DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 30th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-5 & 8 remain pending in the application. Claims 9-17 remaining withdrawn by the Applicant. Claims 6 & 7 were cancelled by the Applicant. Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1 have overcome the previous rejections. However upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Jung et al. KR 20170111289 A, further in view of Muraoka et al. JP 2007/329077 A. New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. KR 20170111289 A, further in view of Muraoka et al. JP 2007/329077 A. Citations to Jung and Muraoka are mapped to the English machine translations provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Jung discloses an anode for a lithium secondary battery (electrode for secondary batter [0001] that can be an anode [0018]) comprising an anode current collector [0018] and an anode active material layer formed on the current collector [0018]. Jung discloses that the anode active material layer comprises a first portion and second portion (second active material layer comprises first pattern and second pattern [0018, 0021]), and that the first and second portions are repeatedly and alternately arranged multiple times [0018]. Jung discloses that the first and second portions have different porosities [0033].
Jung discloses that when the electrode is a negative electrode, the first portion has a porosity of 20-35% and the second portion have a porosity is 20-30% [0035]. Thus, Jung discloses a maximum porosity (X) of 35% and a minimum porosity (Y) of 20% which would result in a ratio Y/X of 20/35 or 0.57, which falls within the claimed range. Additionally, if the porosity of the first portion is 35% (a maximum X) and the porosity of the second portion is 30% (a minimum Y), this would result in a ratio Y/X of 30/35 or 0.86, which falls within the claimed range. Thus, Jung discloses that the anode active material layer meets the porosity limitations of claim 1. In regards to the ratio Y/X, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2131.03 I. In the case where the prior art “discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim”. UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023). Accordingly, the ratio Y/X disclosed in Jung anticipates the claimed range set forth in Claim 6. See MPEP 2131.03 I.
In regards to the limitation “X is the maximum porosity obtained by an X-ray microscopy”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase “obtained by an X-ray microscopy”. It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
In regards to the limitation “Y is the minimum porosity obtained by an X-ray microscopy”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase “obtained by an X-ray microscopy”. It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Jung discloses, as shown in Figure 1, that the first portion and the second portion adjacent to the first portion are defined as a pattern:
Jung Annotated Figure 1
Jung discloses that the first portion has a higher porosity than the second portion [0033]. Jung further discloses that the first portion and the second portion each comprise an anode active material [0018, 0021].
Jung is silent as to the widths of the first portion and the second portion, and is thus silent as to the distance between a maximum porosity in the first portion and a minimum porosity in the second portion.
Muraoka discloses a secondary battery and an electrode for the secondary battery [Page 2 Lines 21-24], wherein the electrode comprises a current collector and an active material layer [Page 2 Lines 22-23]. Muraoka further discloses that the active material layer comprises a first portion (central region) with a higher porosity (more pores) than a second portion (peripheral region) [Page 2 Lines 52-54, Page 8 Lines 27-29], as further shown in Figure 3 below.
Muraoka discloses that the central region (having a higher porosity similar to the first portion of Jung) is 20mm in the width direction of the electrode, and the peripheral region (similar to Jung’s second portion) is 15mm in the width direction of the electrode, thus Muraoka discloses that the maximum distance from the farthest point in the central region to the farthest point in the peripheral region would be 0-35mm, as illustrated in Annotated Figure 3 below:
Annotated Figure 3
Muraoka discloses that an electrode with this configuration provides a secondary battery with long charge/discharge cycle life and that is easy to manufacture [Page 2 Lines 17-18].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the widths of the first and second portions of Jung to have the widths of the first and second portions as suggested by Muraoka to provide a battery with along charge/discharge cycle life and easy manufacturability.
Thus, modified Jung discloses that the distance between a point of a maximum porosity in the first portion in the pattern and a point of a minimum porosity in the second portion in the pattern is in a range from 0-35mm, which overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 5, Jung discloses that the first portion can have a thickness of 5-50µm and the second portion can have a thickness of 5-40µm [0040], which overlap with each other, thus Jung discloses that the first portion and the second portion can have the same thickness.
Regarding Claim 8, Jung discloses a secondary battery including the electrode of the invention [0010]. Jung discloses in Example 1 that the electrode of the invention is used as the anode in a battery further comprising a cathode facing the anode (assembled to be stacked together) [0066-0074].
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Muraoka as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of Kim US 10,629,944 B2.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Jung is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however is silent as to an anode tab protruding from one side of the anode current collector.
Kim discloses a battery cell comprising an anode tab (electrode lead) protruding from one end of the battery cell and attached to the electrode (Figure 4 Item 120).
Kim discloses that when a battery cell comprises an electrode lead, it acts as an electrode terminal that allows for electrical connecting to an external component, such as another battery or a device [Column 1 Line 65 – Column 2 Line 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the electrode tab of Kim in the battery cell of Jung to enable electrical connection to external components.
Modified Jung thus discloses the first portion and the second portion are alternately and repeatedly arranged along the protruding direction of the anode tab, as shown in Annotated Figure 1 – Anode Tab below:
Annotated Figure 1 – Anode Tab
Regarding Claim 3, modified Jung discloses, with the modification of Kim’s anode tab, that the first and second portions extend in a direction that is perpendicular to the protruding direction, as shown in Annotated Figure 1 of Jung.
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding Claim 4, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1 above, Jung discloses that the first and second portions have different porosities and that each portion has a singular porosity [0035]. One of skill in the art would understand the teaching of Jung to indicate that the porosities of each portion to be uniform, thus Jung discloses that the first portion and the second portion each have uniform porosities along the protruding direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Muraoka does not disclose controlling the maximum or minimum porosities or the distance between them. Examiner respectfully points out as stated in the rejection that Muraoka was relied upon for teaching widths of each of the portions to modify that of Jung, and Jung was relied upon for teaching the different porosities of the two portion. Together, Jung with the modified widths of Muraoka disclose a distance between points within the two regions at a maximum and minimum porosity within each region that read on the limitations of Claim 1. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that there is not motivation to combine Kato, Cobb ‘519, Cobb ‘383, and Muraoka. This combination is no longer being relied upon for the rejection of the claims, thus this argument is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.G.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 1 July 2026