DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388).
Regarding claim 1, Sahara teaches an apparatus comprising: one or more antennas(Fig. 2); a first path configured to transmit a radio-frequency signal using the one or more antennas(fig. 2, items 36); a second path configured to receive a reflected signal using the one or more antennas(Fig. 2, items 41).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path. However, Vallee teaches in an analogous art a filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path(Fig. 8A; mode switch). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path. However, Vallee teaches in an analogous art a filter disposed on the second path; a third path around the filter; and a switch disposed on the third path in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Vallee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a high pass filter(Fig. 6; also P[0051-0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a mixer disposed on the second path; and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) disposed on the second path, the filter being coupled between the mixer and the ADC(Fig. 2; item 43 mixer; item 44 ADC converter).
Regarding claim 8, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more processors configured detect a distance between the electronic device and an external object based on the transmitted radio-frequency signal and the reflected signal, the one or more processors being configured to open the switch when the distance exceeds a threshold value and being configured to close the switch when the distance is less than the threshold value(Sahara: item S104 in Fig. 10; Vallee: P[0050-0052], short-range radar mode; complex receiver mode; real receiver mode).
Claim(s) 3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388) and Kocer et al. (hereinafter Kocer)(US 11,356,072).
Regarding claim 3, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter. However, Kocer teaches in an analogous art wherein the filter comprises a notch filter. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, wherein the filter comprises a notch filter in order to have improved applicability.
Regarding claim 6, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the third path comprises an additional filter coupled in series with the switch. However, Kocer teaches in an analogous art wherein the third path comprises an additional filter coupled in series with the switch(Fig. 4-5). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, wherein the third path comprises an additional filter coupled in series with the switch wherein the filter comprises a notch filter in order to have improved applicability.
Regarding claim 7, Kocer teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the additional filter comprises an all pass filter(Fig. 7)
Claim(s) 5, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388) and Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang)(US 2010/0233984).
Regarding claim 5, Sahara teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the third path couples an input of the filter to an output of the filter. However, Yang teaches in an analogous art wherein the third path couples an input of the filter to an output of the filter (Fig. 7; P[0058-0061], frequency selection for interference cancellation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, wherein the third path couples an input of the filter to an output of the filter in order to have reduced interference.
Regarding claim 9, Sahara teaches the apparatus, wherein the radio-frequency signal comprises a chirp signal when the switch is open (P[0034], chirp signal as transmission signal for distance detection; Sahara further teaches different transmission frequency based on the distance; item S105, S104 in Fig. 10; Vallee further teaches APF with a switch.).
Sahara did not teach specifically a step function signal when the switch is closed. However, Yang teaches in an analogous art a step function signal when the switch is closed(P[0058-0061], frequency selection for interference cancellation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, a step function signal when the switch is closed in order to have reduced interference.
Regarding claim 10, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path. However, Yang teaches in an analogous art an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path(Fig. 7; P[0058-0061], frequency selection for interference cancellation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path; and a fourth path that couples the first path to the adder in the second path in order to have reduced interference.
Regarding claim 11, Sahara in view of Vallee and Yang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the fourth path(Yang: Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388) and Nielsen et al. (hereinafter Nielsen)(US 2022/0200574).
Regarding claim 12, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches all the particulars of the claim except a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path. However, Nielsen teaches in an analogous art a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path(P[0707], all pass network; phase error with propagation delay around the loop; phase shifter all pass network is added). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, a phase detector configured to measure a phase delay based on the reflected signal received by the second path in order to have improved applicability.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388) and Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang)(US 2010/0233984).
Regarding claim 13, Sahara teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by at least one processor, the one or more programs including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: receive, using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) on the receive path, a first reflected signal through a receive path at a first time; receive, using the ADC, a second reflected signal through a path at a second time; detect a first range to an external object based on the first reflected signal received by the ADC; and detect a second range to the external object based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, the second range being different than the first range(Figs 2 and 10; P[0058-0060], reflected waves from objects at different distances and therefore arriving at different time; also AD converters; P[0056-0059], reflected wave from object at a predetermined time).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter on the received path and a bypass path. However, Vallee teaches in an analogous art a filter on the received path and a bypass path (Fig. 8A; mode switch). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a filter on the received path and a bypass path in order to have improved efficiency.
Sahara did not teach specifically a bypass path around the filter. However, Yang teaches in an analogous art a bypass path around the filter (Fig. 7; P[0058-0061]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a bypass path around the filter in order to have interference cancellation.
Regarding claim 14, Sahara teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the second range is less than the first range(item 3 in Fig. 1; also P[0058], short range, ultra short range).
Regarding claim 15, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: close a switch on the bypass path between the first time and the second time(Sahara: item S104 in Fig. 10; Vallee: P[0050-0052], short-range radar mode; complex receiver mode; real receiver mode).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388), Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang)(US 2010/0233984) and Ichiyanagi et al. (hereinafter Ichiyanagi)(US 2019/0041517).
