DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendments, dated 2/12/2026, have overcome:
The objection(s) to claim(s) 3, 12;
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph;
The rejection of claim(s) 1, 3-4, 10, 12-13, 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) based on Loulmet (US 2011/0011917 A1 - as previously cited);
The rejection of claim(s) 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Loulmet (US 2011/0011917 A1 - as previously cited) and Decker et al. (S 2019/0059876 A1 – as previously cited);
The rejection of claim(s) 5-8, 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Loulmet (US 2011/0011917 A1 - as previously cited) and Dineen et al. (US 2008/0023012 A1 – as previously cited);
The aforementioned objections/ rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 19, line 4: “the tissue anchor” should be replaced with --the anchor-- (in order to have claim term consistency – see claim 19, lines 9 and 12).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Within claim 21, lines 3-5: Applicant claims, “the anchor garage has a blunt distal end region with a distal region having a first radius of curvature and a proximal region having a second radius of curvature different from the first radius of curvature”; the originally filed disclosure does not provide support for the proximal region having a second radius of curvature nor the second radius of curvature being different from the first radius of curvature. The original disclosure is only supporting of the blunt distal end region having a distal end that is radiused (rounded) to a radius of approximately 0.0275 in (paragraph [0062]) of the specifications. There is no written support for the proximal end of the anchor garage as being “radiused” (rounded) nor how it could be “different” (as in smaller OR larger) than the distal region/ first radius of curvature. If Applicant is relying on the figures – only figures 3 and 4 appear to show the proximal end region of the anchor garage, however, without much detail or labelling; and the proximal end region appears to have angular corners (i.e. no radii/ rounding). Claim(s) 22-29, which depend from claim 21, inherit all the problems associated with claim 21.
Claim(s) 20, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Within claim 20, lines 1-2: Applicant claims, “wherein the anchor and the talons are formed from a laser cut tube”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, if the talons are part of (as required by claim 19) the anchor OR are distinct from the anchor (as they are listed as distinct structures in the aforementioned claim requirement). For the purposes of examination, Examiner is assuming the aforementioned claim requirement should instead read --wherein the anchor is formed from a laser cut tube--.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the delivery configuration" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the deployed configuration" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiorth et al. (US 2017/0252032 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Hiorth et al. discloses an anchor delivery and deployment system comprising:
a delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter) (paragraph [0076]);
an anchor (papillary anchor 9), as can be seen in figs. 30-32, releasably coupled to the delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter), the anchor (papillary anchor 9) having an anchor body (in combination locking rings 40 and locking segment 28) and a plurality of anchor talons (pins 42) extending from the anchor body (locking rings 40 and locking segment 28) and shiftable between a delivery configuration, as can be seen in fig. 30, and a deployed configuration, as can be seen in fig. 32 (paragraphs [0101-0102]);
an anchor garage (anchor housing 8) disposed along the delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter), the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) configured to house the anchor (papillary anchor 9) therein with the anchor talons (pins 42) in the delivery configuration, and having an open blunt end (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) through which the anchor (papillary anchor 9) is deployable (paragraphs [0076, 0085-0086]); and
a clip (leaflet anchor 10) releasably secured to the delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter) at a position (within gripper arm 6) adjacent to the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), as can be seen in figs. 1-3 and 23-26 (paragraph [0078, 0093-0099]), the clip (leaflet anchor 10) having a first end region (the talons which flair out in fig. 29) configured to attach to a heart tissue and a second end region (the tubular region of leaflet anchor 10) coupled to a first end of an artificial chordae tendineae (chord 14) (paragraphs [0093-0099]), wherein the artificial chordae tendineae (chord 14) includes a second end coupled to the anchor, as can be seen in fig. 14 (paragraph [0086]);
wherein the anchor talons (pins 42) are configured to expand from the delivery configuration, as can be seen in fig. 30, when within the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) to the deployed configuration, as can be seen in figs. 12-14 and 32, when deployed outside the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) (paragraphs [0085, 0101-0102]).
