DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed January 15, 2026, which amends claims 1-3 and 14-16, cancels claims 4-8, 17, and 18, and adds claims 26-28. Claims 1-3, 9-16, and 19-28 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, January 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 4-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al. (US 2018/0037546) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237) and Min et al. (US 2015/0001488) as set forth in the Office action mailed October 21, 2025. The applicant cancels claims 4-8; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, January 15, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 17 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al. (US 2018/0037546) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237), Min et al. (US 2015/0001488), and Kim et al. (US 2015/0280159) as set forth in the Office action mailed October 21, 2025. The applicant cancels claims 17 and 18; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Office points out that each reference does need to teach each and every limitation in the claims, but the combination of references need to teach all the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Regarding the combining of Sugino with Min to add a second host material. The Office points out that Sugino does not teach the presence of a second host material, but Min teaches that adding a second host material improves the efficiency and lowers the drive voltage of the device. Given that the first host of Min comprises a triazine group and the second host of Min does not comprise a triazine group, one of ordinary skill in the art would select the none triazine containing compounds to select as the second host material to use with the host material of Sugino. One would expect that adding the non-triazine host material to the device of Sugino one would expect an increase in lifetime and lower drive voltage of the device. The applicant has not provided any information indicating that this is the case. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 9-16, and 19-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the phrase “each of Y1, Y2 and Y3 is independently CR53” does not have support in the specification. The specification has support for each of Y1, Y2 and Y3 is independently CR53 or N, where at least one of Y1, Y2 and Y3 is N. The specification requires at least one of Y1, Y2 and Y3 to be N. There is no support in the specification where Y1, Y2 and Y3 are all CR53. Also none of the applicant’s taught compounds meet this limitation.
Claims 2, 3, 9-13, 15, 16, and 19-28 are rejected due to dependence of the claims on claims 1 and 14.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, which claim 26 depends, requires R1-R6 to be independently a protium, a deuterium, or an undeuterated or deuterated C1-C20 alkyl group, but claim 26 comprises compounds where R1-R6 are present and are not one of a protium, a deuterium, or an undeuterated or deuterated C1-C20 alkyl group. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, which claim 28 depends, requires each of Y1, Y2 and Y3 is independently CR53, but in the compound in claim 28 each of Y1, Y2 and Y3 is independently are all N. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al. (US 2018/0037546) (hereafter “Sugino”) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237) (hereafter “Kwon”) and Min et al. (US 2015/0001488) (hereafter “Min”).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 26-28, Sugino teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0337]-[0347]). Sugino teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0187]-[0220] and [0343]). Sugino teaches that the light emitting layer can have second host material (paragraph [0215]). Sugino teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can emit green light and can be metal complex (is not limited), but specifically teaches using
(paragraphs [0199]-[0206] and [0343]). Sugino teaches that the host material can be
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0163] and [0339]-[0464]).
Sugino does not teach where the phosphorescent dopant meets applicant’s claimed formula 1 and does not specifically teach where the layer comprises a second host material.
Kwon teaches green emitting phosphorescent dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [0149] and [0290]-[0295]). Kwon teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can be
or
are a few examples (paragraphs [0145], [0149], and [0290]-[0295]). Kwon teaches that when these metal complexes are used instead of
, the device has improved EQE and lifetime (paragraphs [0149] and [0290]-[0297]).
Min teaches an comprising two host materials and a green phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0140]-[0148]). Min teaches that the first host material can comprise a triazine group and the second host material can be a biscarbazole compound, such as
,
, or
(paragraph [0128] and [0171]). Min teaches that when these compounds are used as the second host material the device has a lower drive voltage and improved efficiency (paragraph [0171]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sugino so the phosphorescent dopant was
or
as taught by Kwon. The motivation would have been to improve the EQE and lifetime of the device.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sugino to include a second host material,
,
, or
, as taught by Min. Sugino teaches that the light emitting layer can comprise multiple host materials. The motivation would have been to improve the lifetime and efficiency of the device.
Claim(s) 9-16 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugino et al. (US 2018/0037546) (hereafter “Sugino”) in view of Kwon et al. (US 2022/0069237) (hereafter “Kwon”) and Min et al. (US 2015/0001488) (hereafter “Min”) as applied to claims 1-3 and 26-28 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0280159) (hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 9-16 and 19-25, Sugino in view of Kwon and Min does not teach where the electroluminescent device is a tandem electroluminescent device with a charge generation layer.
Kim teaches a tandem electroluminescent device comprising an anode, first emitting unit, a charge generation layer, a second emitting unit, an optional charge generation layer, an optional third emitting unit, and a cathode (paragraphs [0021]-[0068]). Kim teaches that each emitting unit can have a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, and an electron transporting layer, where the light emitting layer can comprise 1, 2 or 3 layers (paragraphs [0021]-[0068]). Kim teaches that the light emitting layer in the first emitting unit can emit blue light, the light emitting layer in the second emitting unit comprises multiple layer, 2 or 3 layers, where one layer emits red light, the second layer can emit green light, and the third can emit green/yellow, and the light emitting layer of the third emitting unit can emit blue light (paragraphs [0090]-[0106]). Kim teaches that using tandem electroluminescent devices leads to improved color reproduction range and emitting efficiency (paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so electroluminescent device of Sugino in view of Kwon and Min is made into a tandem electroluminescent device as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve the reproduction range and emitting efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759