DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 9th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-8 remain pending in the application. Claims 9-17 remaining withdrawn by the Applicant. Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 has overcome the 102 rejection in view of Kato, therefore the 102 rejection has been withdrawn. However upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Cobb US 2014/0186519 A1 and Cobb et al. US 2018/0175383 A1. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato US 8,173,292 B2, further in view of Cobb US 2014/0186519 A1 (herein referred to as Cobb ‘519) and Cobb et al. US 20180175383 A1 (herein referred to as Cobb ‘383).
Regarding Claim 1, Kato discloses an anode for a lithium secondary battery (negative electrode for a solid battery) comprising an anode current collector and an anode active material layer formed on the current collector [Column 6 Lines 55-61]. Kato discloses that the anode active material layer comprises a first and second portion (bars of electrode active material and bars of electrolyte of the electrode), and that the first and second portions are repeatedly and alternately arranged multiple times [Column 2 Lines 23-27], which is further shown in Annotated Figure 1A below.
Annotated Figure 1A
Kato discloses that the first portion (active material of the electrode) is an anode active material such as lithium metal, alloys, carbon materials, or metal fibers [Column 9 Lines 53-64] and that the second portion (electrolyte of the electrode) is an electrolyte material such as a lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte [Column 4 Lines 32-40]. Kato discloses that the first portion (active material) comprises particles of active material [Column 3 Lines 27-30] thus Kato discloses that the first portion has a porosity, further shown in Annotated Figure 1B:
Annotated Figure 1B
Thus, Kato discloses first and second portion that have different porosities from each other.
Kato discloses that the first portion comprises an anode active material [Column 9 Lines 53-64], and the second portion comprises a lithium ion conductive solid electrolyte [Column 4 Lines 32-40].
However, Kato fails to specifically disclose that the second portion comprises an anode active material.
In a similar disclosure, Cobb ‘519 discloses a battery wherein a cathode is layered with an electrolyte and an anode, wherein the cathode and the anode both have two regions that are alternating multiple times (see Figure 6) [0021]. Cobb ‘519 discloses that the anode consists of an anode active material layered alternately with an intermediate material, wherein the intermediate material is a porous anode material [0021]. Thus, Cobb ‘519 discloses an anode electrode structure having two alternating region multiple times, wherein both regions comprise an anode active material.
Cobb ‘519 discloses that manufacturing an electrode structure such as this is simpler [0021].
In a related disclosure, Cobb ‘383 discloses the same electrode structure, wherein there are two regions alternating multiple times [Abstract, 0023-0024]. Cobb ‘383 discloses that an electrode with this structure is more efficient and high performing [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second portion of Kato to further comprise an anode active material based on the suggestion of Cobb (Cobb ‘519 and Cobb ‘383) wherein in both regions of a similarly structured anode (two regions alternating multiple times) comprise an anode active material for the benefit of simple manufacturing.
Thus, modified Kato discloses that both the first and second portions comprise an anode active material.
Regarding Claim 5, as shown in Figure 1A, Kato discloses that the first portion and the second portion have the same thickness:
Regarding Claim 8, Kato discloses a solid battery comprising the anode of Claim 1 and a cathode (positive electrode) [Column 2 Lines 9-31], more specifically that the solid battery can be used as a lithium secondary battery [Colum 4 Lines 48-49]. As shown in Figure 1A, Kato discloses that the cathode (positive electrode Item 11) faces the anode (Item 12) [Column 6 Lines 55-56].
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato, Cobb ‘519, and Cobb ‘383 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Kim US 10,629,944 B2.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kato is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however is silent as to an anode tab protruding from one side of the anode current collector.
Kim discloses a battery cell comprising an anode tab (electrode lead) protruding from one end of the battery cell and attached to the electrode (Figure 4 Item 120).
Kim discloses that when a battery cell comprises an electrode lead, it acts as an electrode terminal that allows for electrical connecting to an external component, such as another battery or a device [Column 1 Line 65 – Column 2 Line 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the electrode tab of Kim in the battery cell of Kato to enable electrical connection to external components.
Modified Kato thus discloses the first portion and the second portion are alternately and repeatedly arranged along the protruding direction of the anode tab, as shown in Annotated Figure 1A – Anode Tab below:
Annotated Figure 1A – Anode Tab
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kato discloses, with the modification of Kim’s anode tab, that the first and second portions extend in a direction that is perpendicular to the protruding direction, as shown in Annotated Partial Figure 3 of Kato.