With respect to claim 3:
Wherein:
the anchor talons (pins 42) include a first anchor talon (any singular pin 42) having a talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) and a talon distal end (free end of pin 42), wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) extends between the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) and the talon distal end (free end of pin 42), wherein the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) is coupled to the anchor body (locking rings 40 and locking segment 28), and wherein the talon distal end (free end of pin 42) of the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is configured to penetrate tissue (paragraph [0105]); and
the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is tapered (the width narrows to a point, as can be seen in fig. 30) between the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) and the talon distal end (free end of pin 42) (paragraph [0105]).
With respect to claim 4:
Wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is tapered (the width narrows to a point, as can be seen in fig. 30) toward the talon distal end (free end of pin 42).
With respect to claim 8:
Wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is tapered widthwise (the width narrows to a point, as can be seen in fig. 30).
With respect to claim 10:
Wherein the anchor (papillary anchor 9) is formed from a tube (nitinol tube), the anchor talons (pins 42) being cut from the tube (nitinol tube) (paragraph [0102]).
With respect to claim 19:
Hiorth et al. disclose a method of repairing a heart valve, the method comprising:
delivering a tissue anchor (papillary anchor 9), as can be seen in figs. 11-14 and 30-32, in an anchor garage (anchor housing 8) with a delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter), the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) having an open blunt distal end (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle), the tissue anchor (papillary anchor 9) having a plurality of talons (pins 42) (paragraphs [0076, 0085-0086]);
wherein a clip (leaflet anchor 10) is releasable coupled to the delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter) at a position (within gripper arm 6) adjacent to the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), as can be seen in figs. 1-3 and 23-26 (paragraph [0078, 0093-0099]);
pressing the blunt distal end of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) against tissue without damaging the tissue (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle), as can be seen in fig. 11 (paragraph [0085]); and
advancing the anchor (papillary anchor 9) out of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) to deploy the anchor (papillary anchor 9) in tissue, allowing the talons (pins 42) to shift from a delivery configuration, as can be seen in fig. 30, to a deployed configuration within the tissue, as can be seen in figs. 12-14 and 32 (paragraphs [0085, 0101-0102]); and
securing the clip (leaflet anchor 10) to a heart tissue, wherein the clip (leaflet anchor 10) is coupled to the anchor (papillary anchor 9) via an artificial chordae tendineae (chord 14) (paragraphs [0078-0086]).
With respect to claim 20:
Wherein the anchor (papillary anchor 9) and the talons (pins 42) are formed from a laser cut tube (paragraph [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 21-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiorth et al. (US 2017/0252032 A1) in view of Decker et al. (US 2019/0059876 A1 – as previously cited).
With respect to claim 2:
Hiorth et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. Additionally, Hiorth et al. discloses the blunt end (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) as for (capable of) pressing against tissue without damaging the tissue (as the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle without piercing or penetrating the papillary muscle, as can be seen in figs. 11-12) (paragraph [0085]). However, Hiorth et al. does not disclose the blunt end (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) having a convex curved outer surface.
Decker et al. teaches an anchor delivery and deployment system (tissue anchor 24 and tissue anchoring catheter 20), as can be seen in figs. 1-3D, comprising:
an anchor (tissue anchor 20) having an anchor body (tubular portion of tissue anchor 20 surrounding the tapered hub as can be seen in figs. 2A, 3A-3D) and a plurality of anchor talons (at least a portion of the barbs 30) extending from the anchor body (tubular portion of tissue anchor 20 surrounding the tapered hub as can be seen in figs. 2A, 3A-3D) and shiftable between a delivery configuration (stressed elongated configuration within sheath 22) and a deployed configuration(relaxed configuration) (paragraph [0049]); and
an anchor garage (distal tubular housing 52) configured to house the anchor (tissue anchor 20) therein with the anchor talons (at least a portion of the barbs 30) in a delivery configuration (stressed elongated configuration within sheath 22) (paragraph [0056]), and having an open blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) through which the anchor (tissue anchor 20) is deployable (paragraph [0057]);
Wherein the blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) of the anchor garage (distal tubular housing 52) has a convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner) to present a blunt end for pressing against tissue without damaging the tissue by preventing tissue from getting caught on the end thereof (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the enlarged blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) and convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner), as taught by Decker et al., on/ as part of the blunt end (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., as both structures have the same intended use in the same area of the body (both are used to contact/press into ventricular tissue during the delivery of and anchor thereto) and the enlarged and convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner), as taught by Decker et al., will further prevent the damage to the tissue by reducing the risk of tissue getting caught on the end thereof.
