DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 01/22/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 22 have been amended.
Claims 15-20 were canceled.
Claims 1-14 and 21-27 are currently pending.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that Choi, Zhang, Trainin, and Desai, taken alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest each limitation “broadcasting advertising packets from a first device, wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or more links in a link cluster; and receiving, at the first device, responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets, a link cluster coordination request from a second device, wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster, wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time” of claims 1, 9, and 22.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-2&4a-b, Choi clearly discloses that an advertising device i.e., first device is broadcasting some advertising packets and a device performing an advertisement is termed an advertiser, wherein the advertising channel PDU types advertising packets include physical (PHY) master parameter (clock and BD_ADDR) in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster since parameters of transmission power are one or more connection parameters (see Choi, Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220] and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335]).
Choi also discloses the advertising device i.e., first device is receiving a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request from a scanning device i.e., second device responsive to broadcasting the advertising messages/packets in an advertising procedure and the scanning device refers to a device performing scanning i.e., a device transmitting a scan request since the scanning device/second device transmits a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request to an advertising device through an advertising physical channel in order to request additional data from the advertising device/first device; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response i.e., responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets (see Choi, Fig.2&4a-b [0103][0134], Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], Fig.3&4a-b [0149], Fig.3&4a-b [0154] and Fig.8 [0165]).
Choi also discloses the scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request is including physical (PHY) parameter in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster since parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages for a link in the link cluster (see Choi, Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], Fig.3&4a-b [0149], Fig.3&4a-b [0154], Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220] and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335]).
Choi further discloses the parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages include a power level of the changed transmission power or a value of power since a transmission power level in Bluetooth LE is defined as 4-step and more various levels of power level configuration is available according to a transmission power method in a multiple connection state (see Choi, Fig.9-10 [0287]-[0292], Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], [0315]-[0317], [0344], [0347], [0357], [0370]).
Additionally, Zhang discloses that the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters e.g., a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster since the advertising packets are advertising (ADV_IND) packet, advertising (ADV_DIRECT_IND) packet and advertising (ADV_SCAN_IND) packet (see Zhang, Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016] and Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 [0104]).
Additionally, Trainin discloses a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster since MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 (see Trainin, Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50 and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51).
Trainin also discloses a Multiple-MAC-Address-Link (MMAL) cluster has a plurality of links between the two or more MAC addresses since a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster, whereby “multiple MAC addresses link cluster” is related to all multiple MAC addresses links (see Trainin, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 64-67 to Col 9 lines 1-3, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67 and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7).
Additionally, Desai discloses that the link layer connection parameters include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection since connection events connection timing and connection interval are in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic and/or connection interval anchor time (see Desai, Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], Fig.11 [0084] and Fig.12 [0089]).
Claims 9 and 22, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 21 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. [hereinafter as Choi], US 2021/0250879 A1 in view of Zhang et al. [hereinafter as Zhang], US 2024/0147551 A1 in view of Trainin et al. [hereinafter as Trainin], US 9246742 B2 further in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 20110021142 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses wherein a method (Fig.1 [0047], a method) comprising:
broadcasting advertising packets from a first device (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], an advertising device i.e., first device is broadcasting some advertising packets and a device performing an advertisement is termed an advertiser),
wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or
more links in a link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the advertising channel PDU types advertising packets include physical (PHY) master parameter (clock and BD_ADDR) in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters); and
receiving, at the first device, responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets (Fig.2&4a-b [0103][0134], responsive to broadcasting the advertising messages/packets in an advertising procedure and Fig.8 [0165]), a link cluster coordination request from a second device (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], the advertising device/first device is receiving a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request from a scanning device/second device and the scanning device refers to a device performing scanning i.e., a device transmitting a scan request and Fig.3&4a-b [0149], the advertising devices/first device are receiving scan requests i.e., link cluster coordination request from scanning devices/second device responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets and Fig.3&4a-b [0154], the scanning device/second device transmits a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request to an advertising device through an advertising physical channel in order to request additional data from the advertising device/first device; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response i.e., responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets and Fig.15-16 [0335], parameters to allow an adjustment of transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters), wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request includes physical (PHY) parameter in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages for a link in the link cluster and [0137]-[0139], [0149], [0154]; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response), wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], the parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages include a power level of the changed transmission power or a value of power and Fig.9-10 [0287]-[0292], defining a transmission power level in Bluetooth LE as 4-step and more various levels of power level configuration is available according to a transmission power method in a multiple connection state and [0315]-[0317], [0344], [0347], [0357], [0370]).
