DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
By amendment applicants have excluded the species elected by the examiner, therefore the search has been extended to
, a species present in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaffrey et al. (US 2012/0252699), cited previously, in view of Albers et al. “Structure-Based Design of Novel Boronic Acid-Based Inhibitors of Autotaxin”, J. Med. Chem. 2011, 54, 4619–4626. This new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Jaffrey teaches fluorophores and their use with aptamers; the fluorophores include compounds of formula I:
, where R1 and R2 can be methyl, R3 para-hyrdoxyl, Ar is phenyl, Z and Y are N and Q is O. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0109]- [0114],[0116]-[0145], and claims, particularly claims 1 and 4. Thus Jaffrey teaches HBI
and its derivatives.
Jaffrey while teaching phenol substituted fluorophores does not teach phenyl boric acid (PBA) derivatives of formula I.
Albers teaches ATX inhibitors including the following compounds containing PBA:
, structures 28 and 29 are close structurally to PBA-HBI. See entire disclosure, especially abstract and table 2. Albers notes that ATX-LPA signaling azis has been implicated in inflammation, fibrosis and tumor progression, naturally rendering it an attractive drug and biomarker. See abstract, page 4619 1st and 2nd ¶. Albers also teaches conversion of hydroxyl group to PBA as shown below:
.
Since Albers teaches how to covert a hydroxyl group on phenol group to PBA, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a very high expectation of success in substituting PBA on the fluorphore compound of Jaffrey as HBI contains phenol producing PBA-HBI,
. Reason to make such a substation would be to produce a fluorophore boronic acid bound aptamer capable of binding ATX, a molecular marker for inflammation, fibrosis and tumor progression. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants assert the claim amendments which now exclude the phosphorous compound elected by the examiner has overcome the prior rejection over Jaffrey and Duan. As seen in the new rejection above applicants’ claims are still considered obvious over the combination of Jaffrey and Albers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618