be entirely concealed within the hinge assembly [0072] and allows the door to be stable at the open and closed positions which allows the door to stably switch and be maintained between the open and closed positions [0073] so that this is advantageous because the aerosol generating device is less likely to accidently open [0071].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the door of the aerosol generating device of Conner with the detent hinges of the door of the aerosol generating device of Mason so that the hinge axle may be entirely concealed in the hinge assembly, so that the door can be stable at the open and closed positions and/or so that the aerosol generating device is less likely to accidently open.
Regarding Claim 6, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses the access door engages the distal end of the main body in the closed configuration (e.g., compare open access doors in FIG 1 to closed access doors in FIG 2 which close and engage with the distal end of the main body). However, Connor does not explicitly describe the closed configuration of the doors as sealingly engaging with the distal end of the main body.
Mason teaches a similar aerosol generating device with a door and teaches the door should include a seal 17 that is configured such that when the door is in the closed position the seal ensures the inhalable vapor flows through the mouthpiece and does not escape through any gap between the door and the housing [0060]-[0061]. Therefore it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the access door of Conner with the seal of Mason so that when the door is in the closed position the inhalable vapor does not escape through any gap between the door and the housing [0060]-[0061].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conner (US 20210015176 A1) in view of Jackson (US 20210345667 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Conner teaches a smoking device with a cartridge that directs a vapor path though the main body. However, Conner does not explicitly disclose that the third aerosol passageway is configured to redirect a vapor path extending through the main body about 180°,
However, Jackson teaches a similar smoking holder for use with a removable cartridge and teaches the first the third aerosol passageway is configured to redirect a vapor path extending through the main body about 180°, e.g., although not illustrated in the figures Jackson teaches the aerosol pathway a plurality of internal passageways [090] and teaches the airflow pathway can include a less direct route to the mouthpiece and that this less direct route can include a tortuous serpentine path that can include more sections and be configured to double back (a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the airflow pathway doubling back is redirecting the vapor pathway 180 degrees) or include spiral turns, and teaches a serpentine path is advantageous because it allows the vapor more time to cool before reaching a user [0095]. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art when creating the taught tortuous serpentine path to include a path that doubles back would redirect a vapor path extending through the main body about 180°.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third aerosol passageway of Conner to include a redirected vapor path that includes a tortuous serpentine path that doubles back and is configured to redirect a vapor path extending through the main body about 180° in order to allow the vapor more time to cool before reaching a user. [0095]
Regarding Claim 8, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses an actuator assembly ([0036] actuating mechanism that includes actuating buttons 224a and 224b) coupled to the holder and configured to actuate the access door, [0036]). However, Conner fails to explicitly disclose the actuating mechanism is configured to eject the removable cartridge therefrom.
However, Jackson discloses an actuator assembly coupled to the holder that is configured to eject the removeable cartridge therefrom (see FIG 15A and 15B, the mechanical assembly that includes the slide switch in FIG 15A is the actuator assembly that is configured to eject the removeable cartridge, see also [0082]. Jackson teaches that these implementations of the holder, its slider body, and its ejection actuator are configured to facilitate ejecting the cartridge. [0083]. Therefore it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the holder of Conner with the holder actuator ejection mechanism to facilitate ejecting the cartridge from the holder.
Regarding Claim 9, Conner discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Conner discloses the actuator buttons for actuating the access door as set forth above.
However Connor fails to explicitly disclose the actuator assembly comprises: a slider body slidably disposed within the main body of the holder and configured to slide along a length of the main body in a first direction and a second direction; a slider button disposed on a surface of the slider body and configured to be accessible to a user; and a stem extending beyond a distal end of the slider body and configured to engage with the ignitable heat source of the removable cartridge to drive the cartridge at least partially out of the receiving cavity.
Jackson teaches the actuator assembly comprises a slider body slidably disposed within the main body of the holder and configured to slide along a length of the main body in a first direction and a second direction (see [0067] and FIG 15A, slide from left to right from loading to receive a removable cartridge and slides to distal end of slide path);
a slider button disposed on a surface of the slider body (See FIG 15A and FIG 1) and configured to be accessible to a user (accessible for use to slide various implementations, [0067]); and
a stem extending beyond a distal end of the slider body and configured to engage with the ignitable heat source of the removable cartridge to drive the cartridge at least partially out of the receiving cavity (see FIG 15A, stem end of the cartridge is extended beyond a distal end of the slider body and configured to engage with the ignitable heat source, see also FIG 7 and [0038], lighting positin is configured to engage with the ignitable heat source).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objections to the drawings in the remarks filed 8-21-2026 on the bottom of page 15 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant fails to specifically address any of the supposed errors in the objections to the drawings and only generally asserts that the objections to the drawings have been traversed because Applicant argues that all the drawings are computer generated 3d solid model representations and are the best medium for disclosing the subject matter to be patented.
The assertion that the drawings are not photographs is irrelevant since the drawings were not objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(b) which is the section that delimits when photographs are acceptable as drawings. Applicant fails to specifically explain how their 3D solid model drawings meet the requirements, rules, and/or regulations of 37 CFR 1.84 (a)(1), 37 CFR 1.84 (q), 37 CFR 1.84 (r), and 37 CFR 1.84 (m), as objected to above.
Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102 in the remarks filed 8-21-2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive.
Specifically Applicant argues on page 17 of the remarks that Conner fails to teach the claimed access door, that in an open position provides access to the receiving chamber for loading the removable cartridge therein and, in a closed configuration, fluidly couples the receiving chamber with the first aerosol passageway via the third aerosol passageway, and further argues that there are no features of the Conner reference that in a closed configuration, fluidly couple a receiving chamber with a first aerosol passageway via a third aerosol passageway. Applicant argues that Conner fails to meet this requirement of the claim because features 220a and 210b are end covers designed to protect the heat source 308 of the cartridge 300, and that the access doors fail to allow aerosol passage.
This is not found persuasive because the claim language in question only requires that the access door fluidly couples the receiving chamber and the first aerosol passageway via the third aerosol passageway. See annotated FIG 3, the access door fluidly couples the receiving chamber and the first aerosol passageway as mapped via the third aerosol passageway. Merely calling the passageway an aerosol passage is a recitation of applicant’s intended use of the passage and does not require an affirmative disclosure in the prior art of a passageway that has aerosol flowing through it when the access door is closed. The physical structure is a passageway which is in Conner, and what the passageway is used for is intended use. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Applicants’ argument that the end cover around the third air passageway are designed to protect the heat source 308 does address how this design prevents the same access door from also fluidly coupling the receiving chamber and the first aerosol passageway via the third aerosol passageway as required by the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755