Even though Choi discloses physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or
more links in a link cluster (Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], the advertising packets include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025], the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3 [0104], the advertising packets are advertising (ADV_IND) packet, advertising (ADV_DIRECT_IND) packet and advertising (ADV_SCAN_IND) packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi to incorporate the teaching of Zhang to provide an improved intelligence of the device.
It would have been beneficial to use the advertising packets which include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of Choi to provide for an increased Bluetooth connection establishment speed. (Zhang, Fig.1 [0007], Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 [0104])
Even though Choi and Zhang disclose a scan request of connection request process, and physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Trainin teaches wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 and Fig.1 Col 8 lines 64-67 to Col 9 lines 1-3, Multiple-MAC-Address-Link (MMAL) cluster has a plurality of links between the two or more MAC addresses and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, “multiple MAC addresses link cluster” is related to all multiple MAC addresses links and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes capability of MAC entities i.e., the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi and Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Trainin to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request which includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 as taught by Trainin to have incorporated in the system of Choi and Zhang to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Trainin, Fig.1 Col 2 lines 39-67, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7 and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22- 50)
Even though Choi, Zhang and Trainin disclose wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time, in the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], the link layer connection parameters include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and Fig.11 [0084], connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic and Fig.12 [0089], connection interval anchor time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang and Trainin to incorporate the teaching of Desai to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the link layer connection parameters which include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang and Trainin to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Desai, Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], Fig.11 [0084] and Fig.12 [0089])
Regarding claim 2, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses responsive to receiving the link cluster coordination request, transmitting a link cluster coordination response from the first device to the second device (Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0149], the advertising devices/first device are transmitting responses to the scanning devices/second device responsive to receiving scan requests/the link cluster coordination request). Additionally, Trainin discloses a link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster capable of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22- 50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response).
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses broadcasting, by the first device, additional advertising packets after transmitting the link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0149]-[0050], the advertising devices /first device are transmitting/ broadcasting additional advertising packets after transmitting the responses/the link cluster coordination response). Additionally, Trainin discloses a link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster capable of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response).
Regarding claim 4, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the link cluster coordination request
includes a change to the one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster (Fig.2-3 Col 15 lines 43-59, the link cluster coordination request includes a change to power management mode/one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 42-46, a change in the signal PHY-TxBusy indication and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 5, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 7 lines 52-51, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 142 and/or 144 for the link in the link cluster).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a media access control (MAC) characteristic for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67 to Col 5 lines 1-3, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include multiple MAC addresses link cluster/a media access control (MAC) characteristic for the link in the link cluster).
Regarding claim 8, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include power management for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 7 lines 46-59, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include power management e.g., power management mode coordinated by MM-SME via any one or MAC entities 140, 142 and 144 for the link in the link cluster).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses wherein a device (Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0137]-[0139], a scanning device) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.1-2 [0070], a communication unit or transceiver 118); and
at least one processor (Fig.1-2 [0070], a processor 114) configurable to:
scan, via the transceiver, for advertising packets from a broadcaster device (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], the scanning device i.e., scanner device is scanning for advertising packets from an advertising device i.e., broadcaster and the scanning device i.e., scanner device refers to a device performing scanning i.e., a device transmitting a scan request and a device performing an advertisement is termed an advertiser and Fig.1-2 [0070], via the communication unit or transceiver 118),
wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or
more links in a link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the advertising channel PDU types advertising packets include physical (PHY) master parameter (clock and BD_ADDR) in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters); and
responsive to receiving an advertising packet via the transceiver, transmit, via the transceiver, a link cluster coordination request to the broadcaster device (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], the scanning device is transmitting a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request to the advertising devices i.e., broadcaster responsive to receiving an advertising packet and the scanning device refers to a device performing scanning i.e., a device transmitting a scan request, and Fig.1-2 [0070], via the communication unit or transceiver 118 and Fig.3&4a-b [0149], the scanning devices i.e., scanner device is sending scan requests i.e., link cluster coordination request to the advertising devices i.e., broadcaster responsive to receiving an advertising packet and Fig.3&4a-b [0154], the scanning device transmits a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request to an advertising device through an advertising physical channel in order to request additional data from the advertising device; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response), wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request includes physical (PHY) parameter in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of the transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages for a link in the link cluster and [0137]-[0139], [0149], [0154]; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response), wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], the parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages include a power level of the changed transmission power or a value of power and Fig.9-10 [0287]-[0292], defining a transmission power level in Bluetooth LE as 4-step and more various levels of power level configuration is available according to a transmission power method in a multiple connection state and [0315]-[0317], [0344], [0347], [0357], [0370]).