With respect to claim 21:
Hiorth et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Specifically, Hiorth et al. discloses a system for repairing a heart valve, the system comprising:
a delivery catheter assembly (treatment catheter) comprising an anchor garage (anchor housing 8) (paragraph [0076]);
wherein the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) has a blunt distal end region (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) with a distal region (paragraphs [0076, 0085-0086]) having a first radius of curvature and a proximal region (closer to gripper arm 6) having a second radius of curvature different from the first radius of curvature, the blunt distal end region (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) being configured for (capable of) pressing against tissue without damaging the tissue (as the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle without piercing or penetrating the papillary muscle, as can be seen in figs. 11-12) (paragraph [0085]); and
an anchor (papillary anchor 9), as can be seen in figs. 30-32, configured to be disposed within the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), the anchor (papillary anchor 9) including an anchor body (in combination locking rings 40 and locking segment 28) and a plurality of anchor talons (pins 42) (paragraphs [0101-0102]).
However, Hiorth et al. does not disclose the distal end region (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) to have a first radius of curvature which is different from a second radius of curvature of the proximal region (closer to gripper arm 6) thereof (as required by claim 21).
Decker et al. teaches an anchor delivery and deployment system (tissue anchor 24 and tissue anchoring catheter 20), as can be seen in figs. 1-3D, comprising:
an anchor (tissue anchor 20) having an anchor body (tubular portion of tissue anchor 20 surrounding the tapered hub as can be seen in figs. 2A, 3A-3D) and a plurality of anchor talons (at least a portion of the barbs 30) extending from the anchor body (tubular portion of tissue anchor 20 surrounding the tapered hub as can be seen in figs. 2A, 3A-3D) and shiftable between a delivery configuration (stressed elongated configuration within sheath 22) and a deployed configuration(relaxed configuration) (paragraph [0049]); and
an anchor garage (distal tubular housing 52) configured to house the anchor (tissue anchor 20) therein with the anchor talons (at least a portion of the barbs 30) in a delivery configuration (stressed elongated configuration within sheath 22) (paragraph [0056]), and having an open blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) through which the anchor (tissue anchor 20) is deployable (paragraph [0057]);
Wherein the blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) of the anchor garage (distal tubular housing 52) has a convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner) to present a blunt end for pressing against tissue without damaging the tissue by preventing tissue from getting caught on the end thereof (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the enlarged blunt end (enlarged distal tip 64) and convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner), as taught by Decker et al., on/ as part of the distal end region (the end of the anchor housing 8 is placed ONTO the papillary muscle) of the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., as both structures have the same intended use in the same area of the body (both are used to contact/press into ventricular tissue during the delivery of and anchor thereto) and the enlarged and convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner), as taught by Decker et al., will further prevent the damage to the tissue by reducing the risk of tissue getting caught on the end thereof. (PLEASE NOTE: In making the aforementioned combination the enlarged/ convexly curved distal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., will features a first radius of curvature (the curvature of the chamfered front outer corner) which is greater than second radius (zero radius due to the squared off shape) of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al..)
With respect to claim 22:
Wherein the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) has a body region proximal of the blunt distal end region (enlarged and chamfered front outer corner of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., as discussed above for claim 21), wherein the body region has a body region outer diameter, and wherein the blunt distal end region (enlarged and chamfered front outer corner of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., as discussed above for claim 21) has an outer diameter larger (large mas distal tip 64) than the body region outer diameter (Decker et al. paragraph [0057]).
With respect to claim 23:
Wherein the blunt distal end region (enlarged and chamfered front outer corner of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., as discussed above for claim 21) has a bulbous shape (chamfered front outer corner creates a sub-portion thereof with a “bulbous shape” as the surface is rounded and enlarged), as taught by Decker et al..