Annotated Partial Figure 3
Regarding Claim 4, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1 above, Kato discloses that each of the portions of the anode have a uniform porosity in the width direction [Figure 1B]. Thus, modified Kato discloses, that the first portion and the second portion each have uniform porosities along the protruding direction, show in Modified Annotated Figure 1A below.
Modified Annotated Figure 1A
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato US 8,173,292 B2, Cobb ‘519, and Cobb ‘383 as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Forouzan et al. US 10,673,093 B1.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kato is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however is silent as to the specific porosities of the first portion and the second portion.
Forouzan discloses an anode layer comprising a first portion (Figure 3 Item 314) and a second portion (Figure 3 Item 316) comprising different porosities [Column 12 Lines 56-60]. Forouzan discloses that the porosity of the first region can be 30% while the porosity of the second region is 18% [Column 12 Line 66 – Column 13 Line 2].
Forouzan discloses that an anode layer with this structure can reduce the rate of lithium plating and enhance the electrical conductivity of the anode [Column 1 Lines 27-29].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the porosities of the first and second portions of Forouzan in the first and second portions of the anode of Kato to achieve a battery cell with enhanced electrical conductivity and reduced lithium plating.
Thus, modified Kato discloses that the maximum porosity X of the anode active material layer is 30% and the minimum porosity Y of the anode active material layer is 18%. Thus, modified Kato discloses that the ratio Y/X 0.6, which falls within the range in Claim 6. In regards to the ratio Y/X, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2131.03 I. In the case where the prior art “discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim”. UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023). Accordingly, the ratio Y/X disclosed in modified Kato anticipates the claimed range set forth in Claim 6. See MPEP 2131.03 I.
In regards to the limitation “X is the maximum porosity obtained by an X-ray microscopy”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase “obtained by an X-ray microscopy”. It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
In regards to the limitation “Y is the minimum porosity obtained by an X-ray microscopy”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase “obtained by an X-ray microscopy”. It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato US 8,173,292 B2, Cobb ‘519, and Cobb ‘383 and further in view of Muraoka et al. JP 2007/329077 A. Citations are mapped to the English machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 7, Kato discloses that the first portion and the second portion adjacent to the first portion form a pattern, as shown above in Figure 1A. As mentioned with regards to Claim 1, Kato discloses that the first portion comprises particles, thus comprises a porosity, and as shown in Figure 1B, the second portion does not comprise particles, thus Kato discloses that the first portion has a higher porosity than the second portion. As shown in Figure 1B, Kato discloses that the first and second portions have uniform porosity.
Kato discloses that the active material bars have a width of 0.1-60 µm [Column 4 Lines 1-5] and the solid electrolyte bars have a width of 0.03-60 µm [Column 3 Lines 51-54]. Thus, Kato discloses that the maximum distance from the farthest point in the first portion to the farthest point in the second portion would be 120µm, as illustrated in Figure 1B below:
Annotated Figure 1B
Therefore, Kato discloses that a distance between a point of a maximum porosity (anywhere in the first portion due to uniform porosity) in the first portion in the pattern and a point of a minimum porosity (anywhere in the second portion due to uniform porosity) is in a range from 0-120µm (0-0.12mm), which fails to overlap with the claimed range.
Muraoka discloses a secondary battery and an electrode for the secondary battery [Page 2 Lines 21-24], wherein the electrode comprises a current collector and an active material layer [Page 2 Lines 22-23]. Muraoka further discloses that the active material layer comprises a first portion (central region) with a higher porosity (more pores) than a second portion (peripheral region) [Page 2 Lines 52-54, Page 8 Lines 27-29]], as further shown in Figure 3 below.
Muraoka discloses that the central region (having a higher porosity similar to the first portion of Kato) is 20mm in the width direction of the electrode, and the peripheral region (similar to Kato’s second portion) is 15mm in the width direction of the electrode, thus Muraoka discloses that the maximum distance from the farthest point in the central region to the farthest point in the peripheral region would be 0-35mmµm, as illustrated in Annotated Figure 3 below:
Annotated Figure 3
Muraoka discloses that an electrode with this configuration provides a secondary battery with long charge/discharge cycle life and that is easy to manufacture [Page 2 Lines 17-18].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the width of the first and second portions Kato with the width of the first and second portions as suggested by Muraoka to provide a battery with along charge/discharge cycle life and easy manufacturability.
Thus, modified Kato discloses the first portion with a higher porosity than the second portion, wherein the distance between a point of a maximum porosity in the first portion in the pattern and a point of a minimum porosity in the second portion in the pattern is in a range from 0-35mm, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726