DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and the species of PBAB-MFHBI in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants' election of species of the species PBAB-MFHBI was to be free of the prior art. As a result the search has been extended to Phos-HBI, found in claim 3. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the Markush-type claim with respect to a nonelected species, the Markush-type claim shall be rejected and claims to the nonelected species held withdrawn from further consideration. The prior art search, however, will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all nonelected species. Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection, as by amending the Markush-type claim to exclude the species anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined. The ** > examination < will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during the reexamination that anticipates or renders obvious the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action can be made final unless the examiner introduces a new ground of rejection that is neither necessitated by applicant' s amendment of the claims nor based on information submitted in an information disclosure statement filed during the period set forth in 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). See MPEP § 706.07(a). Amendments submitted after the final rejection further restricting the scope of the claim may be denied entry if they do not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.116. See MPEP § 714.13. See MPEP 803.02.
Claims 4-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the integer “n” is undefined. For the purposes of examination, the examiner considered the second instance of “m” as defining “n”. However correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaffrey et al. (US 2012/0252699) in view of Duan et al. “Organophosphorous phenyl phosphates: Synthesis, dye/protein interactions and antimicrobial evaluation”, Journal of Molecular Liquids, Volume 325, 1 March 2021, 115154.
Jaffrey teaches fluorophores and their use with aptamers; the fluorophores include compounds of formula I:
, where R1 and R2 can be methyl, R3 para-hyrdoxyl, Ar is phenyl, Z and Y are N and Q is O. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0109]- [0114],[0116]-[0145], and claims, particularly claims 1 and 4. Thus Jaffrey teaches HBI
and its derivatives.
Jaffrey while teaching phenol substituted fluorophores does not teach phosphate derivatives of formula I.
Duan teaches how to make phenyl phosphates from phenols as shown below:
, the phenyl phosphate have a larger number of hydrophilic hydroxyl groups. See entire disclosure, especially abstract and claims.
Since Jaffrey teaches phenol substituted fluorophores such as HBI and its derivatives one of ordinary skill in the art would have a high expectation of success in functionalizing the hydroxyl group with phosphate producing Phos-HBI:
. One reason to make such a modification would be to increase hydrophilicity of the fluorophore. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Conclusion
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618