DETAILED ACTION
Reopening of Prosecution After Appeal
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 5/29/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED . The new grounds of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Alison Slater/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 8, 9, 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484).
Regarding claim 1, Sahara teaches an apparatus comprising: one or more antennas(Fig. 2); a first path configured to transmit a radio-frequency signal using the one or more antennas(fig. 2, items 36); a second path configured to receive a reflected signal using the one or more antennas(Fig. 2, items 41).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path. However, Hou teaches in an analogous art a filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path(Fig. 7E; third path bypass 730; switch disposed on the third path 732; second path filter 728). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path in order to handle efficiently interference.
Regarding claim 2, Sahara in view of teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a high pass filter (Hou: Fig. 7E, HPF item 728).
Regarding claim 4, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a mixer disposed on the second path; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) disposed on the second path, the filter being coupled between the mixer and the ADC (Sahara: Fig. 2; item 43 mixer; item 44 ADC converter).
Regarding claim 5, Sara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the third path couples an input of the filter to an output of the filter(Hou: fig. 7; item 730 and 732 couples the input of the filter 728 and output of the filter 728).
Regarding claim 6, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the apparatus, wherein the third path comprises an additional filter coupled in series with the switch (Hou: Fig. 7E4-5).
Regarding claim 7, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the additional filter comprises an all pass filter(Hou: Fig. 7E)
Regarding claim 8, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more processors configured detect a distance between the electronic device and an external object based on the transmitted radio-frequency signal and the reflected signal, the one or more processors being configured to open the switch when the distance exceeds a threshold value and being configured to close the switch when the distance is less than the threshold value(Sahara: item S101-S104 in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 9, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the apparatus, wherein the radio-frequency signal comprises a chirp signal when the switch is open and a step function signal when the switch is closed(Sahara: P[0034], chirp signal as transmission signal for distance detection; Sahara further teaches different transmission frequency based on the distance; item S105, S104 in Fig. 10; Hou: a step function signal when the switch is closed; when the switch is closed it is all pass signal).
Regarding claim 13, Sahara teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by at least one processor, the one or more programs including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: receive, using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) on the receive path, a first reflected signal through a receive path at a first time; receive, using the ADC, a second reflected signal through a path at a second time; detect a first range to an external object based on the first reflected signal received by the ADC; and detect a second range to the external object based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, the second range being different than the first range(Figs 2 and 10; P[0058-0060], reflected waves from objects at different distances and therefore arriving at different time; also AD converters; P[0056-0059], reflected wave from object at a predetermined time).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter on the received path and a bypass path around the filter. However, Hou teaches in an analogous art a filter on the received path and a bypass path around the filter(Fig. 7E; bypass path 730 around the filter; switch 732; filter 728 on the received path). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a filter on the received path and a bypass path around the filter in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Sahara teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the second range is less than the first range(item 3 in Fig. 1; also P[0058], short range, ultra short range).
Regarding claim 15, Sahara in view of Hou teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: close a switch on the bypass path between the first time and the second time(Sahara: item S104 in Fig. 10; Hou: Fig. 7E; bypass path 730 around the filter; switch 732; P[0124], switch 740 can be closed and can be opened).
Regarding claim 18, Sahara teaches Circuitry comprising: one or more antennas; a first path coupled to the one or more antennas; a second path coupled to the one or more antennas; a mixer disposed on the second path; a third path that couples the first path to an input of the mixer on the second path; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) disposed on the second path(fig. 2, antennas, items 36; antennas, items 41; ADC , items 44; mixer, item 43).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter disposed on the second path between the mixer and the ADC; a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path. However, Hou teaches in an analogous art a filter disposed on the second path; a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path(Hou: Fig. 7E; bypass 730; switch 732; filter 728; Hou filters are between the input ports and the output ports as can be seen in Fig. 7). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a filter disposed on the second path(of Hou) between the mixer and the ADC(of Sahara); a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path for improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Kocer et al. (hereinafter Kocer)(US 11,356,072).
Regarding claim 3, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter. However, Kocer teaches in an analogous art wherein the filter comprises a notch filter. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter in order to have improved applicability.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou)(US 9887862).
Regarding claim 10, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path. However, Zhou teaches in an analogous art an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path(Fig. 1; item 120, analog interference cancellation; adder 124 disposed in the second path; fourth path connecting 128 and 136 through the analog interference canceler disposed on the fourth path; fourth path also couples the first path to the adder 124). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path in order to have reduced interference.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Nielsen et al. (hereinafter Nielsen)(US 2022/0200574).
Regarding claim 12, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path. However, Nielsen teaches in an analogous art a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path(P[0707], all pass network; phase error with propagation delay around the loop; phase shifter all pass network is added). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path in order to have improved applicability.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Ichiyanagi et al. (hereinafter Ichiyanagi)(US 2019/0041517).
Regarding claim 16, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC. However, Ichiyanagi teaches in an analogous art when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC(P[0060], ADC; receives reflected signal time and distance to the object from ToF system). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC in order to have improved distance detection.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Sadhu et al. (hereinafter Sadhu)(US 2019/0129017).
Regarding claim 17, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay. However, Sadhu teaches in an analogous art teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay(ADC; amount of phase delay measure and distance is calculated). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay in order to have improved distance detection.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou)(US 9887862).
Regarding claim 10, Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path. However, Zhou teaches in an analogous art circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path (Fig. 1; item 120, analog interference cancellation; adder 124 disposed in the second path; fourth path connecting 128 and 136 through the analog interference canceler disposed on the fourth path; fourth path also couples the first path to the adder 124). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path in order to have reduced interference.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2017/0163484) and Nishijima et al. (hereinafter Nishijima)(US 2009/0073029).
Regarding claim 20, Sahara in view of Hou teaches an additional filter coupled in series between the mixer and the ADC; an fifth path that couples the second path at an input of the additional filter to the second path at an output of the additional filter; and an additional switch disposed on the fifth path(Fig. 7E; items 726 additional filter, 742 bypass path, switch 736). Sahara further teaches AD converter (item 44 in Fig. 11).
Sahara in view of Hou teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the mixer comprises an in-phase (I) mixer and a quadrature-phase (Q) mixer, the filter is coupled in series between the I mixer and the I ADC. However, Nishijima teaches in an analogous art the circuitry of claim 18, wherein the mixer comprises an in-phase (I) mixer and a quadrature-phase (Q) mixer, the ADC comprises an in-phase (I) ADC and a quadrature-phase (Q) ADC, the filter is coupled in series between the I mixer and the I ADC (Fig. 1, P[0015-0016], in phase and quadrature; 90 degree phase shifter; mixer; filter). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use circuitry wherein the mixer comprises an in-phase (I) mixer and a quadrature-phase (Q) mixer, the ADC comprises an in-phase (I) ADC and a quadrature-phase (Q) ADC, the filter is coupled in series between the I mixer and the I ADC in order to have improved precision.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647