Even though Choi discloses physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or more links in a link cluster (Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], the advertising packets include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025], the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3 [0104], the advertising packets are advertising (ADV_IND) packet, advertising (ADV_DIRECT_IND) packet and advertising (ADV_SCAN_IND) packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi to incorporate the teaching of Zhang to provide an improved intelligence of the device.
It would have been beneficial to use the advertising packets which include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of Choi to provide for an increased Bluetooth connection establishment speed. (Zhang, Fig.1 [0007], Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 [0104])
Even though Choi and Zhang disclose a scan request of connection request process, and physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Trainin teaches wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 and Fig.1 Col 8 lines 64-67 to Col 9 lines 1-3, Multiple-MAC-Address-Link (MMAL) cluster has a plurality of links between the two or more MAC addresses and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, “multiple MAC addresses link cluster” is related to all multiple MAC addresses links and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi and Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Trainin to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request which includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 as taught by Trainin to have incorporated in the system of Choi and Zhang to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Trainin, Fig.1 Col 2 lines 39-67, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, Fig.1 Col 8 lines 64-67 to Col 9 lines 1-3, Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7 and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50)
Even though Choi, Zhang and Trainin disclose wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time, in the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], the link layer connection parameters include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and Fig.11 [0084], connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic and Fig.12 [0089], connection interval anchor time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang and Trainin to incorporate the teaching of Desai to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the link layer connection parameters which include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang and Trainin to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Desai, Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], Fig.11 [0084] and Fig.12 [0089])
Regarding claim 10, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the link cluster coordination request includes a change to the one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster (Fig.2-3 Col 15 lines 43-59, the link cluster coordination request includes a change to power management mode/the one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 42-46, a change in the signal PHY-TxBusy indication and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 11, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 7 lines 52-51, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 142 and/or 144 for the link in the link cluster).
Regarding claim 12, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include transmit power limitation (Fig.16 [0338], the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include transmit power value limitation and Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0013]-[0017], the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include specific transmission power value).
Regarding claim 21, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses the first device is a broadcaster BLUETOOTH device, and wherein the second device is a scanner BLUETOOTH device (Fig.1 [0137]-[0139], the broadcaster device/first device is a broadcaster BLUETOOTH device, and wherein the scanner device/second device is a scanner BLUETOOTH device and Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0146]-[0149], the advertising devices /first device Bluetooth device and the scanning devices/second device Bluetooth device).
Regarding claim 22, Choi discloses wherein a device (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], an advertising device) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.1-2 [0070], a communication unit or transceiver 118); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver (Fig.1-2 [0070], a processor 114 coupled to the communication unit or transceiver 118), the processor configurable to:
broadcast, via the transceiver, advertising packets (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], an advertising device i.e., broadcaster/first device is broadcasting some advertising packets and a device performing an advertisement is termed an advertiser), wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or more links in a link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the advertising channel PDU types advertising packets include physical (PHY) master parameter (clock and BD_ADDR) in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters); and
receive, via the transceiver (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0070]-[0072], the communication unit i.e., transceiver), a link cluster coordination request responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets (Fig.1-2&4a-b [0137]-[0139], the advertising device i.e., broadcaster /first device is receiving a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request from a scanning device i.e., scanner/second device and the scanning device refers to a device performing scanning i.e., a device transmitting a scan request and Fig.2&4a-b [0103][0134], responsive to broadcasting the advertising messages/packets in an advertising procedure and Fig.8 [0165] and Fig.3&4a-b [0149], the advertising devices i.e., broadcaster/first device are receiving scan requests i.e., link cluster coordination request from scanning devices i.e., scanner/second device responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets and Fig.3&4a-b [0154], the scanning device i.e., scanner/second device transmits a scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request to an advertising device through an advertising physical channel in order to request additional data from the advertising device i.e., broadcaster/first device; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response i.e., responsive to broadcasting the advertising packets and Fig.15-16 [0335], parameters to allow an adjustment of transmission power i.e., one or more connection parameters), wherein the link cluster coordination request includes the one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.3&4a-b [0216]-[0220], the scan request i.e., link cluster coordination request includes physical (PHY) parameter in Bluetooth device set for physical links and logical links i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages for a link in the link cluster and [0137]-[0139], [0149], [0154]; Noted, link cluster coordination is scan request or scan response), wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.15-16 [0326][0335], the parameters of the transmission power i.e., the one or more connection parameters in the scan request and response messages include a power level of the changed transmission power or a value of power and Fig.9-10 [0287]-[0292], defining a transmission power level in Bluetooth LE as 4-step and more various levels of power level configuration is available according to a transmission power method in a multiple connection state and [0315]-[0317], [0344], [0347], [0357], [0370]).