Regarding claim 16, Sahara in view of Vallee and Yang teaches all the particulars of the claim except when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC. However, Ichiyanagi teaches in an analogous art when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC(P[0060], ADC; receives reflected signal time and distance to the object from ToF system). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: transmit, over a transmit path, radio-frequency signals, wherein detecting the first range comprises detecting the first range based on a time-of-flight associated with the transmitted radio-frequency signals and the first reflected signal received by the ADC in order to have improved distance detection.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388), Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang)(US 2010/0233984)and Sadhu et al. (hereinafter Sadhu)(US 2019/0129017).
Regarding claim 17, Sahara in view of Vallee and Yang teaches all the particulars of the claim except teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay. However, Sadhu teaches in an analogous art teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay(ADC; amount of phase delay measure and distance is calculated). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: measure, using a phase detector, a phase delay based on the second reflected signal received by the ADC, wherein detecting the second range comprises detecting the second range based on the phase delay in order to have improved distance detection.
Claim(s) 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388).
Regarding claim 18, Sahara teaches Circuitry comprising: one or more antennas; a first path coupled to the one or more antennas; a second path coupled to the one or more antennas; a mixer disposed on the second path; a third path that couples the first path to an input of the mixer on the second path; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) disposed on the second path(fig. 2, antennas, items 36; antennas, items 41; ADC , items 44; mixer, item 43).
Sahara did not teach specifically a filter disposed on the second path between the mixer and the ADC; a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path. However, Vallee teaches in an analogous art a filter disposed on the second path between the mixer and the ADC; a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path(Fig. 8A; filter; mode switch; Sahara: ADC ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a filter disposed on the second path between the mixer and the ADC; a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter; and a switch disposed on the fourth path for improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Vallee teaches the circuitry of claim 18, wherein the mixer comprises an in-phase (I) mixer and a quadrature-phase (Q) mixer, the ADC comprises an in-phase (I) ADC and a quadrature-phase (Q) ADC, the filter is coupled in series between the I mixer and the I ADC, and the circuitry further comprises: an additional filter coupled in series between the Q mixer and the Q ADC; an fifth path that couples the second path at an input of the additional filter to the second path at an output of the additional filter; and an additional switch disposed on the fifth path(P[0050-0052]; I and Q channel to be utilized for improved efficiency).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara et al. (hereinafter Sahara)(US 2022/0003858) as in view of Vallee et al. (hereinafter Vallee)(US 2022/0107388) and Yang et al. (hereinafter Yang)(US 2010/0233984).
Regarding claim 19, Sahara in view of Vallee teaches all the particulars of the claim except circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path. However, Yang teaches in an analogous art circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path (Fig. 7; P[0058-0061], frequency selection for interference cancellation). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use circuitry, further comprising: an adder disposed on the second path, wherein the third path couples the first path to the adder; and a multi-tab analog interference canceller disposed on the third path in the second path in order to have reduced interference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Sahara and Vallee fail to disclose all the features of claim 1, which recites, inter alia, "a second path configured to receive a reflected signal using the one or more antennas,""a filter disposed on the second path,""a third path around the filter," and "a switch disposed on the third path".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sahara teaches path configured to receive a reflected signal using the one or more antennas(Fig. 2; items 41 are the plurality of antennas; also antennas 36). The filter of Vallee to be inserted after the ADC of Sahara. By closing the mode switches (Fig. 8A) one can get a filter disposed on the second path,""a third path around the filter," and "a switch disposed on the third path".
Claim only requires by passing the filter disposed on the particular received path not by passing all the filters.
Sahara and Vallee fail to disclose all the features of claim 18, which recites, inter alia, "a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter" and "a switch disposed on the fourth path" .
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vallee’s filter to be inserted in the path between the AD converter and the mixer. Vallee teaches the mode switch disposed on the fourth path. With the application of the mode switches the fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter(Fig. 8A of Vallee).
Applicant argues that this mode switch is not disposed on any path around either high pass filter CHPF. Examiner respectfully disagrees. By closing the switches in the front and the back of the CHPF the mode switch is not disposed on any path around either high pass filter CHPF(vallee: Fig. 8A).
It is to be further noted that Kocer also teaches by pass path (item 514A) around the filter(Fig. 5), even though Kocer is being used for the dependent claims 3, 6 and 7.
Applicant argues that Vallee fails to show or suggest "a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter" and "a switch disposed on the fourth path," as recited by claim 18.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. If the mode switches of vallee (2nd and 3rd )are closed ( defines the fourth path) then a fourth path that couples the second path at an input of the filter to the second path at an output of the filter" and "a switch disposed on the fourth path”.
It is to be further noted that Kocer also teaches by pass path (item 514A) around the filter(Fig. 5), even though Kocer is being used for the dependent claims 3, 6 and 7.
Applicant argues that Vallee fails to show or suggest "receive, using the ADC, a second reflected signal through a bypass path around the filter at a second time,". Sahara teaches the ADC (item 44 in Fig. 2). The filter of Vallee to be inserted after the AD converter and reflected signal through the antennas 41. With this modification and by closing the proper combination of mode switches one can get a bypass path around the filter at a second time.
It is to be further noted that Kocer also teaches by pass path (item 514A) around the filter(Fig. 5), even though Kocer is being used for the dependent claims 3, 6 and 7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647