With respect to claim 24:
Wherein the blunt distal end region (enlarged and chamfered front outer corner of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., as discussed above for claim 21) has a convex curved outer surface (chamfered front outer corner creates a sub-portion thereof with a with a “convex curved outer surface”), as taught by Decker et al..
With respect to claim 25:
Wherein the anchor garage (anchor housing 8), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., has an axial slot formed therein (through which chord 14 extends), as can be seen in figs. 1-3.
With respect to claim 26:
Wherein the axial slot (through which chord 14 extends), as can be seen in figs. 1-3, as disclosed by Hiorth et al., extends proximally from the blunt distal end region (enlarged and chamfered front outer corner of the proximal end region of the anchor garage, as disclosed by Hiorth et al. and modified by Decker et al., as discussed above for claim 21).
With respect to claim 27:
Wherein the axial slot (through which chord 14 extends), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., is configured to allow an artificial chordae tendineae (chord 14) therethrough (Hiorth et al. paragraph [0086]).
With respect to claim 28:
Further comprising an anchor pusher rod (adjustment catheter 20), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., extending through the delivery catheter (treatment catheter), the anchor pusher rod (adjustment catheter 20) being configured to advance the anchor (papillary anchor 9) distally out from the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) (Hiorth et al. paragraph [0085]).
With respect to claim 29:
Wherein the anchor talons (pins 42), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., are configured to expand from the delivery configuration, as can be seen in fig. 30, when within the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) to the deployed configuration, as can be seen in figs. 12-14 and 32, when deployed outside the anchor garage (anchor housing 8) (paragraphs [0085, 0101-0102]).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiorth et al. (US 2017/0252032 A1) in view of Dineen et al. (US 2008/0023012 A1 – as previously cited).
With respect to claim(s) 5-7:
Hiorth et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. However, Hiorth et al. does not disclose: wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is tapered from the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) to the talon distal end (free end of pin 42) (as required by claim 5); nor wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) has an intermediate region between the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) and the talon distal end (free end of pin 42), the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) being tapered from the intermediate region to the talon distal end (free end of pin 42) (as required by claim(s) 6 and 15); nor wherein the first anchor talon (singular pin 42) is tapered from the intermediate region to the talon base (where the pin 42 connects to the lower locking ring 40 in figs. 30-32) (as required by claim 7).
Dineen et al. discloses a tissue anchor (distal tissue anchor 26), as can be seen in fig. 2, configured to resist pull out and be attached at one end to a tether (tether 28) (paragraphs [0163-0165]). The tissue anchor (distal tissue anchor 26), as can be seen in greater detail within fig. 11, comprises a plurality of first anchor talon (hooks or barbs 72) which are tapered from the talon base (end closest to piercing anchor 70) to the talon distal end (free end of hook or barb 72) (as required by claim(s) 5); and the first anchor talon (hooks or barbs 72) has an intermediate region (midpoint along the hook or barb 72) between the talon base (end closest to piercing anchor 70) and the talon distal end (free end of hook or barb 72), the first anchor talon (distal tissue anchor 26) being tapered from the intermediate region (midpoint along the hook or barb 72) to the talon distal end (free end of leg 408) (as required by claim(s) 6); and the first anchor talon (distal tissue anchor 26) is tapered from (the “from” does not imply directionality of the taper, merely that there is tapering between) the intermediate region (midpoint along the hook or barb 72) to the talon base (end of leg 408 closest to tip 406) (as required by claim(s) 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the design of the first anchor talon (hooks or barbs 72) – including the intermediate regions and tapering therearound, as taught by Dineen et al., for the design of the first anchor talon (singular pin 42), as disclosed by Hiorth et al., as Hiorth et al. discloses the use of any suitable structure to pierce the tissue (Hiorth et al. paragraph [0105]); as such, piercing structure/ design, as disclosed by Dineen et al., would be an obvious substitute therefore (both are expandable anchoring structures implanted within the human body and attached to tethers and intended to resist pull out).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hung (US 2002/0173816 A1) discloses a catheter with a bulbous distal end allowing for safer and more pain free delivery within a patient.
REBECCA STRASZHEIM PRESTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/REBECCA S PRESTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774