Even though Choi discloses physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for one or
more links in a link cluster (Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], the advertising packets include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025], the advertising packets include one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster and Fig.3 [0104], the advertising packets are advertising (ADV_IND) packet, advertising (ADV_DIRECT_IND) packet and advertising (ADV_SCAN_IND) packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi to incorporate the teaching of Zhang to provide an improved intelligence of the device.
It would have been beneficial to use the advertising packets which include a first connection parameter and a second connection parameter i.e., one or more connection parameters for communication link in a Bluetooth low energy connection i.e., one or more links in a link cluster as taught by Zhang to have incorporated in the system of Choi to provide for an increased Bluetooth connection establishment speed. (Zhang, Fig.1 [0007], Fig.1-2 [0015]-[0016], Fig.3-4 [0024]-[0025] and Fig.3 [0104])
Even though Choi and Zhang disclose a scan request of connection request process, and physical channel (PHY) parameter for Bluetooth interface 116 and other interfaces 117, in the same field of endeavor, Trainin teaches wherein the link cluster coordination request includes one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 and Fig.1 Col 8 lines 64-67 to Col 9 lines 1-3, Multiple-MAC-Address-Link (MMAL) cluster has a plurality of links between the two or more MAC addresses and Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, “multiple MAC addresses link cluster” is related to all multiple MAC addresses links and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi and Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Trainin to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity request frame i.e., link cluster coordination request which includes a peer MAC entity a MMAE including a plurality of advertised MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and, MM-SME 146 is configured to other parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 42 and/or 144 as taught by Trainin to have incorporated in the system of Choi and Zhang to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Trainin, Fig.1 Col 2 lines 39-67, Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67, Fig.1 Col 7 lines 47-51, Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7 and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22- 50)
Even though Choi, Zhang and Trainin disclose wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time, in the same field of endeavor, Desai teaches wherein the one or more connection parameters comprises channel sets, a connection event starting point, a connection duration, a power level, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or a connection interval anchor time (Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], the link layer connection parameters include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and Fig.11 [0084], connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic and Fig.12 [0089], connection interval anchor time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang and Trainin to incorporate the teaching of Desai to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the link layer connection parameters which include connection event anchor points i.e., starting point in associated link layer connection and connection events connection timing and connection interval in associated BLE link layer connections based on the identified Bluetooth BR/EDR traffic as taught by Desai to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang and Trainin to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Desai, Fig.1 [0036]-[0037], Fig.11 [0084] and Fig.12 [0089])
Regarding claim 23, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses the processor is further configurable to, responsive to receiving the link cluster coordination request, instruct the transceiver to transmit a link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0149], the advertising devices i.e., broadcaster/first device are transmitting responses to the scanning devices i.e., scanner device/second responsive to receiving scan requests/the link cluster coordination request). Additionally, Trainin discloses a link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster capable of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22- 50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response).
Regarding claim 24, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 23 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses the processor is further configurable to instruct the transceiver to broadcast additional advertising packets after transmitting the link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 & 4a-b [0149]-[0050], the advertising devices i.e., broadcaster /first device are transmitting/broadcasting additional advertising packets after transmitting the responses/the link cluster coordination response). Additionally, Trainin discloses a link cluster coordination response (Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 62-67 to Col 13 lines 1-7, a MMAL cluster capable of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response includes capability of MAC entities i.e., one or more connection parameters for a link in the link cluster and Fig.1-3 Col 14 lines 22-50, a MMAL cluster of a MM-SME coordinated MAC entity response frame i.e., link cluster coordination response).
Regarding claim 25, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the link cluster coordination request includes a change to the one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster (Fig.2-3 Col 15 lines 43-59, the link cluster coordination request includes a change to power management mode/one or more connection parameters for the link in the link cluster and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 42-46, a change in the signal PHY-TxBusy indication and Fig.1 Col 7 lines 52-59).
Regarding claim 26, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters for the link in the link cluster or a channel map for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1-3 Col 7 lines 52-51, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include physical (PHY) parameters and/or states of MAC entities 140, 142 and/or 144 for the link in the link cluster).
Regarding claim 27, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a media access control (MAC) characteristic for the link in the link cluster or power management for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 65-67 to Col 5 lines 1-3, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include multiple MAC addresses link cluster/a media access control (MAC) characteristic for the link in the link cluster).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. [hereinafter as Choi], US 2021/0250879 A1 in view of Zhang et al. [hereinafter as Zhang], US 2024/0147551 A1 in view of in view of Trainin et al. [hereinafter as Trainin], US 9246742 B2 in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 20110021142 A1 further in view of Batra et al. [hereinafter as Batra], US 2017/0244576 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for the link in the link cluster (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 1-12, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel mapping in distribution system).
Even though Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for the link in the link cluster, in the same field of endeavor, Batra teaches wherein the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for the link in the link cluster (Fig.4 [0053], the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map parameter for the set of PHY channels of the link in the link cluster and Fig.4 [0054], Fig.5 [0059], Fig.6A [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Batra to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets which include a channel map parameter for the set of PHY channels of the link in the link cluster as taught by Batra to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Batra, Fig.4 [0053], Fig.4 [0054], Fig.5 [0059] and Fig.6A [0061])
Regarding claim 14, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Trainin further discloses the link is a first link, and wherein the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for a second link in the link cluster (Fig.1 Col 4 lines 1-12, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel mapping in distribution system and Fig.1-2 Col 12 lines 47-53, MMAL cluster including a plurality of links i.e., a first link and a second link).
Even though Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for the link in the link cluster, in the same field of endeavor, Batra teaches wherein the link is a first link, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map for a second link in the link cluster (Fig.4 [0048], various logical links i.e., a first link and a second link and Fig.4 [0053], the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a channel map parameter for the set of PHY channels of the link in the link cluster and Fig.4 [0054], Fig.5 [0059], Fig.6A [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Batra to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets which include a channel map parameter for the set of PHY channels of the link in the link cluster as taught by Batra to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to provide enhancements for higher throughput. (Batra, Fig.4 [0048], Fig.4 [0053], Fig.4 [0054], Fig.5 [0059] and Fig.6A [0061])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. [hereinafter as Choi], US 2021/0250879 A1 in view of Zhang et al. [hereinafter as Zhang], US 2024/0147551 A1 in view of in view of Trainin et al. [hereinafter as Trainin], US 9246742 B2 in view of Desai et al. [hereinafter as Desai], US 20110021142 A1 further in view of Tang [hereinafter as Tang], US 11310794 B2.
Regarding claim 13, Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Choi further discloses the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a modulation coding scheme limitation (Fig.3 [0122], the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include modulation and a frequency hopping i.e., a modulation coding scheme limitation).
Even though Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai disclose the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a modulation coding scheme limitation, in the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a modulation coding scheme limitation (Fig.1-2 Col 11 lines 48-52, the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets include a coding and modulation mode limit i.e., modulation coding scheme limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to incorporate the teaching of Tang to improve the received signal power at an intended receiver.
It would have been beneficial to use the one or more connection parameters in the advertising packets which include a coding and modulation mode limit i.e., modulation coding scheme limitation as taught by Tang to have incorporated in the system of Choi, Zhang, Trainin and Desai to provide the reliability of data transmission effectively. (Tang, Fig.1-2 Col 5 lines 11-22 and Fig.1-2 Col 11 lines 48-52)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0021526 A1) teaches Device to Device Communication with Cluster Coordinating.
Kvetny et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0381637 A1) teaches Bluetooth Low Energy Devices, Systems and Associated Method.
Chauhan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0052961 A1) teaches Resource Discovery in a Multi-Edge Computing Network.
Yorga et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2014/0140790 A1) teaches Rod and Tubular Racking System.
Mandapaka et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2018/0110077 A1) teaches System and Method for Communication of Analyte Data.
Desai et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0021142 A1) teaches Method and System for a Dual-Mode Bluetooth Low Energy Device.
Li et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0246321 A1) teaches Mobile Device Centric Clustering in Wireless Systems.
Aldana et al. (US Patent No.: US 11228880 B2) teaches Methods and Devices for Vehicular Radio Communications.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414